paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Defiant 2 / Bob Long Defiant 2 / Bob Long Defiant 2 / Bob Long Defiant 2

Bob Long Defiant 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Defiant 2

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Defiant 2
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $795

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Finally, Bob Long's version of the FAMOUS ICD Defiant paintball marker reincarnated for 2005. This gun has all the features you would expect from a Bob Long marker at a very reasonable price. These guns even come with a Low Pressure Regulator adjustment/diagnostic tool for FREE!

~Beam Break Eye System
~LED Operation
~Extremely Light Weight
~14" Micro Honed Barrel
~Accepts Autococker/Intimidator Threads
~Air Ram design which means this gun is FAST!
~And More!
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Defiant 2 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
McNics Thursday, March 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, vision shocker, 05 ego, toxic shocker, timmis, angels
Marker Setup: black defiant II with halo b
88/4500 pure energy steel tank
blue empire/angel one on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt for sure
new feed neck(stock sucks)
Strengths: speed
accuracy
good on air
no kick
LIGHT!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: Loud
Chops on some occasions
Feedneck
Review: I bought this gun off a buddy of mine a while back and i was blown away at first shot, i got it for mad cheap ($120) and just had to put a line on it. i took it out back gassed this puppy up and started shooting and before i knew it i had shot over 1,000 rounds with only a couple chops. this gun is really accurate. i took it to a field and was MOWING people down everyone kept askin me what upgrades i had on it and when i told them everything was stock they told me i was full of it. cleaning it is really easy just pop the bolt out and run a swab thru and you're good to go.
Conclusion: If your someone whose looking for a gun thats light, fast, and it really compact then this is the gun for you. i would reccomend this for someone who plays mid/front or snake and also who is serious about the sport. you wont be dissappointed when you see people coming off the field with your paint on them. it just putsa big smile on your face
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the_newguy Monday, April 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
timmy 2k5
ego 07
Marker Setup: defiant 2 black
Vlocity JR
Dye 45/4500 throttle
shocktech clamping feedneck
shocktech asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
bolt
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Currently at great price- $250
Weaknesses: Air hog
Review: I got the D2 last week and tested it last weekend. I gased up and the bolt shot forward and I could hear a major air leak. I over looked the obvious and got my brother to look at it. The pressure was too low to recock the bolt.
After I fixed that, it worked perfectly. It was a buisy day at the field so I had to play with renters, first round I took out 4 of them right off the break.
I played untill I ran out of air, when I put the tank on again the same problem occured. I checked the pressure again but this time it was fine.
Now I am concerned and cannot fix the problem, So if anyone knows what the problem may be, please leave a comment here.
Conclusion: I haven't heard of anyone else having trouble, and when it was working properly it was fantastic. Right now ( April , 2008) this marker is only $250 so its a great buy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tony #1 BUCS Sunday, August 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost All High End Markers / Low End Markers
Marker Setup: pmi marker with bob long reg evil bolt,
Spyder , Tl+ , evil reg , acs bolt , evil valve ,spring kit , xsf board ,dye sticky grips
Spyder E99- total custom only body stock
Maverick with 12 inch Taso barrle
Palmers Typhoon = :)
Custom Palmers SuperStocker- Blazer 45 grip bottam line.. ported barrle, reg,
05 Ego- Upgraded
Bob Long Defiant2 - Upgraded
Sheridian-Semi auto
ULE-Automag- Leavle 10 / X Valve
And a Couple diffrent other Pumps
Recommended
Upgrades:
I Belive its called a invert bolt
Clamping Feed neck
On/Off asa
New Barrle
New Board
Strengths: Fast
Good on Air
Quite
Looks Great
Light/Small
Easy to clean
accurate
Weaknesses: Tear down could be easyer.
Feed neck dosent fit all hoppers
Review: I love the body its stright lines
Very sharo looking
Easy to clean
Great Anno
Small Almost as light as my Ego but just as small if not smaller
I dont mind the reg being so close to the trigger fram it helps me tuck in tighter
Also I belive u do not need to upgrade stock reg it works fine with the marker
People say stock bolt is not good on air i wouldent know never used it mine came upgraded with inverted bolt
Conclusion: I do not reccomend this gun to first gun owners unless u are really goin to really get into the sport and learn about how to maintain your markers.
But if u want a quite gun for outdoor this one is great
Really fast also for speed Ballers
Very accurate ball on ball
for the price of these guns its a great buy!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballhitman Sunday, February 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Defiant 2 , hybrid bumperless ram , tchop ram mod,hybrid feedneck,cp trigger,modded bolt
halo with v35,delrin cone , vendetta trapdoor, high speed motor.
Pure energy 68 4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hybrid ram cap
t chop ram mod
cp reg adapter
new reg
new trigger
feedneck
bolt
Strengths: Fast,light,good air efficiency,Over all a great gun
Weaknesses: BOLT
, stock reg adapter
Lpr i dont like it I wish it were screw in.
Review: Ok i bought this gun used and it had a few upgrades on it when i bought it. The upgrades were a modded bolt, hybrid feed neck,hybrid ram cap, and a cp roller trigger.

I then proceeded to Do the Tchop ram mod( Polishing the ram to a mirror like finish)

And that enabled me to take the ram spring out and lower my lpr.

This gun is very fast and light but it does need a few upgrades if you want it to preform to its maximum capabilities.
Conclusion: I think its a great gun to step up to from say an ion or promaster or a lower end gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sleezbeezbeast Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Electra 06, there is no comparison. The Defiant blows the Electra away.
Marker Setup: I use the Defiant and i have an On/Off switch. A Halo and a 14" Evil Driver barrel with a Contract Killer marker grip. And a bob Long feed neck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a 14" barrel. I have the Evil Driver barrel and it is dead accurate. But the stock barrel on the Defiant STINKS get a new one. Also get a feed neck. I have a bob long feedneck and it works great. GET A 4500 TANK.
Strengths: This gun is ACCURATE, QUIET and FAST.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Stock Feed Neck
And adjust the trigger
GAS HOG
Review: Overall this gun is awesome! I got mine for $450. Its accuracy is well worth the price and it's proven to be consistent time after time. Adjust the trigger to suit your style and start rippin. I do suggest a new feed neck b/c it does not come with a locking one. And get a new barrel b/c the stock is not that accurate. The Evil Driver barrel is great. If you dont have a Halo, get one. B/c this gun will outshoot the Egg time after time in the middle of a game. It is a bit of a gas hog so unless you like running to fill your air after every game i'd suggest you get a 4500 tank. The 3000 tank holds about 300 to 350 balls. If your a front man and just starting i'd suggest a 3000 though b/c they are so light and compact...like this gun. This gun is AMAZING for the price. Just be sure to get a nice tank to fit your position.
Conclusion: GET IT!! And when you do get a Halo and a 4500 tank and you'll be tearin it up in no time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brett2 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
atomix impulse
2k3 timmy
storm timmy
alias timmy
pm5
pm6
dm6
lcd angel
03 shocker
stoned assassin shocker
classic timmy
Marker Setup: gun itself ck grips cp barrel 45/45 tank and a halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
board
and a trigger
Strengths: Pretty fast
Very light
Price
Weaknesses: Unaccurate
Breaks down
Review: This is a very light gun but needs a few things added to it but overall if your just starting to play some tourneys and not alot of cash i recommend it otherwise if u have the money for a better gun than you should probably want to go with another choice but this is an average high end gun
Conclusion: If just starting and not aolt of cash buy it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PaintballEvans Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icd promaster, weak build quality / Evil Omen 2.0 no comaprison the D2 is just like any of the intimidators
Marker Setup: Bob Long D2(silver), Virtue 2k4 board, 14" Dye ul, Ndz asa, custum O-ringed stock bolt, lapco clamping feedneck, Hybrid lady grips, Ndz swoop trigger Evo2 w/z-board and Air America 68,3000 w/PE valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Bolt
-doesn't come w/an asa
-and who doesn't change the barrel
Strengths: -Fast
-prolly the lightest gun on the market and smallest
-Bob long's Quality
Weaknesses: -The stock bolt kills efficiency
-price may turn some away
Review: Ok so I got my Defient 2 through a trade for my previous marker and I was very impressed by the quality, allthough not as flashy as the intimadators build quality is not sacraficed and you can see that even at frist glance. I hate how people say this marker is not an intimidator or nothing like one well tell me whats not like one about it other than it doesnt say intimidator after its name. The defient shoots as good as any of bob longs markers and thats why the price is still up there wich some people may feal is kinda high sence I traded a $350 marker for myn Im not complaining but the defient is very unique and will hold its value well for a while to come still Msrp set at $700, being only made in 2005.

About how it shoots well first off, you will find some of the stock components are weak and realy hinder the performance I had trouble with velocity and consistency due to the stock bolt. The bolt doesn't have o-ring or detent slots the detents take just fine without the slots but without o-rings everything is lost, consistency, accuracy, speed, smoothness and total efficiancy but don't waist ur money on the Pbinverted bolt I did and it didn't fit right, the detent slots grabed the detents more than the stock bolt without any and it has no advances over the stock bolt other than the o-rings, I custum o-ringed my bolt on each side of the air inlet and my defient was shooting ropes
I could drop the lpr to 65 and still shoot around 280 with no kick and great performance.

The stock torpedo red is very good and changeing it only changes the entire look of the marker the reg varies +or- 5 fps on average wich is good

The stock trigger may to some make the marker feal cramped and I found to be way to small and hard to walk.

With the new 2k4 intimidator virtue board nothing can stop this thing and I love it the virtue board is prolly the best board on the market and works great in the Defient2

Conclusion: This is a great marker and very unique, but needs a few upgrades to maximize the performance, but build quality and style says Bob Long all over it and screams high end when you shoot it! I give it an 8 only because of some weak stock components and it realy is a build up project.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

johnson114 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Bod Long Defiant 2
halo b w/rip
73 3000

icd bko (back up)
vaporized
cp reg
halo b
48 3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck is a #1 upgarde
uni mount
barrel
Strengths: Light
fast
some what accurate
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: I just got this gun about a month ago and its the best gun i have ever owned, i have owned a couple matrixes. this gun rips out of the box. the 127 board is great but a upgraded board can never hurt. the stock trigger is also great out of the box. this gun makes a good back up or primary. this gun is also very easy to lube and clean
Conclusion: This isa great front and mid player gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bad Company Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Promaster and Bushmaster, NME, Warped Sportz Timmy.
Marker Setup: Defiant 2:
CP Reg
CP ASA
Lucky 15 kit
Virtue Board
NDZ Feedneck
Dye Sticky Grips
Palmer Rock LPR
Halo with V35, ST speedwheel, and delrin drive cone
XSV ASA bottle adapter
NDZ Edge Trigger
Crossfire 68/45 HP
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP asa for a new reg, barrel(but the Assian barrle is great)
Strengths: Awesome accurcy, good speed, tiny, light and tiny can use(some) intimidator parts,fast.
Weaknesses: Incredible gas hog, cant put after market reg on, stock feed neck,trigger not good.
Review: I got this gun in the summer and wanted to wait to really use it, then write a review. Well here we go...

Problems: I like buying after market parts but not as many as i had to buy for this one. The gun worked fine when i first got it. But I couldnt use any after market regs cas the stock asa was threaded weird. Got pissed about that. Then I got everything i wanted for it for a while. Then One time when i wnet out to practice i noticed my lpr screw was loose. Thought nothing about it. But when i went to shoot it, it wouldnt shoot cas the lpr fell apart. I got a new one everything was fine 4 a while. Then the damn frenzy board went on me and left me without a gun for a while cas Bob Long didnt want to do anything about it. Then finally i got a virtue and Palmer LPR.

Goods: I thinks its incredibly accurate, with virtue was faster, and my new lpr lets e suck every bit of gas out of my tank(no more gas hog) the new trigger is way better cas the stock one has side to side play, no one likes that. I like my new feedneck but i really want a new one cas the NDZ one i have doesnt hold egg feednecks so yeah i want a new one. The stock grips are alright no complanits. I cant really say anything about the consistency cas i had a bigger bore barrle( lucky 15 .689) so the consistency was off a little. The CP reg made up for that though. Im getting a pulse and powerlyte kit for better consistency. O yeah and its tiny and light.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun for any one who loves BL and small guns. Sadly they dont make them anymore. U can still find them if u really look. But dont get it if u dont like spending money.
IF u like spending money for making ur gun awesome get it.
If u dont then well. dont get this one
All in all i love this gun
I give mine a 10 with all the up grades, but without them only an 8
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dstone454 Thursday, December 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
angel 1: around the same size maybe a little bigger, better board, barrel kit stock, on/off stock, better but not for the price

alias timmy: a little heavier but a little morre balanced so it evens out, a little more efficient, comes with little extras, better looking imo

nerve: less kick but neither have much, a tiny bit more accurate but seemed harder to rip on, less efficient

ion: much harder to walk, much slower, a little less accurate, not as efficient

wrath ltd: less accurate, less efficient, not as good
Marker Setup: grey bob long defiant 2 w/ black accents
pb inverted bolt
trinity clamping feed neck
cp direct mount on/off
cp sling trigger
cp adjustable ram cap
cp reg adapter
cp shorty reg
redz pepperstick kit



With a Reloader B and a 68/3000 carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
get for sure:
feed neck
asa
bolt

good to get but not mandatory
barrel kit
trigger
reg and adapter
adjustable ram cap
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Easy to walk
Small
Light
if tuned right VERY LITTLE KICK
Weaknesses: Bolt
feed neck
no asa



Review: okay i was thinking about buying an ion but was still open minded when i walked into the shop, I saw this gun and wasn't sure what it was, i hadn't heard of any Bob Longs besides Timmys so i was curious, decided to take it after the guys at the shop vouched for it

bolt: the bolt is low flow, no detent slots, and no orings. The only thing it has going for it is its delrin, pbinverted makes a bolt that is currently the only bolt out there and it is a great bolt. I have heard that Acid Customs makes a bolt for it but i have no idea how to get it and i don't know if its any good

feed neck: It does not clamp and isn't the right size for any hopper i have tried and i didn't want to sand down a halo so i spent thirty bucks on a new one

on/off: Doesn't come with one and there are tons out there, my on/off of choice is the CP direct mount, it is so easy to turn and looks awesome

trigger: The alias trigger is nice but its a comfort thing, i don't really like it so i ordered a cp sling

Board: The frenzy board is fast but a lot of people have trouble getting rid of bounce, honestly i cant detect bounce for crap but i turned debounce on full and the ref said he couldn't find any, but if u want a new board i would recommend the Virtue

Barrel: Its alright but i bought a redz peppersticks and i'm happy with it

Kick: I'm a guy who doesn't really believe in kick with paintball guns but thats just me, i did a one finger test and it wasn't that bad, i tuned my gun to max out efficiency and reduce kick and now i have very little u only notice if u try

efficiency: off of a 68/3000 fill i get around 1000 shots maybe a little more, very nice, planning on turning my dwell to 6 stead of 10 so that should help

maintanence: very easy, if u have a new bolt lube that, lube the ram. In the manual it says to remover the e-clip and like pretty much take it apart but you can just put some lube on the metal and slide it inside and that works, maintanence is very simple and easy

reliability: I have used this gun for six months now and have never had any problems except when i turned my dwell too high and it made the board ramp until i turned it down, very reliable

sound: its pretty loud dryfiring but i never notice in the heat of the game, with paint it is much quieter and compares to an ion

weight: with everything on that comes with the gun (barrel but not asa) it weighs in at a tiny 2 pounds one ounce, very pleased. The Ion is similar in weight but this is so much more balanced. With my cp upgrades it is much lighter so its really light now.

looks: I don't like my guns color as much as the black or blue but its a nice greyish graphite but it was on sale in this color so i saved the 50 bucks. Might get custom anno and maybe milling but i doubt it

regs: The design of the reg is that the asa threads into the reg, so u need a reg adapter to slap on something new, i have a cp reg adapter and a cp shorty reg and am very happy. Make sure u use the lpr adjusting tool when changing pressure one time i went over 100 psi for a day and the manual says in BIG CAPITAL LETTERS NOT TO DO THAT, but i turned it down, no problems

update:
make sure u use your lpr adjustment tool (the gauge thing) and make sure ur lpr is set right because mine at least likes to lower itself. i have it set at 70 and its awesome


here are the upgrades in order of needing upgraded and some reccomendations:

on/off: cp direct mount, ndz, hyrbrid, whatever you prefer
feed neck: anything that clamps and clamps well
bolt: only one out there is the pb inverted and its really good
barrel: I recommend a kit anything that is good quality will work
reg and reg adapter: cp reg adapter or violent products, cp grip reg, dye hyper inline 2, aka sidewinder
trigger:cp sling or rake
board: tadao infamous or virtue they are both awesome
adjustable ram cap: cp or hybrid


and that wraps it up, you will notice that I have cp upgrades for a lot because from what I have seen they have yet to make a bad product (feedneck is questionable though) and The only non cp upgrades i have on my gun are the bolt and feedneck but i'm not biased, i have experiented with many different companys and their products and i find cp to be my favorite


ok, all my cp upgrrades came in and the thing that really stood out was the trigger, it was amazing, so smooth and no side to side movement, awesome

Conclusion: Fast, light, tight, efficient, reliable, accurate, awesomeness
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 29th, 2007 at 8:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media