paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Vortex Fan II / JT Vortex Fan II / JT Vortex Fan II / JT Vortex Fan II

JT Vortex Fan II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Vortex Fan II

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Vortex Fan II
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 6.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Newer upgraded version of the JT Vortex mask fan.
Product Availability 
The JT Vortex Fan II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
nerdcore Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Homemade fan on my Prowler (Skull) - stronger but uses two 9 volts.
Marker Setup: Matrix LCD
14" Freak Jr kit
TMC/Trauma Eyes
Tadao 1.1
Aardvark Tenticle
SP Q-Lock
CP Rail
CP 2k5 on/off
Z-Boarded Egg
Crossfire 68/45k
Strengths: Defogs ok
Looks good
Can blow air in or suck air out
Weaknesses: Loud
Reverse setting (air out) does nothing
Review: After using my Prowler (Skull) for a while, i decided to upgrade my old Flex 7 with soft ears and this Vortex II.

Out of the package, the fan is super loud. Someone else's review suggested oiling (paintball oil will do) which helped, although it was hard to get the oil in there (had to drip 4-5 drops in between the fan blades & tilt it to let it flow onto the fan shaft, then laid the Vortex upside down).

Despite it's initial loudness, it defogged ok. My homemade fan on my Prowler defogged quicker but it DOES have a 1x1 inch cpu case fan running on two 9 volts - think A/C for your eyeballs. My suggestion with the Vortex II is oil it then flip it on (air in NOT air out) before a game starts. The oil should keep it quiet & the constant air circulation should prevent any fogging.
Conclusion: Ok product, although JT charges too much for it. If you can, try to get it used or just make your own ( two 25x25mm laptop case fans hooked up to one 9V will fit nicely on the JT Spectra series).
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NuSkool Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto "Turbine" Fan
Marker Setup: WGP 2002 STO Autococker (CUSTOM Anodized):
-Planet Eclipse "E2" Trigger Frame
-Planet Eclipse "Zero B" Upgrade Board
-Planet Eclipse Samurai 2 Trigger
-Planet Eclipse "Reflective" Infared Anti-Chop Eye
-Planet Eclipse Electronic 5-Way/3-Way
-Kapp 5-Way/3-Way Hose w/ "Top Hats"
-Karnivor Valve Assembly
-WGP Worr-Blade "Lockdown" Hammer Kit
-WGP "STO" Inline Regulator
-WGP "MP-4" Ram (2 Built-In T.R.V/Q.E.V....lightweight AND Compact)
-WGP "Tickler" LPR (Low Pressure Regulator)
-WGP Worr-Blade Bolt
-WGP "Black Magic" Pull-Pin
-Custom Products "Flamed Drop" Forward
-Custom Products On/Off w/Bleed
-WGP Pump-Rod
-WGP "Black Magic" Cocking Rod
-Dye Beaver-Tail
-Redz "Q-Lock" Clamping Feedneck
-WGP Braided-Steel Hose
-WGP 45-Degree Stainless-Steel Elbows/Fittings
-WGP "Black Magic" 2-Piece Barrel (14inch)
-Evil Pipe Barrel Kit (14inch)

www.AnarkystPaintball.com
Strengths: Reduces Fog, Provides a Cool Breeze, Quiet
Weaknesses: Sound can be annoying
Review: I placed this item into my JT Spectra "Flex-7" IZE, and noticed a significant difference. The amount of fog was reduced by at least 70%, and I was cooled down by the fan itslef!!!!! The fan runs on a single "AAA" battery, and lasts (the battery) a very long time. It is very quiet, but the sound can get a bit annoying. They are easy to install, or to remove, so you won't have to worry about that.
Conclusion: A great buy, especially for anybody with a "Spectra Series" JT mask. It does it's job, and it does it well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SunyJim Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Home built computer cpu fan direct wired to 9 volt snap on, Battery and fan mounted on the visor. So Quiet YOU hardly know it's running, but clears the mask in seconds.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom with Flatty, response and drop, PMI Traccer pump with 7oz tank -stock
Strengths: Small professional looking unit.
Weaknesses: Damn this is so LOUD! out of the package.
Review: I thought this was the answer to the poorly designed PROTEUS (aka fogmaster 2000) but it was so loud out of the package. The answer from a paintball forum was to unscrew the body of the vortex and add paintball oil to the fan, then wow, so quiet.
So must be something with a few bad batches not being oiled properly.
Conclusion: Great idea, but my homebuilt job beats the mofo out of it hands down.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 29th, 2006 at 11:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Aslan2005 Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: .68 Automag Classic w/Level 10 upgrade
KAPP Rhino Drop, Check-it ON/OFF, AGD gas-thru foregrip
Dye Aluminum 16" barrel
Strengths: Compact
Works
Cheap (price)
Weaknesses: "Fit" issues
doesn't handle direct hits well
Cheap (quality)
Review: This fan works okay. For the money, it does provide some relief of fogging.

However, there are few main issues with this mask.

1) It doesn't fit well on masks that have a forehead guard like the Elite X-Fire which is a very common mask. I could get it to fit, but had to use a twist tie to hold the middle in place.
2) It works better than I thought, and well for the price...but it is a very small fan and will not handle your fogging issues completely.
3) Mine suffered a direct hit the first or second game out and made a weird noise afterwards. It made a sort of loud, weird noise before it was hit, but the direct shot made it worse.

Contrary to popular opinion, it is not loud enough to "give away your position"...but it is loud enough that it'll bother you and give you a headache after awhile.
Conclusion: It works well enough to try, maybe in tandom with anti fog spray or preferably a thermal lens. This product is FAR inferior to purchasing a thermal lens, but will help a little.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paulknoch Sunday, November 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Special Ops A5A2 with E-grip, Lapco Big shot barrel
Strengths: Easy to install. 30 hours of operation from one AAA battery. Works great!
Weaknesses: It's too easy to accidentally switch the fan on in your gear bag.
Review: I bought this fan after I continued having fogging problems with my JT thermal mask. I play in the Pacific Northwest where humidity is a problem. Plus, I sweat like a pig.

The fan is easy to install. Just line up the holes on your mask with the four prongs and push it in. I found that I could switch the fan on and off even when I was wearing a light pair of gloves.

The fan sounds loud.. at least to you. Its really not but it could prevent you from hearing your team mates call to you so I don't leave it on. I just switch it on an off periodically if I feel like the mask is beginning to fog. It pulls or sucks air through the mask depending on which way you toggle the switch. Cool air comes in and the fog goes away.

I now have a JT Vortex II fan in each of my masks.
Conclusion: If you hate fogging (like me) get a JT thermal mask and the Vortex II fan. You won't be sorry.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Howlin' Mad Saturday, August 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
32 Degrees Terminator Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Adco IMP
Response Trigger
Shocktech Front Bolt
Black Dye Sticky Grips
BT Sealed Bolt System
Custom Paint job
Polished Internals
Pure energy coiled remote
Strengths: -Prevents fogging.
-ISNT loud.
Weaknesses: -A little bit hard to remove.
Review: Pros-
-Prevents fogging- Thses make a nice little breeze on your lenses to prevent them from heating up and fogging. Combine these with thermal lenses and you'll completley forget about fogging.

-ISNT Loud- This isnt loud. It seems like it when its close to your face, but its hard to hear from a distance.

Cons-
-A little hard to remove- It's a little hard to pop off your mask. Im afraid one of the pins that holds in place will snap off.
Conclusion: This a good upgrade for any JT masks. id reccommend combining this with thermal lenses too.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBcommando Wednesday, May 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other fans
Marker Setup: JT Protium
Evil Driver Barrel
PMI 20 oz C02 tank with Smart Parts on/off switch
Strengths: Life of battery
NEEDED w/ glasses
Weaknesses: Little pricy for functionality
Disappointing
Review: I bought the fan because I had fogging problems.

PRICE:
$30 Clear, $35 Black

INSTALLATION:
Fits on all the new masks, take visor off, put on, put visor off. Done. Uses one AAA (or AA?) battery.

FOG EXTRACTION:
Not bad, but it could be better. Fog usally gone in 30 seconds.

NOISE:
If you're big on stealth, you may be disappointed. Your opponents cannot here the fan run. However, it sounds like a jet taking off in your goggles. Use sparingly as a result.

DURABILITY:
Mine is still going strong, but you need to be careful as a player. I know 2 examples (bought at about the same time) and the switches broke, making the fan inoperable.
Conclusion: Disappointed with relaibility and noise level, but I need it (have glasses), even WITH THERMAL LENS.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

evalha07 Wednesday, May 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other mask fans.
Marker Setup: Tippman A5 with Flatline, Tactical Harness, Palmers male stabilizer, polished internals, flatline quick change kit, E-grip, trigger mods, RVA, maddmann springs.
Strengths: Effective. Light. Quiet.
Weaknesses: Price. Not quick to uninstall.
Review: This fan rocks....when used with a thermal lens, you should never really have any fog issues. When there is fog, turn it on for about 30 seconds, and it is gone. If you have just cleaned your mask and there is water inside, it will dry it out! Also feels refreshing to have a breeze inside your mask.

You do usually have to take your gloves off to flip the small switch to operate it.

This fan is not loud. Yes, when it is three inches from your ear, it seems loud, but stand 10 feet away and you cannot hear it.

I have yet to expose my fan to heavy rain, but it is somewhat enclosed since it fits under your visor.

This baby costs like 30+ so it isn't cheap, but if you have fog problems, get it. Honestly, you should get a thermal lens first, then if problems persist, get the fan. I have both just to make sure I am 100% fog free all the time.

Not all that fast to install and uninstall, but isn't too bad.





Conclusion: It works. It is very small and light. If you hate fog, get this and a thermal lens.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media