paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  52  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56  |  57  |  58  |  Last
        Next Page
paintgangsta Wednesday, November 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
victor 2
tippmann 98
tippmann A-5
autocockers
icon
viewloader
Marker Setup: all stock black ion
egg 2 with zboard
72/3000 pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck should be first
drop forward
barrel
trigger
tboard
Strengths: Very fast!
Very reliable
Durable
A real high end marker
Weaknesses: None
Review: The ion is the best gun out their! I would take the ion over a dm6 anyday! If you took and ion with tboard and aftermarket internals and the same hopper and settings and firing mode it can shoot just has fast as a dm6 with virtue!!!!! You need to get the ion and yes it is a high end gun just like dm's and shockers, egos ect. and no low end blowback spyder can beat and ion.
Conclusion: Get this gun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

FISTFULLOFRODEO Wednesday, November 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AUTOCOCKER SUPERSTOCK - faster but bigger
AUTOCOCKER TRILOGY PRO- more accurate but slower by a ton.
ICD BKO- i liked the trigger better, but it was heavy and needed an asa and macro line just to shoot the darn thing! TALK ABOUT INCONVENIENT
And of course a slew of low end markers
Marker Setup: 05' Smartparts ion
32deg drop
q lock clamping hopper neck
68ci*4500 pmi carbon fiber tank
wating on my halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
this marker is quickly becoming one of the most upgradable markers on the planet. Of the now hundreds of options to get, i would first run compressed air, then i would pick up a force fed hopper, locking low rise hopper feed, qev's ,and a lightweight bolt. but you could go much further. Its kinda like a sports compact, its so-so stock, but dump on the cash and its unique to you and a BEAST!
Strengths: Pricetag @$199, its a heck of a deal.
Low profile
high stock ROF
*aftermarket*
Weaknesses: Shocker grease
Not a big fan of plastic look
On off switch
Review: after searching for an e2 for my autococker, and not finding on at a price i wanted to pay, i decided to look for an electro. I was liking the look of the spyder electra, that was until i spotted the ion. at the point in time i got her, the ion was priced for $299, and even that was a great deal. i had a limited amount of money i the bank, so i just ordered it and went hungry until i sold my autococker. (not really, but i bought only essentials for the week it took to sell the trilogy). when i first took it out of the box i was impressed, it was very light and extremely compact. i instantly went into practice mode around the house, pointing at chairs (no air or paint of course) and i really liked the way it felt. i was a bit disheartened to see no regular co2 allowed for her (all the tanks i had weren't anti siphon) so i ordered up a 68ci. with my old halo tsa hopper filled, and my tank and i went out . it wasn't as accurate as the autococker, but it wasn't bad either. the strings of fire were amazing, i was really whipping it out with no problem (and no rebound wasn't enabled). the only problem i had was that the tank was sitting too far back in my shoulder for my taste ( im only 5'7" so the arms aren't that long). i bought just a cheap 32degree drop and i was in the zone. i love this gun, of the markers i have owned, it really is my favorite. I would say it is the best bang for the buck in any marker i have found to date. If your into woodsball, it is short enough that you dont feel like its a mile long, plus its lite. if you play speedball its got a fast stock trigger and board, as well as its compact for those bunker shots. my only complaint on the thing is, the on and off switch sucks, but it is workable, and if your upgrading the board, what do you care anyhow? anyway, its a great marker and if your thinking about getting one DO IT!!!!!
Conclusion: In the real gun world, Savage arms is given the most respect for Out of the Box accuracy. I believe this is a "Savage" of the paintball world. it does great right out of the box and it can do much better with all of the available hop ups. Of all the high end markers out there, this won my interest. it wont break the bank, its great stock, yet there is a huge aftermarket, and did i mension it wont break the bank? if you are undecided on your next marker, check this one out, for the price of a spyder, you now can own a truly high end, highly upgradeable marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 16th, 2006 at 10:04 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pballer128 Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: All Stock^^
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward
N2 tank
Halo b hopper
New Lock feed neck
Strengths: Low maintenance
High quality of the gun parts

Good Barrel
Sweet comftorball trigger
Weaknesses: Need to unscrew grip to change settings
Review: This gun is one of the best High End Electronic marker , because of the price and the reliabuility of the quality , I will take Ion's over Angles any time , because it has a good style and is very upgradable , you can have sweet upgrades for as low as 20$ , the only thing that SP should change is the Feed neck because it is not a universal Neck , it only fits some of the many hoppers out here , but im sure that they will solve that . I love the Stock barrel , when people say "Oh i dont like it because their is powder in it " or whatever they say of the barrel those people have no idea of what they are talking about because i have my ion for 6 months now and the barrel i awesome, it is acurate and is reliable . Like also that their is a good trigger , people say it woobles , but i doesnt on my gun and it is a good trigger , fast your fingers take the shape of it very quickly . This gun is so easy to Strip , when i see people saying that the Ion cannot be stripped on Field or quick enough that is patetic i can unscrew all my ion take out the board in less than two minutes so dont start saying that it is not a good system , and Pins suck , their is always a chance of one of your pins snapping out , but a screw cannot snapp out , it will always stay in place . This gun is awesome , i cant shoot fast enough for any PRO out their , not that many people can shoot 17bps , but some can , if your not happy you can change your Board against a virtue or blackheart for only 100-120$ range. The other thing i forgot to say is that it is an Electropneumatic gun so you have a very very quiet gun , and their is not kick to it !!!!!
Conclusion: If you play Speedball and sometimes Woodsball this gun is for you , it is a high end Electronic marker with EP , it has hundreds of possiblities to upgrade/customize for your looks .

Great gun 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

CONSPIRACYPB Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 autococker
Marker Setup: sp ion, sp q-lock, sp rail, and sp on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck, barrel, asa, qev, bolt(optional)
Strengths: Fast, Light, Small
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is awesome. Especially if you dont get very much money. There are tons and tons of stuff you can do with them, and it is very low priced. Use it as your number one gun, or as a backup. A lot of people put this marker down, but they all know that it is a great gun.
Conclusion: If you dont have a lot of money, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

canadianpballer Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine 2K4
Marker Setup: Ion with too many ups to list.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck.
Regulator (not necessary, but if you have the money)
Strengths: PRICE!!!!
Speed
Value
Accuracy with stock barrel
Customizible
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Some shootdown
Review: Alright, so I go to the store and pick up my Ion, and right out of the box... WOW. Great looks! The instruction manual is very explanatory. So I take it out to the field and air it up. Go over to the chrono and im shooting red hot. About 321 fps... Surprised I didn't blow my solenoid. ***Turn down the velocity when you get it, and make sure you hold the gun upside down***
Ok so here's the main review:
Accuracy: I was amazed at the accuracy with the stock barrel. The balls weren't curving as much as I thought.9/10
Speed: Wow, on ramping you only have to pull 5bps to enter ramping mode. I am sure i got it up to 16-17 bps. 9/10
Regulator: Some shoot down, and it slips in your hand. The shoot down is easy to fix just fiddle with the dwell for a while. The grip on the regulator slips so that's not good.7/10
Looks: This thing looks like no other high end gun, completely original. Good job Smart Parts. 10/10
Value: Great value. People say you get what you pay for, but not with an Ion. 10/10
Conclusion: Buy it, but buy a feedneck as soon as possible! The feedneck is just not the right shape.Great job smartparts!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kaizer Kris Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Ion Marker
Hybrid sticky grips
Halo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Replace the stock feed neck b/c it is small & is hard to my hopper on and take it off (halo). you could get new grips if u dont like the stock, put like a CP on/off valve on & lastly maybe a Smart Parts # 5 drop forward
Strengths: Fast shooting, great stock barrel, cheap!!
Weaknesses: None
Review: Good styling, but not enough options...(like 5 COLORS). The trigger assembly is a little shaky and sloppy at first, but you can easily fix it. You gotta take off the grips and to the left theres a hole that u jus stick the allen in & TIghten AWAy... The only problem i think is the body variety styles out along with the loose trigger (both easily fixable). Despite that this gun kicks A$$.
Conclusion: For a good gun at a reasonable price this sucker packs some heat w/ like 15-17 bps. It might not have the best body out, but for $225 this gun ROCKS!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chilijuarez Saturday, November 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smartparts nerve
Marker Setup: ion
empire vegas grips
red roller trigger
silver new designes body
14" dye ultralite
ego eclipse gauges red
red q lock
blk dye reg
virtue board
shocktech bolt
red drop
red halo b rip
68ci. 4500 pure energy cf tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would recomend, new feedneck, trigger,grips,barrel
Strengths: Price, weight,low profile
Weaknesses: Not the fastest. everyone has em,
Review: First of all when i got my ion i was very happy, and i was pleased, i hooked up my tank, and halo... took out about 2 bags of paint and started rippin.. i was very pleased at the rate of fire it was and the steadiness.... i thought it was great and i still do... but when i took it to play i used another kids ion for a bit,he had a board n it seemed alot faster and steadier ... i got my board... then over time i got my other ups for it and i am pleased with it performance... can keep up in speedballl a good plus
Conclusion: Over all i like the gun, i think its good for $200... i would recomend it to anybody but im getting an ego soon but im going to keep my ion
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ernluvr Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tippys
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION - 150psi/dwell at 25/295fps
16" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Smart Parts 360 QEV
UFD Fusion Bolt
UFD Black Aluminum X Body
UFD Saw Blade Trigger
UFD Mini T-Lock
D.O.P. Drop Forward w/ On/Off Valve
Halo B
68ci/4500psi Pure Energy HPA Tank
68ci/3000psi Pure Energy HPA Tank (backup)
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW FEEDNECK!!!!
Barrel
Drop forward (unless you have ape arms)
Strengths: Price tag: $199!!!
Very upgradeable
Simple design
Low profile
Light
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck stinks
No drop forward makes gun long
Review: Well, I finally did it! I finally upgraded from my old school mechanical trigger Spyder and joined the electro age by getting myself an ION! This was my first electronic marker, and I'll admit I was a little unsure of what to get at first. I did my homework by getting online, asking proshop owners, and comparing prices. For what I was going to use it for, the ION seemed like my best choice.

First of all this gun is INEXPENSIVE, not CHEAP. INEXPENSIVE=GOOD DEAL, CHEAP=CRAP. With a price tag of around $200 it will be easy on anyone's wallet. One of the reasons this gun comes with such an easy price tag is that it doesn't come with all the bells and whistles that many "tournament ready" guns do. The parts that are there, however, are of very good quality and function like they should.

This gun is about as upgradable as they get. That's why they don't cost a lot. They will work just fine in stock trim, but for those who can't leave well enough alone, you can do about anything you want to them.

The gun comes with 4 fire modes to choose from: Full Auto, 3-Shot burst, Semi, and Rebound. All fire modes have adjustable fire rate caps. Full Auto and 3-Shot burst are pretty self explanatory and both have a rate cap of 10bps. Semi is just your traditional semi auto mode, but with a 17bps cap. Rebound is where this gun gets really fun. For those of us with slower fingers that still want to shoot ropes faster than Full Auto's 10bps, Rebound allows you to hit that 17bps cap while pulling the trigger at a much slower rate. You will basically walk the trigger at around 6-8bps (not exactly sure of the kick in or sustain rate) and the gun will ramp up to 17bps for you. Nice.

The gun has infared eyes to ensure no chops at high rates of fire. This gun is equipped with "break beam" eyes, which are the good ones. Less picky than the "bounce beam" eye. You can turn them on or off, but it's kind of a no brainer that you'd leave them on while you're playing and only turn them off to degas the gun.

I've never actually put paint through the stock barrel since I bought the J&J when I got the gun, so I can't tell you how good it is or isn't.

One thing you may want to replace right away is the stock feedneck. While this feedneck may work well with the right hopper, it has to be the PERFECT hopper in terms of fit as the stock neck is not adjustable. I'm not saying that it won't work with any hopper, just not a Halo B for sure. Get something with a locking clamp.
Conclusion: BOTTOM LINE:

I could go on all day about how much I LOVE this gun, and how you're stupid if you buy anything else, but if you're thinking about buying one, definately read some more of these reviews, shoot a buddy's ION, or go talk to one of the employees at your local pro shop. Maybe it will be the right gun for you, maybe it won't, but I know I'm more than happy with how mine turned out, and what really matters is you get what YOU want.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 18th, 2006 at 1:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guitarmaniak Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first gun i've owned but i've rented 98's :P
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Silver Body Kit
45/3K N2 tank
Ricochet Apache Loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Works good out of the box but i'd go for a new trigger first then prob. a barrel. If you are willing to spend extra money then go for a new board next.
Strengths: Durable
Light
Inexpensive
Highly Upgradable so it can stay with you forever
Looks
Weaknesses: Feedneck is not great
Trigger is flimsy (but they still work)
Review: When I first bought my Ion, I was very excited. I had NO idea what the hell i was doing since this was the first gun i've ever owned. Along with it, i bought a CO2 tank which was a BAD mistake. CO2 is a gas that should never be used for paintball guns. It's cheap gas that can break the insides of your gun very easily and it freezes up your gun as well. Anyways, after skimming the manual i saw it say never use CO2. I made a big mistake. I used it a couple times with CO2 however with an on/off valve so i can let the gas in slowly instead of shooting it through and damaging the hoses. Whenever i started to shoot fast, the gun would stop shooting and my gauge would be exceeding 300. I'd have to take off the tank and let it heat up for a while which stunk because i had to call myself out in games.

After owning it for about a week, i decided to take it apart. This can be a scary thing, however, once you get used to it you can do it with your eyes closed, for it is very simple. I took my gun apart and put it back together over and over until i could finally get it right and know i wasn't breaking anything. I learned from the internet and the manual what every part was and how it worked. Now when i'm at a field and someone has a problem with their Ion i know exactly what to do.

ALWAYS completely take apart your gun after a day of playing. It's always good to clean out the crap before it dries and cakes in there all gross and what not, and lube up those O-rings on the bolt when you're cleaning too.

Also, always remember to degass the gun when you take your tank off because it will stay in there. What i do is just turn off the eyes (unless there's a ball in the chamber) and shoot it until it stops. It will shoot one or two good shots then let out a little air after the third.

This is a great gun for beginners but it's also a great gun for advanced players because it is extremely upgradable for almost every part unlike other guns.
Conclusion: NEVER use CO2 unless you want to shoot one ball per second.
Take it apart and put it back together over and over until you get really good at it.
Read the manual inside and out!!!
Great for all levels of playing (beginner to advanced)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 10th, 2006 at 2:06 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Murilolana Wednesday, November 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Promaster
Marker Setup: SmartParts ION
SmarParts 14' Progressive Rifled Barrel
Halo B
70ci Crossfire Compressed Air Tank (Stub)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck (extremely important)
Barrel
Trigger
Strengths: Accuracy
Air efficiency
Reliability
Easy maintenance
There's no other such upgradable gun!
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Stock trigger
Review: I've just purchased mine this month and I'm extremely satisfied.
The ION is a nice marker for intermediate players, and with some upgrades, u can get it closed to a pro marker.

The stock barrel isn't the best, but it's nice. The trigger is nice too, but if your budget is ok, u should upgrade to a better one.

But the "must upgrade" thing is the feedneck. The stock one really sucks!! Until my new one doesn't arrive, I'm not taking my halo out, cause i'm afraid of breaking the halo shell trying to pull it out of the feed neck and damaging the feedneck thread.

Beside this, the ION is a awesome marker.
Conclusion: If u r a beginner or intermediate player who want's to take the next step in paintball, buy this marker!!! U won't regret! If u could spend something like $350.00, u 'll be able to get the most important upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  52  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56  |  57  |  58  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media