paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Vortex Fan II / JT Vortex Fan II / JT Vortex Fan II / JT Vortex Fan II

JT Vortex Fan II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Vortex Fan II

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Vortex Fan II
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 6.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Newer upgraded version of the JT Vortex mask fan.
Product Availability 
The JT Vortex Fan II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
1kureckert Monday, November 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision Turbine Goggle Fans;
Proto Goggle fan;
Extreme Rage goggles with built-in fan
Marker Setup: 26 A-5s in various configurations with remotes, etc. (I loan out my stuff for people to use.)
4 Tacamo Type IIs
Strengths: Really effective at preventing fog
Weaknesses: Usually loud - see review
Review: They are very effective at preventing fog. I and a lot of my friends sweat a lot. Without fans, we wouldn't be able to play - period. Never had a complaint from anyone about fog while using these fans.

Nevertheless, I own 20 of these fans, which I use primarily on the JT Nforcer goggles. Of those 20, only 5 are what I would consider quiet. That's 25%. On my Extreme Rage goggles with the built-in fan, 8 out of 8 were quiet. For my Dye Invision Goggle fans, 3 out of 4 were quiet. The Proto fan was noisy and useless.

The noise is so loud on the non-quiet JT fans that they are, by far, the loudest fans I have - so much so that some of my friends refuse to use them. The shrieking sound they make when they don't work right is just hard to get used to.

Conclusion: In short, they are a great fan; but, from my experience, you got a 25% chance of getting a decently quiet one.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

aj099 Thursday, September 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none just crap mask that get fogged
Marker Setup: tippman a5 e grip
14 progresive barrel
m4 stock
guerilla hpa tank
with remote
red dot sight
Strengths: no fog at all none
turn it on AND BAM!! the fog is gone
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: I am a big guy i give off alot of body heat and every mask i would try within minutes there was fog so bad i couldnt see s!%*t no matter what i did so i decided to buy my own mask i paid like only 50$ for my mask its a cheap jt one and i got this fan for 40$
and i go to paintball no fog ever none i turned the fan off to check it out fog came turn it back on and the fog is gone within 30 seconds now i hear people talk s**t about this fan saying is so loud they can hear it from far away well if u are sitting in a quiet room ur gonna hear it but out in the paintball field no way people say it gives away ur postion not at all u can barely hear it 3 feet away and then some people say when ur wearing it you cant even hear what your friend is saying i heard everything that day i had no problem at all just put a bit of oil in the fan it gets even quieter this fan is just great you will never have fog it give you a nice cool brease through your hair and goggles
some people even complain that its so hard to install well they must be mechanically challenged it takes 2 seconds to pop it on and off this is definetly the best paintball thing i have bought
Conclusion: Its just great if you have bad fog problems or just hate fog get it it works perfect and like i said im a big guy i give off alot of heat running around and i get seveare fog but this cured my problem with that and it fits under the visor of ur mask so its hidden just see a little button
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ishii-kun Saturday, April 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stock SP-1
Strengths: Keeps your Goggles from Fogging up, Water proof, Fits all JT goggles,
Weaknesses: Loud!
Review: this fan is extremely loud, I've had it on while my teammate is screaming in my ear and I could barely make out what he was saying. Sure, its not that loud 10 ft or so away, but thats no good when you're trying to hear what your team is saying.

It is somewhat difficult to install but doesn't require any special tools or anything and will not jar loose during play.

It is waterproof which I tested out a few weeks ago when I went playing in a heavy rain storm.

Will blow air in or pull it out at the flick of a switch (though determining which way is which is somewhat difficult)
Conclusion: The cons out weigh the pros on this one, so unless you don't plan on communicating with your team then I would not recommend this product
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IdtSup Monday, April 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Helmet Mask
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Flatline+RT+Cyclone Feed, Tippmann 98 Custom, J&J Ceramic Sniper, Electri Hopper
Strengths: Anti Fog and cool (not cold) breeze from the top of the mask.
Weaknesses: Noise. Once you are in the action you cant hear it at all.
Review: Im sweet when I run around so I needed a fix. Thermal Lens with this FAN. Works like a charm. I flipped on the fan and in seconds I was back in action. I left my gloves on because I have the ones with my fingers tips are cut off. Next Im going to set this up on my Helmet mask.

The fan is removable and can be placed on another mask. The fan fits under the visor so you shouldnt worry about it getting hit or wet.

I recommend this fan to everyone because its gets the job done.

I agree with others that you need the thermal lens just in case.

Update: 11/17/07 Skirmish USA
Worked great. Did its job. I cant say it does away with the fog but it minimizes 95% of it. I have a Thermal Lens and if I played three games back to back I had an issue. Gave it a few minutes then back to mornal.
Conclusion: Buy Buy Buy....and did I say Buy!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 19th, 2007 at 1:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sbenton Tuesday, February 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT with response trigger, J&J ceramic barrel.
Strengths: Works well with a thermal lens.
Weaknesses: Noise for the user. Not effective for a standard lens.
Review: I purchased this fan for my JT Elite full head shield not long after I started playing paintball regularly. With the stock single lens it was almost useless, probably because of the small volume of air it moves. That changed when I upgraded to a thermal lens for my helmet. The replacement Elite thermal lenses WILL eventually fog given enough time and the right conditions. That's where the fan is worthwhile. I turn it on for a few moments at the first sign of fogging and it clears my thermal lens quickly. I don't leave it running as it does cut down on what I'm able to hear inside my mask.
Conclusion: Based on my experience, this fan is of little value for a standard single lens, but it is worthwhile when used in conjunction with a thermal lens to clear the occasional fogging that can occur.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann98paint Monday, February 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used any other fan...but i priced other masks and fans
Marker Setup: I use a 14" Smart Parts Tear Drop on my Tippmann model 98. I just recently added a custom made drop forward.
Strengths: Batteries last, clears fog
Weaknesses: Humid or wet days
Review: I've used the vortex ever since i've had fogging problems...it works awesome...but if you get a humid or rainy day...it doesn't always work. It's quiet unless you're standing right next to someone...so noise won't be a problem. I recommend this to anyone who has fogging problems...It's a little pricy...I payed $30.
Conclusion: Buy it if you have a jt compatable mask and are having fogging problems.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 18th, 2007 at 10:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rand Friday, January 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Ion: All American Barrel, 32 Flame Drop Fwd with ON/OFF, Smart Parts Clamp Feed Neck

Cocker: STO Ram, STO 3-way, Palmer Rock Reg, Perfect Cradle Drop, Polished Internals, Hinge Frame, Trigger Cam, 14 inch JJ Ceramic, 14 inch ACI Combo

98 Custom (woods gun): Flatline, Razzor
Strengths: Light, durable, easy to install, easy on batteries
Weaknesses: Loud to the person using it.
Review: I bought one of these fans when I bought my Flex 7...about 3 years ago. I always had problems with my glasses fogging before I bought this fan. It does a great job. The fan has two speeds- low, and high. I usually keep it on the low setting because the high setting is a little loud. Loud...yeah, this thing is noisy. Just to the player wearing it though- your opponents will not be able to hear you unless they are right on top of you...then it's too late anyway. They are durable...mine has been hit more than I care to admit. Retail on these things is ridiculous...somewhere around $45.00. Look around online...I got mine for $20.00. For that much money they are a good thing to have.
Conclusion: All in all a nice little fan. Keep it on low though or it can be a little noisy!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Caddy24Roy Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
NONE
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
LAPCO feedneck
14" J&J S2 Ceramic Barrel
Extreme Rage Overdrive Modified Electric Hopper
Heavy Duty Remote Coil
20 oz tank
Stranj 6 + 1 harness
6 Stranj Locking Lid Pods
Jt Proteus Mask with Vortex 2 Fan
Strengths: Great at removing fog in 10 - 20 seconds
Easy to install.
Weaknesses: Just a little noise out of the package. A little oil will fix that.
Review: Well I like to play year round and lately my Jt Alpha elite would fog up so I decide I needed a fan. I read all the reviews on this fan before I purchased it. So I ordered this fan from ebay for 25 bucks. I got it and right out of the package the fan was a little loud. From reading other reviews most of them said to add a little oil to the fan and no more noise. THIS IS SO TRUE!!!!!!!!! You must oil the fan to reduce the noise. After doing that I installed the fan on the masks in under 5 minutes. I dont know what the big fuss is about installing the fan but I had no problems at all. I put my mask on and ran around the house 3 or 4 times stopped and waited for the mask to fog. As soon as it did i hit the switch and it was gone in 10 - 20 seconds. Wow!!! What a relief since I play year round and Now no more fog for ME!!!!!!!!!! My daughter got me the Jt proteus for fathers day. Just put the fan on it and same story. NO FOG FOR ME!!!!!!!
Conclusion: This fan is a great purchase if you wear glasses or play in humid conditions. I got mine off ebay for 25 bucks.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 21st, 2006 at 6:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MDW_DH Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro + HP + Freak 16' barrel
Strengths: Size. Power. Stealth.
Weaknesses: Price.
Review: I bought it 3 weeks ago. Most of users says it's loud.
Yes, it is, but it gets NOISELESS after dropping some oil on the fan. 2-3 drops and it's so stealth that you can barely hear it.

What can I say? It really rocks. 20 seconds and the fog is gone in every conditions. I don't use the option for sucking the heat out, i only use first one. That cool breeze is really cool, and having it on the face while crawling in 30'C degrees is neat.

I use it all the time during shootouts. Never turn it off actually. I don't have to. After dropping some oil it's really noiseless, so you can hear breaking shrubs or other noises made by enemy.

Great for snipers, campers, but also for brave infantry or always moving reconnaissance.
Conclusion: What can I say - Fog gone in less than minute for less than 40$? I'm happy. You'll be happy too. But you must remember about oiling in from time to time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Da Old Chief Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ProtoTurbo
Marker Setup: A5 w/E-Grip, flatline, red dot, drop forward, cammo'ed, & modified action (#1 gun) or;
98C, w/resp trigger, expansion, modified flatline, turbo-hopper, stock (cuctom SNIPER), cammo'ed, & modified action, (heavy backup gun) or;
98C w/16" CMI barrel, turbo-hopper, cammo'ed (light weight - long range gun)
Strengths: NOTHING - hard to mount, super difficult to replace batteries, ultra low air flow
Weaknesses: LOUD - had to cut fan hole into my mask to make work - a little.
Review: This fan is just above your one eye so only that eye gets some very "lil" breeze. It sucks your hot moist forehead/face air and blows it onto your glasses lens. You got to take your mask a part everytime you need to change the battery. If you wear contact lens it might help your inside mask face plate for one eye but forget it if you wear glasses!!! The fan CFM is way to low for any practical use with glasses.

I'm the old man x-Nam Vet and Sr. Engineer. All the current fan system that fit above the face mask are flawed as they take in your hot moist body heat and blow it upon my glasses/mask lens. They are all "LOUD" killing stealth sniper hearing/OPs. It is usually HOT/humid where I play and no matter what I do I'm plagued with severe mask/glasses condensation. No, low air volume fan works especially this one. All current fan systems stink as I suspect the designers do not where glasses just like I've found with mask makers.
Conclusion: Don't buy it you will be disappointed! They need to place the fan behind the users head (or on the belt - better) and use plastic >0.5" air-duct tubes attached to the head straps (to both sides) of the mask.This will remove most all the noise from near the face/ears. But you do not want to increase the rear weight on the head strap pulling the mask out of place on the users head. So place the battery in a belt pouch (allows for bigger 12V type battery) with an easy access 100% speep/powerd control (like a blower voltage potentiometer). Use a 2.5-3" BLOWER not a 1" mini-fan that has NO CFM - get >10CFM into the mask to each eye.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 29th, 2006 at 6:06 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media