paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  Last
        Next Page
Jmannumber7 Saturday, November 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Ion
Freak Jr. Kit
ST Feed Neck
Sticky 3's
Halo Backman
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak barrel or Stiffi barrel, feedneck
Strengths: Very fast, lightweight, durable
Weaknesses: None
Review: got my gun from actionvillage in perfect condition. the first mod i made to it was a new feedneck out of the box. i put in the battery, changed mode to semi, capped it at 17, then RIPPED on it, and i mean ripped. I got a good 16 bps out of it, i got proof for all you haters ;-). no chops unless you use cheap old paint that has been sitting in a warehouse in alaska for 10 years. the only thing that may be a tiny problem is the barrel bore size is too big, about .693 i believe so it doesnt fit alot of paint accurately. this problem solved with the freak.
Conclusion: overall this gun is amazing and (star star star star) all the ion haters cause u are mentally incapable thinkin that the ion cant match up 2 ur bushwhackers and DMCs. well i got news for you, i will own you with my stock ion, not my upped one but my stock one, any day of the week. this review is short and i dont want to add to it now because i am tired and goin 2 bed to save energy for the tourney 2morrow. peace.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballfreak_36 Saturday, November 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Part Shocker
Marker Setup: SP ION
New Designz Roller Blade Trigger
SP Q-Lock
Halo Loader w/Rip
SP Velocity Red Body Kit
SP Freak Barrel System
Virtue Breakbeam Eyes
Crossfire 68/4500 Nitrous Tank
V-Force Morph Mask
Custom Products on/off ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Reliable
Cheap
Fast
Weaknesses: Trigger
ASA
Feedneck
Review: I think its the best i think its a good gun i used it for a long time and it never broke down on me the only real bad thing is probably The feedneck cause it doesnt clamp and was pretty thin,but all i know is that the ion is the best and all of you who are thinkin about getting an ion you should get it and to give it just a little ups like a board maybe even style it up
Conclusion: Buy this gun no questions ask!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 13th, 2007 at 10:36 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

donnie15 Saturday, November 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts shocker
piranha evo
kingman spyder victor 2
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
68/4500 pmi n2 tank
halo b
silver q-lock feedneck
ndz qev
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, but the stock barrel still shots more accurate than any other stock barrel i have owned.

feedneck

trigger
Strengths: Light
Sharp
High quality
Weaknesses: Manual is confusing, and setting the modes on the gun
Review: I bought this gun from my friend and it sat in my closet for almost a month until i had enough money to buy a n2 tank. as soon as i got home from my local paintball shop with the tank i brought it outside and shot off about 100 rounds. This baby is accurate from 50 feet away, after that, the balls tend to drift with the stock barrel. with the vision eye system i didn't chop any paint and the gun seems very gas efficient.
Conclusion: A must have for the money, you cannot find another gun this cheap and as good in quality as it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballkid77 Saturday, November 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Pmi 4500/45 low pressure tank,cp regulator shorty red, red body kit halo b hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
regulator, new barrel and trigger
Strengths: Price, upgradability, style,
Weaknesses: Hard to disassemble, this is not a field strippable gun.
Review: Ok,I just got my ion about a month ago so i could let it break in before I reviewed it so
here I go. Strait out of the box it is a great gun but with a few cheap upgrades it can be
even better. When I shot the ion at the target range I was suprised how accurate the stockbarrel was and when I put on my friends all-american it shot awesome! Another thing to consider about the ion is the regulator. Some guns dont have this problem but others do. When you do get your ion, if you do, take it to a chrono and test it out. My regulator shot pretty good at the target range but i noticed wen I shot fast that I sometimes would have velocity spikes. This my not happen on your ion but dont be
upset if it does happen to yours because all you have to do is get an after market reg.
I put on a custom products shorty red regulator and it works amazing at giving you good
consistancy. (it also looks killer with a red body kit) Another thing is the trigger, it is pretty good but it did not fit my comfort but every hand is different. The style on this gun
is awesome and even if you dont like it there are many bodys to choose from made
by smart parts and many other companys. On the high note this gun my suit you fine without all the bells and whissels but no gun is perfect but with about 140 more dollars you can make this gun amazing. The ion is a great gun and I highly recomend it to anyone getting serios about speedball or any other type of paintball. Just keep in mind
that with paintball, anything can be fixed with money or elbow grease. The ion may require some upgrade to make it a serios threat on the field but it is a good idea to keep
some extra money for upgrades. I have seen people who have put on about 200 dollars
of upgrades over time and taken out angels and shockers. Like i said before money
is the key to getting a speedball gun and customizing it.
Conclusion: Overall,this is a great gun and it defanatly kicks some butt even without massive upgrades. If your still deciding to get an ion I defenetly would buy one as they are fairly
cheap and very very upgradable. I love this gun!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballerz4life Thursday, November 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion all stock
48/3K tank
Halo TSA
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
board
trigger
feedneck
reg
Strengths: Cheap
Relatively quick for the price
Eyes
Weaknesses: Cheap feel
Sloppy trigger
crappy reg
weak wires
Review: Bought one of these off a friend and it wasn't a bad gun for the time I used it (2 times before I traded it). kept up at the local field. with that being said stock barrel is horrible stock trigger is sloppy and the eye wires are so fragile that just taking them off to clean the gun was a nightmare.
Conclusion: not a bad gun for $160 CDN (used) $250 CDN new. has eyes and everything else good first gun for somebody looking to play speedball. it gets an 8 due to the sloppy trigger and inconsistent reg
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

acballa Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing really, spyders haha
Marker Setup: ion, halo tsa backman, 48/3000 lp tank, evil pipes with ultra tip
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrell, trigger
Strengths: Speed (even though i cant use it lol) accuracy, feel, durability
Weaknesses: Trigger
Review: I bought this gun because i wanted to get away from the blowbacks. This gun is fairly accurate with the stock barrell, probably the best stock barrel i have ever seen or used. My hopper is only fifteen bps, but dryfiring on rebound was decently fast. I rely on accuracy and decent speed so it doesnt bother me any. The feel is awsome. It is light and comfortable. I think its not too efficient compared to the blowbacks im used to. But i just shot it without adjusting the dwell, so i dont know really, hoping for at least 700 shots out of my 48/3000 pmi tank. When i tested i think i only got around 400-500 shots, but i have a really small tank too.
Conclusion: I would get it if you are looking for a non blowback gun, or for an awsome backup. The new spyder vs3 is pretty sweet though, but then again it is a blowback.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evilpaintball13 Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Red q-lock
Teardrop Barrel
Egg hopper
Blackheart Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
q-lock is a must
Strengths: Very cheap, high bps,
Weaknesses: Feedneck not that great
Review: The ion is a very cheap and very great gun. This gun has a lot of upgrades and is great for every one. The one bad thing about it is that it's feedneck is pretty crappy. this gun has a very good stock board and has four different modes. Full, semi, three round, and ramping. It has a lower pressure gauge and it is simple to take apart. It has a simple design, but packs a lot of power.
Conclusion: I would buy this if you are a beginner tournament player and then get a better gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mirage13 Tuesday, October 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Spyder Imagine, Trinity
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion - QEV, 14" CP 2 Piece, Evo 2, 72ci/3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV, On/Off Mini Drop, Clamp Feedneck, CP Blade trigger, SP Firebolt, Barrel
Strengths: Balanced, Accurate in stock form. Easy to fix, Customizable. Reliable, Durable, Accurate, Cheap.
Weaknesses: Stock Trigger wobbles side2side. One guy had messed up threading when he received gun.
Review: This gun is awesome. For under $200 like you can get at most online stores this gun is a steal. It works great.


Reminder: Stock Review Only - (Add-ons increase score)
Accuracy 9/10 - From 20ft 6 inch cluster, 50ft - Every shot with a 10 inches
Consistency 9/10 - Shots all go same distance (QEV & barrel help this more)
Durability 10/10 - Takes a beain and keeps on tickin
Customizability 10/10 - Colors, Parts, Body Kits, (You can paint body kits because they are plastic) So many options.
Reliability 10/10 - Not much can go wrong on this gun, so many high end markers today he to be tweaked perfect to work, or they go down while playing, This gun doesnt it works so easily.
Fixability 10/10 - Anything goes wrong so easy to fix
*Even hard for idiots to break this gun.
Conclusion: This gun is a must for all players for its price and reliability and for $200 more it can shoot like an cocker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Captain Paki Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Stingray- The Ion OWNS it.
Spyder Rodeo- Good gun for woodsball. The Ion is better though.
Spyder Electra 06- Fires faster but, the Rocking Trigger feels a bit weird and I cant seem to use it too well when there are paintballs flying over my head.
SP Nerve- Only Tested
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Freak Barrel (blue, if you must know)
Halo B
Contract Killer Grips
MacDev Legion Air
Trinity Body Kit
Blackheart Board
Clamping Feedneck (duh!)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd say a Freak would be nice, Clamping Feedneck, a fast hopper and a Blackheart or Virtue if you have the money.
Strengths: Fast!
Looks Good.
Great Accuracy.
Durable.

Easily Upgrade-able.

Light.
Weaknesses: Lol. The Feedneck is bad.
Review: I got this Marker form Paintballonline.com, after opening the box and reading the manual, it was off to the field.

The Target range was my first stop. I placed a DVD case 15meters away and fired 10 shot on semi. All the balls landed. Then I went fast and ripped. I emptied a 150 round hopper in a few seconds, a slight dip in accuracy was noticed, but the important part was NO CHOPS! Hooray! Id reckon that out of 150 balls fired, 130 hit the case and a few came pretty darn close.

Then it was game time, I paired up with a fewe guys who were watching me fire my Ion and went against the field owner and his 2 sons for a game of speedball. I chose to play front that game and what I noticed from diving around and jumping over people that the Ion is extremely light. I even hit someone right in the lens while I was running. Sweet!

After the game, I went and tried to disassemble the marker and see how it works, I just need to tell you that the Ion is not field strippable.


A few weeks later, I got a Blackheart boarsd and a Freak barrel. Now my Ion was faster and meaner. Seriously, with good practice and a great board/hopper/trigger, getting 20 bps is easy on this Ion.

Sadly, I had to have the Full Auto disabled as it is not legal here, so I wasnt able to test it out. But Id think you can go way faster on semi than on auto.

Another good part is I can enter tourneys! With my old Electra, getting into tourneys were hard since most did not allow the rocking trigger. the Ion has no problem with that.
Conclusion: Id recommend this Marker to anyone looking for a good gun and does not want to spend their life savings on an Angel or Timmy. The Ion can seriously compete with guns 4 or 5 times the price.

Smart Parts also has good customer service and all my pre purchase inquiries were answered quickly.

Three words:

GET THE ION!

If you serious about your game, you know what to get.

10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Monster Kookie Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've never used an electronic marker. The only one I've ever used was my WGP autococker and it doesnt really compare to this marker. I definately love this one way more than my autococker.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion(mostly stock...for now)
Evil Detonator Reg
WGP 20oz Air Tank
Ricochet AK hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feedneck (stock is sort of high, and doesnt go well with AK hopper unless you mess with the O rings for a while)
New Barrel (stock pretty good, but it could always be better)
New Trigger (stock kinda wobbly)
New Drop-forward (if you have a big tank, you are really gonna need it)
New Board (capped at 17 bps, and most can go way more than that)
Strengths: Durability, Weight, Speed, Accuracy, easy to find upgrades, overall awesomeness
Weaknesses: -Hard plastic body (bad to some? i like it tho), capped 17 bps
Review: Alright, as said before, its durable, its light, it is fast (with the right board), and upgrades are no problem to find. It has impulse threadings, and the stock barrel aint too shabby. I shot about 10 balls from 50 paces away and it gave about a 1 foot spread. Not too bad, not too good. The body gets kinda old (unless you like black, then its perfect). CLEANING CAN BE A PAIN AT TIMES. I got globbed right wheree the pressure gauge is, and cleaning in between that thing was a pain. And its capped at 17 bps, so if you are a speedy fingered nut, then get another board for this ASAP. The neck is sorta high. It has some rubber o-rings in it too. this can be good or bad. Its good cuz it keeps your hopper nice and snug. But its bad, cuz with my AK, you add o rings to it to fit into a hopper and rubber against rubber reallly screwed the rings up. The trigger is kinda wobbly, but nothing a good upgrade wont do good for ya. The duckbill asa...I personally dont like, but if you aint a picky person, then its fine. The stock reg is pretty good for a stock. I upgraded it already, but its still good. Even though theres a problem here and there, just keep in mind that even simple upgrades can improve your game.

Conclusion: Alright so here's the verdict. As a stock marker, I give it a 7.5. But if you at least upgrade the feedneck and barrel, then it's a perfect 10. Then if you upgrade more than that, then it goes farther beyond 10. So the average between the two: 8.75. So 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media