paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
reaper1700 Monday, July 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel g7, angel a1 fly, timmy 2k5, sft shockers, nxt shockers, ego 8, dm7, karnivor, e bladed cockers, electric cockers
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
cp reg
cp slingblade trigger
firebolt
virtue qev
virtue grips
virtue board
dxs 68/4500
halo b with victory board and empire anti jam
freak kit with 16 inch all american tip
cp on/off
cp flame drop
dynasty body
virtue eyes
q-lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck, on/off
Strengths: Fast,
reliable
tough
durable
good custamizability
accurate
little noise
little kick
Weaknesses: Weak feedneck(see description)
asa is a little funky
Review: I bought the ion and iv beat this thing to hell and now its time for the review

strentghs: this gun is reliable its never failed me, its a quick little package i can shoot it up to 25+ bps on ramping and about 12 in semi,

barrel: its alright some peopel get a junky one id say get a freak but the stock one is extremly accurate for outta the box

reg: its alright for a out the box reg, i got a good one and got maybe +/- 1 alot, though adjusting velocity was a pain in the but, a cp fixes that

trigger: i liked the stock one it felt nice but it was just a little too messy for me so i picked up a cp slingblade, plus the stock one can break if it takes a hard enough impact

the feedneck: this thing is junk it can work for a while but its a pain to fit halos into it, once those orings are gone id say buy a qlock it adds to looks and also locks your loader in place

asa: its decent i guess its just long to me i like a nice tight little package close to me thats why i bought the drop and the on off is amazing for degassing the marker

body: the stock body is ok it does feel plasticy but it isnt its polymer the same thing glocks are made of and they are durable plus they have a nice selctio of colors and designs for the ion now

board: its love hate with the board i mean it has its moments where ill drop the thing and im swearing cause i think i broke it and it just powers right up and other times where i break the thing, iv had issues with the battery wire ripping but thats it, if you want an easier time adjusting it id go with an aftermarket board just not a blackheart they should have included that with the ion , the virtue is phnomanol

bolt: the stock bolt served its purpose and that was it, the thing is heaveir and slowed the gun down in my opionion, a fire bolt is lighter and cycles the gun while cunsuming less air, lowering the dwell and decreasing gas cunsumption

the qev: its not a needed part but it does help so much with air efficenty, with a qev and a firebolt installed you can drop the dwell considerably overall decreasing your gas cumsumption

thats basically it unless you want to hear about the grips which is mainly for looks iv noticed that while the virtue girps feel nicer it really doesnt do much seeing as i wear gloves
Conclusion: The ion is a great gun for the money it keeps up with high end guns without breaking your wallet
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 21st, 2009 at 2:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cutdal Sunday, July 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Vibe, Electra, Shocker
Marker Setup: CP 14" .693 barrel
Eggy 3 loader
48/3000 HPA tank
ION
rest is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK!!!!
New trigger
Strengths: Fast
Light weight
Runs on HPA and Co2
Weaknesses: Plastic Trigger
Feedneck
Review: I would recommend this gun to any new player who is just getting into the sport. It is cheap and it is one of my favorite guns. And with a few upgrades it would be up to a tournament player statis. But I would recommend a new feedneck because it only holds certain hoppers. And if ypur hopper doesnt fit dont try and sand it down just buy a new feedneck.
Conclusion: It is a great overall gun from beginner to intermediate
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wehepaintballz Sunday, July 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingmans
Smart Parts Vibe
Smart parts epiphinony
etek 08 ego
Marker Setup: EGO with 14 inch barrell and VLocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward maybe?
Strengths: Lightweight
Weaknesses: Plastic
have to take off grips to adjust modes
bad stock barrell
very breakable
Review: I dont think you should by this gun if you are a beginner at all!!! this will make you hate paintball!!! I aint even lying Use a rental gun at your local field before carrying this piece of sh!t down there!!! I hate this gun, you can get Spyders, Piranhas, azodins, and other guns around this price range and they are all better!!!
Conclusion: So dont get an Ion and you will be happy
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Young Guns PB Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts Epiphany, Invert Mini, Proto SLG
Marker Setup: I use the Proto SLG with a Pinokio hopper with Virtue and Freak barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board, New feed neck definitly!!
Strengths: Cheap...
Weaknesses: Plastic, horrible feed neck, dissembly is pretty complicated, not reliable!
Review: I didnt really like this gun when I had it!! It was always screwing up and When i tried to take it apart to see what the problem was I had a very frustrating time taking it apart. You can only get Smart parts gun parts for it and it only takes HPA or upgraded CO2, and personally I think that is a scam. They sell the gun for cheap and It dosent even take regular C02. Luckliy for me I live in an area where its pretty easy to get HPA for my guns but its not that way for everybody else!!
Conclusion: I dont think people should by this gun if they want a cheap gun, because they are gong to end up spending a lot of time on repairs and upgrades
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

thepbownerzz Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Planet Eclipse Ego, Spyder electra, invert mini, DM9, Piranha GTI(all better guns than this)
Marker Setup: Ego with VLocity and lotus barrell( best barrell by far)
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would defintly get a new board.
Strengths: Looks pretty nice even though its plastic
Weaknesses: breaks a lot, Mostly plastic, crappy feed neck
Review: this is not the best gun at all!!! I really hate this gun and i cant think of all the times i have taen this piece of cra to the freaking repair shop!!! I dont like the gun at all and need to get rid of it! Im sorry if i just dissed your gun, but I would recommend you to save up and get a Proto or something if you are that price range.
Conclusion: Save your money and you can really get a better gun. Or you can just get A cheap gun like a Spyder pilot those are way better than this.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ThePainter1234 Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
invert Mini, Spyder VS1, spyder pilot acs, and Piranha GTI
Marker Setup: use my Invert mini with virtue board
Recommended
Upgrades:
new gun!!! but if u cant get a black heart circuit board
Strengths: Looks nice, but thats pretty much it.
Weaknesses: Crappy kit, can only use Smart Parts upgrades, and it breaks easily.
Review: I wouldnt really recommned this gun, If I were one of you looking to buy an Ion i would iI would get a proto SLG they are wayy better than this IOn crap!! I wouldnt really suggest you get this because you will end up spending a lot of money on repair, so do yourself a favor and just buy a better gun.
Conclusion: Save a Rock through an ION thats all i have to say
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

khoifish714 Saturday, June 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker NXT
Marker Setup: SP ION
TechT L7
SP QEV
ND wave trigger
Shocktech Clamping Feedneck
CP on/off Asa with rail
CP Reg
Shock Tech Body kit
Freak Barrel Kit/inserts
Viewloader Vlocity JR, virtue chip,Virtue Crown
NInja 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Phew where do I start?....
Reg,bolt,feedneck,trigger,on/off asa,breech,firing can, body kit,barrel,board, basically the whole gun
Strengths: This is an extremely quite gun
Weaknesses: Unless you want to spend 300+ on upgrades get a better gun
Review: This is an "ok" gun for those who just want to play paintball once in a while and dont want to spend a lot of money on high end guns. This is a reliable gun even if it's all stock. It's extremely quiet compared to the Spyders and Tippmans. It's even more quite than my 05 Ego, There is barely any kick. The cons for this gun is that you need to upgrade ALOT to get it running in the tournament level. But once you upgraded it the ION absolutely rips, My ion can wipe my Ego anyday, it's super quite and really accurate with the freak kit.
Conclusion: Great Beginner gun But a tournament level gun upgraded
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spfrontman Thursday, June 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
smart parts Epiphany

Marker Setup: pimped ion
halo with rip drive/ pinokio depending on position im playing
48/3000 steel

Recommended
Upgrades:
cp asa, smart parts clamping feedneck, new trigger new barrel
Strengths: Electro, costs 164 ok trigger 17 bps if you can shoot that fast
Weaknesses: Needs upgrades hard to take apart barrel isnt accurate
Review: The smart parts ion is great for a recballer but if your doing any tourneys or wanna have a good gun u have to get a few upgrades if you wanna be acurate get a new barrel at least 50$, if you dont want ur tank to get the threads messed up get a cp asa with bleed on it, if u want a consistent fps ball to ball get a cp reg for great consistency the ion is a great gun but
once you get all the upps its about 320 so why not just get an epiphany for 250 and put a cp asa on it then its 290 and save 30 or more dollars
Conclusion: Its a cheap and electric
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cxrleadtheway Monday, May 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: Ion,Redz pepper stick,Halo B w/rip drive,Black Heart board,Clamping feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feed neck
Strengths: Very Accurate,Light,Very Manuverable
Weaknesses: It is hard to get the hopper on and off without clamping feedneck
Review: I have fired a large range of paintball guns and I have to say the ion is one of the best, Unlike many guns the ion is perfect for bushballers and speed ballers its size makes it very manuverable and easy to snap shoot in speed ball, the ion's accuracy makes it perfect for bushball because it is also very quiet and in black it is hard to spot
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to any one because its pro
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

808nemesis Saturday, May 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR-similar
Marker Setup: Reloader B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV
Barrel
Feed neck
Strengths: Price-cheap
Upgrades-many
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Maintanence-dissasembling
Review: Great gun out of the box but can be upgraded to be a great gun that keeps up with the expensive markers.When you switch out the QEV this thing is just as fast as anyghing out there.It also becomes super quiet.With an upgraded barrel the accuracy becomes pinpoint.The price of this gun is awesome for what you get.You may want to get a clamping feedneck to hold in your hopper.After installing a Tech T7 bolt,QEV, and getting a better barrel this gun shoots and performs like a dream.The only big problem with this marker is getting to the bolt.It is a long process to get in there and should not be done by a person not familiar with taking apart markers.It makes it really hard to maintain the parts internally
Conclusion: People say its not a great gun without the upgrades but it is for what youre paying.But after the upgrgades it can keep up with any gun and still be paying under $400-$500 compared to buying a stcok marker at $800 to over $1000
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media