paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  Last
        Next Page
Spaztic_shoota Saturday, September 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon E w/ 16" Progressive barrel, Spyder E-frame, now used for spare parts
Marker Setup: SP Ion
16" Smart Parts Barrel
Q-lock neck feed
68ci x 3000 psi crossfire tank
68ci x 4500 psi crossfire tank
Viewloader Vlocity Hopper
Rest is stock for now.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt and Drop forward, mainly for air efficiency.
New trigger depending on your preference, stock is finger molded.
Strengths: Fast up to 17bps
Very light.
Quite Accurate.
Quiet.
Break-beam eyes.
Weaknesses: Quite a gas hog.
Review: Ok I've been playing for awhile and after putting about $350 into an Icon E that has finally broken down I decided now was a time for change. I didn't want any more spyder cloned guns or any spyder guns so I decided to try this. The price isn't bad for what you get, only $200. I haven't shot it with the stock barrel, but with my SP 16" it shoots very accurately, almost dead-on.

This thing is silent, and though some say it has kick I fail to notice any. The trigger adjustability on this thing is nice, no dissasembly. And with the roller-bearings the pull is not only smooth but very very light. This gun has only chopped twice, but to be fair it was old, very cheap paint and i believe slightly soft-shelled. I use X-ball bronze normally and not a single chop yet, thanks to the break-beam eyes.

Rebound mode is also quite impressive, I was unloading my Vlocity hopper in 10-20 seconds.
Conclusion: For beginners or pros this gun is a good buy for anyone on a budget. I'd recommend saving up for the Max Micro Flow system and a new bolt to increase air efficiency and accuracy, but for out of the box this thing is nice.

Definetly a good buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

park bench Saturday, September 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shot a shocker once, thats about it for spool vales/blowforewards, the e-mag i shot was totally different.
Marker Setup: silver promaster
dyed red bolt
jj 6 piece edge kit
delrin spike bolt pin

black to gold fade freak factory impulse
otb 90* frame
evil respirator lpr

trillogy competition cocker
jj edge barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hmm, like everything? The essentials are a barrel, asa, qev, trigger and feedneck
Strengths: Cheap
Small
Light
Low kick
Weaknesses: Cheap
Quality Control is horrible
Feels like a toy
Design makes maintenance difficult
Review: A friend and a friend of a friend of mine own these, so ive had some trigger time on them. The only ion i ever shot was stock so that is how i shall base my review. Lets see, they are cool little guns, quite light and small, feel very different when shooting them but theres no kick at all. They are pretty cheap, but thats not so great any more. The parts are pretty poor, not well machined, broken from factory etc. Not to mention its a spooler which means having a lot of o-rings that need constant attention, except to get to the bolt the whole gun has to come apart doh! I guess the stock board is ok, simple enough, except the electronics are cheap, like everything else, so they have a tendancy to break unexpectadly.
Conclusion: Id personally buy a promaster for the price range if its your primary gun. As a backup, its ok, but all those people who put a grand into their ion just look silly when they get 400 bucks out of it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

misfiter01 Saturday, September 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Depends how upgraded your ion is. Um i wouldnt compare this gun to any spyder clones or anything low end like that. This gun can and probly will be compared to some higher end guns but personally i think the ion is in a class of its own.
Marker Setup: Angel 4 Fly, Chaos Board, Empire b, SP maxflow, Dye ultralite barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Your going to need Air.an egg or an empire or halo b. Clamping no rise feedneck wouldnt hurt.
Strengths: Quiet,Speed,Accuracy,eyes,Low profile.
Weaknesses: Smll Leak right where the Hose and the regulator meet.Esy Fix!
Review: Im writing this review on behalf of my friend. I havnt only just tested this gun ive used it for about a day of speedball. Right off the bat i noticed this gun has a low profile look which is pretty awsome. While i was playing and switching off with my friend i noticed that i could get this beast going right at about 15-17bps.The accuracy of this gun was pretty good but could be better with a different barrel. This gun can take a pretty good beating also. But most of all which classes this gun in a league of its own is the fact that this gun has eyes, I put probly about 4000 balls through this thing and didnt chop one. The features on this gun are nice, With it up on ramp, It sounds amazing and its pretty fun to fire. My friend has a macroline, upgraded reg, cp bolt i think, And i dont know about you but the stock trigger is a little.. EH.. So my friend upgraded his to a blade trigger, which is really easy to walk. and guys, this gun is cheap and deffenatly an investment with like never ending upgrades for this gun. If you dont like the body kit on it, well there are so many different kinds out there. But i think im going to just stick with my angel for now.

But yah this is a great fun for the money. I mean its Probly your best bet on a gun for only 200.00 i mean there are all those spyders that are now getting eyes.finally..but i would still recommend this one. Some people say its got a cheap plastic feel to it.. it might considering its surrouned in tubberware.. But thats what makes it so so so light and durable. If you dont like the feel, There are new grips,Metal Body kits, and regulators you can get for this gun. But as for as it goes a gun for 200.00 with break beam eyes. that can do 17bps, Its a great buy. And another thing what makes this gun great is the fact that the trig has rollerball bearings in it. even if you suck at walking the trigger, This gun has nice smooth easy motion to it.

I Mentioned that my friend was xperiencing a leak right where His macroline and his regulator meets but it was an instalion screw up on his part.
Conclusion: This gun is great. I notice alot of ppl use them for tournys. This gun is really popular..almost to popular but its at a price that you cant beat. i would highly recommend this gun. Specially if your a person into upgrading your gun and keeping it at top performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 1st, 2006 at 12:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pba atl Friday, September 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
sytemX nme
it was about the same but ion has more upps and is easier to manage.
Marker Setup: i currently own a systemX NME with predator board, q-lock, 32 degrees drop, and a dye 14" ultralite barrel.
and and ion with q-lock, boomstick, asa on/off, cp reg, and qev
Recommended
Upgrades:
q-lock, new trigger, drop foward.
Strengths: Great high-end marker with tons of ups, easy to handle, durable, and looks.
Weaknesses: The stock feed neck, and needs a drop or it's harder to own with
Review: Great gun with many upps, needs a few new parts to get you going strong but i would recomend this gun to anyone of any excperience level. Great gun for anyone, even noobs! If you get this gun you will be satisfied. I would first get the drop foward and then get a new feed neck, the next thing i would get though not required is a new trigger.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun to anyone that is looking for a new gun or a gun at all. It is great, you wont be disapionted.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RobUpNya Wednesday, September 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker and Spyder Electra (w/ rocking trigger)
Marker Setup: 2005 Autococker Trilogy PRO - 32 Degrees Universal Drop, 68/3000 Crossfire, 32 Degrees Macroline kit, Halo Frontman

Autocoker Prostock - CP clamping feedneck, CP drop, CP on/off ASA, 88/4500 Crossfire, Halo Frontman

Smart Parts ION (Black) - CP clamping feedneck, custom 45* drop, All american front/back barrel, 92/4500 Crossfire, VL Evo II
My son's ION - CP clamping feedneck, custom 45* drop, All American back w/ Big Daddy front, 68/4500 Crossfire, VL Evo II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, drop, stock feedneck is fine... but you can't go wrong with a clamping feedneck, regulator, trigger
Strengths: Lightweight, compact, speed, reliability, cost
Weaknesses: Drop, trigger, feedneck
Review: Overall, right out of the box, my son and I enjoyed our new toy! It was uncomfortable shooting the marker with the duckbell ASA that it came with. It made the marker feel too long. That was definitely the very first thing to go!!! Other than that, the gun shot suprisingly straight with the stock barrel on. We hardly felt the gun kick when we shot it. It wasn't too hard to group our shots. With 17bps, it's fast enough to mow anyone on the field. It's a perfect marker for my 8 year old, even with the tank, my son was able to run, dive and jump everywhere.

Smart Parts have done it again with this marker. Priced below 300 bucks and numerous mods outhere, it's the perfect marker to start off with. It has speed, it's lightweight, and it's the perfect entry level marker out there!!!
Conclusion: Well worth the buy. Spyder is considered a starter gun, but this is the perfect starter gun without spending so much on the gun and mods. The only thing this gun really needs is a drop of your choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 27th, 2006 at 4:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madprops77 Wednesday, September 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder........ doesn't really compare
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
-SP Low rise clamping feedneck
-SP S-rail
-SP Dovetail on/off adapter
-HALO B hopper
-48/3000 Pure Energy air
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Clamping feedneck
-Drop forward
Strengths: -Rate of fire
-Reliability
-Accuracy
-Price
Weaknesses: -Stock feedneck won't fit HALO hopper
-Feels a little long with stock ASA
Review: What can I say, this thing is awesome. Ive had this gun for about a month and have taken it out to the local woodsball field to play every weekend. It hasnt given me a single problem. The 3 shot burst and full auto modes are capped at 10BPS but the rebound mode will rip out at the full 17BPS advertised by Smart Parts. The break beam eyes work great so no pesky paint chopping. Some people have reported leaks but I havent had this issue. Even with the stock barrel, accuracy is great. The gun will fire about 550 shots on a 48/3000 and about 820 on a 72/3000 HPA tank. My only complaint is that the factory feedneck wouldnt fit my HALO B and the gun feels a bit long with an air tank screwed on to the stock ASA. Both of which are pretty easy fixes, Smart Parts and many other companies have both clamping feednecks and drop forwards available to remedy these issues.
Conclusion: For under $200 you can't go wrong buying this gun. If your thinking about purchasing this gun, go and buy it, you won't be disapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boxer18 Monday, September 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix ACS
Smart Parts Shocker 4x4 sport
Marker Setup: Stock Smart Parts ION (black)
Viewloader revvy Hopper
3000psi Air System
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric Hopper
Air System
Strengths: Fast
Reliable
Consistent
Price
Weaknesses: None (up to now)
Review: This marker is brilliant. When it arrived i took it straight out of the box, screwed on the Co2 (now run on air), filled my revvy and started shooting.

I was suprised to find how fast this marker was! People from my local woodsball site told me this was a great gun, and, seen as though i needed a new marker to replace my Vexor (great starter marker) i ordered one from smartparts.com, but i never would have thought it was this good!

Stock barrel (in my opinion) is great, no need to get a bigger one! definatly need an electric hopper though, a revvy will do unless your fingers can shoot over 12bps.
Conclusion: Great marker! Great price! Great performance! Smart Parts have done themselves proud!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 25th, 2006 at 10:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cpt. Morgan Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wrath LTD
Select Fire Cockers
Spyders Electra, Fenix and 05 ACS
Marker Setup: Woods - Urban Camo Tippmann A-5, Super Response Trigger, Adjustable Trigger Stop, 12 Inch Smart Parts Progressive Barrel, Modded Stock Barrel, Palmer's Male Regulator, Crossy 68/4500, and a 20oz CO2 Tank

Speedball - Diablo Wrath LTD, VLocity, J&J Edge kit, and a Crossy 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Read Review
Strengths: Cost Effective
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: I'll do the same style of review as I have done for markers I consider good enough for a time consuming review. These are all my opinions, not necessarily fact. Some are common opinions on this gun others are not. I will try to explain my opinions as greatly as I can.

Pro's:

For about 200$ USD it is a exceptionally decent buy. It most certainly is a kingman killer. Faster then any kingman gun for the same price, less or more with the exception of the electra (which I have my own review on compairing the two). The reason for this is, that now after awhile on the market you can do anything with it (because of it's popularity). You start off with a okay gun but you can up this gun and it will match or beat 70% of the market of guns out there performance wise. It has a good board (IMO) for a 200$ gun. Its barrel is alright, its trigger is atleast adjustable (feels very snappy) and it has a alright stock regulator (you can see 10FPS + or - off this reg with HPA or even less). Its got a big trigger frame (unlike Wrath's trigger frames which are very small) and has exelent eyes. You can change the looks of it with new shells or entire new body kits. It doesn't have much kick (very very little) and is light. Its a exlent gun for someone wanting to kick off into more high end guns. Good for just recreational play in its stock form. Every proshop will have some tech who can repair them if something should go wrong and things rarely do. Its is a very good gun for the price.

But alas with all markers, praise must end somewhere. And it ends here.

Cons:

Can anyone say to popular? May not mean much to you. But what if you ever choose to sell this gun? Low re-sale value because of the huge number of Ions and their low cost brand new. Better have a destinct Ion. Or one with good aftermarket parts. Preferably both. I have only ever seen 5 destinct Ions in person in my entire 2 years of play. I have seen dozens though that are literally all the same. Kind of like the Tippmann 98 (just compairing popularity, nothing else). But beyond that, it has a bad stock trigger to me. Actually after about a year of hard use a budy of mine dropped his Ion and the trigger snapped in two. As for the plastic shells, they are durable but lack the feel of a stronger feel. The stock feedneck must be replaced, it sits way way to high and is ugly as sin. Its duckbill ASA is something most people hate. I have no beef with it because if I was going tourney quality with any gun, I'd get a on/off. But most ppl replace them. The regulator feels cheap to me with the rubber moving around the reg with minium tork. I find the grip panels to be uncomfortable against my bare hands (I wear gloves so it doesn't much matter) but I know of friends who make this complaint. It doesn't run very long on C02 (I'd never recomend it ever for this gun for more then a case in a entire lifetime. Just to hard on the internals). I'd still say though it has more strength's then weaknesses.

Now for comparison. This is the part that brings it down. One year ago no gun could compete with the ION for it's price. For about 240$ or less nothing could brand new stock outta the box. But now, with the Wrath LTD coming out, the ProMaster's price being lower aswell as the Electra. This gun has got some compition. A very good amount. Online a ProMaster is under 100$ more expensive then this gun and runs circles around it stock and furthermore can compete with way way more guns out of the box. It is a tourney gun outta the box. Just needa factor in some costs (cough ASA and line). The LTD for anywhere from 35$ to 60$ more expensive absolutely ravages a Ion out of the box. No need for a new ASA, feedneck and the stock barrel is better IMO. Has a better reg and can run on C02 and stock can fire at about 21-bps while the Ion is capped at 17-bps. As for the Electra you can find them for the same price. If your going to stay a recreational player, stock the electra beats the Ion. All of the guns I listed out of the box preform better then a Ion out of the box and some (the LTD) need virtually no new ups. This is where the Ion losses a lot of points with me. Its compitition blows it out of the water. BUT BUT BUT a upped ion will absolutely ravage these guns.
Conclusion: A ion is a cost effective gun and a decent one at that. You will want to put some extra cash into this gun to make it more appealing (50-100$... thats not including a board). For that cash why not buy a Wrath and get a new, far superior board to a ion's stock board. Or get a Promaster, put 80$ into it and never have to up it again. I'd give it a 7.5 out of 10 but sadly I can't. Watch your buys, and consider other guns and get a feel for them.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nos888 Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
TES
Marker Setup: ion
stock barrel
on/off drop forward (great help)
QEV
Halo b cheatha board
68/45 tank
Fire Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately the QEV
A new bolt like a fire bolt
I would also recommend getting a new board like a lucky
Barrel if you are going to be a serious player
Strengths: Speed for its price
weight
the fact that the gun is quiet
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: Ok I ordered my Ion off of ebay for $150.00. I got in about 2 months ago and I immediately took the gun out and shot it. The marker was broken in so it shot great. I shot the gun with the eyes off and I didn't chop a ball. I recrommend that you take the magnet out of the trigger and then take the grips off and tighten the distance screw so that you have a very short trigger pull. Like I said earlier the Ion really needs the QEV because it not only saves air but it also helps with drop off and rate of fire. A new bolt will also help with your air efficiency. You also need to get a clamping feed neck for this gun. The feed neck that is on it is horrible. The whole oring idea is a bad idead because the orings catch on the hopper and end up sliding down your feedneck and into the chamber.
Now I am on to what I like. First off I love the trigger on these guns. I know alot of people say that because they are plastic they are bad well I have set my trigger so that with a lucky board my ion will shoot 30bps, That is if I could pull the trigger that fast. Of course the stock board capped at 17bps is great. You really dont need to shoot any faster even in an airball game because if you shoot three shots at somebody they will duck behind there bunker and you can move.
Conclusion: Well for my conclusion I will say that this gun is great for anybody that wants to play paintball both airball and woodsball. This gun can keep up with all the top end markers that you see today. There are so many upgrades for this gun that you can customize it easily. There for I give the gun a high 9 because I dont believe in perfect scores and this gun is a great gun for under $300.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tipp man603 Saturday, September 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c, A-5
Spyder Imagine (ugh)
electra '06 w/ eye
ego 07(now sold)
DM6 (no comparison)
Marker Setup: stock everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
new asa/rail

maybe trigger

feedneck works fine w/ my evo 2 but ive heard some bad stories about the halos so maybe new one

new board if you dont like the cap, Virtue or Blackheart

reg works fine for me but i guess you could get a new one

and last but not least a QEV!!! sp360 looks nice
Strengths: WEIGHT
speed
consistency
Weaknesses: not field strippable
maybe board cap
trigger seems fragile
no LED Virtue board solves that
Review: My first exposure to the Ion was the one my friend had gotten for his birthday. We went outside and use his hand chrono to test fire. the readings we got were as follows, 293,295,292,293,293,294. We all thought the thing was broken and brought it down to the local field. they had one of those radar chronos that look like aircraft carriers. we tested the thing and still got a +/- 2fps. all of us were like, "wow, thats crazy." after that we played at the field and i asked him if he wanted to swap guns for a game. he said sure and my first thought when i held it was,"wow, this sucker is LIGHT." nothing like my tippmann tank. the thing shot extremely well and the 17bps was no problem for me. i reluctantly returned it after the game and told him, "Your one lucky son of a b!tch." The reg does need to be broken in and the trigger does have some side movement but this thing is kick*s rite out of the box. i recommend getting a new board and barrel (freak jr. works fine) but everything else is fine
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN. its amazing and works great. the only thing u should not do is field strip smart parts' idea of field strip is different than the worlds idea of field strip. take apart on a table, not on a rug, and dont lose your manual!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media