paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Backman89 Friday, November 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Entry level Electros. as compareable by price (+/- 50$)
Marker Setup: 05 Prostock
E2
Besales .44 Ram and QEVs
Nexus LPR
Nexus internals
Evil Pipe kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
As with most markers, i would get a barrel kit, I like to always have the Best Paint to Barrel match i can get my hands on.
Strengths: Price
Preformance
Looks
Weaknesses: Its a smart parts item (personal dislike for the company's customer service.)
Review: I tested this Marker at a friends home, I assumed it would be comparable to other markers in the price range, Not to bad, but nothing amazing. I was suprised. For the price, this marker preforms. It is a soild, well built good looking marker. It is, in my opinion, The best option for a person just getting into the paintball setting. It is realativly low upkeep and should somthing go wrong plenty of shops have parts to provide a quick fix. Normally I would suggest sending a broken marker to the manufacuter, but after a terrible ordeal with an Impulse a few years ago, Never again. This marker lives up to the hype. It is one of the best entry level markers that can hold its own on the small tournament stage.
Conclusion: A great marker for the price. I have heard Ion horror stories, but those are few and far between. i wouldnt go trading my E-Cocker for one, but I would highly recommend this marker to a new player.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brien0418 Sunday, November 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS1
Marker Setup: Ion Marker
Freak Barrel 14 in
Evo 3 Hopper
PMI 68 ci 3000 psi Fiber
Psychoballistic Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feed Neck
Drop Forward or Direct Mount ASA
Barrel
Strengths: Lightweight
Very Fast
Very Accurate
Affordable Price
Weaknesses: Crapy feedneck
ASA is a mess
Barrel to short and not accurate
Review: This is my second marker and I love It. You have to do some changes to It Inmediatlly after buying. The feed neck O rings will break in the 3-4 use and believe me, your hopper will be flying a lot. The first time you put your hopper is very difficult (Try to twist it if you want the O rings to last a little more) The ASA design is made on purpose (so you buy a new one). Be carefull when screwing the tank. Talking about the gun is a beauty. For a begginer this is a great gun. Shoots very fast and looks pretty. A friend of mine change the dwell and ROF and Its shooting like crazy. Try It (Dwell 41 and ROF in 8). The shooting mode has to be the 2nd (from lower to higher). You will not be disappointed with this gun. Now I'm playing in an X ball field with it and It works good, but there are very expensive guns there so I will put a VIRTUE on the marker.
Conclusion: The stock gun works just great. Try the combination and you will love the way it shoots. Its a affordable and excellent marker to play with.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

varcoe310 Monday, November 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT tac 5
mr 1
Marker Setup: Stock ion
egg 3
45/3000 trinity tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
bolt
qev
barrel(freak kit)
asa
reg
Strengths: Price
speed
availability
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Reg
Review: This is a very solid marker for the price. I cant compare against better markers i havent tried. But this is in a veiw of a newer baller.
Strengths
Speed 17bps. I can only get to about 10 on semi but ramping is awsome.(called rebound in manual) Accuracy is awsome at 20 feet I can hit a 1.5 by 1.5 ft target 100% dropping by about 4.5% every 15 further out to 60 ft. This gun catches youre eye it is a sharp looking marker. Weight. this gun if a feather weight compared to other markers i have used.
Weaknesses
Changing modes can be tricky for a newer player but once you do it once it is all good.
The only other problem i had with this marker is the speed. My old loader wasnt fast enough to keep up so it would always fire maybe 8 balls then stop because it was not fast enough but with my egg 3 it is blazing fast. The egg3 doesnt fit well in the feed neck it is a tight fit to get it jammed in but once its in it is too loose. so a clamping feedneck is a must. The duckbill asa is terrible. It makes my air tank stick out an extra 1.5 inches making it feel like it is really heavy to the rear but you get used to it. To fix this you could buy a drop forward and a new asa for around 75 bucks.
Conclusion: Some people who have bought this marker say the barrel is powder coated on the inside and i must say it is not but on some i have seen where it is powder coated for the last few inches on the end of the barrel. But i give it a 10 because it is a good marker for a begginer or even a backup marker. Please say if my review was hepful
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jmkpaintball44 Sunday, November 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Blackmagic
06 Superstock
PM7
PM8
Marker Setup: Stock Ion
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV
Firebolt
Virtue board
Reg
ASA
Trigger
barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Lots of aftermarket upgrades
Weaknesses: No air cycle
Review: Well i must say for the money its not bad. When i first shot it it was pretty acurate but was slow because the gun was skippin shots. I couldnt get it past 10 bps. Smartsparts should have put a QEV in it stock. That would have helped alot and they are only like $20
Conclusion: This is not a bad starter gun. It will be a great gun with a few upgrades
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ballsdeep Wednesday, October 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Epiphany,Eos
Marker Setup: Ion:firebolt,qev,ANS trigger,Q-lock,Dovetail ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-lock
Strengths: -Air efficiency
-Light weight
-Modes
Weaknesses: -Reliability(see review)
-Changing modes
-Feedneck
-Trigger
Review: When I first got the ion i liked it alot, it was and still is my first electric gun. Once I got it the first upgrades were the Q-lock and a red body kit. Now it worked pretty good but do not use anti-syphoned co2 no matter what people say. In the end your gun will hate you if you use anti-syphon. So i switched to compressed air. Now the thing with this gun is the trigger and the standard board aren't so good for walking and changing modes and settings. So i baught the t-board along with some parts to make it keep up with the board. But the thing with this gun is when you start adding parts to it,the reliability CAN go down unless you really really really lube the bolt good. But it seems as though it works fine just shooting around for fun,but when you go to acctually play it screws up on you.
Conclusion: But that isn't always the case, the only reason i emphasize is because it would happen at the worst of times but only has happend 3 or 4 times. the past 5 times i've played it's worked perfectly. So basically when this gun is working good and your using it when you play, it's a sick gun and acctually rips.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

newtorkg-men72 Friday, October 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
epiphany (beter)
Marker Setup: sp ion
egg hopper
cp drop
cp reg
rake trigger
nds clamping feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
clamping feed neck(must)
drop
reg if you can afford
Strengths: Price
weight
quiet
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
trigger
Review: I recived this gun as a gift, and i took it out of the box aired it up and dry fired some. It was pretty quiet so i put some paint in it and i was impressed, it was accurate even with the stock barrel.(But a new barrel dose improve the accuracy alot.) So i bought a cp reg and all the upps above and went out to the local feild. This gun really competed with alot of markers out there, but my only problem with this gun i guess is the stock black body it dosnt look that great. But that is not a problem because this is the most custamisable gun out there.
Conclusion: Great beginers gun, cool how many upgrades they have for the gun i do recomend getting alot of them. Overall a very good gun 9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bette10 Wednesday, October 15th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
praniah, tippmann 98, spyders
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 ,shockteck drop forward, on off asa, low pressure kit, R/T, freak jr. barrel kit, Ricochet hopper crossfire 4500 penut tank.Empire cover lapco barrel adapter

smart parts ion upgrade empire rail, cp on off asa, vlocity, crossfire 45 45, jt flex 7, jt 08 pants.
Recommended
Upgrades:
OMG ALOT feedneck, asa, trigger, regulator, board, barrel, bolt, asa, macro line and fittings, grips, 360 qev, new bolt out back body,better breech, and trigger frame
Strengths: Somewhat cheap. Nothing really. Read the description. read description please
Weaknesses: TO many to tell here look at summary
Review: i bought this gun thinking it was a great back up gun. IT WAS THE BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER!! It is terribly unaccurte even with my freak kit and top grade paint. the macro line is very low quality and doesnt fit correctly. the asa adds about a inch and a half to your tank making you put the take over your shoulder. It leaks weekly. from the swivel, internals and many unpredictable places. the stock barrel make it even more unacurrate than it is with an upgrade barrel. the feedneck is as very tall and wont fit a higher end hopper. you will break the feedneck on your hopper. it is VERY loud!! It can be heard blocks away. the velocity drastically drops when shooting a about 8 bps. the reg is not anthing to be amezed about. the qev isnt good. the trigger is terrible!! i am currently using my 3 new stock trigger becase the get shot and break. or the magnet part breaks off, the metal shreads VERY EASY!! it shreded the meatal when i screwed it in! the feedneck shreds and ruins the threads when taken off
Conclusion: Not a gun that you want to have. it leaks and is made and desinged poorly.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

goatmouth Thursday, October 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Stingray
Tippmann 98
Spyder Phoenix
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion (1st Gen)
-Smart Parts 360 QEV
-Smart Parts Fire Bolt
-Smart Parts Lo-Rise Feed Neck
-Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit w/ All American Front
-Deadlywind Foehn B.O.B.
-Deadlywind Finger Lock Trigger
-Element V.2 Frame
-Virtue Board
-Virtue Membrane Pad
-Virtue Laser Break beam Eyes
-Virtue EZ On 2.0
-Virtue Argyle Bullets 45 Grips
-CP Shorty Regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Smart Parts Barrel Kit
Virtue Board
Virtue Laser Eyes
HALO B w/Rip Drive
Deadlywind Fingerlock Trigger
Strengths: Price
Durable
Simple Design
High-end Features

Weaknesses: Break Beam Eyes





Review: Once again Smart Parts has produced a great product. The gun is simply designed and works very effiecently. Truely customizable with many different upgrades from different companies. There is enough upgrades to make this gun perform like you want, depending on the money spent. Smart Parts has gave the average person in the game a chance to play with a pro feel. The gun is great for the money and will rip with certain upgrades just like my roomates Smart Parts Shocker.

With the setup I have I can spin a pie tin at 35 yards on semi, full auto, ramping, etc., the gun performs well.
Conclusion: The Smart Parts Ion gives a entery or weekend player a chance to play with a pro level feel. Yes there may be better guns out there but for the price you can not beat the Ion. I would suggest anyone with a smaller budget to buy this gun because you can always upgrade the gun later.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 9th, 2008 at 9:35 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

djalt3c Monday, October 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom and the tippmann is more of a sniper or senairo (woodsball) gun.
Marker Setup: Halo B hopper
roller trigger
expansion chamber
FireBolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
HALO B or Reloader B hopper
New Bolt
new trigger
Strengths: The firing modes, 17bps on semi, and the eyes
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought the gun about 3 months ago and i had no problems with it.. This gun can be upgraded like crazy and if you truly want a good gun for a low price then i recommend this gun the Smart Parts ION. If you get this gun then make sure you dont run C02 because your going to freeze your O-Rings and then you got to spend money on buying new rings. Run HPA ( HIGH PRESSURE AIR ) or Nitrogen if you have the BlackHeart Board
Conclusion: if you want this gun too go about 25 - 30 bps then go buy either the blackheart board or Virtue Board
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

snipadude1 Monday, October 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spider rs
Marker Setup: ion
mega drop
cp asa
QEV
firebolt
dye reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feedneck
asa and drop forward
barrel kit
trigger(optional)
Strengths: Quiet
Fast
Dependable
Weaknesses: None
Review: i got this gun used after my dad and my brother both got one and i got to say that it was way better than my a-5 this gun is one of the most quiet guns ive ever shot. a few problems came up. one is that the button is realy hard to push but a vurtue eezy on will fix that. also the feednecks just plain suck an aftermarket feedneck will be needed. also a drop forward and ASA will be needed. after that the marker is complete. this gun also shoot pretty fast out of the box without an upgraded board.
Conclusion: Get this gun it is one of the best beginer speedball guns out there but can easily be upgraded as you need it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media