paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Tippmann Custom Pro Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro Basic
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $159

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
If it’s accuracy and deeper strikes you want, this beefed-up version of our 98 Custom™ will surely help you make your mark. The black Custom Pro™ comes standard with upgrades such as an 11-inch high-performance stone-honed barrel for better accuracy, a double-trigger for better control and faster firing and a drop forward. The Custom Pro also has the ability to accept the Flatline™ Barrel System, Sniper barrels, the Response™ Trigger System, E-Trigger, collapsible stock, rear-cocking system, vertical adapter kit, vertical and expansion chamber kit and the low pressure system.

With its all aluminum die cast receiver and new, extra-sturdy black finish, the semi-automatic Custom Pro™ also features a quick-release feeder elbow, removable front grip to accept expansion chamber and vertical kits, and a 200-round hopper. It’s fully-customizable to enhance performance and compatible for CO2, compressed air, or nitrogen.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
                            
Tippy_Chris Sunday, August 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha,Spyder (walmart)
Marker Setup: STOCK
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (Im getting the flatline soon)
Strengths: -Price
-Reliability
-Accuracy with Stock barrel
-Easy to Maintane
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well ive heard so much about this gun so i decided to go out and buy one.Very impressed.Ive tried 3 diffrent kinds of paint so far,(Zap Vapour,Draxxus Dusk,and some PMI),the funny thing is that the draxxus didnt perform as well as i thought,they dont seem to fly as straight as the PMI or even the zap.Yet the Draxxus did not break in the field when i was playing with a bunch of friends,they were all using the PMI and they each had a break.Now i wasnt shooting as straight as them but i did not break a ball.And havent yet with any paint ive used.Playing in the field is very comfortable with the gun because of the drop foward.Plus the double trigger helps out your fingers.But the best part of all is the customization you can do to these guns,its simply amazing.I cant wait to start upgrading this puppy into a full fledged killing machine.
Conclusion: I would deffinatly suggest this gun if your just starting out.So that if you do decide to get sirious you can just upgrade the gun.Very good Bang for Buck.Go buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 7th, 2005 at 2:10 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

thepresident022 Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder e-99 avant, tippmann a-5, some other crappy spyder gun, commando 2
Marker Setup: Custom pro with default 11 in. barrel and drop forward plus boomstick and empire 2 reloader on the way
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a barrel! I accused my friend of cheating and turning his pressure up a hundred times until i tried his barrel and was like, oops...just need a barrel.
Strengths: Tough outsides-hard to scratch
Price
Easy to take apart
Weaknesses: Breaks balls until you get an electronic hopper unlike a-5
Review: Well I've had my baby for 3 months and it still rocks! I love this gun because i can forget to clean it and open this puppy up 2 wks later and it cleans up to brand new condition. The 11 inch barrel that comes with it is nice and drop forward is a nifty starting feature. It runs great on CO2---i would never waste the money to go nitro unless i had a LOT of cash.
However, I shoot paintballs (xball gold) that are 60 bucks a case and i still break balls! I have tried many different and xball is the best...only one break a case on average while others were doing 2 or 3 breaks a case. This can be fixed by getting an electronic hopper (my friend had the problem and now he never breaks balls since he got his halo).
Conclusion: This gun is great, but until you buy an electronic hopper to stop ball breaks (or at least minimize them) and get a longer barrel, it insn't able to keep up with mid-range guns.
However, if you just want it for woods ball every other week, its great. I'll round this up to a...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MorphiNoMan Monday, July 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro Basic
All stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel (Tippmann werks for example), a car stock then a good expansion chamber and / or remote line and a better hopper. For hardcore players then an E-grip would be a good investment.
Strengths: - Accurate
- Sight
- Indestructible
- Reliable
- Easy to strip
- Really cheap
- Upgradable to tournament level
Weaknesses: - Loud (maybe not a weakness depending on what style you play)
- Upgrades somewhat pricey
Review: From the moment I held this gun I knew it was made tough. I had heard of tippmann's reputation for undying paintball markers and I think it is justly justified. I had no difficulty stripping the gun and oiling everything that needed to be. Just watch out for the springs that might jump out if you're not careful when removing one side.

As far as accuracy goes, it's pretty good even though I only had the chance to use smaller bore paintballs for the stock barrel since the website which I ordered from sent me the wrong paintballs. I'll update this section when I get the chance to use medium sized bore paintball.

On the chopping part, I've only chopped one ball in approximately 1200 as of yet but it's bound to happen as long as you don't get a good electric hopper.

The sight really helps when you're shooting your first ball, you don't need to adjust your shooting at all (unless you're aiming 100 feet away of course). The removable elbow is also a nice feature for a quick cleaning when a ball gets chopped.

The double trigger is pretty good even though it's made of plastic; the wobble is minimal and it does not feel like the trigger's going to break easily. Walking is really tough and it's almost impossible to get good speed (8 bps +) with the stock spring; installing a modified pen spring might be the solution for you.

I don't know why, but where we play half the players have spyders and a few of us got tippmann; weirdly everyone says that tippmanns are better. I know this is biaised and that a lot of people would tell you the opposite, but it's like that where I play. Maybe those spyder owners don't take care of their guns at all and that's why, since spyders are known to go bad when they're not maintained properly.

I tried the A-5 where I play, and I can't notice any difference in performance except that you already get a good hopper from the start and that chops are impossible as long as you don't shoot over 15 balls / second.
Conclusion: Definitely a great gun, would recommend it to any player, new or experienced. You can upgrade it to be as good as a high level gun so it's worth the buy.

I also highly recommend to anyone thinking of getting a custom 98 to get the custom pro instead since you get a lot more bang for your buck and you can get the e-grip later (not available on the custom 98).

It's not perfect, like 9.9 or 9.8 but since a lot of people give 9 for that same score I feel the need to balance everything out with a perfect score.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 14th, 2005 at 5:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdog123 Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann custom 98
Spyder Imagine
etc, most blowback markers
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Dye Boomstick
20 oz co2 w/ on off valve and anti-siphon

Soon to Come
View Loader Evlution II
Tippmann Response Trigger
Dye Sticky 3 Grip
BT Rocket Cock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well if you want to shoot fast, get the response trigger, but remember get a moterized loader so you dont chop as much. A new barrel is a must, even tho this one is "ok", its still not that good. If you want maximum comfort, get a sticky grip too
Strengths: Drop forward
If you want to upgrade to electric, its not as expensive as 98customs
Weaknesses: Well, the grip i find to be bad, but its ok
Review: Well, i had a tippmann 98 custom be4 this that i got from my bro. He went to college and gave it to me, but i wanted a slightly better gun. So, i sold the custom and bought a custom pro for like 50$ plus what i sold it for. This gun is good for a begginner and like a lower class intermediate. If you are a pro, why are you even looking at this???? Anyway, this gun is awesome for woodsball or outlaw ball players but bad for speedball. Its kinda big so its an easy target for speedball, but liek i said good for woodsball. I would recomend this gun to any new players or intermediate
Conclusion: If your new to the sport or started like a year ago, get it. You want a new barrel tho, I spent 120$ on a boomy, but u can spend like 30-40$ for a j&j ceramic, those are good too. I would rate this a 10, but nothings perfect, so its a 9. If i could choose, it would be a 9.9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 28th, 2005 at 3:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippyprouser Saturday, June 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98
Marker Setup: Custom Pro
14" Tear Drop
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" Barrel (A tear drop is a good choice)
Expansion Chamber or Regulator
Strengths: dbl trigger, better stock barrel, drop foreward, better than C98!!!
Weaknesses: Barrel is good but you should get a new one.
Review: I went to the store a couple of months ago with my brother. I was going to buy the Custom 98 Power pack. But then my brother talked me into the custom pro. So when i got home i started firing off. Oh my god. I couldn't believe how better it was than the C98. (I have shot one just stock parts) Also this gun was very durable. I have only dropped it once. I was panicking of course but I just picked it up and shot a shot and it still worked. Oh ya it also has a cool paint job then the Custom 98.
Conclusion: I recommend this product fully. For either beginners, or even Experts. It is an awsome gun. and it costs less than the Custom 98 power pack. (Even though you have to buy a tank and mask seperate. But the mask in the pack is a cheap one anyways) Go people right now and buy!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

dyeordie Thursday, May 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann A5
Tippmann Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro Basic soon to be Electronic....with a 14" progressive barrel ( :
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel (you dont need one stock barrel is great but for increased accuracy)
Electronic loader
Strengths: Double Finger trigger
Drop Forward
Great stock barrel
somewhat fast (15 bps)
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is almost a replica of the model 98 or 98 custom but with some slight changes it can come electronic in response or basic, comes witha drop forward and a 11" inch barrel also a double finger trigger works great in bushball not to bad in speedball so this is my type of gun its great for stepping up a level and a pretty good starters gun!! I would Reccomend you buy this and im sure everyone else agrees with me.
Conclusion: I reccomend it explained above ^^^^^^^^^^^^ have fun with it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Angdvl089 Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, 98, spyders, gt 2000
Marker Setup: *stock*
11" honed werks barrel by TIPPMANN
drop forward
double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: Seee Review
Review: Pros:
*very accurate in good conditions
*shoots faster than regular custom
*polished internals

Cons:
*recoil
*somewhat loud

ive only been playing for 2-3 weeks and ive only shot 98's and spyders but i know for a fact that this is a good quality gun. this gun is deadly accurate, shoots fast, and its a TIPPMANN so its durable. the drop forward helps you tuck in a lot and it doesnt make the gun look so long. The trigger is really nice because you can shoot so much faster. Another thing is the barrel, although it chips fairly easily, its accurate. Ive only played one day (6 matches) and when i played i only broke 3 balls and i played for the entire day.
Conclusion: this is an awesome beginner gun and is great for woods play. some people will say tippmanns suck and but that is because most of this sport is speedball and tippmanns aren't known very well for shooting 20+ (except maybe the A-5). If you are a newbie like me check out this gun before you buy anything.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

pmipaintballer Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years21 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippman Pro Custom, Empire Reloader 2 hopper, 20 oz. Co2 tank, 14'' Smart Parts Teardrop Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A 14'' barrel
Strengths: -Looks
-New paint job
-Speed (10-12 bps)
-Really quiet
-Price
Weaknesses: Nothing that I have found
Review: This is an awesome gun. It was only $159!!! It has a double trigger and a drop forwoard! I was very pleased with the results that I got. This gun looks cool, shoots fast and accurate and is quiet. What more can you ask for? The paint is was using sucked, but it shot it well anyway. I've found that this gun works great with Zap Spank paintballs. I havent had a single break and I've played 6 games already. I can't ask any more from it.
Conclusion: Overall, this is one heck of a gun. You can get it form Action Village for only $159, so get it...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 17th, 2006 at 10:10 am PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

OrangeBatman Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months30 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Tl Plus
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Strengths: In Review
Weaknesses: In Review
Review: Pros:
Fast
Looks Great
Accurate
Short With the New Drop Forward
Double Trigger Makes Shooting Better, Can Shoot With One Or 2 Fingers
New Paintjob On The Gun Is Impossible To scratch!!!!

Cons:
New Barrel Scratches Easy
Doenst Like Any Brass Eagle Paint (Or Maybe Its Just the Crappy Paint)
Conclusion: I Would 100% Get This Gun, if Your Thinking About A Custom, Get This gun Fo Only $20 More, It Is Well Worth It, Perfect Beginner Or Intermidiate Gun!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media