paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  64  |  65  |  Last
        Next Page
weltsnbrusis Monday, September 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: yellow sp ion
viewloader evolution II smoke
72/3000 pure energy
32 degrees micro drop
q feed lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed clamp no matter what
drop
pods!!!
Strengths: Price
Stock barrel
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck...thats like it
Review: This gun is freakin awesome. get it if u want a good gun for rec or speed ball. im a rec baller and when i play in the woods itll shoot where u want it too. get a good clamp neck and a drop. this thing sucks paint so keep pods on u.
Conclusion: Freakin sweet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

runningw235 Sunday, September 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot, and it is about the same as the ion
Marker Setup: diablo wrath ltd. Halo B crossfire steel 3000psi tank. . j&j full tilt ceramic 12"
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new marker all together
Strengths: Inepensive.
Weaknesses: Unreliable, trigger, accuracy, feedneck, shootdown, very unreliable.
Review: The first time I used this marker it worked all right. But i was really dissapointed in the trigger and the accuracy, but mostly the trigger because it really is not any better than the trigger on a spyder pilot. The feedneck is a nightmare, because you have to twist and twist the hopper for a long time to get it in. And when you upgrade this marker at all, besides maybe a body kit, it totally voids the warranty. By the time you can make this marker as good as everybody says it is you could have bought a shocker with the money that you spent. These might be some of the most unreliable markers out there. The second time that it was used, the red button started to peel of, and there was terrible shootdown. Also on the third time I used it the ASA was loose from the trigger frame. The regulator is really bad. Oh, I almost forgot, there is only one button for all of the controls, it makes me go insane.
Conclusion: Do not buy this marker. Especially now when you can get a promaster for $225
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 10th, 2006 at 6:29 am PST
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment

richard12 Saturday, September 9th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder esprit with tons of upgrades
Marker Setup: ion
halo b with rip drive and speed feed
compressed tank
redz cam lock feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
redz cam lock or smart parts q - lock feednecks is a must
blackheart board or virtue board
freak or all american barrel
max - flo micro
shocktech drop forward to make it look better
S.P. pro touch grips
ion roller trigger
Strengths: Accurate , fast , looks good
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck
stock barrel
heavy with tank and Halo
Review: The most accurate gun ive fired , fast , just make sure you put on a clamping feedneck
i once rented a halo for it and the guy had to break his halo right off the gun becaus it was stuck in the stock feedneck . very durable , looks good right out the box
great price excellent
Conclusion: the best gun ive ever used , PERIOD !
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

lawace Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan VM 68, Spyder XTRA, Spyder Imagine.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, APEX / J&J Ceramic/Teflon Barrel, Pure Energy 72 CU/3000 PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
I use it stock. The reg isn't as bad as people claim. I have a CP regulator, but have not felt the need to install it on the ION.
Strengths: A great gun for a fair price; you get your money's worth.
Weaknesses: The power button is a little hard to push.
Review: There are 1028 reviews already written on the ION, not including the different versions of the ION. Few people are likely to actually read my review. It is a great gun. Very light. The stock barrel is decent, so I have not changed it. The regulator is decent once broken in, I am still using the stock barrel and shooting +/- 2 FPS. What do you expect for $200? Its a great marker.
Conclusion: Great gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silentsnipe385 Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I had tested a 03 shocker for an hour or two at my local field. the main difference is i noticed you have to upgrade your ion to get it to run just like a shocker
Marker Setup: SP ION
PhsycoBallistic's Large drop foward, new mag. blade trigger, 4500psi 68ci crossfire tank, New firebolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a new trigger and drop foward as soon as possible because the tighter you can play with your gun the less of your body will be exposed, plus a new trigger will increase the rate of fire


Strengths: Cheap for a inexpensive gun under 300
Very light 2.2lbs
Easily upgraded
Weaknesses: Instead of air ports to transfer the air to the bolt the ion uses hoses

Review: I've had this gun for about 4months and have been playing paintball for over 3years, the ion is able to keep pace with most guns...usually its not the gun its the player that can change anything and everything about the game. This gun is great for any player who plans on playing a front man because this gun is so light that you hardly noice your hold a gun. And yet it preforms of the utmost excellance
Conclusion: I highly sugguest you go and buy or atleast try this gun...Most people are supprised of how good the gun preforms
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thefrogoon Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stingray, tippmann 98 with palmer stab. (sold it), spyder victor 2, rebel electronic, plain tippmann 98
Marker Setup: egg2 and a foehn body, crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a clamping feedneck. the stock barrel is great though in my opinion. The best i've used.
Strengths: Accuracy
Consistency
Lack of spin (this can be a bad)
Rate of fire
Low recoil
Weaknesses: Lack of back spin (see review)
Review: First of all i would like to point out my tippmann using a lapco bigshot had worse accuracy but increased range when using paint that was a certain size. I think it had a backspin to it that caused increased range. The Ion is the most accurate marker i've ever used. I've never used a cocker.

You could get more range for an Ion though by getting a BT Apex barrel for it though.

The trigger pull is light. Possibly too light. If you accidentally stick you finger in the trigger guard and so much as touch the trigger it will fire. I'm used to mechanical triggers.

I plan on getting a BT apex barrel to increase the range.

Another problem which is a matter of personal preference is how close the foregrip is to the the trigger/handle. I might be more comfortable shooting with the two farther apart.



Conclusion: This is a great marker, plenty of speed, and more accurate and consistent then low end markers.

And a piece of advice don't buy a aftermarket body for it until you see the stock body your self in person. I bought a foehn body right when i bought the marker because i saw photographs of the marker and didn't like it. The stock body is alot nicer looking when seeing it first hand. I wouldn't have shelled out the extra money other wise
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

autocockerkid99 Wednesday, September 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
auto cockers, spyders, angels, shockers and othersne
Marker Setup: sp ion
w/ many ups
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feed neck
Strengths: -Fast
-Accurate
-Silent w/ new barrel
-Price
Weaknesses: Honestly none that i have found
Review: This gun rips. although I didnt really like the looks of the gun at first after playing with it I was sold. I first played with it stock and i can tell you that it shot basicaly as well as my older friends shocker. He even joked that theres no difference except for the price and the plastic body. This gun shoots dead on and very very fast. I can keep up against any one on the field. I recently bought a new metal fade body for it along with a new reg, barrel, and feed neck and more than once people mistook it for a shocker.
Conclusion: This gun has been just what i was looking for.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slimjim12 Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Tippmann Custom pro.
Marker Setup: Ion, q-lock, halo, centerflag 92/5000, CP on-off w/rail, Dye Ultralite 14" and
Tippmann Custom pro, smartparts 16" linear barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-lock is a necessity really cant play without it. A QEV is great to get because the Ion is kindof an airhog and this will get 200-500 more shots per fill depending on ur tank. Some kind of on-off its sometimes extremely hard to get a tank off the gun I almost ruined my 210 doller tank trying to get it off before I got the on-off now I can do it with the turn of my wrist.
Strengths: Pretty lightweight, really cheap, stock trigger and barrel arn't too bad, never breaks paint.
Weaknesses: Actually costs 35 more then it sais because cant be used with stock feedneck.
Review: Great gun has few issues and lots of good points I certainly dont see myself in the near future even considering buying a new gun. Please never take the gun apart EVER unless you have a pro do it. My friend has had his Ion for 5 months I've had mine for 3 he takes his apart for fun the only time mine was open was when the proshop I got it from was installing a QEV in it. His has broken atleast 10 times mine never once. The only issue I've ever had is something smartparts doesn't tell people and thats BE VERY CAREFUL when chainging the battery in the gun. I accidentally just touched the negative of the battery side to the negative side of the place you plug it in didn't think anything of it...brand new battery it wouldn't turn on. Pro shop said you can short circuit your board if you just touch negative to negative or positive to positive I was lucky all he did was touch neg to neg and pos to pos again and it started working again. If your not lucky you need to buy a new 100$ board to fix it. BE VERY CAREFUL WHEN CHAGING BATTERIES! I know it wasn't much of a gun review but I think its important. There are 1000 other reviews on this gun read them.
Conclusion: I love my Ion and if you get an Ion and take very good care of it you will too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yyates05 Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
egg
shocktech low rise feedneck
48/30 tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
asa
barrel
Strengths: It is very reliable, accurate, fast, and light.
Weaknesses: The stock feedneck and asa.
Review: This is my second gun ive had first i had. I started off with a spyder imagine which is good beginner gun but after i got more and more into the sport i thought i should upgrade. So i spent a couple months looking around and i came across the smartparts ion. I first saw it at my local field and i shot it and i was very impressed. There is hardly any kick and it is super light. Well my first day at the field i was using a revy so the gun could only go as fast as the hopper so i couldn't use it to its limits. So after that i got an egg and it performed flawlessly. It was the first time i ever played w/o worrying about my gun messing up at critical points in a game and about breaking paint.
Conclusion: The greatest gun ive ever owned! im giving it a 9.5/10 for the stock asa and the stock feedneck . 9.5 rounds up to 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

red_legionaire Saturday, September 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
e-spyders but they arent even close to the same type of marker
Marker Setup: Smartparts Ion
360 qev
All American 14 in
Virtue board
q-lock
shocktech drop and asa
critical trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
qev
feedneck, must have
new barrel
new asa, personal pref
new board if you want...t-board, virtue, tadao anything but blackheart.
Strengths: Cheap
Decent stock speed
Tons of ups
Everyone has one
Weaknesses: Everyone has one
Not efficient stock
Stock feedneck
Stock board dwell settings are wierd
Review: ive used the SP ion for 6 months and its a pretty solid marker for the price you pay. you do need a new feedneck right away so plan on spending extra for that. it shoots pretty fast stock but isnt very efficient. a qev helps with that problem though. a new board and a new trigger will really let you be able to rip. it does take a while to clean at first but after a few times its simple and shouldnt be counted as a weakness since you have to get used to the gun. there is some kick but nothing to complain about. for me the stock barrel was garbage but everyone slaps a new barrel on their marker when they get it. the stock reg isnt great at first but once i shot 2 cases through my ion it performed good enough for me. i do plan on getting a cp reg though. i didnt like the duckbill so i put a ST#1 rail and a pro asa on it and had the tank sitting where i wanted it. this is a quality gun. everyone has one and it is both a good and bad thing. bad since ppl will assume you are a newb and hate you. good because if you are a newb its easy to find someone to help you if something goes wrong. the stock board had some wierd dwell settings, 52 stock i believe but the virtue was 30 stock with no qev so SP probly used their own system. all in all it performs solid. just dont expect to outshoot better guns like angels, dms etc. even with a new board its still nowhere neer the efficiency of better guns.
Conclusion: I give it a 7 because its a solid performing marker but it does need some money if you want it to be anything special.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  64  |  65  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media