paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  53  |  Last
        Next Page
Hybird Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SFT Shocker, NXT Shocker
Marker Setup: NXT Shocker
Hybrid Bolt
ND Slik Trigger
Tadoo Board With Gansta Break-out
CP ASA
CP Reg.
Empire Hopper
Pure Energy 45 Tank

Ion
Black Heart Board
Smart Parts Feedneck
ND Breech
ND Front Grip
CP ASA ON/OFF
CP Trigger
Halo
Hybrid Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck (will not hold a Halo) Board, Trigger(Personal Perffernce) Barrel,
Strengths: Price, 15 BPS(without new board), takes abuse, the most customizable gun on the market
Weaknesses: Not very good stock but upgrades will change that
Review: Ok I got my ion on my Birthday last year i was really happy the first thing i did was read the manual and learn how to take it apart(its a great manual) the next day i took it out to the feild and went to chrono i like the wench design very easy to change, watch the solinoid like other guns if you geet after maket grips watch the top scerws i got really close to dystoing my board by useing hybrid grips. Anyway the entire day i shot prtty consistent. the next weekend i went to a big game Pevs was having and while going though a cource called compound which has a river though the middle i slipped and smashed my leg into this huge log but i dropped my gun in the process so i took it to my freinds car and took it apart there were two problems one the gadge fogged up and the board was messed up so i got a Black Heart board and let my gun sit apart for a week and everything dried up with out any trouble.

So now its been a year and im useing it as a backup and a woodsball gun now that im getting a NXT shocker for x-mas but its a great gun for begginers and touny players
Conclusion: Great Gun Great Price I dont give 10s because nothing is perfict but this is close
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IONBaller1149 Saturday, December 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot
Spyder Electra
Smart Parts Nerve
Marker Setup: ION with virtue Board, 360QEV, freak barrel kit, drop forward, 68CI 4500 psi pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop Forward
QEV
if you can take out the trigger magnet!
Strengths: Accuracy
Concistency
OK speeds
Price
light weight
Weaknesses: Strong Magnet
Speed is a little slow
Review: I have owned alot of guns in the past and what i like to do is buy a gun and completely upgrade it. The ion is the perfect gun to have because its cheap, it has a ton of upgrades and looks pretty cool with body kits. On the down side it doesn't come with a drop so it handles a little bit like a rifle.
Conclusion: Its a great gun to have at all levels of play
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder_Pride Saturday, December 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
-Spyder Sonix Pro. -First gun, not very accurate. Relible newb setup.
-Autococker Trilogy Sport. -Alot of problems, hard to find parts. A "tinkers" kind of gun.
-Ion. -Blows the above out of the water.
Marker Setup: Stock Ion.
P.E. 48/3000 tank
Redz Cover
Empire Reloader 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Feedneck
-Trigger
-Qev
-Cosmetic (crap load for it)
Strengths: -Relible
-Keeps up with speedball
-Great price
-Easy to program
Weaknesses: -Needs new feeneck, trigger
Review: I have to say this is the best gun I have had yet. It is relible yet it keeps up with speedball guns. It's not as great as an ego or angel but it can do 17bps with little kick, therefore it can keep up just fine.
First up is a feedneck, I however just took the o-rings out and put in my reloader 2. The thing is snug as a bug and won't move even with a hopper full of paint. The trigger is plastic so one might wanna upgrade to something such as sp sling or w/e depending on your preference.
I have owned a spyder and a cocker. There is no way any of those guns can keep up with the ion. The ion is a relible marker, parts are cheap and everywhere and its generally a relible good gun. Having a cocker i had trouble finding parts. I found they are very outdated with many mechanical moving parts.
Go for the Ion for a inexpensive upgrade and you WILL NOT BE DISAPOINTED.
Conclusion: -Good price
-Alot of spare parts
-Sp really out did itself on this one. :tup:
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jodo_Kast Saturday, December 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
MR-2, MR-1, Spyder Electra, Tippmann A-5,etc....
Marker Setup: Speedball -

SP Ion, 14 Inch Blue Freak Jr., Blue SP Q-Lock, Blue SP On/Off, Blue Max'D Body Kit, 68/4500 Crossfire Tank, 68 Empire '06 Tank Cover

Woodsball -
MR-2, 20 OZ C02 tank, Egg , Tru-Flight 14 " barrel
Overlord pistol W/Ariakon holster, and extra magazine.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, Q-Lock, drop down, new trigger, new board
Strengths: Its fast, it has eyes, very sexy, and its price
Weaknesses: Crap trigger, duckbill
Review: I purchased this marker for Speedball, so I could use my MR-2 for woodsball, and I actualy started using my Ion for woodball as well. For $200, I don't think you can go wrong with it for the price and its up-gradablitly. -



Trigger - I don't realy like the trigger, but for a stock trigger, I should say its actualy preety good. Although I've heard of people breaking them off,etc. I don't think its fragile as its being made out to be localy. I wouldn't replace it unless you prefer another stlye/don't like it.


Barrel - I know alot of people are asking why they didn't through a Freak Jr. or something on this for its stock barrel, but I must say, I actualy enjoy the stock barrel, I meen, its not bad for a stock barrel, although I would recommend you upgrade it, its not a must.


Body Kits - I love the fact you can switch the bodys out on your Ion, its like the Tippmann of Speedball, you can customize it anyway you want, in any style you wish, from Tactical Senario, to sexy Speedball, it can be any color, any style.


Eyes- I love the fact this thing has eyes, being a partial noob myself, I can't get over the excellence of the eyes. Out of about 4000 balls I've put threw it, I've only broke one, as appose to my MR-2, which here latly seems to break like crazy in the chamber. So I give this a thumbs up deffintly!
Conclusion: I deffintly recommend purchasing this marker, I'd also recommend a SP Q-Lock, a Freak or Freak Jr., as well as a brand new drop down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyle0890 Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
angels, shockers, and spyders
Marker Setup: 06 shocker SFT w/ blackheart board, maxflo, clamping feedneck, jungle camo hybrid grips, black s rail, 72ci 3000psi n2 tank, vl revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, clamping feedneck, reg, maybe board, maybe a bolt (all depends what you want)
Strengths: Light, accurate, not horrible out of box, fast
Weaknesses: Reg, feedneck, macro line
Review: This marker is not bad at all. Sure its no super high end gun like a timmy or sumthin, but it can definetly hold its own. Ive used it in a tourny when it was up against a few dms and stuff, and it didnt do that bad. It helped with a 6th place out of ten, and that being my teams first tourny. Also on that team there was another ion and a tippmann.

The feedneck on this gun sucks. I broke all the o rings in the neck, but that was probably me not being to careful. Just buy a clamping feedneck and make it all better.

The reg on the ion spins way to much, making the gun inconsistant, and making it dangerous for tourny play (like being on to high velocity and being pennalized). but i still get maybe 12 +/- at the chrono, which isnt to bad.

My gun just started leaking right where the macro line meets the reg. When the tank is full, it leaks nonstop and it depressurizes after a few shots. When the tank is about 3/4ths full, all you have to do is give it a wiggle and it stops. But still, that isnt good.

The ion is quite accurate. I compared it to my friends Spyder pilot acs w/ freak and a perfect paint to bore match, and i beat him every time when tested.
Conclusion: This gun is a good gun for being 200$. Yea there are a whole buch of people that hate ions, but who cares? get what you want if you like it. thats that. I would suggest this gun for an entry level player, or even a rec player. I like this gun and it will remain my backup.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alchemon Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rodeo (worse), a-5 (better woodsball gun, ion is better for speedball), model 98 tippmans, nasty shocker (better)
Marker Setup: ion..........199
core body kit.............110
crossfire 68ci 4500 psi HP tank.........199
evo II............65
drop forward..........50
virute board........120
virtue qev.........25
st bolt......50
sp all-american.........70
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck (must), trigger (must), barrel (stock isnt THAT bad), a new asa or drop forward (not neccasry personal perfence). and maybe a new reg
Strengths: Fast, Lightweight, Wit a new trigger easy to walk, Gas efficent, Cheap, Upgradable, Fairly accurate
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck, Stock asa, Stock trigger, Stock body kit
Review: ok, so i bought this for 199. first off, i didnt like the stock body kit, so i got a new one. the stock barrel is pretty bad but ALL are. i personally hate the asa.....it sticks out like two inches so my tank digs into my arm. this gun is fast, faster than a a-5 wit repsonse. whwn it came everything worked fine. we then took off the black body kit and put on my new blue one (breech cover, slim grips, feedneck, trigger). it looked nice the trigger however is tricky. becuz if you set the pull to far in you can ruin the micro switch but to far out and u dont hit it....mess around wit it you will get it to work. i then put my ev 2 wit y board on there and my crossfire.

for advice of buying this gun----id say buy it but plan to upgrade. stock its still better than a 150 dollar spyder and you also get the ability to upgrade it. wit a new board, bolt, and reg, and barrel it can be one of those best and most deadly markers out there. but plan to spend 200-300 to get it to that level.

the accuracy isnt bad. its no cocker but its better than a blow back.

for 200 you cant find a better gun out there. and another good thing, you can spend about 200-300 and get it be a good marker
Conclusion: Buy it if and only if you plan to play mostly speedball. if your a woodsball guy/girl, get an a-5. great buy for 200 but be prepared to upgrade the stock parts
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 at 11:15 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

fo $hizzle Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor 2(not really similar)
Marker Setup: ion
2kx
48/3k steely


Soon to come: System X X-10 drop
cam lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop
trigger
clamping feedneck
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I used this gun at PBC Charlotte. It was my first time using an electro. I pulled a n00b move and didn't have the eyes on so it fired but w/ no eyes and choped 1 ball through 1 case of paintballs. I lit my friends up. It also gave me some confidence having the best gun there. Anyway it was pretty fast and accurate.

So here's the goods an the bads

Goods:
speed
accuracy
efficiency


Bads:
needs some up's
thats it
Conclusion: I give it a nine because the need of upgrades otherwise it perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 2:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kamikaze14 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98c, a-5, shocker sft and nxt, dm6, ego (all models)
Marker Setup: smart parts ion white w/ max flo micro, 14 progressive, qlock, halo b red
Recommended
Upgrades:
Almost needed: barell, feedneck, bottomline
optional: reg (if you get max flo no need), board, trigger
Strengths: Price
accuracy
light
fast
shoots right out of the box
consistent
durable
Weaknesses: Could be faster
could be better stock
Review: When i first started speedball, I only had a 98. Pretty soon I found out that wasnt going to work so I borrowed my freinds a-5. At first, i thought i might buy one of these, that was until it started to have problems. It was not tight enough, so i suffered many back welts. It is not that accurate, that is, for speedball. 281, 254, 231, 293, AHHHHH, GET AT LEAST FIVE SHOTS WITH +/- AT LEAST 15 FPS!!!!!!! If you dont use good enoug paint, well, chop chop chop chop chop chop. Ok, now time for the ion. I went to play the next day and asked about the ion. It cost a less than the a-5, and had good reviews, so i bought it. I screwed on my halo and a 68/4500. The first shots were (after i turned down the velocity which should be done on every new gun) 262, 258, 261, 255, 259. Of course, I thought quickly, new feedneck. After that i had no hopper problems. When i started playing i thought, a little more accuracy, so i got a new barrell. When i bought it the store owner asked if i just wanted to trade that and get a shocker. I had fired shockers before, and they were awesome, but was to high priced and the ion worked just as well. After that it worked amazing, but the barell was crappy so i traded it for a progressive, and it worked even better. A couple weeks later, max flo micro, even better better. Some people got different regs but it is not a must. Even with a new board, barrel, feedneck, trigger, bottomline, and reg it still costs less than a shocker and works just as well, but shockers are better at some things.
Conclusion: Great gun. If you are new and are looking for a nicely priced gun this is a must.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballr4life Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
From low-end markers to high-end markers
Marker Setup: Ion:
~S.P. Linear Barrel
~Redz Barrel Kit
~C.P. Sling Trigger
~S.P. Q-Lock
~C.P. Regulator
~N.D. Detents
~S.P. 360 QEV
~TechT L7 Bolt
~S.D. T-Board
~S.P. Body kit
~C.P. Direct Mount
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feed
Barrel
Aftermarket Detents (Stock wear out quick)
Strengths: Fast, Light, Inexpensive, Great Overall Marker
Weaknesses: Feedneck, Field Stripping (see review)
Review: First off this is an excellent high-end marker. It has a 17 BPS cap which is pretty good. There is a common misconception that this gun is all plastic. Everything is metal except for the body cover, which is a heavy duty plastic and the trigger. The body cover goes over a metal housing which holds the bolt. So the gun is extremely durable.

I would recommend upgrading the barrel. The stock barrel is fairly decent, I've seen better, but overall fairly accurate. I would also upgrade the stock feedneck to a clamping feedneck so that the hopper stays securely on the marker. One more upgrade I recommend is a set of aftermarket ball detents, the stock detents wear extermely fast. Those three upgrades can be done for around $60, which is not bad.

I have been using the marker for over a year and it has been very good to me. I was skeptical about the plastic body when I first bought the gun, but it is very tough (trust me I abuse this marker on the field) and it just keeps the weight of the marker down.

The one really big problem that I have with the Ion is field stripping. If you chop a ball and need to clean your bolt, you have to take the gun almost entirely apart just to get to the bolt. There are new all aluminum bodies that allow BOB (bolt-out-back) for easy cleaning. But that is really my biggest complaint with this marker.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a fast and durable marker then I would buy an Ion. Smart Parts has done an overall great job at creating a low-cost (around $200), high-end marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 2nd, 2007 at 4:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bendore Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR,Ummm... Shockers,
Marker Setup: Ion
Shocktech Trigger
Shocktech Feed Neck
Contrack Killer Grips
Cp Reg
CpFlame Drop
New Dezines On/Off
UL Barrel
Snatch Grip
Fire bolt
Empire Fuel 68/4500
Violocity Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck,Trigger,Barrel, On/Off, Board,bolt
Strengths: CHEAP,Light,Fast enough for most
Weaknesses: Plastic but who cares, Dumb body kit idk
Review: The Ion is a very good beginner level gun. Its for someone who is just going to play once in a while and the ocasionnal tourny. If yur going to use it I would suggest some up grades for it. I liked it I still have mine but i just bought a PMR its the best for the money. But if u just go once in a while get the Ion its perffect for that stuff.
Conclusion: Buy it its relible
its a good gun
It works
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  53  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media