paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  84  |  85  |  86  |  87  |  88  |  89  |  90  |  Last
        Next Page
Goldeneye7 Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Indian Creek BKO, Spyder Imagine LED, Spyder Imagine, (only tested 05 superstock VRT), JT tac 5, and Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion with ANS GEN-X 2 Regulator, 6in. drop-forward, clamping feed-neck, and Evolution II, and 68ci. 4500PSI nitro tank.
Indian Creek BKO with an "EYE" system (upgrade), on/off ASA, clamping feed neck, extreme rage 8bps hopper, and a 48ci. 3000PSI nitro tank.
Spyder Imagine LED with 6in. drop forward, Dead on expansion chamber, anti-chop bolt,tubo-loader, 14in. barrel, 20oz. co2 tank, and clamping feed neck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feed neck should be added.
A closer ASA so your tank doesn't stick out so far.
Strengths: Very small
Very light
Weaknesses: Trigger isn't the best.
Review: The Smart Parts Ion is a very well built marker ( all markers have their weaknesses ).
This small marker, only 2.2 lb., has a big problem with its feed neck, but is O.K. with some hoppers.
I think Smart Parts could have done a better job on the ASA, but they must have their reasons.

Over all though, It is a nice marker for its price.


You can get lots and lots of upgrades for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Just get an ASA and a clamping feed neck.

I would have given it a 10 if it would how these already.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darksarcasm89 Friday, May 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5, PMI Piranha GTI, Syndicate Misfit, Tippmann Custom 98, etc.
Marker Setup: Smart parts Ion... stock for now...
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel kit, Clamp on feed neck, A finer trigger ( metal)
Strengths: Accuracy is unbelievable even at high firing rates, Extremely durable exterior, light weight, Quiet.
Weaknesses: Not a field strip-able, flimsy trigger, terrible owners manual
Review: This is a great marker for it's price. There are constant upgrades available. It is relatively low maintanence. Accurate and is all anyone really needs to beat anyone with any marker at all. Although it's the player that really makes the difference this marker will help lower your opponents advantages on you. Especially if your in mini-mac playing against spoiled little brats that have Angel flys and DM6's in their first year of paintball. To save money this marker can easily be used in both speed ball format games or woodsball. When I first got the marker the solenoid was very tight in it's grooves and was hard to remove at first. Taking apart this marker for the first time is very scary and often seems to end up costing money for broken parts. Also the filter inside the regulator was placed sideways by the factory... and when I gassed it up the filter was blasted up and bent in half, after that the paintballs kinda rolled out of the barrel.... but I just bent the filter back into place and now it works fine. The owners manual is probably the worst I have ever seen. especially in the section that tells how to take the regulator apart.
Conclusion: Iw ould reccomend this to any player who has seen a couple years and is ready to get rid of his entry level marker and play tourney's
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SCOTTR Friday, May 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel SE, Shocker, Nerve,
Marker Setup: SP Ion with
Smart Parts Q-lock Low Rise Feed Neck, NDZ Silver flame aluminum body kit, NDZ Silver wave trigger, NDZ QEV, Angel Air 68/3000, KAPP Drop Forward, Evil Detonator Reg, 14 inch Freak Kit with silver aluminum AA Front, Halo TSA frontman loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
You only really need to replace the feed neck because it's kind of a pain in the neck, and the reg isn't really that good, SP could have done better but for 200.00 what do really expect.
Strengths: See body
Weaknesses: See body
Review: I just purchased this marker and some upgrades from Action Village, as I destroyed the body of my Angel SE, (for those who don't know that is a ten year old angel model) My freind lent me his Ion to use the rest of the day at the field, and I fell in love with it. I purchased one the next day online, and have been loving it. It's soooo light and once I got all the upgrades on it was even better. I know I almost have shocker money on my Ion now, but it shoots great, is reallylight. The stock feed neck and reg are my only complaints. The reg causes drop off, and the feed neck just sucks, I know that it is an economy gun, IMO the plastic bodies are kind of chinsey looking so I replaced that, with the NDZ. I already had the Freak kit for my now deceased angel, and I just bought the back for it, otherwise the stock barrel is pretty nice, and it fires even better with the SP Progressive, for those on a budget. The board is ok for now, but I'm considering the Blackheart board just for the new button, as the red button doesn't do the shocker chirp when turned on, and the red light is just hard to see in day light.
Conclusion: This is the best gun for the money, hands down. It has a wealth of upgrades available, Shoots better than a lot of 500.00 guns and with a new low price of 199.99 how can you go wrong. Two more of my friends have switched to this gun since I ordered mine. I know that everyone and their mother is using this gun, and there is something to be said for origionality, however there is no reason to buy an inferior product simply because everyone else is using the best one. I recommend this gun for anyone who wants to keep up with the big boys and can't afford a Timmy, Angel, or DM. This marker is a fraction of the price with very little performance decrease.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KAMA Gibbs Friday, May 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5, NME, BL2k4
Marker Setup: Low Rise Q-lock
12" AA barrel
88/4500 HPA
CP Roller
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-Lock feed neck is a NEED
A new Barrel
New ASA, the stock one makes your tank stick out and its hard to unscrew
Strengths: Price Price Price. Out of the box a great marker.
Weaknesses: None really
Review: You will get smashed by the players that have $1000 dollar guns when you kick their ass.

/\ that is really the only weakness. Most of its strengths ly in the price of the gun. for $200 you are getting a good gun. If you add a blackheart (wich I do not suggest, you can shoot just fine with the stock board) then you have a cheap shocker! The Out of the box barrel was decent, could shoot about 40' and hit the same spot everytime. The trigger is a bit wobbley and takes to much to pull it back, but that can easily be ajusted with the screw right under the trigger frame behind the grip frame.

The only other weakness I can find is that the regulator likes to spin on the front. Its not a big problem but it is kinda annoying.
Conclusion: Get this gun if you plan on playing Beginner-Novice tourneys or just for a good recball marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j-baller Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
omen,
Marker Setup: Smart parts ION w/
custom products 2 piece barrel,custom products roller trig, trinity t-lock,QEV,Crossfire 68 4500

Back UP

Kingman spyder imagine 2005, Custom products 14inch, ccm heli no rise feed neck, Dye stickys evolution 2 w/ y-board, CP drop forward, 20 oz c02 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, trig,QEV,Barrel,ASA,Reg,Bolt,board, ect.
Strengths: Light, cheap,small profile.
Weaknesses: feedneck,trig,reg,BArrel
Review: first off i wanna say that Smart Parts did a really Good Job on making the ion.....
PROS: Light, cheap,small profile,looks, Grips, very consistent, and a lot more
CONS: (its easy-er for me 2 tell u the cons Bcause that's what i notice while im playin) but any way..... CONS: feedneck -nothing fits on it, trig- very wiggly but its fine once u take out the magnet..., reg- spike of -6+6,Barrel accurate for short range but once u shoot past 50 feet, it swerves every ware.....
Conclusion: Very good gun 4 the price, and is very upgrade able.... I give it a 9, for the trig and feedneck.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mixmastermatt79 Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra- way worse then the ion
Marker Setup: black ion
evil pipe kit barrel
evolution 2 hopper
72/3k pise tank
clamping feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, feedneck
Strengths: speed
accurary with new barrel
eyes
decent reg
CHEAP
Weaknesses: Stock barrel and feedneck
Hard to take apart
Review: This gun is simply amazing. the speed is so fast and the accuracy is within a couple of inches for each ball. That may just be the barrel though. the stock barrel is not too horrible if you have a good paint to bore match. feedneck needs to be upgraded
Conclusion: This is a great product great for an intermediate player upgrading from a spyder or piranha. every one should buy this and put a pipe kit on it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 18th, 2006 at 6:22 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

boxcaracer777 Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
uhm alot of low end guns spyders and black max tippman and they were ok
Marker Setup: shocker predator II freak kit, titanium boomstick,freak kit, dual break beam eyes 4500 stubby crossfire ,egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel,metal body... new board
Strengths: CHEAP the price is insane
Weaknesses: All noobs use them now, plastic body,accuracy......
Review: When i first saw the price i thought it was going to suck but it was an ok gun if u dont want to spend like 700 dollars then its good for you but you will probably spend money fixing it alot alos and buying new upgrades.. it needs a new barrel and a metal body i didnt liek how i fel;t that it was going to break on me and it does have kick to it
Conclusion: I think for the price its good compared to the shocker its a mere insect though =)
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

benmilla21 Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rentals, Tippmann 98, Spyder TL, Smart Parts Impulse
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Pro
Smart Parts QEV
Smart Parts Freak Jr. barrel system
Clamp Feedneck, low profile
47ci/3000psi hpa
Lucky paintball stage 2 soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamp Feedneck is a must!
Strengths: Light, 2.2 pounds
Fast, 17bps stock
Sturdy , aluminum


Weaknesses: None, just make SURE you run it at LESS than 300 PSI
Review: First, everyone who posts on pbreview.com is awesome, all the reviews I read really helped me make my decision about buying a new marker.

I shot about 4 cases of mixed grade paint, from cheap to expensive (even some old paint from about 5 years ago!) and didn't brake a single ball. All this was playing speedball, alot of running, sliding and shooting as fast as the gun could go!

That pretty much sums it up. I hope the gun continues to perform this well for years to come. The clean up was quick and taking it apart wasn't to tough either, but I had the local pro shop tech install the QEV and adjust the trigger for me.
Conclusion: Great gun, I would buy it again in a heartbeat!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 at 9:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Relentless4444 Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nerve, Shocker, Cyborg, Karni, PM5, 2k2 intimidator, Spyder Imagine, Tippy 98, ................
Marker Setup: 06 Black Nerve
68/45 with Micro Max
Full Freak SS Kit
Eggy II with Z-Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
In Order
Feedneck
Mount
QEV
Barrel
Trigger
Reg
(continue)
Strengths: Price
BPS
Weaknesses: Needs lots of upgrades.
Not the most reliable.
Review: I have owned two ions in my period as a paintball player. The first didn't work strait out of the box. Leaked all over the place and well basically screwed up my first tourney. It plagued me, I could never get it to work properly and eventually sold it. I then proceeded to buy my friend's almost fully upped ion for 250(feedneck, cp reg, dye boomstick, cp trigger, unimount,......) after playing with the marker in a tourney. The accuracy was fairly decent and the speed was amazing after I installed the QEV and turned the dwell down. The gun is very small and pretty light. I just don't like how it shoots. It doesn't have the same quality and accuracy as high ends do. The gun needs far too many upgrades to make it what you really want it to be. It's a great marker for anyone just getting into the tournament scene and is looking for a cheap transition marker from say a tippy or a spider before they head on to higher end markers. You will probably end up spending as much money on the upgrades as you would if you would've purchased a high end marker. Ions are ok, they're just not that reliable and feel cheap. I guess you get what you pay for.
Conclusion: +Price is excellent
+BPS is very good for the price
+Good tourney entry marker
+Good Back Up
-Needs way too many upgrades
-Not the most reliable gun
-Feels cheap
Conclusion: If you have the money, get a higher end marker, if not save up for one or buy this thing temporarily. Don't put too much $$$ into it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lil_K Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye dm4, karnivor, and some lower end markers
Marker Setup: yellow sp ion, clamping feed neck, freak barrel, 68cu 3000psi carbonfiber pure energy tank, and egg2
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feed neck, new barrel (stock one is decent but freak is better), fast loader, and a drop(if you want)
Strengths: Fast.
Light.
Easy to use.
Over all just a nice marker.
Weaknesses: No clamp feed neck
barrel (isnt bad, could be better)
Review: I'v had my ion for about 10 months now, and its great. I'v played in a few small tournaments at my local field and its never let me down. If your tight on money and want the best bang for the buck, buy the ion, don't get sucked in by the other companeys with their less expensive markers, there just competeing against the ion, and im my opinion the ion kicks all there butts.

Another good thing about the ion is all the after market parts for it now, and new shells for the body, you can totaly make it look so sweet buy adding a few small things to it. One thing you need to look out for is the eyes, when your disasemblying it, watch out for the eye cords. Don't pinch them when your putting the gun back together, this could cost you the use of your eyes, and your definatly not gonna want to do that with this gun.
Conclusion: Great gun for the price, good for any beginner or advanced player totaly customizable to your desire. I would recomend this marker to anyone who loves this sport as much as i do. Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  84  |  85  |  86  |  87  |  88  |  89  |  90  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media