paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Bdahwolfe Tuesday, May 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
invert mini
Marker Setup: Just got done with my ion.moving on to hopefully an etek2
Recommended
Upgrades:
get the blackheart,better feedneck,trigger
Strengths: Durability
Upgrades
Weaknesses: The stock trigger needs to be upgraded but thats it
Review: I stopped using the ion but i still love it, it kept me through most games.I would recommend getting this if you are on your 2nd or 3rd marker.This gun has plenty of good upgrades. And this will do you for 2 years or so. But do get a new trigger and feedneck, I didnt get these but thats because i had no cash.Over all,get this gun!
Conclusion: I would recommend this because of the upgrades available, price and the durability
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 12th, 2009 at 5:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scarfaxage862 Wednesday, May 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker
98 Custom
A-5
Spyder Elctra
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend clamping feedneck and a drop forward. Also a new trigger definately. New barrel
Strengths: Cost, Fire Rate, Durability, Weight, accurate, consistent
Weaknesses: Trigger, Feed neck, stock length with tank.
Review: The ion has many strengths. First off, the cost. I bought mine new for 165. 2nd, the firing rate. On ramping this thing can crank it up to 17 bps wich is certainly enough for rec play or some friendly cometiong and scenarios. The durabilty of this gun is amazing, i dropped it an the concrete, just a scratch, a very small one too, and that was it. It also hit DRECTLY on the reg, not a thing. The weight of this gun is great. it is lighter than most guns. About 2 lbs. This gun is also very accurate. I pulled it out of the box, loaded my hopper on, and let er rip. i was hitting at the EXACT spot i was aiming for at quite a distance. Also, the consistency. not much drop off or anything like that. The gun keeps firing no matter what. the gun does have its low points though, for instance, the trigger. wow, this thing is bad. ou can only just feel the low end chinese plastic and the fact you only get enough leverage on the VERY bottom tip to fire. And the magnet, really isnt that bad, if you take it off it becomes so liight it will simeimtes shoot if you move the gun too fast or i you brealy even tap the trigger. And the feedneck is not all that great. It works but a clamp would be recommended. The length of the gun with the tank on is huge, it acts as a large stocka nd gets very annyoing, drop forward is a must.
Conclusion: this gun is great for a beginner and easily upgraded to be a much better marker. I give it a 9 for its cost and consistency and good things.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mdf44 Friday, April 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vibe (worse), Tippmanns (worse), UL SLG (better)
Mini, Shocker NXT, Etek 2, SL66, PM6, PM8, etc. (all better)
Marker Setup: Etek 2 (red and white)
Freak barrel w/ 14" all-american front
68/45 PE nitro tank
Dye Rotor w/ high capacity shell
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck
New trigger
New bolt
New board
Decent tank and hopper
Strengths: Cheap
Accurate (with the right barrel)
Fast(ish)
Light(ish)
Very upgradeable
Small(ish)
Weaknesses: Trigger
Board
Bolt
Feedneck
Barrel
Lots of plastic
Kinda fugly
Not great efficiency
Review: The ion was my second gun. I had a Tippmann Custom Pro for a couple months before realizing it just wasn't gonna cut it if I wanted to play speeball. So I bought the ion, a 68/45 pure energy nitro tank (my only tank to this day) and an Empire Reloader. The hopper didn't fit in the atrocious feedneck so I immediately had to get a NDZ clamping feedneck. It was a huge difference once I got onto the field, though. For a very reasonable price, I was at least in the ballpark of the other speedballers. This gun was so much lighter, faster, smaller; it was a revolution for me. Over time, I got a NDZ trigger, an Empire B, and a UL barrel and played a couple tourneys with this thing and it preformed fine despite the fact that I sucked. I have to say I was a complete noob when I owned this gun so I never lubed the bolt or anything and it was still very reliable.

On the other hand, this gun has its weaknesses and limitations which prevent it from being a tournament-level marker. First of all, the trigger, feedneck, and barrel need to be replaced immediately if you play speedball. The bolt and board are rather lacking too, and I wish I had gotten a Firebolt and Blackheart board. The Ion only goes to 17 bps with the stock board, and it doesn't come with decent ramping modes. And finally, this marker is almost all plastic, which gives it a cheap feel and look. You can spend $100 on a new body, but for that much more money, you enter the price range of better guns like the Mini, UL SLG, a used Etek, etc.
Conclusion: The ion is still a decent buy for the player just getting into speedball or a woodsball player who wants a gun that's actually fast. It served me well for a year before I moved on to the Mini, and this marker got a lot of new players into speedball. I'd look into the UL SLG, Mini, G3, and other cheap used guns first though. The Redz Ion and Ion XE are also a big step up for only a bit more money, so I wouldn't actually get a stock ion, which requires quite a bit of upgrading.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 17th, 2009 at 4:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fivestarchief Saturday, April 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot, 06 eclipse ego.
Marker Setup: Evolution 3 (egg) 48/3000 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
TRIGGER!!!!!! Feed neck, possible eclectric board.
Strengths: Accuarte, Light weight
Weaknesses: Trigger, barrel
Review: I bought this gun from my friend and its pretty good. I went from a pilot to this so it made me alot better. Im still getting a new epiphany but the ion will be my back up. If you want a descent gun than buy this one. If this review helps, rate it.
Conclusion: Buy this gun you wont be too dissappointed
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigPaulus Sunday, April 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
VS3
Wrath
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Evolution 2
68/4500 Crossfire
ION Virtue Board
No-rise Lapco feedneck
Smart Parts Fire bolt
14" All-American Barrel
CP Sling trigger
Hybrid 45. Grip
CP Rail
Check-it ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any board besides the stock one,
Trigger
Feedneck
ASA
You dont need a new barrel. The stock one is fine.
Strengths: Price
Weight
Convenience!
The ability to completely upgrade/Create your own gun
Weaknesses: ASA
Feedneck
Trigger
Review: Ok !, Time for the review, Smart Parts ION

First of all, when you open the box you notice that you didnt pay alot of money for it because its a cheap box and has cheap faom holding the gun in place. I have to say that the ion is a very good recreational gun, but if you want to be better at paintball your gonna have to put lots of money into the gun LOTS. Believe me i had to put a ton into it before it was performing like a EGO. I also have to say though, Once i did upgrade it, it was acting like a 1000$ gun, then again thats probably how much went into it. You can see what recommended upgrades that i suggested for it so no need to talk about it. SO, for the overall, Get the upgrades, Spend the money and youll be happy .
Conclusion: Get the upgrades, Spend the money and you'll be happy . I give this gun a 7 out of 10, because it has a good price but horrible performance.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

virtue ions rul Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder vs1, imagine
jt tac 5
smart parts vibe, sp-1, epiphany
Marker Setup: -trinity Q-lock feed neck
-body kit
-proto 2 piece 14 and 16 inch fronts
-tear drop 14 in.
-virtue blue eyes
-virtue OLED board
-virtue grips for OLED board
-virtue ez on 2.0
-firebolt
-360 QEV
-trinity roller trigger
-hybrid on/off asa
-empire bottom rail for hybrid on/off
-trinity bullet on/off asa
-halo v35 with victory board
-draxxus carbon fiber stubby tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck and asa
board if u want
Strengths: Great price
Shoots pretty good
Good first electronic gun
Good basic gun
Quiet
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Board is not programmable
Asa
Air hog
Review: my friend told me to get this gun 2 years ago and ever since it has been loyal to me. I've never had any problems with it. during the time period ive had it, i have done a lot of upgrades. i would say this gun was made just to built custom almost everything on mine besides my reg and frame. i love this gun i would never sell it unless i got to. this has to be my most favorite gun ive ever had.

now on to spec about gun
-get a full hopper and 3 dye lock lid pods out of my tank
- 3.8 lbs.
- accurate barrel but mostly depends on paint
-good compact gun
Conclusion: This a great gun for beginners and intermediate players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kellerleoclub Thursday, March 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM8
Shocker NXT
Marker Setup: Primary gun: PM8
Dye clamping feed neck
Empire B loader





Secondary Gun: Ion
Blue plastic body (made it really light)
Smart Parts Freak kit with All-American Barrel
CP reg
CP trigger
Halo with Rip Drive
68/45 crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Reg
eyes
body kit (personel opinion)
Trigger
board
Strengths: Really fast
light
doesn't break balls
eyes are really good

cheap
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is kinda weak
Feed neck is really high
Review: When i got this gun, i bought it in a pawn shop for 60 dollars. I went to one of the local paintball stores (Paintball Player Supply) and got a lot of upgrades that day with the money i saved from buying the gun new. I went to the local field to play a walk on game with it and this gun is amazing. The whole time I was out there playing I didn't chop a single ball. Granted I was shooting Evil paintball and these are the best paintballs on the market. I was always shooting at 15bps and it was so deadily accurate. This gun is a really good gun to have either as a primary gun or a back up. This gun will be a good backup to any person that plays in tournaments because with all the limits on how fast you can shoot, this gun will be shooting as fast as a 1,500 dollar DM9.
Conclusion: This gun is a great gun for anyone that is either new to the game of paintball or an seasoned tournament player. This gun will accept a lot of kinds of upgrades and since it is made from Smart Parts, it is a great gun. Besides my PM8, this is the best gun that I have ever owned and I have had autocockers and a lot of other guns. I hope this review helped you decide to own an Ion because you will not be sorry.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

silentslayer813 Saturday, March 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Not too much in this class, I'll list all previous experiences:
Tippmann pro-carbine ( *puke* : bad memories )
Tippmann 98c ( Well, it was reliable )
Spyder rodeo with rocking trigger ( blender )
WGP autococker trilogy pro S.F. ( I really liked this one )
Marker Setup: I shoot an SP Ion , upgraded to max'd specs, minus the freak jr. ( I use an AA instead ), NDZ S-treme trigger, epiphany style power button, Centerflag 45/4500, Egg 2, and a Twinkie. You can't go out onto the field without a Twinkie to throw at somebody.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A few things for sure:
-feedneck ( stock one almost made me cry. )
-ASA ( please, I've seen nicer on some Wal-Mart guns... bad, SP. )
-trigger ( I have nothing to say but that it needs to go... ASAP.)
Strengths: -Size
-Weight
-Potential
-Bang for your buck
Weaknesses: -Trigger
-Feedneck
-ASA
-Power button (IMO)
Review: First off, I would like to state that I am very confused about my opinion on the Ion. I love my Ion, and my All American, but I dislike the way Smart Parts has handled business in the past. So, if I sound confused about if I like SP or not, it's because I am.

Now, onto the review. I have had my Ion for a while, as I wanted to get a better idea on how it will hold up. Too bad. I must say that the first impression was better than the lasting opinion. Now, this is not to say I dislike my Ion, on the contrary, I really like it, but to me, it wasn't all people hyped it up to be. The feedneck? I took great joy in ridding myself of that hunk. The ASA? Hmmm... That spyder VS1 from Wal- Mart had a nicer one, I think... And the trigger, well, it makes the microswitch go "click". That's about it. Now, let's hear about what I liked. The internals are stupid simple, IMO. There is the bolt, the eyes, and the board ( basically ), all connected by microline and banjo fittings, kept within nice aluminum frame and firing can. Also, I love the reg. I have heard people complain about them, maybe I'm just lucky, but I get great results, +/- 4 is a bad day for me. Also, while the stock barrel isn't exactly an AA or a Freak, it does get the paint onto the other team better than any other stock barrel I've used ( but then again, look at what I've used... ). I like the way the frame is constructed, it feels really compact to me ( but props have to go to the mini... geez that's a tiny marker! ). However, one aspect I have a hard time calling on is the power button. It turns it on, then off, and if you want to turn on or off the eyes, eh, go ahead. That's kinda what it feels like: eh, I guess I'll turn on for you. Eh, I guess you can turn me off... if you want. That's why I put the epiphany style button in mine. To me, it's that important. Now it feels more like: BAM! I'm on!, and SNAP! I'm off!, or KAPOW! you just turned your eyes on/off! BANG!... something like that. And after my new parts were installed (AA barrel, max'd body kit, SP on/off with s-rail, q-lock, trigger, etc.), I really began to enjoy my purchace. It wasn't really so much dumping tons of money into it ( actually only $75, I bought used... ), but realizing what the Ion should have been to begin with. This is the main problem, IMO. They market the Ion to new people, but then to keep it affordable, they remove what this marker really should be. Oh, and the Ion really isn't all that user friendly, so what the heck, SP? But all in all, my Ion was one of my best buys in a long time, if only after a little bit of at-home work on it. If you want an ion, try to save time and money, buy a Max'd, Pro, or even the new XE ( But that still needs work, too, IMO. ). Oh, and as a final note, owning an Ion won't mean you automatically become an ber paintballer, so those of you who act like that... just stop. You give the rest if us with Ions a bad name when you go around saying " Yeah well my Ion will keep up with ur Ego, and your Dye, and see that guy? I'll pwn him, too.". I hate getting flamed for having an Ion because that's the new Ion-owner stereotype. Just stop. Your ion isn't going to "pwn" a Dye or Ego. So if you do end up getting an Ion, be prepared for massive, ber flame-age of you and your marker. But if you can put a little bit of upgrades in, and deal with the taunts, bottom line is you have a great marker on your hands, no matter what everybody else says.
Conclusion: -Look for the Max'd, Xe, or Pro.
-Don't brag, it's not an Ego
-Get used to flamers
-Best value
-Buy one, go play some paintball! :)

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

danolin04 Wednesday, March 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyeder fenix, spyder imagine, spyder compact 2000
Marker Setup: black ion with new feedneck, qev, aftermarket board, aftermarket trigger, and firebolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck- convenience
QEV- efficiency
Trigger- comfort, looks, stability
Strengths: Cheap, Light, Fast, Upgradable
Weaknesses: Structure (read review)
Review: First I will state this is one of the cheapest "high end" electronic markers you can buy. Having said that this is the perfect starter gun. If you lack the cash or sponsership to play the game then this is the gun for you. Out of the box this thing will out shoot most loaders you can buy. The eyes are good and so is the board. As you get money you can upgrade this thing to make it much better than stock. I have spent less than 400 TOTAL on mine and it can rip real straight and accurately. This is with the stock barrel which people have had problems with. Mine has been great so far but I'm looking into a new one just for that increase in accuracy you will get. The main issue i have which is really just a lazieness factor is how the gun is built. You have to completely take it apart to grease the bolt and clean it as well. It really isn't that bad once you get used to it (or you could go with the XE or even just buy the XE kit for the original when you get the money.) The feedneck also should be upgraded because the Oring one kinda sucks. When i first got my gun i forced a halob into it without any sanding and that thing was on there until about a week ago when i finally bought a new neck and forced the old one off with a lot of elbow grease, some WD40 and a good vice. so just be smart (unlike me) and get a new neck when you get the gun. My store probably would have given me one on sale if i would have got it with the gun and im sure other stores would too. another part you may want to look into is a new trigger because the stock one is somewhat loose and mine actualy broke in half at the bearing in a game. This thing is also real relliable because for the first year i used the gun i did not grease it once (10 cases+ of paint) and when i took it apart it still looked fine and there was absolutely no rub on the bolt or any other part.
Conclusion: Awesome gun that the poorman can buy and build on.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 4th, 2009 at 1:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikeyk Monday, February 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really,
had a stock autococker w/ freak barrel
spyder xtra?
Marker Setup: stock smart parts ion
cp clamping feed neck
pure energy 45/4500
halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
good on/off

Strengths: Light
Cheap in price
Extremely upgradeable
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Stock barrel
Stock asa
Trigger magnet
Review: ok, got the original ion for christmas and my pure energy tank, i was excited to see how different it would be from the xtra and autococker i've used in the past. after gassing up and buying a halo b hopper i was kind of annoyed that the feed neck isn't made for good hoppers, its almost impossible to get a halo hopper in without taking the o-rings out and jamming it in. so i went back out to pick up a cp clamping feedneck. after putting that on the hopper fit great and the gun was ready to be tested.

ACCURACY: 9
cheap paint is what i had to work with for testing, and for a gun that was only $160 it shot great, the stock barrel shot decent so its not too much of a weakness but upgrading it will make it shoot more accurate. Its no cocker but it was still great for accuracy

CHOPPING: 10
the vision kept it from chopping any balls, which is good with the paint i was using! i heard that with gun that have vision as soon as a ball chops in messes up the vision and your screwed until you clean it. But with this gun i don't think i'll ever find out. i shot atleast 2000 rounds (filled tank up twice) and none of the balls chopped.

SPEED: 9
the speed of the gun was good from what i saw, i mean going from a stock cocker and an xtra it was awesome. the gun is no angel but for the price its great, plus upgrades easily make it fire faster. for woods this gun is more than enough stock, for faster games its a good gun to start with and upgrade

WEIGHT: 9
not to much to say about weight, i mean its lighter than an autococker and felt lighter than the xtra, but i don't have any numbers to prove it.

OVERALL: 9
the gun came with a horrible feed neck i thought, easily upgraded to a new one. a good on/off would be good for it to prevent any thread mending with compressed air tanks (i've seen it done). for the price of gun, the stock barrel isn't bad, im going to upgrade it when i get the money for a freak barrel. the stock board that comes with it is easy to use, you have to take off the grips to mess with settings but fields tend to like this feature to you don't turn on full auto on the field.

** The reason i put the trigger magnet as a weakness is because i personally think it is a little strong, but minor adjustments and some getting use to it solves the problem
Conclusion: Overall this gun is a great gun for people who are just getting into paintball and don't want to drop $300 into a stock gun then upgrade it. It is also a great gun for people who love to upgrade because there is nothing on this gun you can't change. So buy the gun, you'll like it as much as i do
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 25th, 2009 at 6:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media