paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit

BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Barrel produced by Ben Tippmann Paintball design. Made to mimic the M-16 used my the military. Suitable for Custom 98 Markers
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-16 Barrel Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
tippmanns-playa Sunday, February 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Terminator 16in Sniper Barrel - About $35
Good, sturdy barrel, inexpensive, and is very accurate. Its on the long side for those players who are not just interested in woods/scenario game, like me.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom - Package (9oz Co2, Googles, Cleaning Kit) - $175
Stock Barrel (unused)
Terminator 16in Barrel (uncurrent) - $35
Bt-16 Barrel (current) - $40
E Tigger ( Not Grip) - $25
Viewloader 200ct Hopper (current) - 35
20oz Co2 Tank - $40 (filled)
Strengths: Price
Durrability
Sweet Looks
Weaknesses: EXTREMELY hard to adjust
Rattling twist thing on bottom
Sight that gets in way
Review: This is one of those barrels that you can't go wrong with, though you might have to put some effort into making it just right for your needs. First off, i got this barrel by checking out various web pages for a new barrel, after i found this one that i really liked, I went to a website that compred prices. Here I found a site offering this for $40 including shipping. Astounded, i bought it immediatley. When you get it, it with most likely be lined up crooked on yourgun once screwed all the way in, which is really frustraiting. It took about an hour to get it right, because i didnt have a clue of what to do. If this is the case, you need to take the barrel apart. You do so by pulling the cap to its extent on the side attactched to you gun. There will be a slot that is revealed that needs and allen key. Its is extremely hard to reach, but after fiddling around it should unscrew, now, you are left with two seperate pieces, the barrel and the sight still attached to the barrel. Then, on the bottom of the sight, there is a tab that flaps around. Under that is another allen key slot. Fiddle around again, until you get it loose. It will side off. Now, you can adjust it to be strait and then piece it back together and whela! now it is perfect. Moving on, I love this barrel. It looks badass. You might want to consider taking off the sight though, because it is mounted very high and that makes it hard to aim with. I play with it off.
Conclusion: This barrel is affordable, and looks great. A few minor issues with adjustments, but after that is over with you will love it. Get It! You surely will not be disapointed :D
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Headhunter019 Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
BT sight rail (recommended for this barrel)
BT 16 barrel
Strengths: Shoots further
More accurate
fFront sight
Weaknesses: Large bore size (not really a weakness)
Expensive
Review: I give this barrel a 10. It did as well as I expected, and is a huge improvement over the stock barrel. With the sight rail you can easily line up the front sight and its accuracy is good. The only problem I have is the bore size. It is a larger bore (.692) and works much better with the right size paint (I recommend Big Balls). Also as someone else said, the handgaurd wiggles a bit and I ended up taking it off. The front sight can sometimes slip forward or side to side, but that can be fixed by tightening the screw underneath the front sight (a little hard to find at first).
Conclusion: I give this barrel a 10. The bore size isn't really a problem for me and the increase in accuracy and range are worth a little bit of extra looking.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Marian Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tapco AR15 Carbine Handguard
Marker Setup: M16-Marian: 98 Custom ACT , J&J Ceramic 14"Barrel , Tapco AR15 Carbine Handguard, Tippmann M16 Front Sight, Tapco Folding Stock, RAP4 Tactical Sight Rail, Bossman M16 Mag Clip Kit, Rocket Cock II
Strengths: Cheap, easy to make yourself
Weaknesses: None
Review: ok - it's about "make it yourself" barrel kit I did myself, it looks same as BT-16 Barrel Kit, but it way cheaper.
I have Tapco AR15 Carbine Handguard on my J&J Ceramic 14" with Tippmann X7 M16 Front Sight - i fixed it myself and total cost [assuming you already have the barrel] was around $30 plus s&h for some items.
You'll need:
- J&J Ceramic 14"
- Tapco AR15 Carbine Handguard [no heat shield] ($4.99)
- Handguard cap, round ($2.00)
- Delta Ring ($6.00)
- Tippmann X7 M16 Front Sight ($15)
- heater hose [about 2 inches]
Message me if you need instructions [ i have to follow the rules, so cannot put store names and stuff]
Check photo M-16 Marian if want to see how it looks like[it's with review tapco folding stock for Tippmann 98 custom]
............................................................
............................................................
......................................
To Admin: Hope I didn't go to far with this
Conclusion: If you want it cheap - thatls it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Spectre14 Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 barrel, not as pretty to look at
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C with BT-16 barrel, BT Adjustable Sight, BT Collapsible stock, Warsensor remote coil, Ricochet G2K hopper, Homemade Front grip, Dead On Rocket Cock II
Strengths: -Good length
-Realistic
-Durable
-Sling mount
Weaknesses: -Tad bit overpriced
-Tricky to adjust sight
-Sling mount rattles when running
-Handguard slightly wiggles
Review: I got this product last year for Christmas to complete the M4 style look of my gun. Since I got it for Xmas the price wasnt and issue, however i wouldve had a bit of a hard time convinving myself to spend 140 dollars on this barrel. however once i got it and put it on my gun i was VERY pleased with the overall look. A few months later i wanted a front grip attachment, i wouldve spent 60 bucks to buy a weaver rail and front grip, however i made a front grip out of hardware for 2 bucks (email me if you want more info) This barrel was a nice upgrade from the stock barrel especially with the other mods i had on. There are few good barrels for the 98 (excluding the flatline bcuz i think its VERY ugly) and this is definitely one of them
Conclusion: Despite the few minor problems with this barrel its is a very good upgrade if you have the money and the mods to match.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HomerSS Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
OPSGEAR 14" Operator barrel (shot less than 2 cases of Diablo paint with the Operator barrel - same marker setup using CO2 and Starrfire bolt)
I have used the BT barrel for over 2 years and the Operator barrel for about 3600 rounds, with both barrels using Diablo paint, FPS (280-300), and CO2. Both barrels shot amazingly well.
Marker Setup: -Tippmann Model 98 (one of the first off the assembly line)
-Bossman M4 Mag kit (current)
-OPSGEAR M4 Mag kit
-OPSGEAR Weaver Style Carry Handle Scope Mount
-OPSGEAR 18" fluted sniper barrel
-RAP red dot scope
-BT barrel kit
-BT sight/carry handle
-PRO TEAM car stock
-LAPCO direct feed
-Starrfire bolt
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Looks
-Price
Weaknesses: -Strap ring rattles when you're running
-Cleaning can be a pain the @$$
Review: I have been using this barrel for over two years and I'm very comfortable with it. Had a few problems here and there but were very minor.

Strengths:

-Accuracy - I have picked off moving targets 150 to 200 feet away (selecting my fire not rapid firing). I have also set up target practices both indoor and outdoor and both using CO2 and the same paint (Diablo .689). Shooting 50 rounds for each distance of 150 feet, 180 feet, and 200 feet onto a target 11 inches in diameter. Indoor: 150 ft. = 45/50, 180 ft. = 42/50, 200 ft. = 40/50 (84.7%). Outdoor: 150 ft. = 46/50, 180 ft. = 40/50, 200 ft. = 38/50 (82.7%). I have many things into consideration when testing accuracy including: Temperature indoors 17* C, outdoors 20* C...no wind indoors, 6 mph winds outdoors. Used 20 oz CO2 tank, filled approx. 1 hour prior to usage. Standing without resting the marker down for any kind of stability.

-Looks - I love scenario play and M4's and just makes my marker mean looking, with a great feel.

-The price is reasonable...I don't know if I can classify this as a key strength but when I look at other after market barrels that perform the same way as the BT kit (reading from other reviews) that cost more, the price is reasonable.

Weaknesses:

-Strap ring - VERY minor weakness considering the paintballs rattling around in your hopper and/or pods, but does add to noise in a way.

-Cleaning - It's a pain in the @$$...at first with me it was but when I got used to dismantling it, it became less of a pain
Conclusion: This barrel kit is a nice addition to your marker, especially for those seeking to add scenario style and feel to it. Easy to install, very good accuracy, and will turn heads. I give it a 9 out of 10...I would have given it an 8 but after testing its accuracy, I was completely satisfied with its performance and bumped it up one point. Get it...worth every penny. BTW I have posted a pic of my Tippmann M98 in this review section...I'll be posting one with the scope setup shortly.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 at 8:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zachmargo1 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ BT-16 Barrel, Remote Line, and BT Sight
Strengths: Accurate, Slightly quieter than the 98 Custom stock barrel, looks awesome
Weaknesses: High front sight.
Rattles a bit and feels unsturdy.
Review: This a great barrel. It is accurate and quiet. However, the barrels front sight is a little high and it the grip seems to rattle a little bit. The barrel looks awesome! Everyone loves it. When I play people are slightly intimidated by it. The barrel has a genuine M-16 or 14 look to it.
Conclusion: It is a great barrel. I reccomend it for any woodsball player. Just no that if you by this barrel you will most likely have to buy a BT sight.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WiLdMaN Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippman 8.5", Tippmann Werks 11", Game Face Recon E5 14" and BT Apex
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro E, BT-16 14" Barrel, BT6 tactical adj stock, BT adj. hand/sight rail, 32* remote, 32* Tactical vest and Game Face Recon paintballs

Tippmann M98, Werks 11" barrel, 98 Pro E Drop foward, Rocket Cock, Hand/sight rail, polished internals
Strengths: Two sling positions and shoots straight with Game Face Recon paintballs.
Weaknesses: Absolutely nothing weak about it!
Review: Typical BT/Tippmann quality, as expected. Just twisted the barrel on, loosened the foregrip fasteners and aligned the front sight, grip and joining pieces to index as a unit. Now it lines up perfect everytime I replace the barrel after cleaning. Micropolished internally with proper porting. Very nice sound, more aggressive to put some fear in the beginners. I have the 14", there is a longer 16" available. Accurate is the word. Better than most barrels or guns out there. I haven't broke a ball since I switched up from low end grade. Very easy to strip and clean if you take a hit in the barrel, no problems. Run the parts under warm water and wipe dry, how easy is that?

Looks
Feels
Shoots
Sounds much better!
Conclusion: If you want the Military look and an upgrade at the same time, go get one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slessor Wednesday, August 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts linear barrel 16" it doesnt even come close to the m16
Marker Setup: custom 98
folding stock
BT m16 barrel
160z and 120z pure energy tank
BT raised sight rail
Strengths: Looks amazing, feels real, shoots straighter longer than anything on the market, and huge intimidation
Weaknesses: Sight falls off because there is a tiny screw under the sling hitch, tighten it
Review: this is the absolute best barrel on the market it is only problem is the screw needs a tiny allen key it comes in the package of the custom 98 and maybe the A-5 im not sure though, so tighten it and then it will be awesom but one tip u gotta buy a raised sight rail otherwise all that work for the sight is pointless
Conclusion: Buy this freaking barrel its awesome because its shoots straight scares the SH*T outta people and they will shake in their little booties
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j-man19 Monday, June 19th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stiffi 16 inch, j and j ceramic 14 inch, stock barell, more
Marker Setup: dm5
ul frame
cp reg
crossfire 68/3000 carbon fiber
rhino cover
halo b
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Range
Loudness
Comes apart
Review: ok, i got this barell for crismas a couple years ago and i put it together and stuck it on my backup....

strengths: this barell looks realy cool and thats about it

weekneses:
inacurate: nomater what paint i use in this barell it is always SHI**Y!!
loud: nomater what paint i use in it, it is REALY LOUD
range: the paint goes absolutely nowere (the stock 8 inch is better)
comes apart very easily: it fell apart and i stil havent fixed the pile

all in all, ur better off not geting this barell, i would go for a j and j ceramic for like 80 bucks less

Conclusion: Its a pile of crap if u ask me

And i have used absolutely all kinds of bore sized paint and it is always crappy
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 29th, 2006 at 11:38 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Mr_Awesome Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Tippmann 98 stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
BT sight rail (definetly reccomend if you are interested in the barrel)
BT-16 Barrel
BT combat stock
Strengths: Shoots Far
Accurate
Mirror Finish
Weaknesses: Expensive
Hard to aline front sight and sight rail
Front sight slowly slips forward.
Review: I like this barrel. It is much better than the stock barrel, is way more accurate, shoots farther and looks cooler. However, at lower C02 levels accuracy gets worse, but I assume this is true with any barrel. I ended up taking off the shroud because it rattled, but the gun still looks sweet. I also have never had a paintball pop inside the barrel, due to the mirror finish.
Conclusion: I would advise anyone to buy this. The cool looks and better accuracy make it a great buy. 70$ is as much as I'd buy it for.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 28th, 2007 at 12:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media