paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  Last
        Next Page
spyderpainter16 Tuesday, November 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
upgraded spyder rodeo--much worse gun.

ICD Promaster--faster, not any more accurate, less kick
Marker Setup: Smartparts Ion, 16 in Custom Products barrel, Custom Products feedneck, every thing else stock. I also have a Halo B and a 48cu 3000psi tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (If its not accurate enough for you already)
feedneck
Strengths: speed
Accuracy out of the box
light
Weaknesses: Kick
Review: this Rodeo had a rocking trigger frame, smartparts teardrop barrell, and superfly bolt. It was my old gun and I thought it was blazing fast, but it wasn't. After I shot my ion for the first time I realized that my rodeo wasn't even a paintball gun compared to the ion. It was scrap aluminum. The Ion has good speed on ramping and on semi-auto. It is also extremely accurate. I was shooting a tree from 30 yards away and was getting a grouping of about 2 ft. Pretty good if you ask me. I said that kick was a weakness. The Ion doesn't kick very much on semi, but when it starts ramping it starts to have a little kick. I personally like the kick because it reminds you that you are actually holding something. When you shoot the Ion you sometimes forget that you are holding it because it's so light.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. I love it. The ion is fast light and very upgradable. I give it a 9 because of the cheapness of the feedneck. Smartparts only messed up on one thing on this gun and that was not putting a clamping feedneck on it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ion-4-life Tuesday, November 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts nerve
System x nme
Kingman Spyder vs2
Marker Setup: Smart parts Ion with dye
asa airport and dropforward.
Archon ignition 45ci nitrogen
system with redz tank cover.
Viewloader evoulution 2 with Z-board.
Thor clamping feedneck .
Cp blade trigger.and dye boomstick.


Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck
Strengths: Everything besides feedneck
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: The smart parts ion is a great tournement level paintball gun for the price with it's high rate of fire ,eyes and modes i would strongly recomend it to anyone. I hav ben using this gun for 3 months and have not had one problemand have not choped one ball.
Conclusion: Altogeth i reccomend this gun to everyone who wants a great affordable gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kniner9 Tuesday, November 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have the ion
Marker Setup: ion freak junior
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, feedneck, new bolt to regulate the nitro intake and board
Strengths: It is a fast gun pretty accurate i would recommend it to and player
Weaknesses: Nitro intake , new board , new barrel , and yessirrrr
Review: the ion is a great gun for any player unless pro but u can still get this gun for a cheap price and be able to hang with ur friends who have the impulse and maybe shocker but u might need to get a few new things to make ur gun one that ur friends are jealous of . I got my ion for x mas and it was one of the best presents i have ever had. UNLIMITED PAINTBALL in FLORENCE, Ky is sweet
Conclusion: Once u read this message u have to get the ion or u will die within 3 days!!!!!!

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyeprecisiondm5 Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker
impulse
Marker Setup: ion
45/4500 crossfire tank
cp reg
freak barrel kit
black heart board
and bunches of blue stuff like feedneck, trigger, body kit,ect.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel if accuracy isnt good enough for you
board but its fast enough
Strengths: LIGHT
accuracy
small
looks pretty sweet
price is amazing
fast enough
Weaknesses: Nothing just the barrel nothing a progressive wont fix.
Review: this gun is amazing i love it it is great for beginers and it is very cheap.when i got this gun out of the box it worked amazing i played the same day that i got it. ive had mine for about a year now and it is working great and i love it. BUY THIS GUN!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Just buy it you wont be dissapointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CaPtAiNGrImM Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Shocker SFT
DM4
Karnivor
i guess a few tippmanns
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Lucky 1 2 3 qev
Shocktech Clamping feedneck
Violent products Scythe trigger
Scenario dreams T-Board
Empire revolver Barrel
DARK ION yellow gloss body
Virtue Red Eyes
Shocktech Reg
(soon) - Shocktech on/off with drop 3
(soon) - Empire skull n Crossbones grips
Kila detents
Evo II
(soon) - Crosfire 68/4500 LP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definetly a barrel, reg, neck, and a trigger. the stock parts are ok but i think the gun can use better parts
Strengths: Extremely Upgradeable. Light, fast, user freindly. Cheap, stands up to really high end guns
Weaknesses: Lube hog
gas hog
Periodic leaks (easy to fix)
Review: Ok i got mine 2 years ago and ive loved it since. Ive rarely had problems with it except all my own mistakes like breaking a banjo and a battery connector. The leaks ive had were always from the bolt, which was fixed by applying DOW 33. (Dow 33 is the IONs best freind) This gun is great because its light and fast, and you can upgrade the hell out of it. its not too great however if you cant put money into it, its what i would call a project gun.
Conclusion: Its not the gun for you if you cant put money into it. Although i would recomend it if you can. Mine is damn fast and pretty reliable, it hasnt broke down on me at a field yet. If you can put money into it BUY IT!!! I would give it a 9.5 but the site doesnt allow it so im giving it a nine due to the periodic leaking and the need to upgrade it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 10th, 2007 at 10:44 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dark Raityul Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Shocker / Nerve
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion:

Critical Diet ASA
Stock Everything Else

Viewloader eVolution ll with y board

Worr Games Aluminum Nitro Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feed Neck

A board wouldn't be so bad

Barrel
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Weight
Weaknesses: Feed Neck, the key rings in it are necessary
Review: Quite possibly the best marker ever. I know most of you can disagree, but with a few upgrades, such as barrel, feed neck, and board, who needs a Dm6? With the Rampage board, it claims to fire anywhere from 10 - 40 bps with eyes on, and 10 - 20 bps with eyes off. Great product. Buy it. Or else.
Conclusion: Great product, tourney ready with a few upps.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hawk5755 Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Sp ion Cp on/off dye mini drop 48/3000 psi hpa tank, redz pepper stick, red clamp neck ndz saw blade trigger Vlocity hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck and a asa with on off, barrel
Strengths: Fast, relible
Weaknesses: Feed neck, gas hog.
Review: Well this is a great gun for people of all level of play. Off of expierence, the first thing you should get is a new clamp feed neck. If your hopper gets stuck, then you will continually have to unscrew the feed neck off the hopper. This after a a certain amount of time will strip the feed neck which means your hopper will continue to fall off. I expected nothing less for its performace. The board is alright but you can get alot of aftermarket boards that will give you more firing options. The asa sucks. This is one of the next things you should replace. When you lube a ion, dont over tighten the screws or you will break some parts in the internals which would void your waranty. I would recommend this gun to people of all level of play.
Conclusion: Great gun for everybody. I give it a 9 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 26th, 2006 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BattleWounds66 Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
some newer diablos
Marker Setup: red body kit, cp rake trigger, shocktech ASA/rail combo vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
ASA, trigger, feedneck
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: plastic, limited possiblities, bad ASA
Review: I got my ion because it was all i could afford. it is a very good marker for people who are just starting to play speed ball, or tournament beginners. the first time i used the gun i really liked it and every one at my local field had one. i couldn't walk very fast so the ion was just right for me. so far i haven't had a problem with the marker. if you are new to paintball or new to speed ball, the ion is a great marker to start with. . . don't listen to all the people who tell you they blow and only newbies have them, because they probably have one or just got rid of there's
Conclusion: For a good price the ion is a great product to start playing paintball or speed ball
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matm1234 Saturday, November 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion Pro
Marker Setup: Egg 3 hopper
72 000 hpa tank
clamping feed neck
QEV
Tech-T L7 Bolt
everything else stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV
Clamping feedneck
definatly Hpa
Barrel??
Trigger??
Strengths: quiet
fast
light (depends on Hpa)
efficient
Weaknesses: see in Body
Review: Well i just got an ion not to long ago and im very impressed. I know about all you ion haters out there and how everyone has one. I have to say you are mainly correct there. But they are sweet! Mine works great it is very effiecient do to QEV but there are few things that are wrong. You see you see all these other reviews complaning about the feedneck and i had the complete opposite problem it was like way to tight. SO i guess it depends. I think its just stupid that people complain about the trigger mine works great and it is very adjustable, you just have to do a little work to get it to ur setting. It is just one great gun and it runs very very well on my HPA tank i would not reccomend the anit-siphoned (how ever you spell it) co2. There is just one thing i must worn you about !! Read the instructions if you are going to try to figure out the configuration of the lights and shooting modes. I had some problems myself but it was my own fault. You see do not take off the barrel and squeez ur figner through and push the bolt!! I did for some stupid reason and the gun will go into blockage mode in otherwords the blinking Led has a mode to tell you when sotmhign is wrong. It was pretty stupid of me but as soon as i hooked up the air and set it to practise mode It cleared the block and i turned it back onto vision mode. For this being just being one great gun I rate it 9 because no gun is perfect.
Conclusion: Gun is awsome needs few upgrades unless your like the pickiest person in the world.
I recommend this gun to everyone, it can keep up with the big boys after a few upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 17th, 2007 at 5:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noleballing Saturday, November 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
trilogy autococker, spider amg
Marker Setup: ion, evo 2 hopper, compressed air
Recommended
Upgrades:
electric loader halo or evo2 compressed air is a must
Strengths: Light, Fast, allows tight play ,accurate
Weaknesses: Not great on air, needs to be shot in excess of 260 fps
Review: Before i got my ion i used an auto cocker and spider e-markers although im a fairly new player i have some experience and my experience tells me this is an excellent marker. right out of the box it was ready to go i hooked it up with evolution 2 hopper and a wgp compressed air tank and it ran like a champ its gets about 3 to four hopper fulls on one good sized tank of air which isnt too bad but that was really my only gripe
Conclusion: I do recomend this product, i didnt have the 500- 1500 to spend on a marker and this was the best gun for the best price and i would recomend it even to the most advanced players
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media