paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 2 Piece Barrel / Proto 2 Piece Barrel / Proto 2 Piece Barrel

Proto 2 Piece Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 2 Piece Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 2 Piece Barrel
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto barrels are manufactured with premium 6061-T6 high-grade aluminum and honed to .690 and 8 micron finish. Proto barrels are available in two models, single tube construction and two piece configuration. Additionally, straight porting makes the Proto barrel a quiet and most accurate addition to your gun.

Available in black, red, blue and clear. Sizes are 12" and 14" lengths for single tube and 14" and 16" lengths for two piece. Made for most markers.
Product Availability 
The Proto 2 Piece Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Massempirepb Friday, February 25th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sly
Dye
Freak
Marker Setup: Dp fusion Fx and a closer virtued
Vitrue board
Sly carbon fiber barrel/ ultralite
Ninja tank
Dye rotor
Recommended
Paintballs:
Depending on the bore size. I always go .692 the bigger the bore the better the accuracy in most cases
Strengths: Price
2 piece
Accurate
Weaknesses: Nothing I can find.
Review: I hade this barrel barrel on my pm6 . The barrel worked great on all kinds of paint and I'd shoot 2 or 3 different cases of paint a day with the same barrel with no problems. Also the barrel looks great on my pm6 or my dp fusion or my system x nme . All around a great barrel.
Conclusion: Good affordable quality barrel. A great buy you'll be happy with for sure
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

THESTONEA Saturday, May 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
freak barrel
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
bt m16 stock
ninja 48 pin tank
proto 14" 2 piece barrel
stock hopper
Strengths: Very accurate and pretty silent also cheap
Weaknesses: hHaven't found any yet
Review: When I got this I was a little scared at first cause it didn't look very professional, but I had to try since it was $25 down from $90 I immediately screwed on my marker and hit the field. I was very impressed you definitely get better accuracy then your stock barrel and it also makes your marker a bit quieter. It also makes your marker look bad ass.
Conclusion: I recommend this to both speedball and woodsball players it is a great barrel I have had a great time using it. Whoever buy this will definitely have a great time too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CanadianPB41 Friday, March 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Recommended
Paintballs:
XO or Draxxus but it's up to you
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Quiet
Price point
Weaknesses: Nothing really.
Review: First off, as every knows, proto is owned by dye so this is pretty much a cheap UL with one less row of porting. for the price it's a great barrel that's really light and accurate. i normally end up using mid to low end XO paint and it still shoots great out of this barrel. if you need a new barrel and don't have the cash to get a UL, buy this.
Conclusion: If you're tight on cash and need a high quality barrel, this is for you. I'm giving it an 8 only becasue it's a step down from a UL and the UL isn't perfect either.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bad_Company1 Thursday, July 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto 1 piece
Galaxy V 2 piece barrel
Marker Setup: 09 Proto SLG
Halo V35 w/rip drive
68/4500 Pure Energy Carbon Fiber
Empire tank cover
Empire on/off ASA
Proto 2 piece barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Tarnage Tear
PMI Premium
Strengths: 2 piece
UL tips
Light
Perfect anno match for SLG
Weaknesses: Too small bore for me.
Review: I just bought this barrel on ebay for $40 used and as soon as it got here I tried it out with 7 month old Karnage Tear paint with dimples dirt and all in very humid weather and it did suprisingly well for the condition i was in. Then the next weekend i went to the BT Big Game and used some PMI Premium and it shot great. Very quiet. I was able to put a ball right where i wanted too. The only bad thing about it is that once you shoot about a pod or 2 the barrel starts to unscrew a little but no big deal.

Edit: I also have a Dye Ultra light tip on it so that might change performance a little.
Conclusion: Great barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 8th, 2009 at 10:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

B_Manz Monday, June 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Best to Worst:
Proto 2-piece (14")
Smart Parts Linear (14")
J&J Ceramic (16")
Ion Stock Barrel
Spyder stock barrels
Marker Setup: SP Ion XE
Proto 2-piece Barrel (14")
360 QEV
ViewLoader eVlution 2
PMI 68/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
Best to Worst:
RPS Stingers/Inertia
Visible Impact/ Anything X-ball (although expensive)
DXS Bronze
Strengths: Lightweight
Accurate
Great Colors/finish
2-piece
Weaknesses: Doesn't come with an o-ring (took it from stock barrel)
Review: First off, let me just say that this thing looks fantastic right out of the tube! (look at photos) I got mine in blue on Ebay for $25, and it was definitely worth it!

As soon as i got home, i took it out and tried it with some 3-week old (not counting sitting on the shelf at Wal-Mart) Impact paint and shot it. The barrel bore was a little big for these, but it still shot great! It is no contest which barrel i will be using from now on on my Ion.

Some of the paintballs really only curved because they were kind of old, and had dimples. This is great though, and i would highly recommend this to a friend.

EDIT: I found some old stingers that seemed to be in decent shape with only a few dimples, and they shot ropes! Far better than the impact which was a little small.

If you want to have different bore sizes, you cannot get any more form Proto, but the Dye Ultralite fronts and backs are interchangeable with Proto fronts and backs. For example, you could have a Dye UL .685 back and the Proto front, or you could have the Proto .690 back with a Dye UL front.
Conclusion: Find this on Ebay and buy it! Great addition to any gun! 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 27th, 2009 at 10:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

virtue ions rul Tuesday, March 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boom stick
UL
Pepper stix
Tear drop
stock ion
proto 1 peice
cp classic 1 piece
cp 2 piece
u name it ive used it
Marker Setup: -SP ion
-trinity Q-lock feed neck
-body kit
-proto 2 piece 14 and 16 inch fronts
-tear drop 14 in.
-virtue blue eyes
-virtue OLED board
-virtue grips for OLED board
-virtue ez on 2.0
-firebolt
-360 QEV
-trinity roller trigger
-hybrid on/off asa
-empire bottom rail for hybrid on/off
-trinity bullet on/off asa
-halo v35 with victory board
-draxxus carbon fiber stubby tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
wpn toxic
wpn grade
bushido
proballs
players choice
marblizers
anything thts .68 bore
NEVER USE MONSTERBALLS ON ANYTHING!!!!!!!!! but practice in your back yard ya u can
Strengths: Light
Nice finish
Sturdy
Affordable
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Doesn't come with O ring
Sqeaky
Add a little oil and ur good
Review: I've used almost every barrel known and this would have to be my favorite when it comes to bang for the buck. i got my barrel for my ion for $20 EBAY but my local shop sells them for 40 or so less if you can negotiate.
but it is very lightwieght
love it i got a black back and a blue front so its looks pretty good u can make straight lanes with this.
ive tried the tear drop front sp and it shoots spirals so im happy with this one.
o ya this is also the one im using right now and probably till i can afford a freak kit
Conclusion: Buy this barrel if u want the most bang for your buck
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sds780 Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
most stock barrels
Marker Setup: PMR ul frame, proto backcap, proto 2 piece 14 inch barrel, cp asa
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything fairly large with a bore of .688 or bigger
Strengths: 2 Piece
Price
Weaknesses: Average accuracy
Review: The Proto 2 piece barrel is just a middle of the line barrel. Not near as nice as a dye ultralite. But then again its half the price. What I did was use my Proto front that Came with my pm7 and bought a dye ultralite back. Worked really well for about $35. I wouldn't buy this barrel just to get a barrel. My advice is to save up and get an ultralite.
Conclusion: Its an alright barrel. Nothing special.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tristanot Sunday, April 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye ultralight(Sorry, best barrel)
tippmann 18"
Stock tippy barrel
Marker Setup: PMR
Red Roller Trigger
Dye Ultralite One-piece 14" Barrel
Crossfire 68/3000 Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Formula 13
Strengths: Shoots like a Dye Ul
Cool colors
Dusted finish
Everything
Weaknesses: None
Review: Great Barrel for any gun. Just is accurate and good looking. Solid 10. I couldn't find anything wrong with this barrel, quiet, accurate, TWO PIECE! Looking for a cheaper Dye UL? Buy one of these babies. I would buy an UL if I hadn't got one with the gun, but price is consideration, so buy a Proto.
Conclusion: All good. Good buy, great quality.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

acballa Sunday, October 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pipe kit, pmi razor barrel, progressive, all american
Marker Setup: red pmr, halo b, 48/3000 tank, 14" proto two piece, metal back cap
Recommended
Paintballs:
ive only used dxs bronze, and severe
Strengths: Light, somewhat accurate, kinda quiet, built strong
Weaknesses: Not that accurate, only comes in .90, average sound, price
Review: When i first bought this barrel i was impressed on the construction. It was very well put together and was still extremely light for its heavy dutyness, unlike my old pipe kit which was very fragile even with the ultra tip.
The accuracy is not too impressive at all using dxs bronze and severe (crap). At only about 50 feet it shoots a spread of about a foot.
It is quite loud compared to other barrels.
In my experience, i know people will argue with me on this, but i think that having an .93 barrel is the best way to go. When i had my pipes that is all i used, so i bought this barrel thinking that it won't make that much difference, but it does. When you have not perfect paintballs and you have a "perfect" bore match then the not so round ones are not gonna land in the same spot as the ones that go perfectly through the barrel. This makes it inconsistent. Now im not saying that a bigger bore will fix this completely but it does help. If you dont believe me go try it, maybe you can prove me wrong, but in my 5 years or so that is what i have found. So what my point is (lol) having a .89 imo is not so great, and i think proto should offer different bore size options.
You can buy a lot better barrels for less or not much more money.
Conclusion: Don't buy this barrel, buy a cp, all american (quieter, more accurate, cheaper), ultralight (duh, if you have the money). A barrel kit is always best unless you are like me and only use the big bore anyway, but they are more expensive.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1ntens1ty Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
in order of greatness to least greatness
cp 1 piece (i had 2 of them)-great barrel and great price
all-american-didn't like it and the whole concept of using porting to rifle the barrel is
false (i can go into this whole thing but i'll spare you the argument)
stock spyder imagine barrel- it's not a performer or anything but it looks cooler than a stock ion barrel : )
stock ion barrel-this thing was bad and seemed to have way too small of a bore size for even small bored house paint and couldn't hold up to white box
\
Marker Setup: Limited edition blue PMR
Diamond Blue Reloader B
Pure Energy hpa 68-4500
and a neon yellow tank cover i got for 99cents lol
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
I used some old white box that was super bad and it shot lasers. I think that says something.
Strengths: Accurate, light, looks good, good fit, same as an ultralite but under a new name
Weaknesses: None really except for there is only one bore size.
Review: OK i got this with my pmr and I got some white box i had laying around for a few months and shot it. There is no other way to put it. It shot laser beams. I had ball on ball accuracy and I was really impressed with it. My old cp barrels were my favorite but this has taken their spot. The only downside to this barrel is the fact that it comes in only one bore size (unless you use ultralite backs in which case you can call it an ultralite). On the other hand it is the same barrel as the ultralite with a lighter price tag and a new name. They are literally made on the same machines in the same factory. The back and front fit very well and help with the accuracy. The anno is very good and the alluminum is high quality. Like I said, this shoots LASER BEAMS.
Conclusion: Buy it if you wanted to get an ultralite. Its the same thing with not as hefty a price tag and instead of saying DYE it says PROTO. I recommend this to anyone looking to mid or back (it might be too long for some front player's taste.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media