paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Jerrodalonso222 Wednesday, February 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine LED,
32 Degree Rebel BTB,
Smart Parts ION
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine LED (pretty much stock)
Xcel 12" barrel
20oz cO2
viewloader crappy hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe new barrel, that's about it
Strengths: Very light
Very quiet
pretty fast
Weaknesses: Trigger moves back and forth sideways, thats about it.
Review: I have only shoot this gun, my friend got his Ion for free from a friend and he loves the gun. I am used to my spyder, which is a lot heavier and not as accurate. But one thing i didn't like was the gun felt very unnatural to hold and aim, i think it might just be me. I liked the gun other then the little things that made it feel weird. The gun is very accurate and shoots very good and really quiet for just a stock gun. Another thing is the gun is very low pressure, my gun has to have like 100 or more psi to shoot, but the Ion can shoot with the lowest of cO2. You can completely waste a tank and it wont jackhammer or whatever else.
Conclusion: I would take this gun if i had the chance but I'm sticking with my gun. I would give this gun a 9 1/2 but i cant. So I'll just give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DylanRobles Saturday, February 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Too many to name.
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Sport
AVI N2 48ci Tank
Extreme Rage Overdrive dB Hopper (Sound Activated)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ball detents.
Nice hopper.
Board upgrade.
Strengths: Fast.
Cheap.
Accurate.

Weaknesses: None really.
Review: I've used this gun for about 5 rounds. I like it. But I think to get turn it into a tournament grade gun, you need a few upgrades.. Cause my friends Ion was stock and a stock Ion is almost like a WGP Synergy. Just a little faster. But there are a LOT of upgrades for it, so for that, I'd say its a pretty good gun for almost any level of play.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product with a few minor upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jcron12 Thursday, January 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98
Marker Setup: ion stock
48 3000 hpa tank
empire reloader 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
firebolt
board
feed neck
barrel
Strengths: Speed Reliability
Weaknesses: See review
Review: this gun is amazing it shoots good strait out of the box I use it on rebound 18bps works for me. the 2 problems ive had so far and this is after 4 cases, the bolt if you havent lubed it then the bolt will stick so just lube it the other one is the back bolt stop o-ring breaks so it will leak from the power button area.
Conclusion: overeall great gun youll be one of the best shots on the field so go buy one. hope this review helped you out and have fun playin PAINTBALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ReDzIoN Tuesday, January 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Smart parts Ion
volocity Red body kit
New Designz Ion Paintball Gun Pro Clamping Feedneck
Ricochet Apache LED Motorized Paintball Loader
3000psi 48cu tank
Red Dye rhino tank cover
12inch stock barrel





Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck As soon as possible
New barrel
Ion Xe upgrade
Strengths: Accuracy
weight
Reliability
Weaknesses: Maintenance
Stock feedneck
Extremely thin threads on breach.
Review: Its a great gun. You can Always rely on it to work. Out of All the times ive used it ive only had one problem wich was a ran outta battery in the middle of the game. Its only Chopped one ball out of all the times ive used it. The main Upgrade needed is a new Feedneck. Watch out for the breach the Threads are reallly thin so when unscrewing your feed neck the threads will become stripped and your wont be able to put your feed neck back on.
Conclusion: GET IT. Its an awesome gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdykev Friday, January 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Epiphany, Tippmann A-5, Tippmann 98 Custom, Tippmann Triumph, Spyder Sonix, Spyder Victor I and II, Spyder T-LX, Spyder Xtra, Spyder MR1, Spyder Pilot ACS, Game Face Vexor.
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion-
Freak Barrel Kit
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Crossfire 68/4500
360 QEV
Ion to Ion XE conversion kit
Smart Parts Q-Lock

-Tippmann 98 Custom-
Flatline Barrel
Cyclone feed
Double Trigger
32 Degrees Remote
a different front grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Trigger
Barrel
QEV
Strengths: Cost
Speed
Weight
Stock Barrel
Eyes
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Trigger
Review: Before purchasing the Smart Parts Ion I have never shot a High end electronic marker before. I had started to get tired of my Tippmann 98 custom because of the size, weight, and low rates of fire. One of the things about the Ion i found so appealing was the fact that there are so many upgrades available for it.

-Strengths-
Cost- IMO this is the best marker for the money.

Speed- 17bps is really good for a $170 marker.

Weight - Like i said before i am a tippmann owner. Compared to my 98c this thing is incredibly light.

Stock Barrel- To be honest i was surprised at the quality of the stock barrel. it was much more accurate than i expected even though i still did upgrade to the Full Freak Kit.

Eyes- With the eyes on i have never chopped. This is a feature not commonly found on $170 markers so i was impressed.

-Weaknesses-
Feedneck- the feedneck is a joke. just buy a new feedneck when you buy the gun. I was unable to fit my Halo B into the stock feedneck and i didn't want to sand down my hopper. i recommend the Smart parts q-lock. its a low rise feed neck and keeps your hopper in place.

Trigger- the double finger shape makes walking the trigger more difficult than it should be. Also the trigger does move from side to side but it hasn't bothered me that much.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun. For the money, It's one of the best out there. I have not used the Proto SLG but i would also recommend looking into that gun before you decide to purchase the Ion. The Ion does have more upgrades available though.

If 10 is perfect (there is nothing perfect) and 5 is average then i give the gun an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AnotherPump Friday, January 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirhana R6, Autococker Pro Stock, Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: 2005 Autococker Pro Stock, WGP Pump Kit, Winchester 50 Round Mini Hopper, Horrible Stock Barrel, Pure Energy Compressed Air Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger, Firebolt, QEV, Body Kit-In that order, if you have more money get a virtue board.
Strengths: Cheap compared to other electronic guns
Lots of Choices in Upgrades
Weaknesses: Gas Efficiency
Not actually 17bps
Bad Battery Life
High Maintenance
Hard to take apart
Review: This is a fairly good gun for the price. It normally cost around $170 which gets you around 15bps(stock) and you have a few different stock board firing modes. The Gun has a horrible gas efficiency and bad battery life. When the batteries get low there isn't even a light that flashes. This then leads to several problems. My gun personally, my friend's gun, and a few others have broken after around 5 months of use. I took the gun to a paintball shop where I had a warranty on the gun and they cleaned it for me. Two days later the gun broke. The same exact problem happened to my friend and another guy at the field that day. Coincidence???
Conclusion: Basically you get what you pay for in this gun. The stock parts aren't that great. If your playing rec ball its a good gun because its small and shoots kinda fast. If your looking for a speedball tournament gun this is not it. For around $30 more you can get a Proto SLG. This gun is kinda hard to clean but if you really want to go ahead and get it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Holmes875 Tuesday, January 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-SP Vibe
-Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion
-Angled Drop-forward
-Dovetail ASA
-Redz blue bodykit
-Blue Q-Lock
-All American Barrel w/blue Freak front
-Guerilla 48/3000 HPA tank w/ myth regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Clamping feedneck (must)
-Drop-Forward (unless you like your gun way out in front of you)
Strengths: -Size
-Weight
-Stock Board
-Accuracy
-Price!!!
Customization Options
Weaknesses: -Too far forward
-feedneck
-maintenance (for lazy people)
Review: The Smart Parts Ion I have only had for a few weeks, but I've used my friend's before many times. They are great guns. It's hard to believe that now these cost 165 dollars stock. Here's the good and the bad:

THE GOOD: This gun has a great stock board. Dwell and ROFD (rate of fire delay) can be set to any rof speed from 9-17bps. It is legal in many tournaments, has a decent stock barrel, an okay trigger, (you have to set it to your preference) a quiet bolt with little kick, it's cool looking, fast, extremely inexpensive for its quality, and has the best customizability of any gun I've ever seen.

THE BAD: Stock feedneck isn't even usable, ASA comes out the back too far, making it uncomfortable to hold without a drop-forward, and the duckbill ASA's threads are tricky... you need to be gentle when screwing the tank in and out. You need a new feedneck right as you get it so you end up really spending around 200 dollars for a 165 dollar gun. Still not horrible though... Some say the power button is bad but it really isn't. Just push a little harder when turning the gun on and off.

Conclusion: Great gun. Absolutely amazing for the price. Smart Parts really did a good job. I love my ion and so do several of my friends. Nothing is perfect, but for $165, you can't beat it. 10 all the way.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

albosk8er Sunday, January 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: SMART PARTS ION, 14" Llinear Barrel.
72 ci / 3000 psi
Hard Corps Torque 440 Loudmouth Loader CLEAR
Recommended
Upgrades:
Deffonetly The Barrel in to a 14". A Freak, All American or Linear. Pritty much any upgraded berrel. Drop Forward or Direct Mount ASA is a must have unles you wannt the tank up agenst your wrist. And last but not least the Trigger. The stock trigger is fine i can finely walk it but i DO NOT like the side to side movment. Back Hart Board. is also usefull.
Strengths: The body and design is like no other marker under 200$
Useable in wet conditions
Weaknesses: Having to disassemble its a pain.
The bottom line Its always in the way.
Review: The feed neck is dam good i knowticed there is 3 o'rings inside. If the loder dont fit sand it down a lil bit and OIL the 3 orings so it will fit. Dont feel like sanding it down get a clap neck . Over all the gun is mint out of the box. Its a dam good gun.
Conclusion: Smart Parts should have done a lil bit better for the ION I realy did not like the fackt that the Bottom line is up agenst the grip. If it had come with some type of direct mount asa it would of been pritty damn goog for stock.
I would give it a high 9. 9.5 if i could
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer#100 Sunday, December 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Ion with
Shocktech Ion Gun Body Kit -Silver Dust
2 peice cp 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shocktech Ion Gun Body Kit -Silver Dust
2 peice cp 14" barrel
Strengths: Speed
and weight
Weaknesses: The trigger wabbles
Review: The Ion is a great gun for the price ( I paid $250 Because it came with Shocktech Ion Gun Body Kit ) I have shot it a couple of times and I am very impressed with the speed. I almost won on a 3 on 1 game if i hadent ran out of paint I would have won. anyway you wont reget itis purchase.
Conclusion: It is cheap fast and simple best money spent
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rbcintron Friday, December 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angels, dm7, few protos
Marker Setup: completely upped ion:
element v2 frame
deadly wind carbon fiber isaria body
360 qev
techt L7 bolt
virtue eyes
kila magnetic detents
seventh element board
all american barrel
cp rake trigger
cp reg
hybrid grips
ans xtreme drop forward
dxs 68/45 carbon fiber tank
halo b hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt, barrel, qev, trigger, board
Strengths: Accuracy
Weight
Reliability
Ease of use
cost
Weaknesses: Expensive once you completely upgrade it. But then again that's the fun part
Review: okay, so i research whatever i am buying THOROUGHLY before i make my purchases. i spent weeks trying to decide which gun to buy about a year ago. i decided to go with the smart parts ion because of price. little did i know that this would become a year long affair that has been a fun project to work on. as of today, i have completely upgraded every part of the gun and it shoots ropes! accuracy is amazing as well as air efficiency and i always get stares and compliments on the looks of the gun. being completely honest, i have taken out many angels, dm's, and protos with my gun. but then again, i've always believed that it's the player and not the gun when it comes to the field. the ion stock is still a very good gun at a very affordable price. the accuracy is actually pretty decent with the stock barrel and is pretty well built. stock body is polymer (which is tough, light, and comes in variety of colors). it is simple to maintain and regulator is very good. i would recommend upgrading the qev and bolt as soon as possible but you dont have to. the great thing about this marker is that you can take your time upgrading parts without compromising performance.i have not regretted my decision once on making this investment.
Conclusion: ions have received the reputation of being owned by noobs b/c of the price. not eveyone has the money to drop a thousand dollars on a gun. but when compared on the field, an ion can hold it's own weight PRETTY GOOD w/ the "big boy" guns. i have gained a lot of respect and recognition with my ion and would not trade it out for anything. when you can upgrade your ion to your own personal tastes...it feels like ur project and is incredibaly fun. and the great part is that you can upgrade slowly and still have a great marker. i definately recommend this gun to anyone buying their first high end marker or for anyone who wants to have fun creating their own marker. the ion is reliable, accurate, efficient, and cheap (not on quality). no stock marker is a ten so i will give it a nine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media