paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
dude 1 Wednesday, July 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Epiphany,shocker
Marker Setup: uped ion
empire reloder b
pure entergy 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
you have to buy a virtue new trigger new barrel on/off
Strengths: Being very durable and it is a very nice gun for beginners.
Weaknesses: Needs to be upgraded when it is bought if you have the time and money.
Review: when you get the ion it seems great but after a while you get the need to upgrade your ion...which does need to be done. First thing you should do is get a new trigger because it will eventually break off(atleast what happened to me).then you should get a new board and a new bolt and body.But overall the ion is a great starter ion. but if you are not a begginer but are still looking at buying an ion then the dunasty ion should be bought because ity comes with the upgrades needed already installed.
Conclusion: The ion is a good gun for begginers but it should be upgraded if you have the time and money.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Hesh3216 Tuesday, July 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other ions with slight mods
Marker Setup: ion
black heart board
freak jr
360 qev
l7 bolt
dead on drop forward
cp reg
new designs saw trigger
egg 3
pmi 68/3k
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
trigger (the stock is kind of bad)
drop forward (perhaps an on/off) i like my gun nice and short
a new bolt and qev helps a lot with accuracy and efficiency.
Strengths: Fairly cheap, pretty fast, quite upgradeable, decent construction (except for the board) has eyes.
Weaknesses: My board broke, it needs upgrades like a barrel, and other jazz. People HATE smartparts.
Review: this gun works great, when it works.
my board worked the last time i went paint balling, but it broke after it had been sitting around for a while, i have no idea how it did, but yeah, so i just upgraded it to a black heart.
i would recommend getting a dece barrel for it, because the stock isnt awesome. there was a noob first time fat chick at our field one day and she was sitting there with her head outside the bunker and i shot like 30 times, but failed epicly to hit her.
it has a good ROF and such, but prolonged firing can tend to become inaccurate.
Conclusion: With all the money I have spent on my gun and upgrading it, I could definitely have a nice 600+ dollar gun. Although I have nothing against the ion, I would personally recommend saving a little longer and getting a good gun. Perhaps go with Bob Long. The vice is only 750, and if you think that is too expensive, buy your ion, and then keep track of what you spend on your upgrades. It is better off to spend more on a gun that you will not outgrow, unless you are super level one and cant maintain a snazzy gadget and what not.

Its a 7 because my board broke, and it requires too many upgrades to compete with many of the guns you will be getting shot at with.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OmgSpeedballhax Monday, July 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5

Marker Setup: -Freak Jr Barrel Kit.
-Warrior Q feed neck
-DXM 48/4500 tank(or w.e i dont remember if thats the proper name and im too lazy to take the tank cover off)
- Vlocity Hopper
-Scythe trigger
-QEV
-I got a better bolt, but i dont remember which.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-A better barrel, All American or Freak
-Virtue board.
-Better trigger
-Q-lock feedneck
-Hopper that can keep up with fire.
Strengths: -Cheap for it's performance.
-Not too heavy, some think its light
-Accurate....
Weaknesses: -I really found switching modes annoying with this gun.
-stock strigger
-stock feedneck
Review: Barrel: I didnt like the stock barrel. it just felt wrong... so i got a Freak Jr kit, and all of my shots fly beautifuly. the inserts arent exactly convinient, but ya.

Trigger: Wth is this? I hated this trigger it was kind of "sticky" due to the magnet., so i got a Scythe trigger which i found to be freakin awesome and sensitive.

Feedneck: i couldnt fit anything on the stock one. Q-Locks ftw.

Body: Pretty light, and the design is cool, but i noticed the polymer casing that can be switched gets marked easily. like i can swipe my hand on it and it and it leaves a mark. i mean a lil water and it comes off, but it annoys me.

ASA: Alot of people seem to hate the duckbill, but i find it ok.

Reg: Eh. I dont like it too much, but its never given me any problems, so i cant complain.


This gun has never given me problems either. I'd head over to HSP with my friends, one of em was using a Etek Ego, and i can say that i was shooting almost as fast as he was...Also, one day his regulator was causing his balls to shoot like 3 feet in front of him for some reason.
Conclusion: Buy it and customize it to make it on par with expensive guns.
Its not the best gun out there, but for its price, and for what you can do with it, its awesome.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 28th, 2008 at 11:35 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unit92 Monday, July 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None that I could think of.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Virtue board
Virtue Eyes
CP Reg
68/4500 tank
Empire Reloader II
Shocktech trigger
Trinity Clamping Feed Neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottom ASA
Feed Neck
Barrel
Stock Trigger
Strengths: Light
Fast
Price
Weaknesses: Barrel
Feed Neck
Bottom ASA
Review: This marker is pretty good if your on a buget or barely starting to play paintball. This marker is insanely fast when you put a virtue board. I love this marker. Only thing is you have to upgrade a few things such as the barrel, bottom asa, regulator, and feed neck. But what do you expect for a two hundred dollar marker. Great marker to have.
Conclusion: Buy this marker if your barely starting to play paintball.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tippyalltheway Monday, July 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Spyder vs2
smart parts ion.
dm7
ego
Recommended
Upgrades:
electric hopper and a new trigger-(personal)
Strengths: price, speed, I only chopped one ball, stock barrel is good
Weaknesses: feedneck, not field stripable, can't use CO2 without an anti siphon tube
Review: I bought this marker a while back, and I thought it would suck when I took it out of the box. it doesn't. short of the velocity adjustment it was ready to go out of the box. I got it onto the field and was amazed at how well it worked. the stock barrel is good, but it could be better. it is one of the better stock barrels I have shot.
one of the problems is the feed neck. the stock one doesn't hold my hopper on very well, so I would suggest a clamping feed neck. also you MUST use air unless you have an anti siphon tube in your CO2 tank. if you don't it could screw up the reg. also if you don't like the feel of a rifle buy a drop forward. I don't like where the pressure gauge is on this marker. it is right where I like to put my thumb.
The stock barrel is good, but not great. I'm going to put a freak barrel on mine. the rate of fire is good, but it isn't as fast as an ego or dm7, on the other hand with most tournaments limiting the bps rate to 15 bps it doesn't matter. I like the trigger adjustments. I have mine set to the point where if I touch it its going to shoot. I broke one paintball. the eyes work great, and I fond that they are easy to clean. I just put thin cloth over my finger and wiped them. it is also easy to program. I programmed mine in about 30 seconds. I think it looks great, and with new body kits coming out it is very customizable. also th manual is very helpful. its weight is great. I don't like the super light markers, but at 2.2 pounds it is close to perfect.

Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone. I seriously question the people who say that their asa was stripped when they screwed their tank in or that it chopped paint. it doesn't and I don't think that they have shot one. Ill give this one an 8 (10 being an angel)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb4life4546 Tuesday, July 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini-Better but hell it's about 200 bucks more , PMR A little better than the ION
Marker Setup: ION
CP Roller trigger
Virtue board
Dynasty Body
14in Freak Jr.
48 3000CI (saving up for a 4500 psi)
Dye regulater


Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel- Needed
New feedneck-needed
New Board-Not needed
New trigger- Needed
Strengths: Cheap, Lightweight, fast for price

Weaknesses: Needs upgrades, Taking apart can be a nightmare. Trigger!!!!!!!!! shot in half. Feedneck bad
Review: This was my first gun. I remember when i took it out of the box i was amased how light it was. 2.2 pounds!!! When i brought it to the field 2 days later it worked perfectly. 2 months later my stock board burned out so thats when i got the virtue. I highly recomend this for ION users. For some reason my screws were also all crossthreaded but that was probobly my friend. I've never chopped a ball in her. Some people think the bolt isn't good but from my usage she hasn't broken down. Cleaning her is hard at first but it realy helped me with other markers because then i was used to the location of the componants.
Conclusion: This is a great backup gun or starter gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

p8ntballa100 Thursday, July 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom - never breaks down not as fast
phantom - lighter quieter
karnivor - not even in the same league karnivors FTW
threshy - much smoother and with less kick but still a spoolie


Marker Setup: Ion- S-treme trigger, hybrid grips, drop, freak barrel kit, 360 qev, Q lock, virtue board, center flag reg, fire bolt

Phantom- stock barrel bored for freak inserts T stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
necessary- feed neck, barrel, trigger
i suggest- board, drop forward it helps center the weight much better.
Strengths: Efficient
Accuracy
Price
Weaknesses: SP
crappy until upgraded
better guns now for $250
Review: I bought this about 2 years ago and back then basically it was this or a mech autococker trilogy. being the shrewd person i am i bought the ion.

EFFICIENT- 1800 shots off of a 68/4500 nuff said
accuracy- with freak its ball on ball at any distance with stock barrel its mediocre
PRICE - 250 brand new

SP - some people dont like it any1 who watches tech PB on youtube knows all about SP
Crappy until upgraded - you need a feedneck ($25) Barrel ($25-$150) trigger ($30)
theres the SLG, promaster, vs3, etc...
Conclusion: Theres better guns o the market now plus everyone and their sister has a ion.

7 out of 10 for needing upgrades but being reliable and cheap.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 10th, 2008 at 10:41 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

SexyBeast666 Monday, June 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Epiphany
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Blackheart Board
CP 14" .689barrel
MadDog QEV
MadDog Saw Trigger
Crossfire 68ci/4500Psi
CCM Locking Feedneck
eVLution 3 electronic hopper
Tech T L7 Bolt

Tippman 98Custom
J&J Ceramic 16" Barrel
Evil 14" e-pipe set
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Board, New Barrel, New Eyes, Drop forward, New Reg, Electronic hopper, QEV, Locking Feed neck, Better Grips,
Strengths: Cheap good, Beginner Gun, Very Many Upgrades
Weaknesses: Doesn't hold a candle to high-end markers, Needs Upgrades,Very hard to clean
Review: I bought this gun a year ago, and paid to have all the Blackheart board put in, and a new CP barrel. Right off i had nothing but problems, there were leaks all over the gun because the geniuses at smart parts didn't make the hoses that came with the board long enough. But i really wanted to shoot it so i put the original board in it and boom, it fired right up and worked like a charm, although it wasn't extremely fast, it got the job done. I took it the next day to get it fixed and brought it home, went to play with it and it started leaking again. so this time i fixed it myself, i used the old hoses.
Right now the gun is working fine, but i can never rely upon it because every time i use it there's a new leak. I think that because i've had to change so many things in the gun to try to give it an edge that the gun is prone to problems.
in addition, makesure you never chop a ball, you have to take the whole thing apart to clean it.
Conclusion: Do not get this gun unless Paintball is only a once every two year outing for you. All the upgrades do help, but they make the gun less reliable. put an extra $100-$1000 dollars and get a real paintball gun
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 23rd, 2008 at 6:57 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

--weezl-- Saturday, June 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP-1, Tippman 98/a-5, spyder victor
Marker Setup: SP ION clamping feedneck 48/3000 tank EVO 3 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feedneck
Strengths: Awesome out of the box marker.
Weaknesses: The board may have flaws
Review: overall i think that this gun is an incredable gun, I have had great successes with it, however, when I recently used a rechargable energizer 7.2V battery (sold as a 9v) my board was completely blown by the end of the day, I do not know if this is a result of the battery or a faulty board, however i would be weary of any other things you can use with the gun that could cause similar problems.

on the other side, I use the gun with ROF up all the way, on ramping, and have incredable control over the gun and it's fire capability's, it's a little bit on the heavy side for doing alot of running, but in turn for that, it can take a beating. I also had issues with my MACRO line leaking from the fittings on my reg and ASA
Conclusion: I would recomment this product to anyone who is entry level-mid range and looking for a marker, I would suggest adding a techt bolt qev clamping feedneck though, and not using any parts that are questionable
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mdcxisxnice Thursday, June 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt tetra -ION IS WAYYYYY!!!!! BETTER
Marker Setup: Ion
cp clamping feed neck
16" linear barrel
48/3000 compressed air
empire reloader B
Cp rake trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
reg
feed neck
better tank
Strengths: Fast
Cheap price
accurate
tight body
easy upgrades
easy customizible
Weaknesses: Eats up air
Review: The smart parts ion is the gun for the player with a small budget, like me. The whole look is nice and smooth. Even if you dont like the body you can easily ugrade it to the newer and better looking bodys. The speed on this gun might not be like the DM8's or EGO's but it could easily match up with the more expensive guns on the market today. I upgraded to a 16 inch barrel and it is WAY! better now. Its more accurate and on the spot shooting. The body is tiny (thats a good thing) and you can easily stay tight in a bunker. The only thing that i didnt like about the gun was that it eats air but that is easily fixed with a regulator.
Conclusion: BUY THIS! BUY THIS! its is a great gun for such a small price! Easily customizable and upgradable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media