paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO

PMI Piranha 2005 EVO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha 2005 EVO

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha 2005 EVO
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $270

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New adjustable clamping feed neck.
Tournament grade electronic with integrated anti-chop eye.
Powered by CO2 or N2.
Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with spiral porting.
Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear-resistant teflon finish on all internal parts.
Threaded removable vertical feed, closed receiver.
Electro-mechanical trigger frame with LCD display, countdown timer, odometer, and anti-chop eye.
Powered by one 9-volt rechargeable battery (battery, car charger and wall charger included).
Custom vertical bottle adapter, DSR inline adjustable regulator with micro gauge.
15 + shots per second capability.
Manufacturer's 1-year limited warranty.
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha 2005 EVO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
PRO/CARBINEboni Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
No comparible guns
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO
with a t-board & an aluminum blade trigger fom extreme rage and a proto 14'' barrel & system-x 90/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Trigger
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Reiview
Review: -Pros-
The evo is a great gun, it comes stock with eyes to reduce ball breakage. Its got the DSR regulator and guage, the reg also has a special feature; if Co2 is used, it works as an expansion chamber. Teflon coated internals to reduce wear on the bolt and bolt wall. Battery and wall/car charger included. LCD displays a shot counter, game timer, and eye on/off indicator.

-Cons-
Eats up air very fast, and hates Co2. Includes only a 8.4 volt battery. The stock trigger is awful, it looks like sombody melted it into a shape of a melon.
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun to anybody than can afford to buy an N2 tank and a motorized hopper, With upgrades this gun has quite a bit of potntial, It'll hand up there with ions, spyders, basically anything. If you want to know where to buy upgrades or have any qustions, leave a comment

~Ryan
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Cahrox Wednesday, January 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen - Better than the Evo
Various Electronic Spyders
Autococker Trilogys
Marker Setup: PMI EVO 05
68/3000 Guerilla
16" Progressive
Evolution II
Evil Inline Reg
Psycobalistics Drop with On/off
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Blade Trigger
Lapco Feed Clamp
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Agitated Loader
Superfly Bolt is awesome
Blade Trigger
Strengths: Pretty Fast
Eyes = No chops
Customer Service
Great Price
Easy to navigate through the LCD
Weaknesses: Trigger is ackward
Kinda Loud idk
Barrel - Kinda
Review: Pros
-Speed: The Trigger space and wieght is awesome. Very easy to get shooting fast. My dad tried the gun and said he just touched the trigger and it started to go. At the chrono I was clocking in at about 12 - 16 BPS (with Evolution II) and around 275-305 FPS. I guess the inconsistency was just cause I was using it for the first time.

-Eyes: The Eyes are sweet. Like 1 chop (forgot to turn eyes on :p) at all at the field. I shot maybe 1500 rounds. Easy to turn on or off.

-Customer Service: Greatest Customer service in paintball. Everything is very easily explained. Will send you a part for free if it breaks. Nice people.

-Price: I got mine for 160$. Thats an electirc gun for the price of the Autococker Trilogy Sport. Great deal. Comes with battery, charger and barrel plug (get a barrel cover though).

-LCD: Kind of Small, but doesn't really matter. Easy to navigate with 3 buttons. Just read the manual first. Has On/off button for eyes. Game Clock (pretty much useless) and odometer (don't know when that'l come in handy). Beeps at the 30 second and end of game timer. Red light easy to tell if its on.

-Looks: It looks like a high end gun. Its got a sleed design and other crap. Guage (looks cool, but kinda sucks)

Other - Great Grip, Drop forward is okay, Stock bolt is good ( I recomend a Superfly) EAST MAINTENANCE.


Cons

-Trigger: Ackward and kind of hard to got going. Get a blade trigger. They work really great on the gun. Plastic too.

-Loudness and Kick: Not that loud, Dosn't really bug me at all, neither does the kick, but some people may not like it.

-barrel: Spins paintballs of to right, left, up, or down after about 50 feet. Get an Aftermarket.

Other- Pull Pin back before loading Air. It will leak. Sometimes doesnt shoot right either.
Conclusion: This is a great Marker. I bought mine online for 160$. Works Great. Shoots a paintball. Very easy to use. Great for intermediate players. GET AN AGITATED LOADER.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DA_1/2_Breed Tuesday, January 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: 2005 Evo, High Pressure Angel Reg, 14" proto barrel, High Pressure Crossfire Tank, and a Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Bolt
Strengths: Fast
Price
accuracy
Weaknesses: Cant adjust the trigger
On/off botton tuns on safety while playing
Review: I bought the evo when i just started to play paintball, i got it out of the box and charged it up. The next day I got some Paintballs and a 20 oz co2 tank and gravity hopper. At the time I did not know how to butterfly fire so it was slow with the hopper. it shot ok but not what i knew it could. I then got a eggy hopper and wow let me tell u learning how to butterfly fire with that hopper i think i got it up to about 10 bps with a +/- 10 fps. later this year i got a crossfire tank and a empire reloader b hopper and the 14" proto barrel, and the angel reg, and no it was getting up to 15bps easy at around +/- 5. the evo, for some reason does not like co2, it freezes the gun and is slow recharge time, it messed my gun all up. so i highy recomened the air tank and with the new reg I increased my bps up to abot 17bps. so when upgraded this gun kisks A$$.
Conclusion: For the price, and a few upgrades this gun rips and its a great starter gun for people who cant get those $1000 guns like the ego, or timmy or dm5.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yo soy el warg Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha 2k3 w/e-force grip frame, and the Piranha GTI also with E-force.
Marker Setup: Piranha Evo with FBM Choke Chain feedneck, Powerlyte Speedline, Shocktech Supafly bolt, Evil Valve Kit w/VL valve stem; NO LEAKS!, 32 degrees springs, Twisted Volumizer, CCM reg, Polished Hammer (did it myself; dremel owns) Custom Products rail and On/Off with a Crossfire 45/3000 tank. Oh, and the revvy, of course. 800 shots per fill, 210 psi for 300 fps.
Recommended
Upgrades:
...Lots
Shocktech Superfly bolt
Any kind of locking feedneck (IMPULSE FEEDNECKS FIT PIRANHAS!)
Stock barrel is ok, but a nice barrel always helps. Powerlyte Speedline rocks, btw
Different reg- torpedo and CCM regs are very nice.
Evil Valve kit with Viewloader valve stem/cup seal, or Boss cup seal
Polished Hammer, or if Apocalypse ever comes out with Magnum again then that's a must.
Fireball Mountain 3 pt. adjustable wave for Piranha's. VERY NICE.
Strengths: Cheap
Eyes
Field strip/noob compatible
Gauge
Stock barrel
LCD
CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Weaknesses: Bolt
Trigger
REGULATOR!
Review: I picked up my Evo on eBay for 170 shipped. Out of the box it has a very nice appearance; finish is very consistant, and the new 2k5 grip frame is much easier to walk than previous eForce trigger frames. Also the Evo comes with its own "spring kit", which was a nice inclusion. I put a new battery in it, and tested it out. To my amazement, the odometer didn't work on my Evo. ='( I called PMI, and they said send it in. In a one-week turnaround, I had a brand new grip frame. PMI tech support and customer service is literally the best.

Shooting: The stock barrel worked out very nicely, rather accurate and somewhat surprising. Good efficiency, and if you turn down the reg, less kick. It was incedibly easy to outshoot a revvy, and that got even easier after the FBM wave trigger.

Consistency: With Co2, the gun will chrono stock at about a +-15, which isn't all that bad, and with compressed air it will go about +-10. This can be easily fixed by replacing the DSR, or the stock reg. I have had bad experiences with the seals freezing with Co2 in crucial moments, so I really don't reccomend you stick with this reg if you're running Co2. Get a Torpedo or a CCM reg, these work well with Co2 and won't freeze on you.

The only real bad part about this gun is the stock bolt. It's aluminum and WILL scar the internal breech of the gun. I reccomend that after your first game or even before you shoot the Evo you REPLACE THE BOLT with a Shocktech Superfly or Boss Evo bolt. These are both delrin bolts that you can pick up for under $30, and will not scar your Evo. Also, the trigger can be hard to walk at times; if you're really looking for a nice edge, get the FBM wave or the Boss Blade.

Websites where you can easily get any and all upgrade parts I mentioned:

www.fbmfactory.com --- Very nice custom shop, check out their gallery. Awesome anno jobs.

www.bosspaintballproducts.com --- Formerly rjskateworks. RJ produces his own delrin bolts for 2k3 and Evo Piranhas and provides other various upgrades for the entire Piranha line of markers.
Conclusion: Overall, I love this gun. I've spent at least 200 in upgrades, but it was well worth it. My Evo runs at 210 psi, 300 fps, and I have NEVER chopped a ball in these first six months. I can't say the same for my 2k3, but it was also a very nice starter gun. If you're looking to get into tourney level play for cheap, definitely go for the Evo. It's reliable and easily upgradable, and after sweetspotting the reg there is almost no kick. Very nice gun overall.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

eternalmergy Tuesday, November 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
victor
ion
timmy
xtra
imagine
electra dx
srt
e-99
karni
ego
Marker Setup: evo with a
12 volt revvy
everything else is stock
Strengths: They have eyes, can go up to 17/sec , eyes, all u realli need
Weaknesses: The weight, maybe
Review: When i first got this gun i was runnin it off of co2. it worked pretty well. then when i got a nitro man this thing was a beast. i have a revvy on it and i am going to get either an egg or a halo b. i am goin too fast fo my hopper. my next upgrade is prolly gonna be a boss bolt or a t-board. this gun is pretty darn accurate. i have the special edition one with the silver to black dusted. it comes with a clamping feedneck drop , all the things in a high end.
Conclusion: This gun is friggin awesome great deal, all the things in a high end marker. this will last you for a long time
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rbequest Wednesday, October 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion and impy are pretty close. The evo blew both of them away
Marker Setup: ccm sponsor cocker w/ egg 2, 88/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything i've got: dye boomstick, q-lock, shocktech bolt, evil valve kit (would not recommend), detonator reg, delrin blade trigger, macroline kit., shocktech spring kit.
Strengths: Over 2000 shots with my 88/45
15bps
very upgradable
accurate
Weaknesses: First shot drop off
kick
Review: This is one of the best markers i have ever used. Although i did put over $500 into it, it still started off as just a piranha at 230 bucks. It has alot of kick, but that is just because of the valve and the type of gun it is. It is very accurate with the boomstick and detonator together, and the shocktech bolt greatly reduces ball breaks. The accuracy test came up with 18 out of 20 shots on 1 foot target at 30 yards, so not that bad. The eyes are nice to have on a cheap and simple gun like this. Even though they aren't the greatest in the world they are still nice to have. It hits 15 bps with relative ease, and now i belive you can get a t-board for it, so it would really rip.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this gun to most experience levels in paintball. For newbies, just the stock evo would work just fine for you. For beginning tournament players, with the list of upgrades i have on mine, this is an excellent marker to use. I have used mine in about 4 tournaments and it hits a guarunteed one person per match. It has its downs like any gun, which would be kick and minor leaks ( macroline kit helps alot) but the postives of this gun greatly outweigh the negatives.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

FishyFrontMan Sunday, September 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year46 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Spyder clones, Owned a mech cocker for 5 years, team members have angel speeds, an ebladed freeflow, and an ego, and I also now own an E-cocker and a 2K5 shocker
Marker Setup: 2005 Piranha evo
Evil detonator regulator
32 degrees flame drop
evil on/off asa
pipe kit
FBM 3-way adjustable trigger
empire reloader B
Evil delrin bolt
clamping feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Take a look at my setup if you want the most out of your evo, the most important upgrades I got were the trigger and the bolt though.
Strengths: Incredibly reliable
almost zero maintenance
accuracy
rate of fire (with new trigger)
breakbeam eyes
price
Weaknesses: Mediocre gas efficiency
People don't respect the Piranha name
Lengthy battery charge time
Review: To begin, take note that I used my evo for a year, I didn't "just test it" or have it for one week. I played on average two times a week with it as well, so it was well used. I will address the five main things you should look for in a paintball gun and how they apply to the evo: accuracy, rate of fire, reliability, maintenance, and aesthetics. Note that range is determined entirely by velocity unless a force other than gravity and momentum is put on the ball (as with the flatline) so it makes no difference in this review.

Accuracy: The accuracy of the evo was astounding with its stock barrel. With three different types of paint, it had no noticeable difference in accuracy from an ego with a J and J edge barrel kit. With the fourth type of paint it was slightly less accurate. With the Pipe kit there is no gun that could be credibly said to be much more accurate. It is worth mentioning that the stock barrel has the same porting as the PMI razzor, which is perhaps the key to its accuracy.

Rate of fire: The evo's board is capped at 20 balls per second, so there are faster guns out there. The question is can their operator get past 20 balls a second? I know nobody who can do it without either bouncing or ramping. With the FBM trigger, I was able to consistently get to 14-15 balls per second. When I tweaked the trigger so it bounced mechanically, I was able to reach the 20 BPS cap. People love to tell me I didn't, but it doesn't make much sense for me to brag to people I will never see nor hear from again. Believe me, I have reached the cap with the help of bounce.

Reliability: I go to a field that uses Piranha GTIs as rentals (GTIs are the same as evos but without a few critical upgrades such as eyes and a better board), so that should speak volumes about the reliability of the evo. I, in my year tenure with the evo, never had a problem with it that wasn't solved within 2-3 minutes. Literally. If I broke balls, I changed detents, it was as simple as that. I never had a problem other than broken or misfed balls.

Maintenance: Regular maintenance took usually about 4-5 minutes with my evo. Because of my self-lubricating delrin bolt, the hammer was the only part of the gun that required maintenance. Every third time I played, I would put a synthetic, non-petroleum based grease on it. Every month I would break the gun totally down and clean the valve and all of the nooks and crannies between things. This usually took a little longer, more like 20 minutes. If you use the stock bolt, you must lube that too, adding about a minute to your maintenance time. The beauty of the evo lies in its simplicity and ease of access. 80% of the pneumatic internals can be accessed by pushing a pin out of the side of the gun. Keep in mind that the pin is slightly recessed, so it cannot be accidentally pushed out.

Aesthetics: The evo isn't a bad looking gun in my opinion, but it is a spyder clone and it is a Piranha, so people are bound to not like the look of it. I consider weight an aesthetic because a few grams aren't going to slow you down in a run or prevent you from moving it fast enough. It wasn't heavy, but it wasn't light either. There are definitely lighter guns out there.

Conclusion: The evo has a reliable platform, can fire 20 balls per second, has breakbeam eyes, and an lcd screen. This is excellent for a gun of this price. It is also worth mentioning that it has a lifetime warranty and its company has one of the best customer service reputations in the industry.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 14th, 2006 at 6:35 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

DANNN Wednesday, August 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap electronic something or another...
Marker Setup: Piranha Evo 2005
VL Revvy
Smartparts Progressive 14"
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New trigger
-Nitro (If you don't have it)
Strengths: -Good design
-Eye works well
-Gun works well
-Great stock barrel
Weaknesses: -Eye covers suck
-Decals fall off easily
-Not the best on CO2
Review: A good gun, a great gun actauly, just it forces you to get Nitro because it doesn't work very good with CO2. Pain in the ass but rather then that the only problem is some screws fall out sometimes, easily fixable just a pain if you don't notice them fall out.
Conclusion: A great gun, a few flaws, but every gun has flaws.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fvhjr Tuesday, August 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Shocktech feedneck, Evil Driver Barrel, Evlution II "the egg"
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade the feedneck.
Barrel is ok, might want to upgrade later.
Trigger needs to be upgraded to a blade trigger.
Strengths: Very fast and fairly accurate.
Field stripping is made easy with 1 key lock.
Weaknesses: The FEEDNECK! Everything else is resonable, just that feedneck really needs to be replaced.
Review: I definately recommend the PMI Evo 2005. I have owned one for about 3 months and I love it. I have used a Spyder Rodeo with the Rocking Trigger, and an A-5 customized, but out of the box, the Evo is very recommended. I specifically like the high rate of fire like their site states at 15bps. Fast enough to keep up with "high priced" markers. The stock barrel has a very descent distance and accuracy. The 1 key lock for fieldstripping I specially loved. This made it real easy for me to lube the o-rings and the bolt. The regulator is ok, you dont really have to have the best. Its ready to go straight out of the box. What I really liked that PMI did, is that they put a recharable battery with it, wall charger, and a car charger. 3 spring kits for different speeds, and a repair kit. Now that is good customer service.
Conclusion: Overall, I really love my PMI Evo 2005 and I would definately recommend this marker to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kitler Sunday, August 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: PMI Evo 2005 progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Springs
Strengths: The ACS is very nice.
shoots fast

Weaknesses: None
Review: The second time I played with this gun the bottom part of the grip broke but I dont care cause You can just use some super glue. Plus It held up against 5 hours of banging. You'll need new springs because the ones the gun comes with are either very low or very high
Conclusion: This gone is very nice I would tell anyone to get this gun. Even tho its kinda high in price. 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media