paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  Last
        Next Page
spyderpilot642 Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot
Marker Setup: ion
q lock
sp s rail
sp on off asa
jr freak barrel
cp sling blade trigger
halo b with rip
cf 68/4500 hp
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
ASA
Trigger
Reg
QEV
Strengths: Cheap for what you get
Fast
Ramping
High end for under $300!!!
Weaknesses: Some stock parts
Take off grips to change settings
Power button
Review: I LOVE THIS GUN!!!!!
I was sceptical at first about ions cuz i thought they were just like any other gun in its price range. Boy was i wrong, for 200 you get a high end gun with ramping.
Very nice gun
i really dont know how to describe all the good things about it its just nice, buy it NOW

Bad:
nothing really about this gun is bad except some stock parts that should be upgraded (asa, trigger which is plastic, barrel, reg)
the only things that are bad about it is things that are kinda annoying like the powerbutton, and taking off the grips to change the board settings.
the power button is really stiff and the light indicator that says if its on is hard to see. and its kinda annoying to take off your grips every time you wanna switch from semi to ramping but its ok, i only use semi i justl like messing around with ramping some times.
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN!!!!!
you get a lot for your money

i give it a i give it a 10 but i stil think stock parts could get much better(non clamping feedneck, duckbill asa, plastic trigger)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

juggalopimp1225 Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Flash(junk) Spyder Electra(not quite as good) 98Custom(not even close) Autococker Trilogy Pro( Two completely different types of guns)
Marker Setup: Ion,cp reg, dye stickies, l6lightning, hpa, ndz clamping feedneck, cp 1 piece, empire b
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feedneck
new trigger
fast hopper(halo b, reloader b0
qev
hpa
Strengths: Speed
Price
Wieght
Accuracy
Air effeciency
Weaknesses: You will use alot more paint.
Review: I bought my Ion off of ebay for about 182 shipped. I was lucky and it came with the clamping feedneck and a qev, the rest i just parted off my old trilogy pro and stuck it on there to fairly well complete my upgrade. The fist time i tested this gun it was obviously a big change from my trilogy pro. This gun shoots extremely fast especially on rebound(very fun mode to play with). My first day playing at the field with it went very good. With my cp reg and barrel on it i was gogging people cross field and laying down intense supressive fire. The only problem that i had is that i used about 2 bags more than usually do which is kinda bad since im on a budget but that can all be changed by a little practice and a little moderation on my part
Conclusion: All in all this gun is good for players that have good knowledge of paint ball already, i dont recommend this to new players becouse it is pretty pricey for somebody who might not even stay in the sport. But for us true ballers it definately is a pimpin gun for an awesome price that will allow you to own the little rich kids down the street. Happy Ballin
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Krazy Krows Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 Shocker
Chris Lasoya Timmy
Marker Setup: 1. Bob Long Dragon Intimidator , Halo B, 47 ci Crossfire tank
2. Bob Long Chris Lasoya Intimidator, Empire Reloader B, 68 ci pure energy tank.

Recommended
Upgrades:
-New feedneck
-N2
-Barrel
-(Body Kit)
Strengths: -Somewhat Fast
-4 different firing modes

Weaknesses: - Stock feedneck is a pain
Review:
The Ion is terific gun. With the Stock board the Ion puts out 17 bps, thats pretty good for
a gun that price. The ramping mode is cool, you have to shoot 6 bps and the computer in the gun will bring that 6 bps up to 17 bps. The Ion is also worth the $200 because of all the interchangeable bodys they have for it. But if you do get this gun you should also buy a
new ajustable feedneck so you can fit a halo or evo 2 on it.
Conclusion: This is worth your money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Twmagoo Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Vision Shocker
Marker Setup: Pink Ion, Single piece Proto Barrel (Freak as backup), Killa Detents, Fire Bolt, NDZ Saw Trigger, Cp Stubby Reg., Eclipse QEV., Virtue Lazer Eyes, #2 Shocktech Drop with a shocktech on/off, Reloader B and a 68 4500.
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV., Detents, on/off, Clamp feed neck, Trigger, Barrel, Bolt, Laser eyes and Reg. A new body later on if you don't like the one you have. (I would try to do it in that order unless you just have the cash).
Strengths: For what it has, you just can't beat it for the price. Upgraders Dream.
Weaknesses: Original trigger does break and it a gas hog, you need a QEV.
Review: Marker is totally upgradeable. The Upgrade order, of course, depends on the owner. Those were just my recommendations because of the order of what is requested by most of our customers. The stock detents wears out after 3 to 4 case so replacing them with a delrin dentents will be needed. The marker is a gas hog, installing a QEV will allow you to drop the dwell and lower the input pressure so you can shoot more paint. All in all, it works great for the price and with the many upgrades available for it, it will perform really well. If you can't afford to just get a expensive "high end marker" all at once or need a reliable backup marker, this marker is for you.
Conclusion: For the price, with the available features, you just can't beat it. Its not a "blow back marker" and is very upgradeable.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 8th, 2006 at 7:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mowdowndafaces4 Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really
Marker Setup: 06 ego
empire b
68/45 crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barell,feedneck.reg,on/off
Strengths: Light,Fast,Small
Weaknesses: Ugly,Gas hog
Review: This gun works for a casual young player, who cant afford a really high end gun, but wants a decent gun better than spyder/pirahna/tippmann group. The big problem with this gun is disassembly. To clean out a chop, you have to take the whole gun apart, which takes about 6 minutes after getting good at it.(definitely not living up to the smartparts 1 minutes cleaning promise). THe feedneck will not work, not on any hopper. i tried fitting it in with an empire, and an egg. It wouldnt even fit the empire with no o rings in it.

The stock reg isnt bad, but i would still reccomend a new one. The stock asa is ugly as hell, so i got a new one right away. I honestly think that there is no way to get to 17bps on the stock ion. With a new board, it might be possible.

runs on co2 or n2, but only co2 if anti siphoned. i would strongly reccomend not running co2 on it though.

Price- $230 refurbished, you can get one for like $260 now brand new.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to someone who wants a cheap affordable gun with decent quality. There are upgrades that are necessary though. For the price, it is a great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

teammassacre92 Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Ion
Z-Drop forward
Halo B hopper w/ rip drive
freak barrel w/ all 8 inserts
nitro
Shocktech feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
freak barrel w/ inserts
Shocktech feed neck
z-drop forward
Strengths: Weight
Accuracy
Bps
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Stock barrel


Review: The ion is an excellent marker and is the overall best gun for its price. I have used it a lot and i have loved it ever since! I would reccomend gettin a new feed neck to fit your hopper. Also get a Freak barrel w/ all 8 inserts because it is a lot bettter than the stock barrel. The marker is very light weight, accurate, and excellent bps. I love this gun, along with many other satisfied buyers.
Check out my teams site to see my gun setup: http://www.myspace.com/massacrepaintball


Conclusion: I would definately reccomend this marker because it is the top marker out there for its price and can keep up with the pro markers.



Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer4lyfe21 Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm3 diablo mongoose dm5 pm5 dmc 2k2 timmy
Marker Setup: stock every thing and 45/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck is a must, barrel, and trigger if you dont like stock
Strengths: Speed, Accuracy, Wieght, Looks, Speed!
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: This is an amazing marker for $200 i would recomend this gun to any one for beginner to pro skill levels. it is amazingly fast looks great super accurate very light and its only $200. This gun is also very efficient i got almost 2000 shots off with my 45/45 tank.
Conclusion: this is the best gun i have used in all my years of paintball i would recommend this gun to every one BUY IT NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

some person Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine-worse
spyder pilot acs- louder, chops more, lower quality
proto pmr- slightly better
icd promaster-about the same
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
empire barrel kit
clamping feed neck
72/3000 air tank
halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel- the stock one is average. the empire barrel kit i have is good. its great being able to adapt to any paint size. it wasnt a very expensive kit either.
clamping feedneck- you basically need one of these if you dont want your hopper sliding around or being crushed into too tight a space
new trigger or weaker trigger magnet
new asa or drop forward- the stock one makes your gun really long ( at least if you have about a 68 air tank or bigger)
electronic hopper
Strengths: Almost no kick
super quiet
small
accurate
never chops
amazing gun for the price
customizable


Weaknesses: Needs some upgrades when bought
lots of people have them
doesnt like a/s co2
Review: BEST GUN FOR THE MONEY EVER MADE.

weaknesses- you need to upgrade a few things right when you buy this gun. its a good idea to get a new feedneck and barrel right away. you can use anti siphon co2 with the ion, but dont use it if you can afford an air tank. my gun really hated the anti siphon when i used it. when i turned it on, you had to pull the trigger about 10 times before it would get through the regulator and shoot normally. if the weather's too cold, too much of it turns to liquid and it does not work at all. also a new trigger and/or trigger magnet would be a good thing to buy. its very hard to walk the stock trigger and get a consistent stream of paint going.
anyway, here's what is good about it (and i would definitely say there are more good things about it than bad). -
i used to shoot an electronic spyder gun, and this is definitely a step up from it. with the spyders, you chop paint a ton of the time, and they are about 10 times louder and have about 5 times as much kick as the ion (not to mention they are less accurate).
when i first shot mine, i could hardly tell i shot a paintball because i was so used to the spyder "cannon" throwing me backwards with its kick and having my ears ring from the sound (lol). this gun is really small compared to spyders too. again, for 200 dollars you cant find a better gun. the ion can compete easily with guns over 500 dollars. with the right barrel and trigger, you can get an accurate string of paint flying all over and hitting people just as well as anything else.
Conclusion: like i said BEST GUN FOR THE MONEY EVER MADE.
if you are experienced enough to at least know something about guns and playing paintball so you wont break it or look like a noob, you should get it because it will save you a ton of money, its reliable, and you can shoot people who spent 3x as much as you did in the face.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 6th, 2007 at 9:13 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tyler peck Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have only played with one other gun and that was an old spyder xtra. The ion is a great step up. I could never go back to the spyder.
Marker Setup: Ihave a black ion with a 72/3000 psi pure energy tank and ablack egg with a Y board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The only thing needed is anew feed neck. The stock feed neck is hard to get the hopper in and out of.
Strengths: Light, cheap, easy fix, great look, and very customizable
Weaknesses: Stock feed neck, not as fast as other guns its price
Review: I have only had my ion for about a month, but have played with it five or six times. There has never been a problem with it, and I have never broken a ball. It shoots great and is very acurate. You can do so much to this gun and make look great and perform just as well as any $600+ gun.
Conclusion: For $200 this gun is a great buy. You cant go wrong with an ion. + its from a great company.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ion421 Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Semi-Auto Spyders and Tippmans.....does not even compare toward this gun
Marker Setup: SP Ion w/ Q-lock, SP QEV, NDZ Roller Blade Trigger, and Eggy 2.... Soon new barrel, on/off, and Virtue Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck!!!
Trigger, preference of player
On/Off !!!!! (a must) hard to screw in tank with out lubed treads
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Accuracy
Gas efficiency w/ or w/out QEV
Warranty
Weaknesses: FEEDNECK!!!! Very difficult to remove hopper!!!
Trigger... Kinda wobbly, difficult to walk
No on/off
Review: I new i would love this gun when i bought it. my cousins have ions and they say that they never had a problem with their gunz. we are goin to start a team in maybe a few months and we are probably goin to use ions as our main gunz for tourneys. People say the ion is a sissy gun because itz cheap and made of crappy plastic... ITZ MADE OF POLYMER!!!!!! itz strong and more durable than your regular average plastic!!!! The feedneck sux so badly that when i put my hopper on it, it never came off until i took it to the shop. Well i think that sums it up. ROF is hella good outa the box. but you still need to set it to tourney legal setting. Barrel is really accurate about 6-10 inch spread.... Pretty much it.
Conclusion: Buy it if you love Smart Parts, Love the Portland Naughty Dogs, and enjoy watchin Dynasty kick everyones ass in tourneys with their Dynasty Shockers OH YEh!!!!! LOL
Smart Parts is the best!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 23rd, 2006 at 12:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media