paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO

PMI Piranha 2005 EVO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha 2005 EVO

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha 2005 EVO
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $270

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New adjustable clamping feed neck.
Tournament grade electronic with integrated anti-chop eye.
Powered by CO2 or N2.
Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with spiral porting.
Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear-resistant teflon finish on all internal parts.
Threaded removable vertical feed, closed receiver.
Electro-mechanical trigger frame with LCD display, countdown timer, odometer, and anti-chop eye.
Powered by one 9-volt rechargeable battery (battery, car charger and wall charger included).
Custom vertical bottle adapter, DSR inline adjustable regulator with micro gauge.
15 + shots per second capability.
Manufacturer's 1-year limited warranty.
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha 2005 EVO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
daniel1697855 Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI STS 2k3
Marker Setup: EVO: boss blaed trigger, boss bolt, Evil detonator reg, phat mini dropforward w/on-off, cp 14" barrel, extream rage vertical feed, crossfire 68-3000 hp tank, empire tank cover, Egg hopper with z-bord
Recommended
Upgrades:
boss blaed trigger, boss bolt
Evil detonator reg
egg or halo hopper
better barrel
an HP n2 tank
Strengths: Gotta love the the electronics in this thing eyes most of all
Weaknesses: Stock reg bolt and plastic trigger
Review: with the right upgrades to this thing you will be able to hold more then just your own. I never got a chance to use this just as a stock gun cause i bought all my upgrades right off the bat. I own an older 2k3 eforce so i know that the trigger is a junk trigger so i recommend the boss blade trigger. The stock bolt that game with this thing just didn't look like it should even be used. it looked like it was just some shaped lead pmi shoved in it. I bought the boss bolt for it is a delrin bost make by ross the boss www.rjskateworks.com whit this things rate of fire your gonna want to add a good hopper Im usein an egg with the zbord but i know a few guys with the same gun using halos. I can rip with this gun and i end up spending a lot of mone on paint cause i shoot to much. the gun can take a beating to im a little over aggressive when it comes to playing paint ball and i tend to run into the bunkers sup are ir pipe stands so the fact that the gun doesn't take a scratch or dent.
Conclusion: I love this gun i dont think ill be buyin a new gun any time soon if at all this gun works so well there is really no need to. I can keep up with the high end guns out there i would defonetly say buy this gun if your lookin for a gun that you cna rock with with out blowing a lot of money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nateorious Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
piranha gti
Marker Setup: psi 3000, halo b, piranha evo
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper and metal trigger, plastic is kinda akward but you would get used to it
Strengths: Fast, pretty accurate,looks cool, and most of all:Price
Weaknesses: a little loud when using Co2, not enough people respect the piranha name
Review: when i first bought my evo, i was a wasnt very confident with the purchase because of what people say about piranhas. So i got out the the paintball field and was pretty nervous about competing with angels and cockers but ended up lasting long in every game and having alot of fun.
Conclusion: in conclusion, THIS IS AN AMAZING GUN. BUY IT, DONT LISTEN TO ALL THE PEOPLE SAYING NOT TO! YOU'LL HAVE A GREAT TIME USING IT AND FOR THE PRICE YOU CANT GO WRONG. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON 500 DOLLAR GUNS AND SUCH.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pacos_tacos_88 Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Piranha R6 (nice, but definitely go for the Evo, since it's so cheap now)
Viewloader Revelation (no comparison)
Marker Setup: Piranha Evo
Revolution Hopper
Evil Detonator Regulator
Ben Tippmann Apex Barrel
WGP 50/3000 Air Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Feedneck?
Strengths: Price: $130
Comes with an Evil Detonator Reg Installed
Anti-Chop Eyes!!!
Weaknesses: Trigger
Feedneck - a little high which makes it hard to put in my case
Review: This wouldn't fit in the weakness column: Since everyone around me (having nothing better to spend their money on) upgrades those 2 things on any gun right away, PMI was smart in making them cheap.

Back to your regularly scheduled program:
HOLY Shiite Muslamic Jihad! Go buy this gun now! Don't even read this. Go to paintball online or something and buy it.

Anyway, for you skeptics that are still reading: I bought this gun the second I saw it, for 130 bucks (which I will tell you over and over again). I was extremely tempted to buy this gun last year, when it was selling for 250 bucks, but I was cheap and bought my Piranha R6. Then I saw the Evo advertised in a magazine and thought it was a typo. But I went to their site, and there it was. Then I got to the color selector on the site, and what does it say? "Black Special Edition" Oh? what is this, I inquire. Sure enough, for the same price as the regular Evos, the "Special Edition" comes with an Evil Detonator Regulator!!! How? I don't know. Maybe to compete with the Smart Parts Ion? Which I am not too impressed with anyway. Especially when the Evo is, what price?, 130 bucks!!! Sure, if you like ramping up to unnecessary BPS, then buy the Ion. BUT, with the right trigger, the Evo could easily get up to 17 plus BPS too.

I've been used this gun in many games and have happily owned Ion owners. The stock barrel is amazingly accurate. I played around with springs and the regulator and I got my gun operating at around 450psi. And with my 50/3000psi WGP HPA tanks that were only filled to 2000psi, I still got 400 shots off with them and they still had 800 psi left in them!

The gun does like to leak down the barrel sometimes, but this is easily fixed by oiling the valve. Just remove the volumizer and put a couple drops (about every 2000 shots) on the valve. I don't know why it does this, I'm thinking the oil just gets blown away. Maybe using high grade paintball slick (can't think of any brand names right now) will solve this problem. Maybe you can just put a couple drops in the ASA too before airing up.
Conclusion: So, in conclusion, go buy the Piranha Evo Special Edition NOW (before they run out). Because, for the price, there is NO better gun.

BTW, I don't want dersh bags posting me comments on how awesome their Ion is. I just don't care. Again, I'm talking about this gun with Evil Detonator selling for 130 bucks. I think THIS gun sets the new standard, not the ION (sorry Smart Parts). I wish I could give this gun a 12 out of 10. Oh well.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 10th, 2006 at 6:42 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

shortdrummer13 Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
defiant(bob long)
2k5
Marker Setup: I have a 04 piranha evo with evil detinator regulator 14" empire twister barrel boss blade trigger, macro line, and dye 68/4500 throttle air, and a smart parts vision shocker with virtue board,14" stiffi barrel, and cp regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
boss blade trigger
clamping feedneck
tboard
new bolt and hammer
new reg
Strengths: 20 bps
Ace(anti chop eyes)
Game timer
Free batery
Weaknesses: Trigger
Stock barrel
Review: Right when i got this gun out of the box i aired it up and shot off about 200 rounds and it was alright but the stock barrel was horrible, it makes the ball curve after like 20 feet. so i took it to a practice and i played against my team and the cool thing about the stock barrel is that you can hit people around corners but thats not always a good thing. So i upgraded the barrel, the trigger, the reg, and the bolt and hammer setup and i was shooting twice as fast and extremely accurate. so with a few upgrades this is a pretty decent starter gun.
Conclusion: I highly reccomend this product to anyone just starting off in the sport it will out shoot most of the other starter guns out there and it is very affordible
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChaseMiller Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO- blue/black
Boss Blade Trigger
Halo TSA Frontman Hopper
20 oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Boss Blade Trigger
Electronic Hopper
Barrel
Nitro
Strengths: Looks
Speed
Customer Service
Field Stripping
Anti-chop Eyes
Weaknesses:
Stock Barrel?
22-hour battery charge
Stock trigger weird shape
Review: After getting introduced to paintball with a Tippmann 98 Custom for several years, I was looking to upgrade my gun a bit. I was searching on the internet, and this gun instantly caught my eye. It has great speed (20 bps), looks , and customer service. If you ever have a problem with your PMI gun just call their customer service or drop them and email, with your adress and serial # and your replacement parts are in the mail. FREE PARTS FOR LIFE. I love this gun, just make sure you oil the bolt.
Conclusion: This is a great gun with an exellent price. BUY THIS GUN. FREE PARTS FOR LIFE!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SGS Rage Saturday, March 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Tippmann Model 98
Tippmann Custom Pro
WGP Trilogy Competition
Marker Setup: 05 PMI Evo w/eyes.
VL Evlution 2
Pure Energy 12 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Agitating Hopper
Bolt
Strengths: Stock Barrel - accurate
Fast
Eyes
Doesn't Chop
Works good with co2
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: I got this gun from badlands and it rips with a Evlution 2.
I use a 12 oz co2.
It is really fast, easy to aim, 12 inch two piece stock barrel is very accurate, you hardly even need to get a new barrel, I didn't.
The bore size is medium.
Works good with lower end paint.
It is a good, inexpensive, reliable gun.
Very light trigger pull, you barely need to touch the trigger and it shoots, fast.
Good for paintball players with a bit of experience.
Get a lighter bolt and you will really rip with this gun.
Conclusion: I give this gun a 10 out of 10, just make sure you have a fast hopper to keep up with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tphnc Thursday, March 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns, spyders, autococker trilogies, gameface's, dragun tes, odyssey 02
Marker Setup: Evil Omen 2.0, J&J edge kit, Crossfire tank, Evlution
Recommended
Upgrades:
Detonator regulator, Barrel system, clamping feedneck, fast hopper, must use compressed air tank.
Strengths: Price, ease of use, Eyes, pmi warranty, can upgrade as much as you want to.
Weaknesses: None
Review: It is not a $1,000 dollar gun so I am not comparing it to one of them. It can easliy be bought for under $150 and in the under $300 price range it is the best buy. Without a ramping board or magnetic trigger you won't be able to out shoot a $1000 dollar marker but you can add a t board that will do the same as those guns for $78. Replacing the stock dsr regulator is probably an upgrade you will want to make. If you replace it with a detonator reg just remember to shoot it about 4,ooo times to break it in first before expecting great results.

I have either used or owned alot of cheaper electronic guns and after using this I would recommend buying it. Some companies selling low end guns like Dragun & Odyssey have gone out of business and won't service their markers that are still under warranty. I doubt that PMI is going to go out of business anytime soon. A word to the wise stay away from unheard of or small companies until they have proved themselves.

Most of the other low end electros have the on off buttons on back side of the trigger. Which means sometimes you press the buttons and don't realize it till you pull the trigger and the gun is on safety. The Evo buttons are where the safety is normally. Above the trigger, out of the way and extremely easy to use. The eyes are great and very easy to push the button to turn on or off.

The reason you shouldn't use Co2 is because any electro that shoots more than 12bps will freeze up and damage the internal orings.

You can upgrade the gun as much as you would want.
Conclusion: If your looking for a low end electro then this is the one to buy. I would probably buy a special edition one that comes with the detonator reg already installed. Plus for $300 bucks you could have a gun, barrel kit, and air tank.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TCA_ELITE_498 Thursday, March 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra (stock)
Pirhana SRT (stock)
Tippmann A-5 (stock)
Tippmann Custom Pro (stock)
Tippmann Pro Carbine (stock)
Trilogy Competition Autococker (with upgrades)
Marker Setup: Pirhana Evo 2005
Ricochet Rhino
Pure Energy 12 oz on/off
16" JJ Ceramic Barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
18 Inch All American Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Very Comfortable
Cool Design
Light trigger pull
Anti Chop Eyes
Quiet
Weaknesses: The trigger is plastic. (just get a new one if you want)
Game Timer
Review: I got this gun not too long ago from - www.badlandspaintball.com
It is pretty accurate right out of the box, a new barrel is not needed.
It comes with a 12" spiral ported 2 piece. It is a fast gun with a Rhino hopper and a 12 oz co2 and the eyes sure speed it up.
The Evo is a reliable, accurate, fast gun, it is a perfect gun for the experienced sppedball player and it also works well for in the bush.
Conclusion: I give the Evo a 9 out of 10 because of the game timer which I don't like and the plastic trigger. But you can just get a new trigger.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tigersfan9205 Sunday, February 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Ion
Marker Setup: 2005 Pirhana evo, cp reg, macroline, extreme rage trigger, evil driver 14" solid black
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cp reg
New Bolt
hammer ( maybe)
new barrel
new trigger
Tboard
tboard chip
Strengths: Reliable fast if you want it to be
Weaknesses: blowback
stock reg
stock trigger
Bowbackb
Review: When i first bought this item it gave me a little trouble but soon got over it. when i firdt played it worked like a dream, shot fine the only thing i could maybe say was a prblem was the blowback. after a while i started trying to upgrade it so i could see what its real potential is. i love this gun and would recommend it to anyone who loves the sport.
Conclusion: Get this gun i am giving it an 8 because their is a lot missing when it is stock and when given upgrades can do alot of damage
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

piranha_ls8 Saturday, February 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom with responce.
Marker Setup: Smart parts feed neck, pmi trigger, evil detonator regulator and halo b.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Evil detonator adjustible feed neck and trigger.
Strengths: The strengths of the evo are its eyes
Weaknesses: Cant upgrade the electronics.
Review: The evo is a great tournament grade gun but it has no firing modes which sucks the old reg has got to go unless you are going to use compressed air cause the gun skips shots and when you go to turn down the reg it blows the o ring out when you put the Co2 back on and you should buy a halo b.
Conclusion: You should by the evo cause it is a cheap tournament gun
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 18th, 2006 at 9:58 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media