paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Body Kit / Smart Parts Ion Body Kit / Smart Parts Ion Body Kit / Smart Parts Ion Body Kit / Smart Parts Ion Body Kit

Smart Parts Ion Body Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Body Kit

Paintball Ion Bodies

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Body Kit
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Now you can get a customized look for your Ion that you can change any time!

Features:

Available in many new colors!
A first for paintball, the Ion uses an outer body kit or shell. While the inner core that protects all the functioning parts is made from aluminum, the outer shell is a high quality composite.
Body shell is tough, scratch resistant and does not fade or gouge.
Body kits allow you to instantly change the look of your Ion without physically changing the marker. Just replace your old shell with a new one.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Body Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Dover Tuesday, February 22nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion and Ion XE - both have a similar dual-material removable inter-changeable outer shell
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, lotsa markers and counting:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4 (dust black)
Proto Minion 2007
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
APS Angel A1
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
5 WGP Autocockers (Bob Long, 2 E-Cockers, pump Trilogy, E2)
6 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
1 Piranha/PCS USP pistol
1 Piranha EVO
Strengths: Color choices.
Durable.
Weaknesses: Only available in certain colors.
Ions cannot access internals, only Ion XE can.
Review: The Smart Parts Ion Body Kit is a great way to customize your Ion or Ion XE.

You can go with your favorite color scheme, you can brighten things up with yellow or pink, or hide in the woods with black or dark green. There is also silver, gold, white, and lime green i think.

The best is the Ion XE body because it allows access to the internals through the rear.

This way you can even put your favorite grips on, i prefer Hybrid because they are thin.

The only other paintball marker that uses a plastic shell is WGP's AutoCocker SR.

But the Smart Parts Body Kits use a dual material blend of durable polymer (plastic) with black rubber.
Conclusion: if you like to accessorize your Smart Parts Ion or Ion XE, this is a great and inexpensive way.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

steeb Friday, October 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock body kit
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, Blue Smart Parts body kit, Blue Q-lock, Smart Parts on/off ASA, Halo B loader, 68/4500 Pure Energy tank.
Strengths: Durable, color didn't fade, grips are comfortable
Weaknesses: Not really an upgrade, just a change of color.
Review: I got the Razor Blue body kit for my Ion a couple months after getting the marker, when I was bored with the stock black. Installing the kit is easy; you can do it when you clean your gun and put it back together. It looks like a cheap plastic covering, which is basically what it is. It works though, the grips are nice and it keeps the paint out and electronics in.
Conclusion: If you don't want to go overboard with a custom body kit, this is a good place to start.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ramirez2001 Saturday, May 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: smart parts ion w/ chip
blue body kit
proto barrel
egg hopper w/ z-board
nitrogen aluminum tank
upgraded feedneck
ac a/drop forwards
Strengths: Resistance
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Annoying 2 install uper part
Review: First off, i think people should by the body kits for their guns according how they wanted to look. My favorite color is blue, and i have made all the attempts to make it that way. i belive a body kit is to make the person's gun's design as they wish.

LOOKS-for my gun, the body kit looks sick with my blue proto barrel and my blue tank cover. my friend has and ion aswell, he has a red body kit, and it looks even sick too with a evil empire barel.

DURABILITY-i got mine from a friend hu got it from his cousin, and its still perfectly fine. ive also been shot on my gun a couple of times and its realy easy to clean.

Conclusion: I would recomend this body kit to those hu plan on people hu think blue would look sik on their gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daveb888 Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Smartparts ion
1. Fire Bolt
2. Body (Tactical Green)
Strengths: Looks awesome with the right color
Weaknesses: Hard to get on
Review: * * * NOTE * * *
When first installing the body if it does not go on easy place in boiling water (dont leave it there retard) and after a bit take it out, flex it and should go on easier

After on correctly it will stretch to size over time
When it is on after maybe a week it will stretch to the point where it will easily come on/off when you assemble it or disassemble it.

The wonderful part about the body is that...
1.it is easy to tell the difference apart if any others
2. Can blend in with surroundings more
3. It can be intimidating

Downside is that bright colors are easy to see and are identifiable.
Conclusion: Very nice addition to the look of the ion
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jitters93 Wednesday, February 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock body kit
Marker Setup: Trilogy competition
14" kaner
20oz. tank
---------------------------
Smart parts ion
yellow body kit
fire bolt
12" progressive
halo backman
---------------------------
05 prostock
14" dye ultralite
halo frontman
---------------------------
'96 Black magic
16" dye ultralite
halo backman
48ci3000psi
---------------------------
Vision Impulse
sp tapeworm
ndz blade trigger
14" all american
halo frontman
48ci3000psi
Strengths: Looks
Light
Pretty cheap
Weaknesses: Plastic
No other styles besides color from smartparts
Review: Ok so i have the yellow body kit. Its seems pretty sturdy but is plastic so u never no, u can get them in diff colors, around 8 i think.. The ones from smart parts are all the same but other companys make sum real nice ones but can be way more expensive. Ive have got some shots to the body of my ion with this kit and there were no cracks or anything bad happen so its tuff for plastic i would say. The grip and reg cover are rubber and comfortable, reg cover dosent hav much gripage but is fine if u wear gloves.
Conclusion: Nice cheap body kit, good if ur looking for a cosmetic upgrade that has a gewd price nowa days.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 4th, 2007 at 2:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bcballer321 Wednesday, August 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock body exact same but less sexy
Marker Setup: My Ion (Speedball)

Smartparts ION
Smartparts ION Body (Razor Blue)
Pure Energy Compressed Air 68/4500
Empire Bottle Glove 06
Viewloader VLocity

My Cocker (Rec Play)

WGP Autococker Trilogy Competition
Ricochet G2K Loader (Clear)
20 oz. Co2 (On/Off Valve)
Smartparts 18" All American Barrel (Black)
PMI Basic Remote Line
Extreme Rage Camo Buttpack (4+1) - Holds Tank
Strengths: It's tough. Looks nice. Comes in lots of colours. Inexpensive. It's Light weight.
Weaknesses: It's plastic.
Review: This is an awesome looking body kit. i was shopping around on action village to find a nice body kit that was under $50, and then boom i found it. So i did some research on this site and people kept saying but it buy it so i did. i took it out on the field and loved it its very light and stylish and not one crack from the field. Its only weakness is that its plastic. I'm saving for a dynasty body kit.
Conclusion: I give this product a ten. looks cool and its tough, buy. it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006 at 4:45 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ksdoc18 Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock body which is basically what these are, just in different colors.
Marker Setup: Sp ion with pink kit and 47/3k tank, halo tsa backman Spder xtra with acs delrin bolt 16 in SP progressive barrel 12 oz and 20 oz co2 tanks...
Strengths: Fits like stock body
Light weight
Cool Colors
Weaknesses: A little wide
Expensive
Review: these fit like a stock body just in different colors. word of advice, though with the ion's though, don't put the bolt stop on backwards (doing a full clean/lube on my ion when installing the kit) then try to get the kit on, the holes won't line up. but i figured that out fairly quickly. I got the pink kit for christmas from my dad, and it's great, really gives it some style. The only downside is the price. the $40 price tag is a little much for 2 pieces of rubber and a piece of plastic. but the grips are nice.
Conclusion: Good kit that's just like stock, just in colors, but the price isn't right. You could always go and paint your black one for less than $5 but i don't know if it would turn out as good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBPete610 Friday, March 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock kit on ion
Marker Setup: My set up on my ion is q-lock feed neck, max flow with s rail, freak 12 inch stainless steel barrel, freak green body kit, black heart circit board, and smoke halo b with ripdrive
Strengths: Tough, colors, not so hard to assemble...kind of...looks real cool
Weaknesses: Grip is a little hard to install
Review: I like these kits over all, they are cool, and it goes well with my stuff i have on my marker. many of my friends with ions own body kits, and i would reccomend them or unless you are looking for an aluminum one or something of that sort. these are nice body kits even tho mine came scratched on the word ion, but that was probally just a matter of shipping because the majority of them aren't. i will give these probally a 9.6 but being i can't ill just give a 10 out of 10...nice kits...
Conclusion: Even though grip is difficult i would reccomend it. it is nice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pantera_101 Saturday, November 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock body kit
Marker Setup: ANS gx3

Chrome Shocktech Bomb 3-way

· Chrome Palmer low pressure regulator

· Silver FreeFlow Ram

· Chrome low pressure volumizer (maximize air flow)

· Brand New chrome in-line regulator

· Chrome ANS Beavertail

· Chrome 12” JJ Barrel

· Chrome System X drop forward with on/off

· Dye clear sticky grips

· All ANS low pressure internals

Hinge frame
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I like this upgrade, it doesnt cost too much and it looks cool on your Ion, but not as much as the other ones that cost $100-$120.

I suggest this upgrade to any ion.
I have a Speed yellow body kit for my ion and i love it. It only cost me $5.00 because the guy i bought it off of had problems with my other gun i was gonna buy.
Conclusion: Great upgrade, doesnt cost too much
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballonaim Monday, September 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Red Ion, 68/45 Crossfire LP Stubby, 1/2 of a stock trigger
Strengths: Tough, looks good, no one on the field has it (yet)
Weaknesses: The grip cover is hard to put on
Review: I love it. I have a Freak Green Ion Body Kit and a Freak Green 68/45 tank cover, and it looks awesome. I'd buy this... You can't beat the price either, $40 for a grip, body, and reg cover. Every one I talked to that has seen this gun likes the way it looks (including me)

Conclusion: Buy it-it's good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media