paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  Last
        Next Page
Deadfear Wednesday, May 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine-no comparison
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion:
Scenario Dreams T-board
Dye membrane pad
Redz clamping feedneck
VP Scythe Trigger
360 Smart Parts QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck is recommended
Strengths: Accurate
Very little kick
Quiet
Fast
Price!!
Weaknesses: None really
Review: This gun is amazing, as soon as I got it, I went out to test it and fell in love. In comparison to any other lower high-end electronic markers, this thing is king. This gun is great for anyone, whether you are just getting into paintball or have played for awhile. I do recommend some key upgrades such as the clamping feedneck and you will NEED a fast electronic hopper, I personally use the Evlution 2 w/Y board hopper. A QEV will also help with your bolt's cycling time, therefore increasing your BPS.

The maintenance for this gun is a little more difficult than something like a spyder as the parts are more complex, but after taking it apart a few times you will get the hang of it. I have yet to have any real problems with this gun so I really like it. And for the price, you will not find anything better than this.
Conclusion: For this price, this gun in King. Also to make this gun into a more 'high-end' marker, you can always get many upgrades so that you can be inline with some of the people that spend a lot more money on their stock markers. Overall a great buy, you won't be disappointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

korean_kid_tkd Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Wrath, BKO
Marker Setup: Smartparts Freak Barrel Kit, Max-flow system, Stinger trig, Virtue board/eyes/QEV, skeletol bolt, q-lock feedneck, 45 ci 3000 psi, egg w/ z-board or empire reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL, TRIGGER, and FEEDNECK
Strengths: Fast
Less kick
Accurate(with new barrel)
Efficient
Small & light
Low maintenance
Weaknesses: Stock board, get virtue!
trigger
feedneck
stock barrel
Review: The gun is great for any beginner. It only cost like $200 bucks new. It can be easily upgraded to a tournament level. It is fast, accurate, and light, which is prime for front players. This gun doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Plus it is made by Smartparts so you know it is a quality gun.
Conclusion: You should buy it if your fairly new and want to get a better gun. This is a big step up from other guns in it's price range. Spend a little money on the gun, buy lots of paint. Then practice and play all the time. The gun is only a fraction of the player on the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ellisperson11 Friday, May 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: -ion
-blade trigger\
-qev
virtue on/off botton

empire revi 2
stock everything else at the moment
Recommended
Upgrades:
qev
virtue on/off botton
Strengths: Very cheap
Can shoot pretty fast
Ah cant think of anything at the moment
Weaknesses: Breaks down a lot example - neck coming off stripped out the frame
Review: It's a good gun just don't buy it and not have any experience with a higher end marker because you need to know the internals and know how to lube it and that kind of thing.

I've had it chop paint once in a while but not a lot at all.
Conclusion: I think overall its a pretty good gun that keeps up with all the other guns but just if u get one make sure you don't buy it online becuase most of the time online stores don't do matnience but overall its pretty good
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zeonic11 Thursday, May 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra
Other electro markers
Marker Setup: Spyder Esprit with
14 inch smart parts linear progressive barrel, trinity front block, psychoballistcs drop, trinity rolling trigget, shocktech superfly bolt, dead on expansion chamber, VL evo 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, body kits, electro hopper (Revy or better)
Strengths: Kind of cheap for the preformance.-accurate with a good barrel.-very fast.
Weaknesses: My marker is cheaper with upgrades and preforms better. electronics screw up a lot.
Review: I know tons of people who have these and have seen ions in action, impressive sometimes. They all share one thing in common, that is the electronics always are messing up. They sit out while i play with the other Ions that have'nt broken down.
Oh, yes i do beat ion users regularly.To cut to the chase, This marker though fast is not that reliable, and for the money i would rather by a crappy spyder off ebay and trick it out to the point where it is better than an Ion. To wrap it all up i must say that some people i know think that ions are the best thing in the world, yet i laught when the electronics mess up.
Conclusion: They are good, if you are spoiled and have your parents buy it and all the upgrades, or if you are older and you have a decent job. If it were me, i would chose another marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer1184 Thursday, May 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Another ion with ups, spyder pilot, 98 custom pro, shocker, etek ego
Marker Setup: VL Revolution Hopper and 3000psi 48ci DXS
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, QEV and the rest depends on you
Strengths: -Accurate as hell! (depends on paint though)
-Quiet
-Fast
-Light
-Sexy =P
Weaknesses: -I guess that you can only use SP lube
-Not field strippable
-Feedneck
Review: Ok so I got my ION for speedball today and i tried it out. It is soooo damn accurate but does depend on you paint (I used game face paint). I hear people say that the gun has a long setup with a tank, which it does, but in my opinion I love how the gun feels with a long setup. I like the trigger too but I don't the fact when you put it closer the trigger feels to snappy, so I put mine a little father then normal so I could walk my fastest. Upon taking this gun apart, it came to be real simple and basically what you do is unscrew the breach screw the two on the grip and push the board up undo the screw above the reg and thats it, then just unscrew the screw that connect to the breech or w/e you wana call it. The bolt on this gun is very light, however you can get aftermarket bolts to increase air efficency in your ION. The only pain about this gun is that you cant field strip. The feedneck will not hold halos and empire hoppers so I highly recommend getting a new feedneck. This gun is great for the price, and by the way, if you considering an epiphany don't get it just get an ION and up it.
Conclusion: Get it if you a beginner or are low on cash and want a speedy gun get it it could use about 35+ on the first ups def a qev and a feedneck but this gun is the best so i give it a. . .
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 27th, 2007 at 6:17 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Snake Menis Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5(no comparison)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Psycoballistics- Bullet Drop Forward with UFA
New Designz- Roller Blade Trigger
New Designz- Snatch Grip
Odyssey- Halo B
Warrior- Clamping Feed Tube
Pure Energy- 68ci 4500psi

Recommended
Upgrades:
-Drop Forward-stock one drops up and back
-Locking Neck-stock one doesn't fit Halos or other larger loaders
-Trigger-stock one wiggles side to side
-Electronic Loader-need to keep up with this gun
Strengths: -Light-
-Accurate-
-Price-

Weaknesses: -Drop Forward-
-Feed Neck-
Review: Let me start by saying this is a great gun. Smart parts has put some good work into developing this gun.

PROS:
-SPEED-This gun IS capped at 17bps with the stock board installed,but this is fine for the average player.
-CUSTOMIZATION-Smart parts and other companies have come out with TONS of accessories to completely trick out this gun making it unique.
-LIGHTWEIGHT-2.2 pounds, need I say more.
-ACCURATE-The stock barrel is a great barrel even if it does come on the gun. Most paint works with this gun but i would stray away from any paint with dust on the box...

CONS:
-DROP FORWARD-The drop that comes installed is more of a lift back than a drop forward. This drop sucks...it causes you to hold your gun at a less than comfortable position, also upgrading will help to balance the gun.
-FEED NECK-The feed tube is too small to fit larger hoppers such as Empire Reloaders or Halos (both of witch i would recommend for this gun along with Egg loaders)
Conclusion: I would buy this gun time and time again, but i would also upgrade to my the recommended items. Having this gun and not acting like a newbie will make you one of the more feared players on the field, especially against anyone with wal-mart specials Its no shocker but is a damn good gun...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007 at 12:50 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sdmpriest Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Intimidator, Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Stock ION, 68cu 4500 PSI PMI HPA, eggy2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, feedneck.
Strengths: Accurate, Good ROF, Looks good, cheap
Weaknesses: Feedneck.
Review: This is a good marker for anyone, it's cheap, accurate and looks good in my opinion.

One of the things i've noticed about this it the trigger wobbles slightly, this doesn't effect my firing of the weapon but does concern me a bit, maybe if i opened it up and tightened it or something that would fix it.

My second concern is the feedneck i would definately recommend a q-lock as my eggy2 goes in but its a very tight fit and when i last took it out the feedneck started to unscrew, one option would be to sand down the eggy2's feedneck or remove the o-rings from inside the ION's but i would rather not do that.

The board controls are failry simple to change and the changable body kits are a bonus, i live in the UK and have a UK marker which does not have full auto and semi fire modes but single shot gets a pretty good rate of fire.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker to any and everyone, i love it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Rainmaker42 Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've played with and against:
standard cockers, e-cockers, shocker, impulse, several intimidators, an Angel,
and 20+ lower end guns
Marker Setup: Sp Ion, cutom painted body , freak jr. kit, Evo II , 68ci 3000psi HPA
Spyder e-99/sonix , SP progressive/ truflite,32* quiet riot, twisted volumizer, 32* twisted x -chamber. flame drop, High end venturi bolt, Revvy.
the sweetest talon ever created
random other parts and pieces.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I bought a freak Jr kit for mine, And have used it for 6 hours of continueous play on 3 days and didnt break a ball. 7000 rounds. stock barrel is decent. Feed is a little tight, HPA is amazing, you will def. want an Electronic FAST hopper
Strengths: Its 2.2 lbs ,fast, accurate, quiet, inexpensive, durable ,eyes
Weaknesses: The body needs to be customized, feed is a little tight.
Review: I recently decided to get back into competitive paintball after doing some serious recball the last few months, so i decided to get a new gun. Out of the box we took the Ion home hooked it up to an x-chamber/remote/A/S co2 tank, and loaded it up with some Empires, Out back it laid paint like nobodys business. Switched to junk practice balls and still shot pretty good. Picked up the freak kit next day and went down to a big woodsball game.
was pegging off opponets out at 50+ yards when they crossed clearings. Super accurate and will lay down some amazing fire. gun is quiet too, and hard to detect the exact shot when playing woodsball. the ASA made shouldering my big HPA kind of awkward, but is great for a remote line. after we finished i wanted to see how fast i could get her going, i cleared a full hopper in 10.9 sec . Like i said above, i've used or been shot at by anything you can imagine, and for 200ish bucks, you cannot beat this gun. It'll lay cover like an intimidator, and pick people off like a 98 with a flatline. great gun.
Conclusion: If you want a competition level gun you can still effectivly use for rec and woodsball give it a shot, you cant beat the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cookie1384 Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None nothing compaires to its crapyness
Marker Setup: 05 spyder pilot acs. Home made drop, hybryd sparta low press. reg., ccm feed neck,polished inturnals, bored valve body, modded valve pin, opened up the va, scenerio dreams t boardsmart parts progressive 14" , egg 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whole new gun
Strengths: Kinda cheap but not realy
Weaknesses: Can't field strip!!!!!!! Requires upgrades my spyder prefomed just as well
Review: Cant be field stripped!!!!!!!!!! Big negitive for me. If it goes down in a game you are done for the day. Unless your team mate has the same gun or an extra you can use. You can only use hpa or n2 that means more money. Crap crap crap crap crap crap crap crap dont bother waisting your money. Go ahead and contest this review but it is my personale opinion.
Conclusion: Piece of crap
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 1st, 2007 at 3:13 am PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

wmiles11@yahoo. Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra 05 ACS
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra 05 ACS
Stock Everything
VL Revvy
20 oz C02
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Smart Parts
Durable
Almost No Kick
Air Efficiant
EYEs
Regulator
Quiet
Weight
Weaknesses: I only tested it...
Review: I was shooting with my friend in his backyard and we decided to switch guns. It is made by Smart Parts, so you know that it is high-end. First thing that I noticed was that it was light. It was like a feather. When I shot it, I immediately noticed that it had VERY little kick compared to my Electra (blow back). Naturally, this greatly effected accuracy. The accuracy with this gun is awesome. I was hitting the bullseye on a air soft target (it did not last very long) at 20 yards away 3/5 times (I'm a bad shot, other people do much better). With my Electra, it is much harder to get that kind of accuracy (although its almost possible with a LP setup and a new bolt). The Ion had about 3/4 less noise than my Electra. The neighbors did not hear us at all as we emptied a case of paint into the target. Also, this thing was fast, really fast. It has light trigger pull (some side play) and I was able to go at around 15 bps. It almost never chopped and if it did, it was because of the paint. It was very efficient with a 45/45 with about 900 shots (I went through almost 2 bags). My friend said that it's regulator was pretty good, but he had 2 shoot downs. He also dropped it twice and it still worked beautifully.
I only tested this gun and shot 250 shots through it, so I do not have any weaknesses other than that my friend told me that it sometimes had shoot downs and 3 chops (paint).
Conclusion: Buy. I prefer a Spyder Electra, but thats my gun so naturalloy I would prfer it. It is a great gun. Buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media