paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  76  |  77  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81  |  82  |  Last
        Next Page
Mean-Midget Saturday, June 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing i just had a stupid sonix
Marker Setup: ION, 48 3000 tank, Revvy, Screw feedneck, flame dropforward, stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck and maybe a drop forward
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Durability
Can keep up with most guns ( under 1000$)
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: This gun is great i have had only one problem but it was no biggy the field owner helped me and then i tried it out and it was so fast. My friends liked it too but two of my friends have ions as well.
If u want a great gun for cheap that can keep up with anything except a DM6 ( It will get destroyed against one of those) than buy this it wont let u down.

remember when someone rips 30 balls at u, u think about it and rip 40 back at them with your ion !
Conclusion: Get it you wont be sad and u might get more respect : -)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

X_treme Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion Pro
Marker Setup: Ion Pro
-CP Reg
-NDZ Roller Trigger (Red)
-NDZ On/Off
Empire Fuel Tank 45/4500
Vlocity Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Reg
Barrel
Feedneck
Body Kit
Electronic Hopper
On/Off
Strengths: Price
Light
Quiet
Fast
Duarable
Weaknesses: None Really
Review: My brother has a regualr Ion so I just wanted to see if there was any difference between my Ion pro and his ion, no difference except the accuracy becasue I have a freak jr. Still there was no difference between these two markers. This is a good gun and has a good price if you have the money you should gp and pick one up.
Conclusion: This gun has a good price, is duarable, and fast you should pick one up.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 5th, 2006 at 9:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbdude361 Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c (stock)
Tippmann A-5 (Flatline, double, trigger)
Spyder Imagine (14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel)
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor
14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Macro Line
Smart Parts Ion Stock ASA
Spyder Delrin ACS Bolt
20 ounce and 9 ounce CO2 tanks

Smart Parts Ion
Red Body Kit
360 QEV Kit
48ci/3000 psi
Everything else Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off ASA
New Barrel Kit(s) (stock is great, but this gun runs smoother with upgraded barrels)
Adjust Trigger or buy a new one
Strengths: Body Kits
Light (easy to run with)
Good Amount of Upgrades
Weaknesses: Gas Hog (about 850 paintballs with 3000 psi)
Feedneck
Review: I Borrowed this from my friend about 2 1/2 months ago, and I was anxious to play with it as soon as I pulled it out of the box. I decided to gas er up, and shoot an old tree in my backyard. There are 4 firing modes on the ion, Semi, Rebound, 3 Round Burst, and Full-Auto. Personally I Like Rebound for Speedball, but for scenario games or woodsball, i would perfer 3 round burst. Well after about 10 minutes of shooting, I was out of gas and surprised. So I soon bought a 360 QEV kit and it doesnt use so much gas any more (for 3000 psi). After awhile i tinkered with the trigger and made it really sensitive. Before i adjusted the trigger the ion was walkable. After I adjusted the trigger any one who picks up the ion could walk it. I plan to do a lot with this gun, I am glad I bought it from my friend for 180 Dollars. If you need a new gun, I recommend this gun to Beginners and Experts. It is easy to pick up and use and ready to shoot out of the box. Buy This Gun!!!
Conclusion: This Gun is Great, Easily one of the best cheap high-end electronic markers out there. If you have the money get it, if you dont SAVE UP!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dapaintballa222 Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder electra-ion beats it
Marker Setup: 3000 psi nitro tank
halo b w/ rip drive
smart parts freak barrel
virtue board
virtue qev exhaust
feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
virtue board
virtue qev exhaust
feedneck
Strengths: Price
Speed
Reliability
Highly upgradable
Weaknesses: Feedneck is a small problem
Review: The ion is a cheap gun that can compete with the best guns out there including the eclipse ego. Ion costs 199.95 at www.actionvillage.com. The ion has many different artermarket body styles that can make any ion stand out. At stock the ions bps cap is 17. After a virtue board and virtue qev exhaust are put on the ion it can hit 25 bps. Combine that with a new barrel and halo or empire loader and you got yourself an incredible gun. Worthy of competing with high end guns. The Ion is definetly not the best gun out there but for 199.95 plus another 100-200 worth of upgrades will make it the best gun for the money.
Conclusion: So i conclude, that if your looking for an affordable gun that can compete with the top guns then the ion is the right gun for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

P-ballin nieder Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder electra
Diablo wrath
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ion
Halo b
14" all american barrel
New designz roller trigger
Trinity low rise feed neck
And more to come......
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEED NECK!!!!
Trigger
Barrel ( depends on the person )
Strengths: Fast!
light!
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: I got my ion about a month ago. It is WAY better then the wrath and is very light. I had a hard time with the stock feed neck fitting my halo, so i sudgest but a new feed neck. What i need to get adventualy is a new reg. the stock one is ok, but not the most consistant thing.
Conclusion: The ion is not perfect! but no marker is! get it best marker out there dor the price! i love mine!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbterminator889 Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
B2K,Impulse, nerve
Marker Setup: SP ion, Freak 14" barrel, Crossfire 45/45, Egg hopper, Q-Lock Clamping feed neck, NDZ roller trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Hopper...basic stuff
Strengths: Accurate
Very upgradeable
$200!
Weaknesses: Stock trigger is a little crappy
Review: This gun is amazing! I bought this gun for 220$ upgraded from my friend. Even used this gun was nice. I got a trigger and a barrel and grips and the gun for $220. This gun does have a few problems stock but its nothing major. It had a leak so we took it to the shop and the guy just told us to pull on the line when it happened and it was fine.
Conclusion: This gun is the best gun for $200. Of course no gun is perfect so i have to give this gun an 8. But compared to all other guns for $200 this gun is like an 11
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBDUDE93 Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothin to similar-but my victor 2
Marker Setup: SP ION yellow body kit with new disignz no rise feedneck, and NDZ trigger (aluminum). With a Freak barrel kit stanless inserts with a 14" AA, and a shocktech asa on/off, and a sp black heart board....maybe gettin a T-board also......hyprid contract shizzle grip (yellow)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel...feed neck.....nano line
Strengths: Great for price
Weaknesses: Cant really use right out of the box
Review: The ion is one of the best guns for the money it can shot a max of 17 bps(stock) and that is great for a stock 300 dollar gun.

-Pros-
-Price
-barrel(the barrel is good for the woodsball player because it is accurate enough to at least to get to the target on the spot.)
-trigger(good but the stupid magnet in the trigger affected my shooting...i perfer the no magnet...but the magnet does come out....i was to lazy so i jsut bought a new triiger after using it one time)

Cons
-ASA/nano line-The nano line has many holes and dents in it when u first get it....and the asa just chews and chews up o-rings.
-Reg-The reg is sometimes good and sometimes bad it really depends on how smart parts puts it together..they are not all the same....But sadly mine was horrible +/- 7-5 but not bad....but that can maybe cause the ref to pull you out for shooting high..i got away with it.

What reg should i get for my ion....(COMMENT ME)

Feedneck-The feedneck is horrible it fits like one or 2 hoppers......high rise....so i ggot a ndz no rise feedneck and i am perfectly fine with this feedneck and this fits almost every hopper out there.
Conclusion: BUY GUN......BUY GUN......the best gun out there for the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 12th, 2006 at 8:44 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

pbkidion Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing on this scale. evil minion, angelspeed, ego
Marker Setup: ion with a qev soon to have a q lock
ricochet apache lcd
72/CI 3000/PSI AIR TANK
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV not required but recomended new barrel
Strengths: Shoots fast>.......................
Consistant
Tough
Accurate for stock
Weaknesses: Its loud but thats not really a weakness leaks due to macro line (stock)
Review: Well when i first went to play with my ion (in the frigid winter of michigan) luckily somebody with an ion was there. My gun out of the box was shooting pretty high but was easily fixed. when it vame to playing my ion was the only marker out of 12 people markers that didnt chop due to eyes and the cold ( oh ya it was 10 degreese with heavy wind and snow) . It shot very fast with ramp on with my frozen fingers i could only shoot 4 bps but the speed impressed me it was shooting very fast and accurately the trigger pull is that or better of an impulse and the air tank would get about 600 shots.

edit i have been playing with it for a while and it seems to hold up very well but dosnt like old batteries
Conclusion: You get this gun as a very good buy for me i got it was 300 dollars and it out preformed all my expectations. So if you want a good speedball marker for a great price i highly recomend this.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 2nd, 2007 at 12:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fattmike Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann model 98 (not custom)
Marker Setup: smart parts ion package. Its with the clamp feed neck, qev, impulse barrel, blade trigger, and all that good stuff.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamp feed neck, some hoppers dont fit in the stock one right. A qev so it is more effecient. You dont need one but a blade trigger for easier shooting.
Strengths: Fast
accurate
very light
reliable
nothing more to say
Weaknesses: One time the eyes did not work but thats my problem.
Review: I picked up an ion package from a local cousins store. When i got home i was anxious to fire off a bag of paint. I set up a soda can and stepped far away. I was surprised how fast it fired. I hit my target 80 percent of the time. I reccomend this gun for begginers and tourny players. A pro from the shop said that this is as good as 800 dollar guns but is cheaper made. Thats a ++++++++
Conclusion: Good for all skill levels. Its performs very well to my begginer paintball capability. Good buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andrew111 Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ego,impulse shocker,98 custom
Marker Setup: ego and ion i hav a halo b for both and i have an aluminum rollarblade on the ion
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck,trigger,barrel and a drop forward
Strengths: Fast,easy to use,reliable and accurate, customizable.
Weaknesses: Feedneck the reg is a lil bit annoying.
Review: The ion is very fast accurate and reliable the only weaknesses is the feedneck and the trigger. This gun is really good for the price and i recommend it for beginners or intermidiate players. The gun has a lot of customizable features like a body kit feedneck triggers dropfrowards and barrels. The sorftware that you can get for it really helps.
Conclusion: I really think you should get a feedneck cauz sanding down takes to long
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  76  |  77  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81  |  82  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media