paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81  |  82  |  83  |  84  |  Last
        Next Page
-[USB]Mr.Slow Saturday, June 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cap Guns
Other dollar store ''guns''
Water guns
Marker Setup: Dm6
Yellow Parts Kit
Virtue Board
Yellow Macroline
Yellow 14'' Ultralite Tip
Orange SAM Bolt
Yellow Dye Sticky Grips
Halo B W Rip Drive, victory board, Suicide Shell
Angel Air.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Body, Internals, Grips, Board, Bolt, Feedneck, Reg, ASA, Barrel, Solenoid, Trigger, New Macro, Maybe A New Gun, Ball Detents, Valves, Buttons, New Eyes, Maybe A New Gun, New O-Rings, New QEV, New LPR, Less Plastic Parts, More Metal Parts, Maybe A New Gun, Get The Hint Yet??
Strengths: This thing has strengths?!?!?
If it came with steroids maybe.
Weaknesses: If you look in the dictionary under weak, it'll have a picture of this.
Review: So I went to the paintball store, and my team captain bought a new trigger frame and I felt that I needed a new Marker, they had just gotten in shipment of the new Ion pros, WAIT, does ''ion'' deserve a capital letter? Anyway I decided to try one I get home gas it up, and right away, I hear the bolt make a THUNK sound, and slide into forward position while this is happening I hear a leak out of the LPR. I degas it take it apart and the LPR was cracked, I took it to the proshop the next day, they could not fix it, so I sent it to SP, they sent me a new ion, so I gas it up, take it outside and using brand new marballizers I put them in the brand new VLocity, turn the gun on, go to pull the trigger, and by the way the trigger feels like a plastic fork, so I fire the ion and it goes PLUFF and green paint and shell go everywhere, I dry fire it to clear it, I point the barrel at the ground and all of a sudden marballizers go flying out the VLocity is working like mad, I turn it off, degas it, take it apart, the ball detents were missing, so I buy new ones, take the ion out AGAIN I go to start ripping, (and I have fast fingers I've hit 24 with an Ego) and after about a second into shooting the gun burps and the next few balls just barely make it out the end of the barrel, and I look at the gauge it slipped and now reads negative 600 psi so I try again. The same thing happens so I look at the Gauge again the DAMN THING FLYS OFF AND HITS ME IN THE FACE!! Seems funny now, but believe me I was mad.

Because this made me so mad I actually thought of a final solution for all ions, we have a conference held in a large arena (Superdome etc...) and then we give all ion owners exclusive invitations and when they're all inside, we lock them in, and put in big heaters until all of their ions melt. then hold a tradeshow aside with REAL markers and let them be fully rehabilitated into the paintball world.
Conclusion: Buy something Metal, don't let anyone tell you that an ion is anything near a 1000$ marker, my DM6 eats ions for breakfast, and shoots the noobs who uses them, this thing deserves a negative but they don't let you do that so this would be my rating
Rating: Negative 10.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

Tuxpaintballer Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman custom pro E-grip
Marker Setup: Smart parts with full stock parts
48 3000PSI compressed air tank
Evolution two hopper
x-balls
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-lock for sure, it is really needed, and for the efficency i recomend a Swivel QEV
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Durability
Feel
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: I got this gun recently and was a bit confused at first, it needed to hit the trigger really hard just to fire a single shot, this pissed me of cause i had heard it was really fast. After looking it over and messing around with the circuit board, i found out that I had screwed the trigger length adjuster in to far, so far it stopped me from shooting.

After i fixed that problem i went out and preped it for shooting. I was trying to screw my Eggy2 in and it gave me huge troubles. The feed neck is really frustrating, cause you have to screw it in really tight, then what happens is you screw it in so tight, when you try and take it out, the feed neck itself actually coems out to. This realy pissed me off
so after reranging it i finally got to shoot it.

Well it shot prettty well even with my crap accuracy. When i started juicing up the speed, it would barely move the balls, it just gave a dull small sound, i probably just have to adjust the volocity, the other problem could be i was using it with Vballs, which despite their price i don;t recomend unless you are using CO2, they get fall apart and stick in the gun. This makes the eye work poorly so i recomend agaisnt them
The efficnecy actually isn;t bad, i played for 4 hours on two and a half tanks.I was amazed by it's accuracy, it was unbeleivble i managed to hold my own agaisnt guys who have been playing for many years and they were all using autocockers and i still managed to hold my own.
The acuracy was good i managed to get a guy in the face from 100ft with three shots.
overall the gun was amazing and i was playhing in the dirt, falling and tumbling all over the place and bushwaking and stil not a scratch
Conclusion: I defiently recomend this gun, it fired really fast and the accuracy is good, but you defiently need to get a Q-lock unless you plan on some seriosu aggravation, also the QEV is strognly recomended for better eficency, luckily both these upgrades are super cheap as upgrades go it's about $40 dollars for the Q-lock and only 26 for the QEV
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 18th, 2006 at 4:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Batman #88 Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Amp Generator-8/10
VL Orion-5/10
Tippmann 98-8/10
Tippmann A-5-10/10
Brass Eagle Eradicator-3/10
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath
Viewloader eVLution II
45/3000 Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop off and ASA On/Off
Regulator
Clamping Feedneck
New Barrel
Blackheart
Strengths: Anti-Chop Eyes
Weaknesses: Can't run on C02 for all of you woodsball players
Review: I went to a clinic before i got my Wrath and I was using a Zap Amp Generator so the owner of the field (Jared) asked me if I wanted to use his ION. It was all decked out with a CP Regulator, CP On/Off ASA, Freak Barrel Kit, Empire Lever Feedneck, and Blackheart Board. I shot about five hundred rounds out of it and no chops it's just that the trigger was a little bit too touchy because I was talking to some players and it went off into the sock and another time I was sliding into a bunker and my finger hit the trigger and it fired off two that hit Brad Johnson, SCP team captain, car. I did not experience any difficulty with turning it on because it had a Blackheart which has a speaker that'll bleep when you turn it on, the eyes off, of when you turn it off.
Conclusion: On the whole with a few upgrades this a great gun for any local tournament or pro circuit (as a backup gun) player. I give it a nine because to be a ten it would need to come stock with all of the parts i listed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

99BPS Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot (Derlin ACS)- Not as fast, relaible, or compact, but much esier to repair, and clean.
Xtra- Dosent compare, exept in ease of cleaning
VLs- Just no....
victor- nope
cheap PMI- as light, but ott no compare.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
Derlin ACS

Smart Parts ION
Freak Green shell
Progressive 14inch

Maverik pump

Arikon Overlord
----------------------------
Revy
Dye Throttle 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Im not quite sure yet.
Run HPA
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Compact
Light
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Hard to get to the bolt
DONT RUN CO2
Review: Im writing this because alot of the reviews didn't answer my questions when i was thinking about getting an ION. As im sure many others have done, i was going from a Syder to an ION. If nothing else, a spyder is very difficult to f**ck up. I was worried that due to a bit more complexity an ION my not be as easy to keep running.
My thoughts so far,(edits to come)

I got my ION in two days from Anything extreme. Opened up the box, well pacaged, nothing amazing. My first impression was "wow that is so much sexier then in the pix". When i held it, it felt sooo much better constructed then my Spyder, thank god, that's why i had bought it. I was sick of losing screws and having my gun fall apart or leak in game. The ION did not feel like it would do this.
First Impression- 10/10

So the grip comes unattached so that u can put the battery in. I through in the battery, then tried to close the grip. After an hour i realized that grip was not cut right, and the holes were off set, i put in 1 of 2 screws and called it a day. Im not sure if there were even off set, or if it was just that much of a pain, w/e it stays on fine anyway.
5/10

I grabbed the wrench it came with, and turned down the velocity before gasing it up. Easy enough, thank god it comes with the wrench. 10/10

Screwed in my 45 *Click*. WTF, never heard that before....did i break something. It took me a couple secs to realized that it was the bolt cocking...oh. So i hit the power button....and again....and again. Nothing....again realized i had to hold it down, why isn't that in my manual!? well its on the PDF one, maybe mines missing a page. I hit the trigger....and again. Now i freaked, took me some time to realize i had to add in a ball.
First set up 7/10 (if there was a first page in my booklet i would give it a 10)

Through on my revy....fit perfect. HAHA, my crap hopper fits, and halos and eggs don't, nice on SP. Put some Origin paint and went out side. Perfect shots, it was great. A 3 foot radius from like 100 feet, shooting on a decline with ATLOT of wind. I ripped, my hopper was slow, but it didn't matter to much, it emptied in a couple secends....sweet. now i had a 10 foot radius, same condishions, a mix between the low kick, and the nateral movement of my hand to walk the trigger.
Impression- 9/10
Accuracy-8/10 (not broken in yet)
Efficentcy- 6/10
Speed- 10/10
feed neck- 10/10 (for now)

Degased, smother then syder, no giant air spout. Forgot to emty the reg, shot my coutch, sh*t.
10/10(for those that taking the tank off scares)

Cleaning- Easy enough, im no handy man. Should be no problem. Took awhile to get to the bolt though.
8/10

First field test- X ball. Everything i needed and more, accurate stock, no chops and fast. I had entirely no problems with it all day, i played about 30 games. easy to get paint off of when hit.
10/10

Practice- Some drop down when i started shooting fast, no big deal.
8/10


Practice- reg is broken in. Works great no morecrappy shoot down or problems like that.

Torney- Perfect. I could lay down suppressing and get my guys into bunkers. hung nice and tight to the bunkers....no problems at all.
Conclusion: Go for it, its a huge up from a Syder, or clone.
Dont get it as your first marker though, or your gunna mess it up.
Its realy a 350$ marker, 200$ for the gun, at least 150$ for HPA, dont run CO2.
Ill give it an 8.5 for now, updates to come.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 6th, 2006 at 6:24 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintball41892 Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i used a Diablo Mongoos and GTI The ion is a little better
Marker Setup: ion- I have a upgraded regulator and trigger(shocktech)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I Recommend to upgrade the regulater because it is really easy to blow tubes
Strengths: Fast, not heavy, no problems really other then tubes
Weaknesses: Tubes break easy, it isnt bad though thats the main problem
Review: The body is very nice even know it is not the greatest color i got the yellow one on sale and it has broken tubes 3 times well actually twice because aggressive sports sold me a crapy regulator but you really cant go wrong with this gun its cheper then alot of guns but alot better i really dont care about the tubes i care about how good i can use
Conclusion: I would say you definitely should get this gun this is something alot of people are getting though so you will see alot of them too
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

suicide squadd Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot
Marker Setup: spyder pilot acs 2k5 red black
j&j ceramic barrel
revy 2 with x bord
worr games 50ci 3000psi
32 degrees spring kit
java feed neck

Main Marker
black ion
worr games 50/3000
Blue halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Accuricy
Rof
Looks
Light
Weaknesses: None
Review: I just got this marker today and it is awsom! I got it home and hoked up the air and put in some paint went outside and was amazed at the stock barrels accurcy, I could easly put shot on shot. When i tried walking it it did about the same as my spyder piolet but it was noticiable easier to walk. I took it inside and put it on ramping went back out AND THIS GUN RIPED LIKE HELL, it is no problem to throw ropes of paint. The stock reg did great I havent had it cronoed yet but there was no signs of shoot down. This gun is also well ballanced, when I picked up my spyder I had never noticed how back heavy it was even without the tank. Another thing I like about this gun is all the mods available, you can basicly build a custom ion with all the after market parts, and it you want to make your ion a speed ball gun you can or if you want to make it a tactical gun( add some sight rales stuff like that.

EDIT- july 29, 06
THIS GUN IS AWSOM it is all i will ever need in a pintball gun, and it is so reliable my spyder would always mess up and i would end up having to fix it to get it to work but not my ion.
Conclusion: This gun is awsom if you get a chance to buy it buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 29th, 2006 at 11:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

empire*69* Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: -05 Smart Parts Ion
-Empire Reloader
-Empire Fuel
-Q-Lock
-06 Freak Barrel System
-Virtue Ion Lazer Eyes
-Virtue Ion Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Feed Neck
-Barrel
-Board if you dont like 17 BPS
Strengths: -Sexy
-Light
-Compact
-Easy To Maintain
Weaknesses: -Barrel
-Feed Neck
Review: So, on my B-day I NEEDED a new gun.And I saw the Ion and i just heard that it want down in price so i went to badlands and they did not have it so that suck........but one week later they got the ion in to i went down to badlands and i got it and two week later i went paint balling and i liked with it got some many people out it helps you out some much if you wont to start paint balling Great gun for 255$$$
Conclusion: This gun it the best because it can shoot 17 balls so it would be good for a ok paintballer so that's why i give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yuckypants Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
not very similar, but Spyder Imagine. The Ion is heads and tails over most anything that Kingman makes
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, QEV, CP ASA, CP rail, 68ci 4500psi air tank, smart parts q-lock feed neck, DXS pulse loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV is a must, also a new bottomline---the gun keeps chewing up orings on the tank.
Strengths: Accurate, fast, small, light, durable, affordable, easy to work on
Weaknesses: Small upgrades required -- see recommended upgrades
Review: I play with a bunch of people that have all high end guns -- Ego's, DM6's, and DMC's. Noone can tell the difference between the Ion and the Ego except for the design and the price. It is just as fast, comsumes less air, and is a quarter of the price
Conclusion: Must have---one of the best guns on the market, if not the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 13th, 2007 at 6:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

debadone Thursday, June 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, impulse
Marker Setup: I have the Spyder Xtra w/ esp trigger and cp barrel 18 in, anti-chop bolt, trinity elbow, 20 0z and [120z(backup)]co2, and of corse the halo lcd backman tsa
Recommended
Upgrades:
all of them
Strengths: Fast, Light, Silent, Cool looking, Cheap for a high end professional gun.
Weaknesses: Too many upgrads to choose from(not really a weakness)
Review: Great gun. Loved it even before i bought it. I played with it once and couldnt believe it. I recommend this gun. Try not to upgrade on the spot. This gun is perfect for border line pros. If you want to become pro, get the gun and add a virtue ion board (at least).
Conclusion: Its a great gun. Was recommended to me by a lot of shop owners and other pro players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer1815 Thursday, June 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
egos,boblongs,shockers. there all about the same.
Marker Setup: ion black
freak barrel kit
low Q lock
psyco ballistics drop forward
halo b w/rip
crossfire 68/4500 low pressure
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck
trigger
barrel
drop forward
Strengths: Super fast,Light,Accurace,Eyes
Weaknesses: Trigger,Stock feed neck,on/off button
Review: The first time i shot it went to check the velocity and the first shot was 327 next shot was 309 and the last shot was 314 that is without adjusting the regulator.After i got it lower then 300 i went on the field a took off on the break with in 50 seconds i bunkered everyone and got yelled by the refs for rolling my gun.
You can keep a player down with this gun really easy.
One of the things i didnt like about it is the kick on it when you shoot fas tit raises up like an inch.
Conclusion: If you have the extra money buy a bob long or ego the 2 best guns ever. But if you dont this gun will to u just fine.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81  |  82  |  83  |  84  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media