paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 2 Piece Barrel / Proto 2 Piece Barrel / Proto 2 Piece Barrel

Proto 2 Piece Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 2 Piece Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 2 Piece Barrel
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto barrels are manufactured with premium 6061-T6 high-grade aluminum and honed to .690 and 8 micron finish. Proto barrels are available in two models, single tube construction and two piece configuration. Additionally, straight porting makes the Proto barrel a quiet and most accurate addition to your gun.

Available in black, red, blue and clear. Sizes are 12" and 14" lengths for single tube and 14" and 16" lengths for two piece. Made for most markers.
Product Availability 
The Proto 2 Piece Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
hatchj Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock intimidator assassins barrel
Marker Setup: Bob Long Alias intimidator
UPs:
Hybrid ram cap
Hybrid verdikt lpr
AKA sidewinder reg
critical trigger
green halo b
proto 2-peice 14"
Pure energy 48 cu tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much anything unless it is tiny or absolutely huge
Strengths: Good quality
Accepts UL tips
Accurate
What else can i say? It's a barrel.
Weaknesses: Does not shoot through paint well at all
That's it.
Review: I picked this thing up because I wanted something 14 inches, good quality, and accurate. I got all of that with this barrel. It shot perfect untill i broke paint.

I didn't bother using a battleswap while playing because it was just rec ball. The break was at the beginning of a round and I felt the effects the whole round. I put about 400 rounds through the thing and when I used a squeege at the end, it was somewhat clean. I would have figured a squeege would get nothing out after that many rounds though.

Otherwise, it was awesome. I got a ton of people out with this barrel.
Conclusion: I reccomend it to anyone that doesn't care if their barrel shoots through paint at all.
I'll give it a low 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StumpyManager Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Proto PMR 06
Halo B
P/E 45/4800 N2 Tank
Proto 2 Piece
Trinity Feedneck
New Designs Scythe Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Stingers, Premiums, just none of that Monsterball crap.
Strengths: Accurate... very accurate
Light
Cheap
Weaknesses: Doesn't come with a barrel bag, hard to carry around
Review: This was a great addition to my PMR. Even though the stock 12 inch one piece was really accurate, the two piece actually makes it more accurate; doesnt that say something? Before, I could lane decently off the break, with maybe one or two paintballs going a little wide. But with this new trigger, i was able to dominate the break. At one point, I was able to eliminate 3 people off the break, on a 4 people team. Domination. That's how much of a difference in accuracy and power this barrel is. Amazing.
Conclusion: If you have the sixty bucks, this is money well spent. Not the first upgrade needed for the PMR, but a damn goodone at that. Get this barrel and your game will improve!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zaunji Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion barrel
Freak
Marker Setup: ~Black SP Ion~
Warrior Ion Feedneck
NDZ EZ on-off ASA w/ rail
Proto 2-peice
Orange ADF detents
SP QEV
Critical RPM Trigger

47/3000 HP Aluminum Crossfire tank
VLocity JR.
Recommended
Paintballs:
X-Ball Bronze (a tad small but fire great)
Dusk (If you can get it, it fits very well)
Strengths: Very light
Great Porting
2-peice
cheap
Smooth inside
looks awesome
Weaknesses: Threads are a bit squeaky
Review: When I was getting a barrel for my Ion I didn't have much money. I saw that this barrel had a very great price. So I got it, not being too sure on whether it was good or not. All I knew was that it looked cool and it was cheap.

It was extremely light, it was as light as the bag I brought it home in... Inside it was quite smooth too.

The porting was positioned perfectly. When I shot I noticed a big difference in the quietness between it and my stock barrel. The way they put the porting also adds style too, IMO.

The performance of this barrel can definitely compare to a freak that I tried at the field.
Conclusion: The performance of this barrel amazed me. It's also very cheap, its light, its smooth, its a very good barrel. I strongly recommend this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 25th, 2007 at 4:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rocker292003 Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi, UL switch kits, slayer kit, karner kit
Marker Setup: '05'd shocktech timmy, NME le
Recommended
Paintballs:
mid bore paint
Strengths: Light compatible with UL accurate
Weaknesses: Plain
Review: A good overall barrel accurate about the same as 12in stiffi's, UL and the karner kit. weighs the same as the UL and less than the karner kit but is much heavier than the stiffi's
its a pretty quiet barrel and stays consistent throughout temperature changes
nice pattern in all conditions
Conclusion: Good barrel and fits most paints but not as good as the stiffi or the switch kit
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilevil Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto 1 piece
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
~Proto 2 piece
~Pure Energy 3k 47
~12v Revy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Dont know so far have only shot with reballs
Strengths: Very accurate
Quiet
Smooth internals
Can have UL tips
Weaknesses: Just a hair off of boomstick accuracy
Review: I had my new barrel choice down to 3 barrel- j & j full tilt 2 piece, proto 2 piece, and proto 1 piece. i went down to my local field and shot the 1 and 2 piece proto, switching off between the 2 during the hopper., there really close, i was shooting at a pole and a few bunkers, around 50-60 feet away, and with each barrel i was able to graze bunkers, and keep a tight grouping on the pole around the same distance away. but the difference lies in that with the 2 piece i had less correcting and was able to keep longer strings going without having to move the gun alot, it seems every 5-8 shots with the one piece i had to re adjust the gun to keep the balls on spot, i could see this better when i was shooting at the pole, the field i was testing at was croegaert's reball field in Rock Island, IL. find them on pbnation and u will see how far i was shooting, i was on blue side shooting at the far pole on red side. overall this is a great barrel, but just off of the boomstick, but a great buy deffinetly!!!
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel for people who want a barrel that can perform damn close to the boomstick without the sticker price. go get this barrel, very very nice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

uber NooB Tuesday, November 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto one piece on a proto rail but only tested that (its a really nice gun)
Marker Setup: ion
freak frront all american back
cp rake trigger
virtue board
halo b
Recommended
Paintballs:
I usually use evil
Strengths: Quiet accurate got it for free!!!!
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a really Quiet barrel and the best part is i got it for free!!!! My friend has a pm6 n he got a dye ultralite so he gave me it for my trilogy pro cocker and its really accurate on a cocker. Its a good barrel and its worth the $$ if u gotta buy it.
Conclusion: Its a good Quiet accurate barrel
I gave it a 10 cause i got it for free!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

observer0201 Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe (much better)
Marker Setup: PM6, Empire Reloader B, Evil Pipe (14''), crossfire 45/45 low presure, Bunker King grips, CP on/off.
Strengths: It's fairly light... It's not horrible... You can mix the colors.
Weaknesses: In my opinion from testing it, it's very innacurate.
Review: I've had my proto for about 6 months, and people always keep asking to borrow my proto barrel, they seem to think it's as good as an ultralight. I was never really that happy with it, my accuracy sucks as it is, and I don't need a barrel to make it worse. Seriously, get a different barrel, and dont just take my word for it, put it to the test. I found an Evil Pipe one day, and it fits my PM6, and Ive been using it ever since. I tested the two barrels and I found the Pipe to be a hell lot more accurate than the stock proto barrel. It might just be that the Proto was a 12 inch and the pipe was a 14 inch... but the difference in accuracy was disgusting.
Conclusion: if you get a PM6, GET A NEW BARREL!!! If you're thinkg about buying this barrel, DON'T!!!
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Rex_recta Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
UL, proto 1 piece, etc.
Marker Setup: Red to Black fade PM5
Phat mini drop
AIM on/off
Proto 2 piece
Red Halo B
45/45 Pure Energy
Recommended
Paintballs:
ALotta mid bore. Stingers, rampage, hemmorage, prem's.
Strengths: Light
2 piece
CAN ACCEPT UL TIPS
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well, my coach gave me this barrel because he UL'd (both barrel and frame) his PM6 and I gave it a whirl. At the time I was borrowing barrel's from team mates ranging from freak kits, to autococker 1 piece prostock barrel, kaner kit, shaft 1 pieces. So when I got this barrel I was pleasently pleased. I am not much of a 12 inch barrel guy, so I tried taking a 14 inch UL tip off of my friends ion, he would use 12 inch tip and it worked very well on the proto back. I did not have one barrel break all day. Then again, out of all the barrels I have used, I never broke a ball with my proto.
Conclusion: I recommend anyone get this. Its a great barrel and though I paid dirt cheap for mine, they are relatively inexpensive and very good on paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
most barrels, proto 1 peice
Marker Setup: stock karnivor
Recommended
Paintballs:
anyhting that fits
Strengths: Very light, good looking, pretty good performance
Weaknesses: Not really any
Review: this is a fantastic stock barrel. i mnea obviously some guns come with barrel kits, pipes, or ULs. but in general, compared to most stock barrels this is very nice. its worth using. most people would complain that it is not 14 inches if you get it would a gun....which is probably the only reason why it is not more popular.

this barrel is very light. i would say it is lighter than a UL. it looks nice. the internals finish is not quite as smooth as a UL, but then again i have never seen a barrel that is better than a UL either. however finish is still good. these barrels arent anything special in the noise depanrtment....pretty standard. they are acurate however. even teh 1 peice is a good performer. the special thing about this barrel is that since it is made by dye, it fits with dye barrel parts. you can use a dye back with a proto front, or a proto back with a dye front. that wil ljust make your barrel look better, gives more options for kits and sizes, and since they are dye parts it is just kaing the barrel perform better.
Conclusion: generally stock barrels are something you take off and never use again.....because they cant hold up to your fancy barrel kit. this barrel is good enough to see some use. it definitely stands up to UL performance (not quite there IMO but close). i would give it a 10, but some guns do come with better stock barrels.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BO55HOGG Tuesday, March 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralite + Tear Drop
Marker Setup: EDIT(new gun): Ion Max'd, Critical Parts Trigger, VLocity Jr, JT USA HPA Tank(not too great)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Premium, Marballizer, X Balls, some PMI paint.. and i dont really no what else
Strengths: Kinda Quiet
Accurate
Colours
Distance
Weaknesses: Eats CO2
A Little Heavy
Shoulda Got A Dye UltraLite First
Review: theres nothing really too wrong this barrel. its just that its not that excellent. I sold this barrel to my friend and then bought a 2piece dye barrel and i found that it was so much better, so i would suggest you spend the extra $ and buy a dye barrel.
Conclusion: This is only a good barrel not excellent
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 26th, 2006 at 6:41 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media