paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  Last
        Next Page
Paintballa9989 Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98c, brass eagle avenger, spyder pilot
Marker Setup: SP Ion, warrior on/off & feedneck, progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Price
No chops
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: This gun is great but it needs a new feedneck right away. Get it with the gun. You have to work for 10 minutes just to get the hopper out. However this gun is the perfect beginner gun. This gun can hang with all the best but for a quarter of the price.
Conclusion: This is the perfect beginner gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daron1970 Monday, March 5th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
next shocker The ION not quite that good
Marker Setup: ION 68/4500 crossfire Freak jr kit cp drop cp on/off high efficiency bolt magnetic ball detents qev roller trigger dye sticky grips reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
qev bolt and what ever else you would want
Strengths: Cheap Fast Looks good Reliable Cheap
Weaknesses: Quick exhast valve Bolt Feed neck
Review: Out of the box shot great fast light looks good was to air hungry but with a little money this cheap marker will keep up with any thing (with the right player using it) There's not a better marker out there for the money Its very very reliable fun to play with good looking There's tons of upgrades out there for this marker
Conclusion: If your looking to get into paintball for the money this is by far the number one gun out there very reliable It will defiantly give you a taste of a high end marker for a whole lot less Ive got a new shocker and my ION isn't far behind it Im going to give this marker a 10 not because its a perfect gun it needs several things to get it going but because for the money it cost to buy it and upgrade it Its the #1 low end marker out there. For the money nothing else will touch it!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

donny262007 Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, tippmans, worr games outkast cocker, system x cocker, shocker, ect...
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
-ndz skeleton bolt
-virtue lazer eye
-virtue ezon
-redz white body kit
- ndz on and off
-warrior clamping feedneck
-warrior trigger
- ndz Q.E.V
- redz pepper stick, dye ultra light
-Blackheart board
- air america 68 3000 carbon fiber
- egg hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit and clamping feedneck
Strengths: The price, very light, fast
Weaknesses: Low resale value
Review: This marker is the best at its price. I have put about 30,000 balls through mine and have had no trouble. The only necessary upgrades would be a clamping feedneck and a barrel kit. The ion holds up against any marker on the market. People say it wont because it only shoots 17bps. But in psp events the cap is 14.7 bps. The only way it doesnt hold up against high dollar markers is uncapped rate of fire. Since most fields I play at dont allow ramping it is not a problem (not that I have seen to many high ends at rec playing games) There is almost unlimited upgrades for th ion, I think it is one of the most customizable markers there is. If you want a high end but dont have the cash an ion is what I would recommend because you can slowly invest in it, after all the upgrades it will perform with the best markers out there.
Conclusion: Sweet marker, great price. The marker holds up agains just about any marker you put it against. The best marker at its price. If you lookin to spend just 200 bucks this is the marker to get.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 23rd, 2007 at 4:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sk8in-N-Paintin Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stock ion
stock barrel
cp sling blade trigger
pure energy 48/3000
revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger depending on ur style
drop foward
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Easy to take apart and clean
Weaknesses: I dont like the stock trigger
Uncomfortable tank posistion
Review: I love this gun, I think is a perfect gun to start with and for long term use...its fast, a few fireing modes tournament leagel, good virety of upgrades and colors/body kits. Its a fun gun just to shoot around and also play with. The only thing i can think to upgrade is the trigger, its not very good for fast shooting.
Conclusion: Great gun..Its got everything
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderman115 Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix Pro
Spyder Rodeo
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, Red
Stock Everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper, reason being the ion can shoot 17 bps and u should get a hopper shooting around there for obvious reasons
Strengths: Durable
17 bps
Accuracy
Cheap
Burst
Semi-Auto
Full-Auto
Rebound
Looks Incredible
Weaknesses: Does not use CO2 well, CO2 can destroy it
Review: I got this gun for christmas, when i opened it i was left speechless. I went to the local PB shop and the guy told me how to operate it. When i got home my brother and i Had a blast shooting it in our yard. This gun has perfect accuracy with the stock barrel. Has rebound, where you shoot 5 times and it autofires 17 BPS if u have a good hopper. Has 3 shot Burst, full auto and semi auto.
Conclusion: Highly recommend for reasons in the review
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

RobTippmannA5 Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
KINGMAN SPYDER and IMAGINE
TIPPMANN MODEL 98 and A-5
Marker Setup: CP Classic 12" one piece barrel, Smoke Halo B w/ rip drive, Warrior Feedneck, Virtue QEV, Virtue Red Eyes, and DXS 68 ci 4500psi tank covered by a NXE Elevation tank cover.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck is the main
Strengths: Fast Rate of fire, descent stock barrel, and very light and small,
Weaknesses: The feedneck and pain to take a part
Review: This is the best paintball gun that I have ever used. The One Thing That I Have Found Out Is Do Not Set The Dwell ALL THE WAY DOWN That was the only problem that I when I first shot mine. You can fit a Halo hopper in the stock feedneck the only thing that you have to do is take out the O-rings in the feedneck and it will securely hold it in place, but make sure when you take it off you don't break the stock seal around the feedneck and the breech. I am still trying to find the right dwell setting. It is a kind of a gas hog but very efficient compare to the previous guns that I have had.
All in All this is a very good gun.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun for anyone who want great performance without paying the high dollar price of some other guns that are currently on the market
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Buzzkill26 Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman guns
Shocker
Viking
Ripper
Marker Setup: Sp ion
custom body kit
cp roller blade trigger
NDZ feed neck
custom drop
cp asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Feed neck
cp reg
ASA w/ degass-releases the pressure in the line and on the tank's o rings
Strengths: Cheap
Can find many ions already upped to the extreme for low prices
Weaknesses: Horrible sell back value
Review: It's a good gun for the price, but save yourself the trouble and get a used pm6. The ion's setup makes it hard to clean the eyes and oil the bolt. you have to take the whole gun apart to maintenence anything. overall a light gun but a lighter and better reg like a cp is a good idea
Conclusion: Good for beginners
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tobinator tom Tuesday, February 27th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine- There accuracy is about the same. The Ion shoots faster and is lighter.
Spyder Fenix Acs- There accuracy is the same and they both are fast but the ion is a little faster, and alot lighter. Alot more upgrades for the Ion.
Marker Setup: spyder fenix acs Smart Parts Ion
14 inch proto barrel Stock 12 inch barrel
extreme rage overdrive hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck.
Freak Jr. barrel kit.
New Q.E.V.'s.
New ASA on/off.
Electric hopper.
Strengths: Lightness.
Fast.
Accuracy.
Cheap.
Small.
Upgrades.
Weaknesses: No clamping feedneck.
Stock Barrel.
Review: This is a lightwieght cheap and easy to maintain gun that will keep up with the higher end markers. There is a lot of upgrades for this marker and it is very easy to operate. It is a good gun for beginners and for all people who dont have alot of money. It is very consistent and is accurate enough to be a sniper. Then if you need an extra bit of spped this marker can handle it because it has capped out at 17 bps.
Conclusion: I recommend that you get this marker because it is perfect for all people because there are so much upgrades for it that it can fit anyones taste and it does not cost alot at all. This marker will keep up with the high end markers, So i recommend this gun to anyone who has an interest in paintball
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Assassin001 Monday, February 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
some spyders
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha R6
Full stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, trigger,drop forward, new board, new feedneck
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: Strengths: Very accurate and fast at stock. Reliability.

Weaknesses: If it chops a ball( which will almost never happen) it takes a while to clean it.

Get it if you need a gun soon for cheap.

I tested this gun at my friends house and it has excellent accuracy.It does use up air really quick though but its fine for a few hours.
Conclusion: 10 out of 10. Great for newbs and pros. I reccomend this gun to anyone who wants a good quality gun for under $500.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

balla_of_paint Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto...ion is not as good as this..
dm6...ion is not as good as this but wat can u expect??
promaster...ion is about the same quality gun...
angel g7...ion is not as good but more simple...
omen...about the same
Marker Setup: sp ion, 12 inch freak, silver bodykit, silver cp rake trigger, silver shockteck feedneck, imf 3000 maxflo, 47ci 3000 psi tank, eggy,
SOON TO COME- virtue and bigger tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
every thing i have pllus a virtue and a 68ci 4500 psi tank(at least)
Strengths: Light, small, good quality for the price
Weaknesses: If ur a very fast shooter u can outshoot ion and chops wen u do
Review: The sp ion is a very good gun for a begining player to a player who has only been playing for a couple years. It is light weight and small but if u can outshoot the ion it causes the ion to chop paint and u lose acuracy. To fix this problem get a board that is faster such as the virtue, although that can be expensive. The ion does not chop very much unless u outshoot it or the paint is bad. My ion has blow a few hoses so i suggest you get some stronger hoses and the problem will be fixed.
Conclusion: Buy it if u r looking for a good and cheap gun
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media