paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Strange Bolt / Smart Parts Strange Bolt / Smart Parts Strange Bolt / Smart Parts Strange Bolt / Smart Parts Strange Bolt

Smart Parts Strange Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Strange Bolt

Paintball Impulse Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Strange Bolt
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:

As used in the formidable Strange Vision Impulse
Super light and stubby design
Made of lightweight, self lubricating delrin
comes in Red, White, Blue and Black.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Strange Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
jitters93 Monday, September 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other delrin bolts.
Marker Setup: -Black Magic SF
shocktech clamping neck
14" kaner
Eggy3
pmi 68/45
---------------------------
-Smart Parts ion
yellow body kit
fire bolt
16" dye ultralite
68/45
---------------------------
-05 Prostock
wgp grip feedneck
bm c-rod
Halo led frontman
14" dye ultralite
---------------------------
-X-7
flatline
m16 vert. foregrip
trinity stock
remote
---------------------------
-Vision Impulse
strange bolt
sp tapeworm
ndz blade trigger
14" all american
Halo led frontman
68/45
Strengths: Light.
Delrin.
Short.
Cheap.
Weaknesses: None what so ever.
Review: After using the stock bolt on my vision imp for a month or so i decided to make this my first upgrade for it. Its delrin and requires no lube wich is a huge plus along with being much lighter and shorter then the stock bolt. The strange bolt lowerd my operating presure by about 15psi wich was pretty good. Since using the strange i havnt had any chops or bolt stick and the overal performance of my imp has been better then usual.
Conclusion: Amazing bolt and its only 25-30 dollers, you should deffinitly make this your first upgrade for your imp.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 29th, 2007 at 5:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrclueless88 Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt, no where near as good.
Marker Setup: Vision impulse
cp roller trigger
Strange bolt.
Strengths: In review.
Weaknesses: Their aren't any.
Review: This bolt is pretty much amazing. I used to have the stock bolt but it really was a piece of crap considering it is alluminum so i started looking for bolts and decided on this one. It was a good decision. I aired my gun up with it in and it actually lowered my pressure by 15 psi (down to 145).
Conclusion: I think if your trying to upgrade your bolt then you should probably go for this one considering it really isnt that much money and its really nice. It's delrin and lowers your psi and their really isn't a downside to it so you might as well go and get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 at 5:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

suntzu_baller Wednesday, April 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
superfly (just a scotch better)
adrenalin (uumm...)
Marker Setup: -Adrenalin Imp w/ blackheart
-14in AA-freak,
-extreme rage feedneck,
-empire rail & on/off
-68/4500 aci
-evo II w/z-board
Strengths: Price
Speed
Efficiency
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I've had a couple of imps and tried a few different bolts and so far this is one of the best.

I got the AI with the adrenalin bolt and thought it was alright but the thing is WAY too big! I didn't realize how big until I dropped my blackheart in. I was having a few problems with efficiency and speed even after I spent all that time adjusting everything.

I had owned another imp with the superfly and thought I would get that. However it's going for $35 and that's steep for a bolt. I saw the strange bolt and it looked great and promised more consistent speed and efficiency. I wasn't disapointed with my $24 purchase.

I have been able to use the full potential of my board now and the efficiency has increased some. I would advise getting one over the stock imp bolt.
Conclusion: Go and get it if you got the stock bolt. It won't hold a candle to this one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ase Tuesday, June 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ND Stubby EQ bolt-no difference.
Marker Setup: Matte Red Team Strange Vision Impulse
Diamond Red Empire Reloader B
System X Hyperflow 68/4500
Red CP On/Off
Red Freak Barrel Kit
Black Dye Sticky 3
Chrome Custom Products Twist Lock Feed Neck
Xball Paint
WAS board
Shocktech Mini-Drop
SP LPR
NDZ RIP Valve
NDZ Slik Shot Ram
NDZ Titanium Bolt Pin
NDZ 15*ASA
NDZ Blade Trigger
NDZ Equalizer Stubby Bolt
Strengths: Light
delrin
colors.
Weaknesses: Can't think of any.
Review: This bolt comes stock on any Strange Impulse. It is made of pure delrin. delrin doesn't need to be lubed ever. in fact, it will only hurt it. after using this bolt for about 3months, i bought the stubby NDZ EQ bolt. I literally couldnt notice any difference, except that the NDZ was much uglier. when you get the strange, you can buy a color that will match your gun.
Conclusion: If white matches your gun (unlikely) go with the NDZ. otherwise go with the strange. but performancewise, theyre practically equal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toothpastedog Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eq bolt-all lengths, voodoo, stock, werm bolts, undertow, dark, freeflow, mercury, A+, adrenaline, shock tech, evil, and any other impulse bolt under the sun.
Marker Setup: Just got a B2k4, put a sonic lpr on it, a 2L, my ole' ss freak, AA Apocolypse, Halo, Vapor valve, vapor bolt, that stupid skull pull pin, 25g switch, vapor trigger, ccm feed neck, and will be installing a mini morlock tomorrow morning.
Strengths: It is made from Delrin, can help fine tune internal wieght, and different colors.
Weaknesses: Better bolts out there.
Review: Well, let me first say, if you are upgrading from a stock bolt, this thing does wonders. even though it is exactly the same design (as far as internals air passageways goes) as the stock bolt, since it is made of delrin, it makes a world of difference. then again, any delrin bolt is worlds better than the stock bolt.

Besides being made from delrin, the fact that this bolt is so short can be very helpful, but it also, for fewer people than not, can be very, well, pain in the buttfull...

The problem that some have with upgrading from their stock bolt to any delrin bolt (even a full sized one), is that since delrin wieghs so much less than aluminum, the wieght difference can throw off you impulse's internal balance. Now this can normally be solved by just messing around with the input and dwell of the gun, some times you need to buy a heavier hammer (it make up for the lost internal wieght), or a rip valve, which requires less force (the heavier your internals are, the more force is required to move them, means you input is higher, which means there is more force opening the valve, and vice versa with lighter internals, only there might not be enough force to open the valve-this is kinda the short explanation though) to open it.

The reason many people like shorter bolt though, for the same reason they like ti bolt pins, is that they can fine tune their internal wieght to make their impulse as efficient, consistant, and opperate as with little kick as possible.

Now this bolt also comes in different colors. While this won't really do anything, although i have heard that blue bolts seem to shoot more accurately when used with red paint ;-), it can be a cool little tid bit.

On a side note though, you should never put any sort of lube on delrin bolts, as it will slow them down-it will act a little like glue-and it might make them swell, proving them useless.
Conclusion: Now, why did if give this bolt a 8/10 if it sounds so good? Well, because it isn't really worth it. Why spend 27-35$ on a strange bolt when you can buy an Equalizer bolt for the same price? The eq bolt is twice as efficient and consistant as the strange, stock, or voodoo (which all use the same air passageway designs), so why buy something worse? Also since the eq comes in a stock, stubby (same size as strange), 5", and flush lengths, why wouldn't you want more options? Also, since the eq bolt comes in either white or black (the only two colors that really matter), a red strange bolt, imo at least, still won't be any better.

So, if you were upgrading from stock, i'd say sure, if you want it, go for it, you'll love it. if you are thinking of buying this bolts as a replacement for any other delrin bolt, i would say, don't as you won't see any real benefits.

Refferences:

http://www.pbreview.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadi
d=304666
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bokuwakakera Tuesday, May 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
new designes EQ bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse, Freak Barrel kit, Tapeworm, Dye sticky grips, Strange Bolt, Anti-Syphaned 20oz C02 tank and a Eggy II
Strengths: Self Lubes, cheep, Accurate and light.
Weaknesses: Sence it's light, it can throw off your weight.
Review: The Strange bolt, it's used in the strange impulse (Hence, the STRANGE name.)

I would compare it to the New designs Equalizer bolt (the stubby version).

it's a nice alternate to it [the Equalizer bolt], I really can't tell a difference between the two, so I'd say the deciding factor between the two, is the price. $27.50 for the strange, and $32.95 for the Eq.

I also like that it's made from delrin, and you don't have to lube it.

But with any small bolt. it CAN throw off the weight your marker.
Conclusion: Hopefuly I have shead some light on the strange bolt, and which ever you buy (EQ or strange), you'll be happy eather way!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media