paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  42  |  43  |  44  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  Last
        Next Page
Daeagleeye8 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS
Tippman A-5
Smart Parts Shocker
Alias Timmy
DM6
a lot of others....
Marker Setup: Primary Setup:
Smart Parts Ion
New Designz Pro Ion Low Rise campling Feedneck
FIrebolt
360 QEV
14'' Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Hybrid Contract Killer Hitman Grips (Blue)
Custom Products Direct mount on/off (Blue)
Custom Products Ion Sling Blade Trigger (Blue)
Virtue Ion Ez on button (Blue)

Hopper:
Halo B w/ rip drive (black)

Goggles:
Dye Invision Googles

Tank:
Crossfire 70ci/4500psi Stubby tank w/ Dye Rhino cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
QEV
Trigger
from there....you choose what you think u need most.
Strengths: Speed
Reliability
Weight
Price
Accuracy
VERY customizable
Weaknesses: Trigger
Feedneck
Review: Well, i first came across the ion when at the speedball field when i asked my friend to play with his for a game. I fell in love with it ever since. I was impressed at how light the gun was and how accurate my shots were (i was using a dye UL as well, which REALLY helps lol). Well, let's about the gun.....I know that a lot of people are starting to hate on the ion, but most just say it cuz it has become so popular. This is coming from someone who has shot most high ends out there. I love the fact that the ion can be customized so much. To tell u the truth what really got me even more into the ion is the fact i can make it my own, and make it perform as i wish it to. It is the kind of gun where u can always find something new to improve in both performance and looks. Since I am not rich, this is great. I get to upgrade it slowly and make it a better gun with time. Rightn now, i've reached a point where my performance is AWESOME, but i am so addicted i cant stop upgrading lmao. The ion is also VERY Easy when it comes to internals...any idiot can learn how to mess with it quickly and learn how it works (you can also find anything you want about it online). Althought it is easy, i wish the dissambly wasn't so annoying and time consuming. That is why i am getting a bolt out back body (my next upgrade :P), and this should solve my problems. The only real problems i have with this gun were the stock feedneck and trigger. The trigger feels too much like plastic and fragile, but for 29 bucks u can get a great trigger and solve that problem. The feedneck is also a weakness. It was a pain to put my halo on it when i first got it, but again, u can go out there and find yourself one fairly cheap. ITS A 199 dollar gun....u cant expect everything to be perfect. Last but not least, I have found people here that complain about the stock regulator not being consistant. Well, I have no complains about mine. I usually chrono at + or - 2fps. It is in my opinion one of the best stock regs out there.
Conclusion: There is nothing better out there for this price range. It is a great gun and can be as good as u want it to be. It is a gun where u can always find something new to mess with and upgrade. I highly recommend this gun to anyone out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 14th, 2007 at 3:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HersheysHeroes Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: BLUE SP ION
CP Reg
SP 360 QEV
CP Trigger
CP ASA
Dye Ultralite
68 45 PMI Tank
Black Halo with RIP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck first thing and if you arent that serious all you really need possibly a new barrel
Strengths: *Size tight and compact
*Speed not the fastest but ok
*Customizable
*Everyone has one
Weaknesses: *Feedneck absolute piece get it replaced
*Everyone has one
Review: The fact that everyone has one is a weakness and a strength because its cool do have something that only you have ,but also if yours breaks at the field the someone can probably fix it. I really like this gun because it so tight, can really hug the bunker with it.Another thing is if Ions suck so much, then why does everyone have one? just something i have thought.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to all amateur speedball players because i think it is the best bang for your buck gun
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 14th, 2007 at 4:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

christiandoy Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a spyder imagine, a spyder pilot acs and a amp reactor.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion with blue frame, Headlock Feedneck clamp, Smart Parts 2 piece barrel, Firebolt , Virtue ION eyes, 65 4500 psi tank, Vlocity Viewloader Hopper, Critical Ion Rollerbearing Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Firebolt and New Feedneck Clamp as well as a Rollerbearing Trigger.
Strengths: Fast shooting, light, well built, and is very easy to use.
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel, Trigger, Feedneck
Review: The ION is a great gun to go with if you want a good reliable gun, but are not ready to go pro yet. This gun is a very good working marker and you can rely on it to not chop a ball or pinch during a critical point in the game. Its a good marker, but you have to remember to clean it well or else it will fail on you. The gun itself will not work well without a good hopper that can keep up with it and a good air supply.
Conclusion: Buy it, its a good gun if your starting off, Have fun. Im getting an epiphany soon! I love smart parts and am looking forward to some new upgrades for the ion and new gun releases
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Akmar Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers
Marker Setup: 06 Eclipse Ego
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Feedneck, Trigger
Strengths: Price$$$$$
Lots Of Up's
Great Overall Gun
Weaknesses: Style/Look
Review: What a great gun. The ion was my first gun and I loved it. I was amzed how good the gun was and howe much i payed for it. Smart Parts mad a gun that has alot of the same feautes as high-end guns but that you can aculay buy for under $600-$700 dollars.
Conclusion: I was super happy with the ions price and prformence and would recmaned it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Charged Ion Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Raven Primal. (rental)
Crap rental guns
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion- VL Evolution II with Y board- WGP 3000 psi 50 ci tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW FEEDNECK!
A new trigger.
Drop forward
A fast hopper
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Barrel
Weaknesses: The stock feedneck is very bad
Stock ASA puts the tank very far back
Review: Well, this my first marker and I have to say. I have shot a few other guns. But this one is the best. It is very easy to use A.K.A the board. I have shot almose 3000 rounds through this and never choped a singel paintball. The eyes work very well. I plan to get a drop soon because the tank is WAY to far back. The trgger is not the best I have used though. This is a very good beginer marker.

Edit: I have just played with this Marker. I NEVER choped a ball. Having the long Ion was kinda hard to play with... Very accurate with stock barrel.(but that depends on the Paint you use)
Conclusion: Very good Marker for noobs like me ☺
Does not chop.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 21st, 2007 at 4:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shobros Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: ION with evlution II with Y board and a DXS 3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-lock, and trigger (if ya want), and a new on/off button
Strengths: The body, user friendly, and cheap
Weaknesses: Feed neck (you want to upgrade it)
Review: Ok i have used a few other guns from friends and people from the from some fields.
like the 98 custom, A-5, an angel, and a spyder. the tippmanns good but i'm no woods ball fan, the angel too much $$$, and the spyder; hate it. the ion is cheap but shoots with the best of them. it has inter changeable exteior body and and the on/off button is decent. IF YOU WANT A GOOD MARKER GET THE ION!!!! it is worth is
Conclusion: I love this marker. it may need a little work here and there but over all the $$$ was worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

usaf127 Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
PMI Blackmaxx (ITS A BEAST!) lol
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion w/ virtue board
Red Dye Sticky Gripz
Black/Red Dye Ultralite Barrel
NDZ Red Rake Trigger
CP Flame Drop Forward
CP ASA Red Rail
CP Red Shorty Regulator
Q-Lock Feedneck
Viewloader EvLution 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
board
barrel
trigger
FEEDNECK
regulator
Strengths: Good out of the box for begining tournament players
Price
HIGHLY upgradable
Weaknesses: Will end up spending more on upgrades then the gun costs
Review: I bought this gun over the summer because i began to merge from woodsball into speedball and tournaments. I imediatly fell in love with it due to its cheap price tag, rather high rate of fire, easy maintanence, and moderate respect that the marker attains. It really is a great gun, DO NOT let people convince you otherwise. The reason it recieves little to no credit is due to the fact that it needs ALOT of upgrading to compete against the higher end guns (egos, DMs, etc.). If you have the money, time, and heart to put into this gun you will be pleasently surprised. Just be prepared to spend upwards of a few hundred dollars turning this into a true high end marker.

The actual performance of this gun is excellent for the begining speedballer. The speed is great even though the stock board is capped at 17bps, this is fine for most people newer to the game but for the higher grade people just buy yourself a virtue board and a really fast hopper and youll be perfectly fine with 23+bps, able to hold its own against any marker you come across at the field. The accuracy of the stock barrel is debateable, some say its great some say its horrible, in my experiences with it i found that at most shorter to midranged firefights it can hold its own but you really should upgrade to a freak, AA, or Ultralite if you really want to stand out. The regulator is one of the most complained about features of the Ion, just be aware that some Ions have there velocity set to high before they are opened and if not lowered you can blow your gauge or seloniod if your not careful. Just buy yourself a torpedo or Custom Products regulator to fix this problem outright. This gun can be easily maintained IMO but some people say otherwise, if you have some experience with electronic guns then you should be alright. In all its a great deal for a great price but still doesnt deserve a great or bad review....its just a good gun that has potential to be amazing through upgrades.
Conclusion: If your new to tournament paintball or a experienced player looking for a backup the ion is great. Being a person that loves to customize and upgrade this gun was perfect for me. Just be aware that you will most likely be forced to upgrade this gun multiple times in order for it to be respected amongst the other tournament players.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 13th, 2007 at 10:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DukeDerox Wednesday, January 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Mid level markers. (Promaster, Autocockers, etc.)
Marker Setup: Ion
45/45
360 QEV
CP Roller
CP Reg
Halo B
AA 12 inch
Q-Lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
Trigger
QEV
Board
Strengths: Customizable
With upgrades and skill you can take down any gun
Light
Weaknesses: Sucks when stock
Review: At stock this gun sucks. NO S@*#! But once it's been upgraded (If you have skill and brains...) you can take down any high end marker. Took down an angel, pm6, ego, and timmy. If you cant keep up with high end guns with an uped ion, you fail at life.... Seriously...
Get upgrades, keep it as a back up if you have a better marker, if your new get it & learn to upgrade.
Everyone else, stop complaining. This gun is a great beginner gun or back up.
Unfortunatly, people are idiots and will make fun of it. Quick fix, get better and listen to them complain "I wasn't tryin, an ion cant possibly beat me" That guy is a noob, paint him.
Conclusion: Get upgrades, keep it as a back up if you have a better marker, if your new get it & learn to upgrade.
Everyone else, stop complaining. This gun is a great beginner gun or back up.
Unfortunatly, people are idiots and will make fun of it. Quick fix, get better and listen to them complain "I wasn't tryin, an ion cant possibly beat me" That guy is a noob, paint him.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GoonSquadPB Wednesday, January 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker nxt - Shockers are alot better and more reliable i know because i used to have one.
Dm6- Once again alot better than an ion but the ion holds its own
Marker Setup: Main Setup-Dm6 with Virtue board, Dxs Pulse, with dxs 68/45 tank.

Secondary- Ion with Virtue board, Critical trigger, Freak barrel with aa front, Hedloc feedneck, Virtue easy on/off, smart parts 360 qev, cp reg, with a halo v/35 and smart parts micro inline maxflo 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Id say...
-Barrel
-trigger
-board if need be but i only got one because i had a little extra cash
-clamping feedneck
Strengths: - Price
- Fast for that low of price
- pretty efficient
- can be upgraded to max
Weaknesses: - Barrel you have to understand its stock
- Trigger could be better
- Feedneck
Review: Ok well i got this marker about 3 months ago and heres what i notice while playing-

- Efficiency is pretty good i got around 1200 shots with the stock reg using my 68/45 tank and when i put the cp reg on i am now getting around 1600-1700 shots from it so that is pretty damn good.

1st day of using- well i got this gun from pbgear.com and when i got i went out and shot it and it shot pretty good. The weaknesses i have like i said in that section were the barrel the ball just wouldn't hit ball on ball like aftermarkets do but what do you expect from stock? When i got to the field i aired up and went to the chrono. My first 5 shots were 287, 290, 278, 293, 297, 286. That's pretty good for the guns first shots on the chrono.

When i played a few games with the marker i really liked how it felt in my hands and this is coming from a dye owner. It is also light so nothing was holding me down on the field.

Tourney- I was playing in Commanders Cup (play D1) and my Dm started acting funny and the barrel started to chop paint and it began to have shoot down and i later found out the board broke :(. But anyways i used my ion for the rest of the day and it shot just fine we ended up finishing in 6th place so that's not bad and in between games it was a breeze to clean and maintain. During the games I played with it i only chopped 1-2 balls so that's good enough for me.




Conclusion: I recommend this marker for a newer tourney player/ beginner or even a veteran without alot of money. What you have to understand is that its a mid range gun so you might have to upgrade it to make it be able to keep up with the rest. It would also be a very good back-up gun.
I give it a 7 because that is what i think it deserves, i don't know why people give it a 10 because everything can get better and there are better markers then this one. But i have to say this marker is really a bang for your buck and you will be very happy with its performance on and off the field i say off because its a breeze to clean.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 10th, 2007 at 12:40 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xps35 Wednesday, January 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I borrowed my friends ion pro for 1 game.
Marker Setup: Smart parts ion q-lock new dizines trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-lock and not the redz q-lock, get the smart parts 1
Strengths: U get allot for the price.
Weaknesses: If it has rained or is raining keep it in the case.
Review: The first time i saw this gun was at a small 5 man tourniment , and i thought it looked awsome, considering all i hade was a modle 98 and a revolution hopper. 6 monthes latter i got 1. anyway on to the review.

this gun is like a dream come true, cheap and very nice, i dont cair what anyone has to say. it is realy acurate even with the stock barrel, ive never chopped a ball in the time ive played with it, so like 0 out of 20,000 have broken, even in the cold weather.

the 1 thing that smartparts did RONG is make that feed neck so freakin CRAPY. i meen aven the piranah evo comes with a better feed neck. oh and if you get shot at from behind and the trigger gets hot it will break off, that happened to me, but thats a good excuse to get a better 1 lol. i like all the different settings on it,

I got mine from "bigpearlpaintball.com" for like $200 i think ( my parents bought it 4 me so i dont know the exact price) but i get all my stuff there, they realy do have the best prices, if u find a product cheeper anywere they will match it or beet it. except for ebay of course.

I play against a guy with a shocker and i can hold my owne.
Conclusion: this is a great gun for anyone from a first timer up to an NPPL player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  42  |  43  |  44  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media