paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Tippmann Custom Pro Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro Basic
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $159

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
If it’s accuracy and deeper strikes you want, this beefed-up version of our 98 Custom™ will surely help you make your mark. The black Custom Pro™ comes standard with upgrades such as an 11-inch high-performance stone-honed barrel for better accuracy, a double-trigger for better control and faster firing and a drop forward. The Custom Pro also has the ability to accept the Flatline™ Barrel System, Sniper barrels, the Response™ Trigger System, E-Trigger, collapsible stock, rear-cocking system, vertical adapter kit, vertical and expansion chamber kit and the low pressure system.

With its all aluminum die cast receiver and new, extra-sturdy black finish, the semi-automatic Custom Pro™ also features a quick-release feeder elbow, removable front grip to accept expansion chamber and vertical kits, and a 200-round hopper. It’s fully-customizable to enhance performance and compatible for CO2, compressed air, or nitrogen.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
noobpwner Wednesday, May 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom pro
all stock except a 20 inch j and j performance barrel and scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you plan to use just this marker and upgrade it, you will need:
an e-grip
electronic hopper
better barrel
new trigger (stock is okay though)
and possibly an expansion chamber
Strengths: Very reliable
Stock barrel isnt too bad
Does'nt chopp balls
Very upgradible
Weaknesses: Nothing except the stock barrel can scratch easily.
Review: I'm fairly new to the game of paintball and the tippmann 98 custom pro is my first gun. it's great for beginners but if you plan to enter tournaments or anything like that, this is not the gun for you. I am actually planning to purchase an icd promaster sometime within the next few months to upgrade from my tippmann.
Conclusion: Anyone who is new to paintball and is just trying to look for a decent starter gun should stick with this marker. This marker is not pricey and it's very reliable. I have not had to disassemble it once since i got it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigr Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
a5: much heavier
ion: not as accurate
Marker Setup: 68/45 carbon fiber tank, egg hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, electro kit, anti-chop bolt
Strengths: Very accurate, air efficient, reliable, cheap, easily upgradable.
Weaknesses: Chipping paint job, first one i got had a factory defect.
Review: This is a great gun for the money. only about 30-40 bucks more than the 98 custom and about 50 bucks cheaper than the a5. i got this gun after owning the a5 because i was looking for a lighter and cheaper alternative. this thing is dead accurate out of box. shoots about a 1ft grouping at 40 feet. the only cons that i see are the peeling paint job (i got mine in realtree camo), and the factory defect that made the gun double shoot and break paint. i called tippmann and told them about the problem. 3 days later, i recieved a replacement rear bolt at no charge.
Conclusion: Very good paintball gun. Very cheap. Very accurate. Very air efficient. What more do you need?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mnfats Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None, This is my first Marker.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
J&J Full Tilt Ceramic 16" Barrel
Tippmann X Chamber
CO2 Air
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, anything that's rated good by your peers and fits what you want the gun to do.
Strengths: Built like a brick *&^( house. Easy to clean/strip. Very Consistant. Price is perfect!
Weaknesses: Not fast. With longer barrels it's very long.
Review: I bought this gun based off of the high praise that the majority of the paintball community has for Tippmann and it's guns. Being a first time paintballer I was most interested in getting the most bang for my buck and getting something that was dummy proof.

All I can say is that this marker hit the nail right on the head. It is very basic and uncomplicated. You cock it, screw in your air source, load some balls, and your ready to rock and roll. Don't take being basic as being bad however. I have yet for this marker to fail me when I need it. Sometimes simple is the best answer.

Good things:

This marker is rock solid. It's all metal except for the grip covers and the front bottom portion of the handle. Of course the hopper is plastic as well. If you can break the main portion of this gun then you aren't playing paintball with it.

This marker is very easy to take apart and clean. There are some springs and parts that can "jump out" at you when you take it apart, but once you know what and where they are it can easily be avoided. I'm fair at things like that and I have no problem taking it apart to clean it or work on it.

The marker is very playable for new paintballers. It's simple operation and ease of use means you can focus on learning the game and not how to run your marker.

Bad things:

It's long. Even with the stock barrel and a regular tank it's very long. Add a longer barrel and it gets even longer. I only play woodsball so I can only comment on that, it's not uncommon for me to hit the barrel on things while playing.

It's slow. Either I'm a horrible shooter or it's slower than other guns. I see claims of 15 to 25bps with other guns and I know I'm not even approaching 10. The custom pro has the double trigger and I'm still betting that the best trigger guy in the world couldn't get it above 10 stock. On a side note though, I haven't yet found that not shooting fast handicapped me in any way while playing woodsball.

FPS out of the box. About 5 of us bought this gun at the exact same time and we all had the same issue when we started. Until we had gone through about 2000 balls we could barely get the guns down to the 300fps range. It doesn't seem to be an isolated issue from what I have read either. Once we were through a case of balls however we had no problems setting the velocity to safe limits.
Conclusion: If you are new to paintball and want to get in very cheap and know that you bought a gun that will work as advertised then buy this baby. I haven't regretted it one bit.

I only play woodsball and have found that it works great for that. I'm sure that it would do in a pinch for speedball, but if your going to be playing that I might look elsewhere as speed and tight spaces seem to be of importance in that game.

I have had very few breaks despite not having any electronic eye help and not having the cyclone feeder for it. When I do bust a ball or get hit on the gun it's no problem stripping it to clean it up.

I haven't dropped it, ran over it, or any other major mistake yet, but according to other accounts I would probably be able to use it still if I ever did.

Tack on the fact that you can pick this up for 130 new or 100 refurbished, and you have what I would consider the best true "beginner" gun out there.

The negatives on this gun are minor and can be overcome easily.

I would recommend this gun to anyone looking for what it provides without hesitation.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tipp-see-mann Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL Triton II---much, much, louder and very inaccurate (no barrel porting, fires faster)

Spyder Rodeo---less accurate, but good enough to be competition for this gun (fires faster)
Marker Setup: stock custom pro ( A.C.T. version) plus red-dot scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber or a new barrel but really no accessories are needed
Strengths: Accuracy
upgradeability
anti-chop technology
ability to effectively use crappy paints
Stock barrel
Weaknesses: Left-handed people cannot use the stock gun without problems. ( vertical feed would solve that)
Review: A few weeks ago, I asked my parents to buy me some paint when they went to k-mart. I wanted and asked for RPS super swirl but the retard at the store convinced them to buy Brass Eagle Tiger-Stripe! I was pi**ed-off but i decided to waste all 500 with some target practice at my friends house. I was amazed at how accurate the crappy paint was! I didn't chop a single one either! we stacked bricks and turned them sideways to give us a smaller target and stood back about 20yds. hit every time.

The one thing that got me was that i had to (sometimes) re-cock the gun because the anti-chop was engaged. The description said that you don't have to but I, having one of the first models, am not surprised. I only had to do this about 3 times for that 500 rds.

Tippmann could have done more with the double trigger though. You do fire faster than with a single trigger but it is pretty un-responsive at some times. The upgradeability is definately a plus with this gun. Being a beginners gun, it comes with the bare essentials, but the quality of the gun itself will let the gun grow with the player, woodsballer or speedballer.
Conclusion: Well made and great for both beginners and experienced players.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006 at 5:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

granger23 Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
a flatline barrel would be nice but the stock one works fine.
Strengths: Reliable
Accurate if you use good paint
Nice range
Weaknesses: It will break cheap old or deformed paint
It is loud but it dosent me
Review: Ive had the gun for about 3 weeks now i use it about 4 times and i think it is one of the better guns ive used but the it breaks cheap old or deformed paintballs and can get annoying when you have cheap old or deformed paintballs but if you have good paint you can hit pretty accurate with this gun. this gun was so accurate that i capped my bro from half way across the field and gave him a welt for about 3 weeks now.
Conclusion: Its reliable and very accurate if you use good paint .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaRk_Ion1919 Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Dark Ion
-smoke Halo B hopper
-20oz CO2
-15 inch Lucky barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger, new regulator, overall new gun.
Strengths: This marker is somewhat accurate, reliable, hardly ever gets scratched.
Weaknesses: Trigger, regulator.
Review: If you are looking to start paintballing this is the gun for you. It is very reliable somewhat accurate and cheap. If you do get this gun i really think you should get a new trigger, it is cheap plastic and moves side to side, you cannot walk the trigger at all and the gun does not shoot very fast.
Conclusion: If you are a beginer i really think you should get this gun. I give this gun a 7 because it is relaible and there are lots of upgrades if you are willing to put some money into it, but if your looking to upgrade it i think you should just get a better gun, I suggest Spyder Pilot Acs or the Smart Parts Ion.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintedDonk Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, A5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro w/ e-grip
Lapco Bigshot, Stock Barrel,
Cyclone Feed
remote coil (sometimes)
Recommended
Upgrades:
DOP Pro Seal, 14" Barrel, remote line, stock
Strengths: Reliability, maintainability, simplicity og design, durability, well suited for upgrades.
Weaknesses: Loud firing...
Review: I spent approx. a month reading reviews on markers (that appear more for woods-ball use) & found that the Custom Pro had all qualities of the previous C98 w/ market necessitated upgrades & might be exactly what I'd need.
I haven't been disappointed with the results in woods-ball. We play on a field with annual temps from -5 Cel upto +25 cel. My Cpro performed sufficiently under conditions where others failed consistently (e.g. the younger bro. A5)
The Stock barrel has Not 'til now been picky on paint even at low temps. (ball breaks do occur but are easily manageable.)
Conclusion: I recommend this marker as a starter to any beginner or woods-ball/recreational player. If you can afford it, buy the Custom Pro w/ e-grip & from there upgrade your barrel! That's probably all you need to become a foe to be reckoned w/ on the field!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 8th, 2006 at 4:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Harrie Bunyuon Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98
A5

Marker Setup: Crossfire 72 4500
Halo electric hopper
14 inch J&J
Recommended
Upgrades:
Performance wise get
- An electric hopper ,cyclone feed upgrade, or Q-Loader.

- A new barrel.. 16 inch Barrel (maximum) I like J&J's, Apex, or Flatline. Plan on buying good paint also.. Especially for Flatlines. If you go with the flatline never oil it. If you want something more simple get an Apex ( less tinkering, easier to clean, less paint picky)

- HPA. CO2 is way to inconsistant. In the long run buying yourself a nice HPA tank beats buying an expansion chamber.

- For quiet firing.. a quiet barrel (of course) and a rocket cock.. The rocket cock covers the side of your gun where the cocking mechanism is.. it keeps sound in and dirt out.. a cheap upgrade that might be worth the money.. I'll be getting one soon probably and will have more info for that later.
Strengths: -Durability
-Reliability
-Firing
-Accurate
- ACT (Mine has it)
Weaknesses: -Not for tourny/speedball.
-Mildy Loud
Review: This gun is perfect if you play nothing but woodsball and scenario, I highly suggest this as more of a backup or starting gun until you can afford something with higher upgradablilty. If your looking for a longterm and more modable gun .. look into the A5, or soon to come X7.

Expect good play from this gun. If you want to be shooting balls instead of air deffinately get a better hopper. If you put a flatline barrel on it make sure you [don't] oil the barrel, and buy good paint. Or you can get an Apex .. and save yourself the hastle..

Even though the gun is farely loud, most people will be intimidated



Conclusion: I give it a 9 out of 10. I highly suggest it for woodsballers and scenario players but really for newer players or just as a backup.

Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 13th, 2006 at 5:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eastcoaststyle Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Other Tipps
Marker Setup: Custom pro, HPA, Lapco Bigshot, Cyclone feeding system,Rocker cock, E grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Electro hopper, E Grip
Strengths: Very Accurate
Weaknesses: A bit slow at times
Review: This is one of the better guns i've ever tested it's amazing, I went paintballing for a day (3 Bags) didnt chop once I would recomend this gun to rookies, AMs, Pros, Its very customizable and it's like any Tipp dependable. I highly recomend this gun. I have showed it to alot of my freinds and even looking at it cocking it shooting it they say its nice. GET THIS GUN!
Conclusion: If your looking for a new gun or your first gun, seriously look into this, it's an amazing gun that is easily customizable
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmans rock Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman costom 98
Marker Setup: tippman costom pro
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel
Strengths: Shoots far,dosnt chop shoots fast cheap
Weaknesses: None
Review: Nice gun.I love it. It also has a powerful shot. All Tippmans are a good choice though. I like the gun. I hope you do to. Its a pretty nice gun not for beginners at all i think any way you got to know how to use it right. Over all its an awsome gun

Conclusion: Buy or die.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media