paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
brianehoffmann Friday, September 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
epiphany
ego
impulse
Marker Setup: impulse
black heart board
egg 3
48 ci 3000 psi tank

ion (body kit, new trigger, 360 qev, new eyes, new grip, cp reg, shocktech drop forward
virtue board
egg 3
48ci 3000 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
regulator
feed neck
trigger
barrel
Strengths: Small
Light
Decent speed
Shoots decent
lots of ugrades
Weaknesses: Regulater
Feed neck
Trigger
Leaks
Sucks to clean
Review: I got my ion for $25 because the board was shot. A week later i got the virtue board, when i got the virtue board in i had a tourniment the next day, she worked just fine. Later the regulater screwed up so i had to spend $60 on a new reg, she worked funny all the time after and it always screwed me over. i bought a bunch of new up grades for it and she works wonders now, i have never had much luck with guns. The only gun i have that hasnt screwed me over is my $35 tippmann, all my guns work now and i try not to screw with them to much, any way back to my ion. i bought a body kit for it, a new trigger, a 360 qev, new eyes(stock were shot), new reg, new board..... with all them upgrades it didnt cost me over $400 and she works and looks like a $600 gun

if you buy this gun, always, always have extra hoses with.
also dont use an anti siphon tank
just use n2 or compressed air.
Conclusion: I really like my ion and i am hoping to put a pic up soon, i recomend this gun to people who are getting into speedball for there first speedball gun, or if you just want somehting to "pimp" out. When you get it set and everything dont screw with it or it will screw you over, but it could just be me,idk.... Any way i am going to have to give it a 9 because she like to screw me over alot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrreed360 Sunday, September 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha GTI E-Force, doesn't come close.
Marker Setup: New Designz Roller Trigger
Q-Lock Feedneck
14in. Teardrop Barrel
Evolution 3 hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-Lock Feedneck
Strengths: Fast
Quiet
Mobility
Accurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought this gun used; my second electronic marker and i just love it. I mostly play woodsball and i favor this over any Tippmann or other tactical markers, mostly because it is soooo quiet. I'm not sure what other markers really keep the volume low, but this one has really shown me a difference. I run mine off of Anti-Siphon Co2 and it works just fine. The very few problems i've had with it so far have been very minor.
Conclusion: I would defienlty recommend this for an intermediate woodsballer.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 14th, 2008 at 6:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jakep42zer0 Wednesday, September 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP impulse, shocker
Marker Setup: Sp ion
cp on/off
SP rail
q-lock feed neck
eggy3(soon to be replaced with vlocity jr.)
crappy steely(crossfire 68 4k on the way tho)
virtue destroyka grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get some kind of locking feedneck,stock one is complete throwaway, should be bought with gun immediatley
Trigger based on preference,prolly wont like it much though
Barrel
Strengths: Price 164.00$ at my proshop
Simple internals
Alot of upgrades available
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Needs to be upgraded to shoot like a high end marker
Barrel
Duckbill asa
Review: Overall i am very happy with the gun,i bought one because i shot my friends ion with a virtue, nano bolt, qev and roller trigger and the thing shot awesome, this is what made me want to get an ion, also ive had about a 2 year lull were i stopped playing and sold all my gear, and i wanted a way to get back into competitive paintball with low initial investment. The ion is that marker. Price tag at my local shop was 164.00$ out the door the guy threw in a q-lock for another 10 bucks and i was on my way. Haven't got out to the speed ball field yet, but have been playing every weekend with my friends and the gun shoot great the first time and still shoots great now. With a few more upgrades i think i will really have a gun i can compete with and come out on top, granted it is slightly annoying that you almost have to upgrade to make it tourney worthy but at the same time i love upgrading and customizing so i don't mind taking the time to do it. Also it is still cheap enough to buy if Ur just the occasional, or rec player. I am very happy with my investment and will continue to play and update when and if something changes.
Conclusion: With the right upgrades this can be a great gun for the tourney player but stock is also cheap enough for the recballer. I really like it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

derewpasanet Saturday, August 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix rail
Proto SLG
Sp1
Tippmann A5
Tippmann 98 custom pro
Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: Clamping Feedneck
BT Apex barrel
eggy 3 hopper
48/3000 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
bolt
barrel
clamping feedneck
regulator
Strengths: Light
Durable body
Efficient
Accurate
Cheap
lots of upgrades
Weaknesses: Worst trigger i have ever used
Internals break
Hard to clean
Regulator
Feedneck
barrel
Review: The smart parts ion was my first gun i bought. I used it 6 times before the Board and the regulator broke. I sent it back and got it fixed and it shot normally after that. It has many upgrades that you can buy. One problem is that when it has all stock parts it sucks. You need to spend almost 150$ before it is a good gun. By then you could have bought a Proto SLG
Conclusion: Is a cheap marker and is recommended for people new to the sport.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kevinyi911 Friday, August 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion xe
Marker Setup: ion, cp clamping feedneck, 48/45cp stuby, velocity jr
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck and asa
Strengths: Price, Avalability, Accuracy
Weaknesses: Takes a while to clean the bolt and thats about it.
Review: good:
the price is good for new players and or for experianced players, it was avalable at every local shop where i live and online. the accurcy wasnt bad for a 180$ gun with the stock barrel.

bad:
I havent had any problems taking appart or puting together the ion it just takes a while and careful hands.
Conclusion: I would recomend this to anybody that wants to learn about their gun because you have to to clean it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thtsk8guy Tuesday, August 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder ACS- its all right for such a cheap gun. i liked it, but the ION blows it outta the water.

'Cockers- lots of em, really the karney is the only one that i thought beat the ION

Angel G7- well it shoots great, but its too expensive i could buy 4 ions for one angel. the angles better but too expensive.

timmy- theyre great, no fair comparison.

spyder clones- good guns, but they cant compete with the ION

other mechys, and what not. the ion is the best for the buck.
Marker Setup: ION all stock

ION Hybrid clamping feedneck stock barrel stock body kit cp regulator. contract killer grips. cp drop forward cp slasher trigger DXS 45/68 cp on/off dxs tank cover

spyder acs stock pipes barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck the other ones too high
new trigger prefrence
new grips prefrence
DROP
new reg (i got a bad one)
on/off
new barrel
ez on/off power button.
Strengths: Accuracy size weight customability mainstream
Weaknesses: People like to diss on the Ion, its mainstream
Review: ok, so i see these ION's so i decide to pick one up, i got with my gun, the gun feedneck cp regulator cp drop hybrid contract killer grips dxs 45/68 tank on/off and tank cover and a lot of other stuff like pod pack new goggles and paint. it all costed me 250. yeah, that cheap. so you can easily find ions in package deals rather cheap. all over the place.
(ill review my all stock ion first)
so i get mine. and i pick it up, i swear this thing weighs absolutely nothing, and with a carbon fiber tank its soo light. i defiently like the feel.

the triggger felt wayy too breakable to me.. so i like the fact that you can upgrade it. that would be the first thing to go in my book. it is easily upgradeable, but smart parts did a really bad job choosing what trigger to slap on here. but its a 200 dollar gun so dont expect a really nice trigger.

the feedneck-

this sucker is HUGE its stacked too high, and it doesnthold an reloader very well in my opinion. it makes it sit high, and the o-rings are really annoying. they always like fall out or something. one actually snapped on me. so that was the second thing to go.

the body kit-
i love the idea that they are changeable, and i thought that was really unique. they are a polymer not plastic, this is much more durable then plastic, its almots like the stuff that a garbage can is made out of (the non steel ones) its light, but can take a beating like no other. they are really easy to change.

the reg-
i got a bad one, but i know alot of people that LOVE the stock reg. so it just must have been a bad choice on my part. but its whatever. SP sadly doesnt check their products, i guess they just let it go, and hope for the best. i recommend the CP reg. i like it, and its really good.


grips-
once they get sweaty you might as well be trying to hold an ice cube. they slip and slide all over, get some dye stick 3's or hybrid contract killers. i like the ck's my self. theyre really comfortable. the stock ones are comfy too, its just once they get wet. ure screwed.

barrel-
again like the reg. i guess some are good and some are bad.
if i aim and shoot the paintball goes where i want it. i like my stock barrel, its just the right size, and min shoots straight as a stick. (a straight stick)

power button- this is the MAIN DOWNFALL this is horrible, mine slipped off! i bough an EZ on off, and i love that. but the original one was a pain in the @$$ to use i hated it. it actually just SLID off when i pushed it in.. it was horrible.

asa- duckbills? they still exist honestly? wow.. this is bad. it makes the gun soo long, if your stuck with it, you will need a drop forward no doubt, but you should get an on off. get a drop anyways itll make the gun tigheter, i like that.

gauge- what to say? it worked, gave an accurate reading what else could you want? mine did its job. so i have no complaints.

eyes
yep they see the balls allright ive put at least 11000 pbs through my gun, and have chopped 1. so you tell me how good is that?

the ion is a solidly built gun, it is very stable and i like the feel of it. it looks wicked awesome, and its a really nice gun for the price. its highly upgradeable and its a fast gun stock. the board fits me well capped at 17 bps (who needs 17 balls per second honestly) mine shoots plenty fast. ive never had shootdown or any problems with my gun. in the price range id get the ion. if you have an extra hundred, go for a timmy or a PMR but for 200 you cant beat the ion. and thats that.

its mainstream, so you should be able to get one cheap, and get help from alot of people at your local field.. i give it a nine because of the feedneck and the duckbill. but other then those two easily fixed problems, the gun is excellent
Conclusion: yes. i highly recommend the ION to any level of user, it can be a barebones throw paint paintball gun, or it can be a spot on tourney gun. i like my gun the way it is. you can make it to fit you just right, and its really easy to customize. i recommend this gun 100 and 10 precent.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NiteHawk202 Monday, August 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS
Marker Setup: PMR SE Camo - all stock
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Crossy 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything possible
Strengths: Price
Electropneumatic
Weaknesses: bang for buck
EVERYTHING NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED
Review: Ok, so this was my first electropneumatic gun. I got this a year ago when it was $200 (I think they go for $165 now). I got this based on reviews about people saying that it is a good beginner gun. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS AS A BEGINNER GUN! This gun will seem very complicated to newer players. Maintenance is kind of a pain seeing as you have to take apart the whole gun just to lube the bolt but it isn't that tough if you just search on youtube for a video of it.

EVERYTHING NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED!
You will need to upgrade just about everything to make it a decent marker. I spent at least $600 in upgrades when I could have just got a better gun to begin with.

If you really want an Ion just try to find one used on ebay, most of them already have a lot of upgrades on them and people sell them for cheap.
Conclusion: Don't waste your money on this. With all the upgrades needed you might as well just buy a better gun to begin with (PMR or Mini). If you can't afford either of those 2 an SLG is also a great beginner marker. The SLG's are $200 and are A LOT better.
If you're upgrading from a spyder just go straight to a proto or mini.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 19th, 2008 at 5:07 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

allanbhartz Saturday, August 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Briefly used various smart part gun
spyder imagine
played alongside various boblongs, angels and the other guns the 13 year olds beg for around November
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
warrior locking feed neck
freak jr. barrel kit
empire reloader B
qev
Recommended
Upgrades:
-people will tell you a locking feed neck is a "must" i really recommend it, youll probably spend more in paint falling out of the hopper from it falling off than the feed neck will cost. haha

-a nice hopper to keep up with the marker, but you dont need to overkill and go for a halob

-nice barrel if youve got the money (i STRONGLEY recomend the freak)
Strengths: Price
Quality
Weaknesses: People trying to sell you body kits? I haven't found any
Review: I picked up my ion a while back and all i can say is i am pretty darn impressed. Out of the box it is decent but after a few ups you can really rip some line of paint. The ion is a great, reliable marker in an even better price range.

The one thing people will tell you at the field is "yeah well my angel can shoot faster" this is one of the most frequent comments i get and it bothers the crap out of me. People need to learn how to take the ion for what it is, a quality gun for a low cost.

heres the rundown (stock)
Barrel: it is decent and can carry you for a while, but i would recomend an upgrade (14 inch is my personal fave)

Speed (bps) With the ion capped at 17 alot of people will complain and whine about how they want a bob long with 30 balls per second, but for the entry level play 17 balls a second is way more than you will need for a long time.

Disassembley: This is one factor that many new players dont look at, and for a long time i was very afraid to switch to an electronic gun, but i feel electronics are actually easier to break down than a mechanical. smart parts claims a 5 minute break down, but i'm not too sure about that, but i would say a half an hour tops to completely disassemble and clean then reassemble. Just read the manual

Quality: Smart parts is an awesome company that has a great line up of guns and this one is no exception, all the parts are quality, and i have yet to have any problems aside from normal time to time things

Ball breaks: ah, i remember back in the days of shooting with my spyder sans eyes and oh dear lord.... one case of paint and id break oh so many. The ion has eyes so for all the newer people, that means it detects if there is a ball ready to be jettison out of the barrel on someones goggles, and if there is not ball ready it doesn't fire, otherwise you get half loaded balls getting chopped. Now at first i had a slight problem with the balls, but switch your paint up (ill admit i'm a fan of cheap paint haha, cant buy marbs on an internship budget)

Price: awesome gun for the price, leaves you some money in the bank to actually play

Support: all smart parts guns come with a warranty (read it) and the community at thier forums is great, they actually hire people that simply responded to buyers question on their forum.
Conclusion: TAKE IT FOR WHAT IT IS! if you are looking for a great marker at a good price hit it up, and if anytells you you should have gotten and angel, just gog em on the field then say "damn, looks like you just wasted 800 dollars"
great starter gun
great upgrade gun
all around great gun

i give it a 9 cause there are better gats, but they are way more expensive
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snakeguy Sunday, August 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman a5, tippman 98 custom,spyder mr1,spyder v2, smartparts vibe, smartparts shocker, bob long alias, bob long vice, bob long marq, bob long edge
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck, barrel, regulator, basicly everything
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: I'm going to try and be short about this. first day i took it out it had terrible consitincy in both fps and accurcy. it choped paint after 1 hopper. after i cleaned that out it worked ok, it kinda pissed me off not only that it had a bad trigger, but if you buy a good trigger its capped at 17 bps. they basicly force you to buy a new board, and if you get a black heart, its as good as the stock should have been!!!
Conclusion: This thing is made to look cool for begginers, but it shoots like crap. its ok after you take out all the kinks, but it cost a hell of a lot
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fly824 Sunday, August 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Mongoose
Spyder XPS
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann A-5
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: Virtue Board
Virtue Eyes
Virtue Ez on
New Designs Trigger
Dead On Drop forward
Fire Bolt
Warrior Locking feedneck
Freak 2 front and 1 back w/ red insert
Nitro Duck 68/4500
Modded Eggy2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue Board for the modes and sensitivity
Virtue Eyes, laser eyes are ten times better
New Barrel the stock sucks
LOCKING FEED NECK
Strengths: Accurate
Quite
Fast
Pretty Efficient ~1200 fills off a 68/45 at 280 fps
Light
Weaknesses: Ball moves in breach a little but has been a problem yet
Need Upgrades
Review: I Picked this gun up at my local shop for $150. I droped another $30 and a few hours of my time to get it were it is now. I brought it home shot about 500 round through it and had just about half a tank left so i dedicated that half tank to getting my dwell right. I only changed it a few times to get were i am now and im pretty happy w/ it. I am soon getting a virtue QEV for it and that should also get me better efficiency.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any1 that i know but not out of the box. The only thing i dont like if you buy this gun brand new if that you need to put another $50-$100 into this gun to get it started and after that some more money. Now I lucked out. But to get this gun to where it is now I would have had to spend about $600 on it including the gun. So I lucked out. So i would buy it and put a little money into it and you have a nice gun to start you out playing airball and the best part is that there are end list amount of upgrade for it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media