paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit

BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit

Paintball A-5 Barrels and Barrel Adapters

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 5.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
12 inch barrel, encased in a plastic mold that is adjustable according to how the barrel mounts to your A-5. And a heavy frontsite that also adjusts to keep it in line with your marker. The frontsite allows for a sling to be mounted.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
heartbreakid14 Monday, May 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
16 inch barrel
flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 e grip,responce trigger,remote coil,removed trigger gaurd
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: It breaks easy
Review: this barrel may look cool but really its not that great it shoots stright and clear but it was a waste of money frist my frount W sight fell of and it was re-guled like no tomarow. honestly i was very disapointed if you want one i wont stop you but i recomend a good 16 inch barrel. especily if you play woodsball the M16 barrel can't be slammed around to hard or it breaks
Conclusion: Dont buy it breaks easly
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nootz Tuesday, December 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 Flatline
Marker Setup: BT-4 SWAT:
-BT-16 Barrel kit
-BT Bi-pod
-Tippmann Verticle Grip
-BT e-Grip
-Extreme Rage Overdrive hopper
-BT 45 degree picatinny/weaver rail (on top of foregrip)
-Walther 2x30 RD scope (mounted on BT rail)

Tippmann A-5:
-A5 Flatline barrel
-A5 Response Trigger
-OpsGear sight riser
-OpsGear Gas-Thru UMP magazine
-OpsGear folding G36 stock
-SoftAir 1x28 RD reticle
-Tippmann Cyclone LP hopper

Sidearm: Tiberius Arms Tac8
Strengths: -Very durable
-Easy disassembly
-Easy to adjust sight alignment
Weaknesses: -Sometimes difficult to access set screws
-Difficult to adjust iron sight
Review: This barrel kit will make any Tippmann or BT marker look kick ass. The only performance difference you'll see is that you MIGHT get an extra 2 feet out of the distance.

Unlike some of the other reviews may have said, the shroud comes apart quite easily. All you have to do is first pull back on the delta ring (the angled ring where the barrel attaches to the marker), pull the handguard/fore grip away from the barrel, then under the delta ring there will be a set screw, just unscrew this with an allen wrench and slide it off towards the threads, also, on the iron sight, there will be a set screw under the sling loop. Just unscrew this and slide it toward the rear of the barrel toward the threads.

If you put the barrel on for the first time and find that the sight is off, just loosen the set screws and line them up with your rear sight and tighten them again.

The shroud is very durable, and can take multiple hits without breaking.

The only weaknesses I've noticed is that the front set screw is sometimes hard to get at because the sling loop is directly over top of it. Also, the front iron sight is a little hard to adjust because you need something to not only hold down the set pin, but also something to turn the sight to the left or right (left=up & right=down).
Conclusion: If you're looking for a wicked milsim barrel in the design of a carbine AR-15/M4, this is the barrel to go for. Definitely durable, and just so easy to use.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kevin11 Sunday, July 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cermaics
Boomstick
Whisper
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5 response
14'' BT m-4 barrel
tapco car stock
squishy paddels
sight rail

tippmann 98 custom response
16'' full tilt ceramic
tapco car stock
double trigger
evlution 2 w/ y-bored
rocket cocker II
drop forward

Strengths: Looks awsome
Accurate if toned right
Range
Weaknesses: Cost
Heavy
Review: I got this barrel with my A-5 when i bought it. i figured this barrel is really good cause i had seen it used before and i was right i will test a barrel when i get it on a telephone pole from about 100 feet when i get one and this barrel will hit the pole 8 outta 10 times on single shot but on full auto it gets about 4 or 5 which is fine by me cause if im going full auto alot more then 10 balls are coming at you yes it cost about $120 which sucks for monst but mine came on it you can get a tippmann m-4 barrel which is better for i thingk around $70 so try that but this is a great barrel its a good solid barrel even the plastic grips are some thick stuff i dropped my a-5 once or twice and its still fine but yeah great barrel and if you want an m-4 look id go with it
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel if you want a good barrel with a military look
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 20th, 2008 at 8:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RhinoSanderson Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 basic
Strengths: Looks really cool
Weaknesses: Cheap quality.
Everything on it breaks.
Review: I BABY my paintball gear, and after buying a new A5, I decided to go with the MilSim look and get this barrel. After only 4 days of playing with it, the forgrip came loose from the barrel and started to spin. The metal piece at the front (that sits between the front sight, and the forgrip) fell off and was just sitting there loose. The whole damn thing just came apart.

Next thing I noticed, the metal piece that you put the sling through broke off. Lovely.

The front sight uses a set screw to hold it to the barrel. As you can imagine, if the front sight ends up spinning a bit on the barrel, you will end up with NASTY gouges on the outside of the barrel as a result of the set screw. BT should have used a clamp design that would not damage the barrel.

How did it shoot? With good quality paint it was so-so. Grouping was not very tight in my opinion. I got a few outs with it, but most of my shots were curve balls.

The barrel is ported in the middle....which pretty much defeats the 14 inch length. The inside was shiny, but not a "mirror finish". I imagine this is a pretty cheap barrel to manufacture.

I don't abuse my gear. I take care of it. I don't throw my markers around, and I rarely bang it into things. (Such as bunkers). Even if I was rough with my gear, this barrel should have still stayed together.

I was really thinking of getting the BT M16 Apex barrel, but I don't trust that companies barrels any more.

Stay away from the BT M16 barrel.
Conclusion: Don't bother with this barrel. It looks badass, but thats about it. Do yourself a favor and pick up a quality barrel, such as the Lapco Bigshot, then if you want the milsim look, pick up an aftermarket forgrip and front sight. It might cost more, but at least you will end up with a quality set-up.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SJMMC Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 barrel
Marker Setup: A-5
Response Trigger
Collapsable Stock
BT-16 Barrel Kit
CO2
Strengths: Front sight post
Longer barrel
Looks
Weaknesses: Small set screw underneath hard to find
Plastic feel of hand guards
Review: Got this new off EBAY for $51. I don't know why anyone would pay the $120 it retails for. I figured I was going to get a barrel and front sight post anyway and would pay around $70 for those so getting both at his price was worth it. But not at first. I had a bad experience putting it on and then I found the small allen screw underneath the sight. Things lined up after that. But frustrating at first.

The durability remains to be seen, but first impression isn't good. And really that is unacceptable from something that is supposed to be $120 and is supposed to go on a Tippmann - renowned for durability! But perhaps I'm only judging a book by its cover. We shall see.

I can't comment on the barrel effect on the shot just yet, but will edit my review after I get a chance to take it to the field.
Conclusion: THINK before you buy this!
My first impression is it's an over priced barrel with some plastic parts that will break. Perhaps just getting a decent $30-40 barrel and front sight post would have been the way to go, but for the $51 I spent I can't complain too much. Glad I didn't spend $120 though!

If you are set on buying this barrel kit, be forewarned you will want an offset for the cyclone hopper to be able to use the front sight post.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 20th, 2006 at 5:13 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Matt6996 Thursday, May 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 w/ m16 barrel
Strengths: Looks, accuracy, range
Weaknesses: The front sight is a little too high
Review: The first time I went out to use it, I couldn't really see how it's accuracy was because I went to PBC, and the field is too small. So i went to paintball nation, and man does this rock. Before the roound would start and the reff would be explaining the rules, i would shoot from one end of the field to the other, and when i walked over to see where i hit, the marks were all with in 4 inched apart, no joke. Another thing I really like about this barrel is it's looks. When I went to the field, it was only my 4'th time on the field, and the kid's their thought i was pro. They were like, be on green team and everything. I also got a lot more respect with this barrel. Also, with this barrel you can put the bt bipod on it, this is the only barrel that will fit it, or you can go out, buy a barrel, then the shroud. One thing that i didnt like about this barrel, was that the sight is too high. I ignore this by useing the front sight on the gun to look through, and the sight on the barrel just to line up my shoots. The last thing I like about this barrel is that you can change the position of the shroud and sight. If you want the sight fully upward, the you can put it there. If you want the sight a bit to the let or right, you can put it their. And if you want you shroud so that the holes are in a different direction to attach something, you can put it their. All you have to do is lossen two allen head, put everything where you want it, the tighten it all up. It is so easy.
Conclusion: I reccomend this barrel to anyone who wants a barrel wiith accuracy, a barrel with range, and a barrel with looks. But if you want all of the above for a bit more money, the buy a freak kit and the shroud. And one more thing, to everybody who thinks that this barrel is just a tube, their are porting holes inside of the shroud.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 4th, 2006 at 4:53 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LONG_SHOT Wednesday, May 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A5 stock barrel
16 inch smart parts proggressive
Marker Setup: A5
Smart Parts Proggressive 16" barrel
PMI coiled remote w/slide check
20 oz CO2
NXE 4+1 harness
Strengths: Looks pretty cool
Great for milism
Weaknesses: $100+ price point
easily breaks
hard to find matching paint (large bore)
Picky with paint
Review: Keep in mind, I never owned this barrel. I did get to shoot with it, and watch my friend play with it on many occasions. He bought pretty much because of its cool look, and it went with his ironsight and stock to look like an M16. It did well in that field, it was an accurate representation of the M16 barrel.

The only part of the recreation that it failed to fulfill on was the durability of an M16. After a few uses, part of the front sight on the barrel just broke off for no reason, rendering the barrel very hard to use since a large sight was sticking out of the side of the barrel. In addition to this, it is very large bored (.692) and it is hard to find GOOD paint for this size bore. To make it worse, it is very picky and will not perform well unlesss there is a perfect paint match. There was no problem with the gun, because after the sight broke off, he used my friends 14 inch stiffi, and it worked more than perfect.
Conclusion: With this product, you will not be getting even half of what you pay for. It is possible that the barrel's sight could have been fixed rather easily if we bought the screws or whatever, but it wouldn't be worth it since it didn't perform well anyways. I wouldn't recomend buying this. However, I have heard good things about the BT M16 Apex barrel, so that might be a better option for milsim players anyways.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

00Penguin Monday, June 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Flatline
CP one piece barrel (very similar to the performance of this barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with 16 inch CP barrel

Tippmann 98 with:
RT
Double trigger
CAR stock
BT16 Barrel
Remote air coil
BT fixed sight rail
Strengths: Looks-looks super cool
increased range/Accuracy
Weaknesses: Price-looks nice but the retail is about 100 bucks, try ebay
Review: Another review said it was made out of cruddy plastic-the barrel shroud is polymer, but it is really strong and seemingly hard to break. It is easy to take apart, just remove the fron iron sight part and the back part which holds the shroud on and take the shroud off. I am sorry, but this is in no way a complicated task and you would really need to be an idiot to not be able to figure out how to do this. This is by no means a tournament grade barrel but it is good for rec and woods ball and works very effectively. It achieves its main purpose-looks.
Conclusion: I give this product a 10 because i like it and it looks really cool. It performed exactly like I expected it would. However, if you want a m16/m4 look and a top of the line tournament performing barrel i have another suggestion, which is to buy a good barrel and a m4/m16 barrel shroud not including the barrel from another company such as ERA or OPSGEAR. If you are looking to achieve Milsim looks and arent incredibly concerned with having a topoftheline barrel (i give the actual barrel a B or B+) This is the product for you!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Enforcer King Sunday, May 8th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: A-5
Car-stock
Hot Shot sight
16 inch Red Robin Barrel
Strengths: Maybe appearance
Weaknesses: EVERYTHING It's cruddy thin plastic, Threads are horrible, easily breakable, need higher sights
Review: It is made of cruddy Plastic which cracked, and the edge of barrel broke just putting it in gun. Friends who have it and managed to get it into the gun say it's only for looks, it has no accuracy, let me repeat, no accuracy, it feels horrible, the plastic breaks easy. It's put together bad, so it'll fall apart and it's a bizatch to put back together.

IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND REPLACEMENT PARTS. HORRIBLE PRODUCT

DO NOT BUY!
Conclusion: Worst paintball product created
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media