paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO

PMI Piranha 2005 EVO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha 2005 EVO

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha 2005 EVO
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $270

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New adjustable clamping feed neck.
Tournament grade electronic with integrated anti-chop eye.
Powered by CO2 or N2.
Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with spiral porting.
Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear-resistant teflon finish on all internal parts.
Threaded removable vertical feed, closed receiver.
Electro-mechanical trigger frame with LCD display, countdown timer, odometer, and anti-chop eye.
Powered by one 9-volt rechargeable battery (battery, car charger and wall charger included).
Custom vertical bottle adapter, DSR inline adjustable regulator with micro gauge.
15 + shots per second capability.
Manufacturer's 1-year limited warranty.
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha 2005 EVO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
car washer Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e-99 avant; vl evolution with xboard; J&J 14'' ceramic Barrel
Marker Setup: Evo 05; stock barrel; Q-loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Boss Blade Trigger (is a must!)
Decent Hopper; avoid gravity hoppers (misfires/chops a lot, even with eyes on)
Any Force Fed Hoppers will do just fine
stock barrel ( in the furture, stock is pretty decent)
t-board?
Strengths: Stock barrel is fairly accurate
Not light but not heavy
Flush cocking system
Weaknesses: THE TRIGGER SUCKS
Non Clamping feed
22hr charge time
Eyes is cheap
Review: Evo 05
This is a great marker, shoots freaking fast with the right hopper. The downside of the marker has to be the trigger. The trigger limits you from obtaining a constant ROF and you can't walk it. First thing you need to do is get a Boss Blade Trigger (only 20$); a must do thing! Another thing is the marker has a non clamping neck feed. i had to sand down my revvy to fit in it.
With the right hopper, man this gun is a freak. i have a qloader installed and holy ****. i shot a steam of paint with the stock barrel. I was suprised by the ROF and also by the accuracy of the barrel. Also i didn't chop
The Flush Cocking system helps a lot, compared to the spyder e-99 avant the bolt always got in my way and always smashed into my lens.
Also it is very easy to clean and take apart your gun.
AVOID USING GRAVITY HOPPERS YOU'LL CHOP LIKE CRAZY (even with eyes)
suggest using force fed hoppers
Eyes is made out of cheap material. paint gets sometimes caught in it and blocks the senors
Conclusion: Overall i give this gun a 9 of 10 because of the trigger and nonclamping feed neck. its a fairly decent gun. with the right equipment it's a monster.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 3rd, 2006 at 10:11 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nitronovice Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
rental model 98's, and rental piranha's
Marker Setup: stock Piranha 05 EVO, 20oz Co2, VL eVLution hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
electro hopper, barrel, regulator, maybe trigger(personal preferance)
Strengths: Eyes
Decent stock barrel
Anno job
Camping feed neck
Trigger pull (take the spring out)
Weaknesses: Heavy
Inconsistant reg
Bolt/ flush cocking rod
Kick
Velocity adjuster
Finish
Review: I got the EVO in March when the proshop had it on sale. I originally wanted the Spyder Imagine because of its fireing modes, but Im glad i got this instead.

PROS:

Eyes:
because it has eyes, i never had a chop when i was using a vl200 hopper, execpt for once when i ran out of c02, and it couldnt recocked the gun properly. however, compared to someone elses Imagine, its amazing, as the Imagine constantly chopped with a vl200.

Looks:
the annodizing job is amazing, i love the fade from blue to blach(front to back). at first, i really didnt like how it looked so "block" like, but now, i dont mind it. i think the flat surface makes it a bit easier to clean.

Barrel:
the stock barrel s okay. its pretty accurate, even though its a larger bore and im using smaller sized paint. at about 30 feet, im getting about a 5 inch spread.

Feed neck:
the clamping neck is a good welcome. i see that it is an upgrade for many other guns at its price range. its not the best, as i still have to put electrical tape over my hopper's necks, and i can still turn the hopper with enough force, but it does gives me a lower profile.

Trigger/ pull:
the stock trigger was okay when i first used it, but as i used it more, i find the shape of the trigger makes it hard to walk long strings of paint. what i did to partially help was take out the trigger spring. this made the already fairly light trigger pull, even lighter, and made it a lot easier to walk.

CONS:

Weight:
i think this has to do with the block shape of the gun. its really heavy compared to my friend's victor 2, and just i tiny bit lighter than his c98(comparisons done without tanks). in my opinion, its a little too heavy for speedball when you're playing mid or front like i do.

Reg:
i thought that once i fired about 1000 shots through it, it would be fully broken in and the velocity would be consistant. unfortunately, ive fired around 2800 shots through it, and i still get spikes. on the chrono (250 fps limit), im reading 245, 240, 260, 240, and sometimes either 230 or 270.

Bolt/ Flush-cocking system:
although the flush0cocking system is a great idea, its not doing so well in my gun. when the gun recocks, somehow, the bolt catches onto the cocking rod, and brings it back too. when i take the bolt out for oiling, i sometimes see bits of metal shavings, and shiny part of the flat grey bolt, where it rubs against the cocking rod.

Kick:
the EVO has quite a lot of kick when it shoots, one thing i don't really like about it. i think its probably because of the really heavy hammer.

Velocity adjuster:
when i go play, i play for 3 hours as a walk-on. a little after 1 1/2 hours, the velocity adjuster locking screw comes loose and the whole adjuster backs out. but you just have to take an allen key and retighten it.

Finish:
getting to the fine details here. at the back of the "sight rail", the metal seems like it was hit pretty hard with a hammer, because a small piece of the matl is deformed, then anno'd over.
edit: i forgot to add that different parts of the gun have slightly different shades of blue. the main body of the EVO is one shade of blue, but the barrel, inner part of the feed neck, va and reg, and the lpc are a slightly lighter shade of blue.
Conclusion: I would definitly recommend this gun to people as a first gun because its really reliable and fairly fast if you get used to the trigger. its has a low price compared to many other guns in its price range, and it's quality and performence is decent. you wont be disapointed.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 31st, 2006 at 11:43 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

huge4444 Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot ACS
tippmann 98
Marker Setup: 20 ozc02 with butt stock
egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
boss blade trigger
spart parts progressive 12 inch
Strengths: Speed
accuracy
eye
odometer
Weaknesses: Plastic trigger
Review: The EVO is a great gun, once you get good trigger fingers, you can get it to shoot really fast. its great for x-ball and woodsball alik. I have heard allegations of the EVO chopping constantly with co2. From my experience, i can say that these are false. i have shot over 2,000 rounds and never chopped a ball.
Conclusion: The gun shoots smothly,quickly and accurately
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntgod1 Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha GTI
spyder rodeo
Marker Setup: Piranha evo
14" proto 1 piece barrel
evolution II hopper
45/4500 compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
trigger
Strengths: Fast
Quiet
Light
Accurate (new barrel)
Efficient
Low maintenance
Kick
LCD
Weaknesses: Trigger (plastic)
Stock barrel
Consictency
Review: This gun is one of the best low end markers. It is cheap but preforms very well.

PROS:
fast: it is pretty fast at 17bps with my egg. Its enough to keep ppl behind bunkers
light: ppl say this gun is heavy...i dont think so and im not strong. feels nice and you can shoot with 1 hand with no problems.
quiet/accurate: i got a 1 piece proto barrel and it helps the accuracy. This gun is also pretty quiet, i had to get an egg cause my relaoder wasnt feeding.
efficient: i have a 45/4500 tank and i got a full hopper and 6 pods from a 3500psi fill.
kick: this gun has a nice flush cocking system with very little kick and the rear cocking doesnt hit your mask like the GTI.
low and easy maintinence: quick bolt strip pin makes taking the bolt out a snap.
just take it out lube it sguegee all the paint off and your done.



CON
bad stock trigger: the trigger is mad of thin cheap plastic. not a necessary upgrade but is nice.
stock barrel is not accurate: from like 25' away i could barely hit like a 4x4 board
consictency: very bad out of the box, needs to be broken in and low out of the box velocity too. My first chrono readings were: 184, 200, 180, 189.... very bad
Conclusion: overall this is a good gun. get a new barrel and possibly a trigger and kick some a$$ =)
GET IT!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shameless247 Tuesday, June 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
sp ion
spyder imagine
psycho ballistics silver bullet
m3 black dragun
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
curtom products roller blade trigger
custom products razor drop forward
14" j&j cerramic barrell
14" freak barrell system
empire on/off asa
virtue board
dye red sticky grips

stock rex type - r
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe trigger
different feedneck if possible
Strengths: Reliability
diversity
price drop!
acurate
speed for the $
eyes
Weaknesses: Heavy
trigger
eye on/off button read review
Review: Well i actually got this for my wife. got it out of the box and this thing is beautiful. she picked the solid red model and the ano is amazing. so i put an industrial strength 9 volt in it (couldnt wait for battery it came with to charge before shooting it) and took it out to shoot. first off the feedneck does not like any hopper i own. don't know if anyone else had this problem but i had to shave a vl 200 hopper to get it to fit. so i ran co2 through it and started shooting. i was actually amazed. it shot straight and as quick as a non electro hopper would feed. now with the plain gravity fed hopper feeding at its best ,as in not clogging up, i could actually get around 10-13 bps which is really good. the acuracy, imho, was much better than any stock gun and barrell that i have ever seen with the exception of an impulse. now the price i planned on paying at the time was $170 which still would've been worth it. but i went to order it and it had dropped to $130 which was freakin awesome!

the only downsides to this gun is that it's not as light as alot of others but some ppl prefer to know their gun is with them. the trigger isn't the greatest but it will get the job done. and lastly and quite the funniest, the eye on/off button is directly above the right side of the trigger. my wife has wondering fingers and keeps shutting the eye off and chopping balls mid game. pretty funny to hear a petite lil woman screaming profanity in the middle of a game. the eyes work fine but it will chop paint if you turn em off.
Conclusion: There are only two guns i would get as a beginner that perform well and are this cheap. this is one of them. durable, shoots well on co2 (at least for me it did), acurate enough to not need a new barrell, and of course cheap. this thing rocks! if you're thinkin about one.......stop thinkin and buy it. 10 out of 10 as an overall performer.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb4j48 Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
electronic spiders/piranhas, autocockers, 98 customs, A5's
Marker Setup: my evo set up was
blue/black evo
20 c02 tank
richeshet 2k lcd
14" proggressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
new shorter feed neck
Strengths: Fast enough(20+)
Reliability
Good eye
Weaknesses: not very accurate with stock barrel,
trigger
people don't respect Pirahna name
Review: i think the evo is a awesome gun especially if it is your first electo. its not the best for tournaments but if you are playing rec ball this gun is awesome. you don't need to worry about breaking balls the anti chop eye works awesome i have had mine for almost a year and a half and have only broken probably about 7 rounds it operates on anything(co2 or n2) it shoots fast enough at 20+ ball per second. the trigger is kinda weird but it is fine when you get use to it, people don't respect Piranha but this gun deserves respect in my opinion
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any rec players that in joy the game or if you are a beginner tournament player over all it is a awesome gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tuna696915 Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder
Marker Setup: nuthing
Recommended
Upgrades:
triger
barrel
electric hopper
shoot n2
Strengths: Cheap,shoots ferly fast,anti chop is a pluss
efishent co2, easy to take apart
Weaknesses: Skip shots, the triger is slopy
the safty is in a bad spot, littel hevey
Review: The EVO is not a bad gun for the price it is electric which is nice.it is easy to fuld strip and besides of the electronics it is simpel. I havent had eny balls brake in it so the anti chop must be working pritty good. i have had some problems with mine and i have only had it for 3 weeks and out 6 times furst the champer had a pic of the factory lock tite in it so it held a valve oppen got that fixed lasted 2 games and now it blew the maine valve o-rings and the hose thred leaked. but pmi hase relly good custimer servic my buddy broke the bult on his evo and the bult guid and called up pmi and thay sent him a mew pice and he boght his gun at a pawn shop.
Conclusion: Theas culd just be isolated insidents everyone else has had no problems. but if you whant an electic gun and dont whant to pay over $200 I wuld get the EVO maybe you will have better luck.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chikenslinger Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Black Phirana Evo
detonator reg
egg II
14' boss progessive
clamping feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
feed neck
Strengths: Throw it against a rock, into a snow drift. pick it up and start blazing.
Weaknesses: Trigger
Review: i got my new fish and i was very excited. when i got the gun out i wanted to put all of the stuff onit i got. i couldn't get the neck off to put in my new one. some forum somewhere told me to heat up the gun with a blow dryer to get it off. very bad idea. i took it out to play and it would not work. eventually i gave in and replaced every seal in the main body. it shots like a champ now. the heat from the blow dryer must have ruined the rings.

with the boss progressive barrel from smart parts i thought i had very good accuracy.

get gun. i've played with people with ions, shockers, system xs, timmys, freestyles, ect. my team all rocks the fish. we beat them every time. it felt so good to throw a rope and hit a guy 8 times that spent over a 1000 dollars on his stuff. i spent 159 on mine :D.
Conclusion: Awesome. i love PMI tech support. if you get a hold of them they are the best. you can't get a hold of them because they are the best. everyone calls them. 159 dollars for a gun this good. it should be a crime
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pBraden Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine - not as good
piranha sts eforce 2k3 - not as good
Marker Setup: Piranha Evo
-Extreme Rage Twist-Lock feedneck
-VL Tripod
-WGP 50/3000

Piranha STS eforce (backup)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Agitating hopper
Trigger
Delrin bolt
t-board
nitro
Strengths: Eyes work well
17 bps
Blue/black comes with twist-lock feedneck
Easy strip
Looks
Weaknesses: Little heavy
Detents
Uncocks itself occasionally
Review: I've been using this gun for a couple months now. I bought it for $190 CDN new with no tax. This is the best low-end gun i've ever shot. Besides, it did get the best low-end/blowback marker award in 2004.

I have only had a couple problems with this marker. After using just over 1000 rounds my rubber ball detents started to rip in half. This causes the gun to chop and double-feed. It did come with a couple extras so i put those in. The other problem is the gun likes to uncock itself sometimes and pinch balls. It may help to get a new bolt - i dont know.

The trigger is hard to walk like on all piranhas. You can get a Extreme rage blade, boss blade or FBM to increase bps. Or you can get a scenario dreams T-board with all the modes ever invented.

This gun has lots of features:
lcd screen - has shot counter (odometer), game timer, eye indicator

ram air and dsr regulator - if you're using nitro ajust your regulator to the lowest pressure possible by turning an allen wrench clockwise in the bottom of the reg. I got this thing shooting at less than 100 psi! This does lower the velocity but if you use the medium spring compressed as far as it goes it will shoot at 285 and is very consistent.

feedneck - the red evo and the gold/black one come with the crappy feednecks the 2k3 guns had. The blue/black one sometimes comes with an Extreme Rage Twist-lock which got a horrible review but i like it. my revvy sits just 2cm above my gun.

adjustable drop forward - looks cool and helps balance a steel nitro tank.
Conclusion: I seriously think this is better than an ION (i know im going to get bashed for this) because its cheaper, can field strip, easier to fix, has a better reg, and a better feedneck. They both shoot 17 bps stock.

If your looking at buying a blow-back this is the one to get. You can get them for dirt-cheap right now. If possible get the special edition cause it comes with the evil detonator regulator. But if you have a bit more money go with a high-end gun like an Indian Creek.
EVO=10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Monster Mayhem Thursday, June 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: 14" Tru Flight Barrel
Extreme Rage Feedneck
3000 PSI Compresses Air Tank
Lok Sok Tank Cover
Boss Blade Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Boss Blade Trigger
Compresses Air Tank
Extreme Rage Feedneck
New Barrel
Strengths: Rate of Fire, Anti-Chop Eye, Time Countdown
Weaknesses: Feedneck, Trigger
Review: An amazing gun needs some work still. Need a new feed neck, the stock one is small and would not fit with my Halo Hopper. Shoots fast but has a weird trigger. This gun is not respected because it is a Piranha but still good fix it up ti show what this gun is all about. A spyder clone! Recommended!
Conclusion: Good gun to start with or a fixer upper. Can turn into a sweet tournament gun!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media