paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  85  |  86  |  87  |  88  |  89  |  90  |  91  |  Last
        Next Page
bunker king3000 Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none compare that i have used
Marker Setup: ion w/ many upgrades
pure energy 88/4500
EGG w/ Z board
Recommended
Upgrades:
a different feed neck
Strengths: Very fast extremely light
Weaknesses: Feed Neck
Review: the ion in my mind is by far the best gun for a reasonable price. when every thing is stock it is great but i would really recomend a new feed neck especially if u have an egg.i had mine for a while and nothing has gone wrong w/ it. it is way lighter than my friends angel and I think the grips are better than his angel's too.the gun is also very quiet so if nobody sees you move they wont here you shoot at them. there are many great features on this gun and will strongly recomend it to anyone.
Conclusion: It is an awesome gun and I would strongly recomend it too any onebecause it is one of the best guns out there w/ a reasonable price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ion.Fx Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Black ION, 68/4500 Carbon Fiber Crossfire Nitro, HaloB
Recommended
Upgrades:
DEFINETLY A FEEDNECK!
Strengths: Fast, Reliable, Good looking
Weaknesses: Extremely hard to take apart for the first time, very techinical.
Review: This all in all is a good gun, I just got it about a week ago and filled up my tank at my pro shop to shoot it aroundf, it worked fine, BUT, On accident the second time that i aired it up i had about 300 PSI Running through my hoses, this was just after i took it apart, so Just make sure you know what youre doing or ull screw something up, i busted my shortest hose and had to take my Spare parts kit up to Robinhood paintball and get it fixed, it was scary and it sucked so, make sure you pay attention to what your doing and you should be fine.

I wish that the gun was like a wrath when it came to the bolt, like you could just pop it off and clean it but u gotta take off everything.
Conclusion: Good gun,. Best ive had, Only thing is you have to pay attention when taking it apart.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p b f r e a k1 Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: ION
Pure Energy 45 aluminum 300psi Tank
evo 2 hopper
trinity feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck, Trigger, Barrel, Regulator, and maybe a new body kit
Strengths: fast, Affortable, Reliable, Sleek Disign, Awsome
Weaknesses: Almost to fast for the egg, which is kinda a good thing.
Review: This gun is really cool and fast. For the price you get every penny worth. Instead of buying a $150 spyder, you could get this for $200. his gun is really accurate. If you get a new barrel you could hit a PVC pipe from about 15 - 20 ft away!
Conclusion: I love this gun and i would definately recomend it to anyone. This gun is the only tournament level gun for 200$.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dark_Spartan Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Ion
Halo B
Virue board
Rolling trigger
Q-lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
q-lock feedneck, virtue board, on/off asa, new reg, new trigger, maybe new barrel, dropforward
Strengths: --See Review--
Weaknesses: --See Review--
Review: PROS
-light (2 pounds)
-accurate
-quiet (with stock barrel)
-fast (get the virtue board tho)
-it's body can be changed to different color (no fades tho)
-cool sensor touch on off
CONS
-Annoying to take apart (havfe to bend top part to get to banjos)
-Flimsy trigger but it wont get shot off like some people are saying
-bad feedneck (get the q-lock feedneck)
-although it is fast it's capped at 17 bps
-the regulator is bad (high spikes in velocity)
-asa is bad
-needs dropforward
Conclusion: It's a good starting gun but you will want to get some of the necessary upgrades for it to be better.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 16th, 2006 at 8:49 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Free Agent Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really, this gun is in its own class, not at the same level as a spyder, yet not at the same level as a timmy
Marker Setup: Black ION
68/45 Crossfire LP
12" and 14" black ultralite
black unimount
black hybrid reg
red halo b with rip
ndz feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
ultralite or stiffi
q-lock
unimount
torpedo or hybrid reg
trigger
virtue board
virtue eyes
Strengths: Price
speed
weight
Weaknesses: Feedneck
barrel
asa
reg
durabuility (see review)
Review: I bougth this gun after having an 04 ProStock for a year. I was impressed with the speed and weight of this gun. I bought all the upgrades for it so I didn't have to deal with the horrible stock parts. I used it in 4 intermediate tourneys: 3rd, 10th (lots of sandbagging) 3rd, 2nd and over 10 practices. The only problems I have had with it is the durabuility of the internals. Some of it is my fault, but not a lot of it is. The screws are very easy to strip, the wiring harness got torn when I was puting my gun back together, the board fried and now won't shoot because I got shot in the trigger, and the paint got on the board. The good thing is that I am now buying the virtue board for it, and it will be better than the stock board
Conclusion: Good gun for the money
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 15th, 2006 at 5:37 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PAINTl3ALL Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts ION Black

-Halo B Smoke w/ Rip Drive

-New Designz Ion Aluminum Roller Blade Trigger - Black

-Smart Parts Max-Flo 45 ci 4500 psi

-Smart Parts Q-lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Q-Lock or other feed neck is a must
-New Trigger
Strengths: -Price [Cheap]
-Size
-Durability
Weaknesses: -Stock Feed neck too small
-Re-assembly a bit tough [with the solnoid and all]
Review: Overall this is a great gun. It is the perfect gun for its price. Smart Parts has out done itself with this one. It has a great ROF for its price and it is pretty upgradeble. The only real weakness is its small feedneck. I couldn't get my Halo B to fit on without taking off the O-rings. Even then its a tight fit and its a real hassel to take it back off. But the ION is stil my favorite gun and im hoping to upgrade it a little bit more. [Maybe a T-board or one of those Predator boards comming out].
Conclusion: Definately get a feed neck. [I prefer Q-locks over anything else]
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alexsz Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98, spyder rodeo/ icon-e <-bi-gender
Marker Setup: ION
Freak barrel
Halo B/ View loader w/ x board
4800 tank w empite tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
q lock for halo hopper
drop
Strengths: -price
-Light
-Speed
-Can hit anything
Weaknesses: Um its a little to cool for people
Review: Kick @$$ gun that will really show some people up, great for scenario and speedball. you can really unload a hopper on people with the light trigger thats on it. it shoots so fst and you can upgrade it alot. i would def get this gun if u were either a begininer or even like some one who plays alot.
Conclusion: Killer gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C3 boy Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: evil pimp
Recommended
Upgrades:
in review
Strengths: In review
Weaknesses: In review
Review: This is a great starting marker, but connot compare with other high end even if it is upgraded. Takes alot to upgrade like the barrel feedneck regulator Qev, grips and board. Unless you want to put more stuff on it.
Pros
Cheap
Light
Body kits
Upgradable

Cons
Needs alot of upgrades
Regulator
Feedneck
Barrel
Grips
Board
Almost everyone has it

It is hard to be different with an ion.
Conclusion: I reccomend it for the tourney ball player on a budget and needs a gun soon other than that the gun will be a mistake in the long run. Get a better gun like a nerve or sumthin they are alot better
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

boblong123 Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder electra? there arent really high ends that could compete with the ion for the price ....
Marker Setup: alias timmy, taedao board hybrid drop and halo b w/ rip drive and a 14'' freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
definitly the max-flo
new barrel
new feedneck
and the new blackheart board
Strengths: Fast
looks good
best gun for the price
light
Weaknesses: Many problems
hard to take apart
very unbalanced with nitro tank
Review: so my friend just got the ion for 200$ i went to CPP and played around with it in speedball for half the day. man for the price this gun is freekin amazing.... its fast just like highend guns. but after every game or in the middle of one, it started to chop like crazy or it just stopped shooting and apparently it was a defect that came iwth the gun. but if u put a couple ups on this gun it will rip just like the big boyz
Conclusion: This gun is the best gun for the price but if u had an extra 150$ go spend it on a better gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AsianCocker Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD BKO
ICD B2K
Spyder Electra 05
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 Avant: ACS Bolt, JR3 Check It Barrel (16in.), Macro Line, CP Reg. w/ Dye Gauge, Q-Lock feedneck, System X Drop.

System X Type X Autococker: Smart Parts Freak Barrel (16in.), Macro Line, KAPP 4-way, Eclipse Ram w/ QEVs, AIM Hinge Trigger Frame, SupaFly Bolt, Q-Lock Feedneck, System X drop, Dye Gauge
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop
Feedneck
Barrel
Trigger (maybe)
Strengths: "Compactness"
Overall feel
Speed
Weaknesses: Takes time to take apart and clean
Barrel
Duck-Bill
Hard to turn on/off
Review: Okay, I got the privalge of testing out this marker for about three and a half weeks. The ION feels and seems to shoot like a durable, high-end gun. The plastic shells are a very nice feature, letting you customize it ti your own tastes, it also was a smart move for Smart Parts, since it cut down the price. Since the gun is so cheap now, there are also some cons; for one, I cannot seem to find any hopper that properly fits the feedneck. Also, the ASA is just a duck-Bill, which makes the marker feel just a tad too long for my preferences. The barrel, while of better quality than most stock barrels, didn't seem too grand while I was shooting, but perhaps it was just a wrong paint-barrel match.

Now, I played with this gun on the speedball course, with a few of my firends, we are not the best players, but not the worst either. With this marker, I felt no disadvantages speed-wise, nor with being able to run up and squeeze myself into the bunkers, the gun (using Compressed Air) had very good stableness and "mileage". My chronos were: 290, 293, 289, 295, and I got about 1000 shots with my 4500psi tank. The eyes worked very well, I never had a single chop, shooting throughout my testing time about 3500 balls.

This gun is VERY popular, and though it shouldn't be a bad thing, the saying: "Every kid and his mother has one" truly applies, if you think about it though, this has to be a good gun if there are so many people with them, though, and remember, it is just me, I like to be unique, and not have the newest thing everyone else and their mom has.
Conclusion: In the end, I found the Smart Parts ION to be a very well made marker, with just a few cons that really annoyed me, but I hear the ION Pro will fix all that. With a better feedneck, an on/off, and new barrel, this marker will be able to compete with the big-boys.

Also, to really up this gun for all it is worth, you should consider a max-flow. Or maybe a new electronic board, or QEVs, and perhaps a new trigger.

This marker is good stock, and even better upped, I give this gun a:
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 14th, 2006 at 11:25 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  85  |  86  |  87  |  88  |  89  |  90  |  91  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media