paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder EM1 / Kingman Spyder EM1 / Kingman Spyder EM1 / Kingman Spyder EM1

Kingman Spyder EM1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder EM1

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder EM1
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $600

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: 2-Way Single Solenoid Valve, Semi-Auto, 3-round Burst, 6-round Burst, Turbo (2X Rate of Fire), Full Auto, R.O.F. up to 20 shots per second, Field Strippable, Removable Vertical Feed, External Adjustable Trigger, Stainless Steel Hammer, Energy-efficient Circuit Board. Available colors: Standard Metallic Blue, JAVA edition Forrest Green and Jet Black.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder EM1 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
wobbles82 Sunday, November 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Shocker, BKO
Marker Setup: Automag Classic with a lot of stuff- backup, EM-1 Black and silver with em-1 upgrade board, and swan creek bandits and bolts, J and J Ceramic in a day
Recommended
Upgrades:
New reg maybe, a drop if its too heavy and of course the amazing Swan Creek Bolt
Strengths: I got this thing practically new from my pal Ev, and it cost me 170 shipped, and all I can say is holy crap. The marker is insanely fast, and at close range I would take it over my mag mainly because this thing can spew paint without chops with the swan bolt. Also it is very efficient on air, and figuring out the marker itself is quite simple.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing I noticed was the trap door for the battery, it kinda shakes around but if you got some removable foam or something just put it in there and it will stay put. It also needs a very fast hopper.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone, someone who wants to get started, or even someone on bigger levels of playing. For the pretty good accuracy, well at longer ranges per say my mag beats it out in consistancy on targets, but still in closer areas this marker will provide you with more than enough firepower. Final conclusion is I said I would never buy a Spyder, I take that back mainly because Kingman actually made something with a bit of quality for there good price, very good overall marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

KING-MAN Wednesday, October 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Flash LCD, spyder compact,tippman98,shocker,tribal,angel...
Marker Setup: Black Em1 stock- 12v revy/ 88ci 3000psi crossfire nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel,new bolt,- both of mine work fine though
Strengths: First off the pirce of this gin is incredible...I got mine for 220 off ebay and it can compare to any other electro under $1000. The rof of this gun is insane. It can go from 5 to 13 bps on auto. It has semi,3 and 6 rnd burst, and full auto. i generally use the semi or 3 rnd burst set at 10bps. My two other friends both have tribals and i can keep up with them and/or even own them. i can hold the gun close to my body. I use up a hopper in a few minutes with the crazy rof. I get over 1000 shots outta my 88ci 3000psi nitro which is good. I got the gun running at 290 fps which is barely legal at tournaments but to bad b/c i mostly play woods games. The stock barrel is very accurate, and will shoot straight up to around 150ft. I barely break any paint and if i do it is because i have it on the fastest rof and my revy can't feed that fast.
Weaknesses: There are not many bad things about this gun. The gun is a little off balance but just get a drop forward or deal with it , its not that bad.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this gun for all players. It is cheap and effective. I can light up angels,cockers,mags,shockers,and impulses. This gun will wreck any one on the field if u have some general skill, trust me. Some players say the gun is big and gets in the way. But they dont think that when they see a paintball hit right between their eyes.!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

camz406 Thursday, September 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
E99's tl, busmaster icd
Recommended
Upgrades:
Palmer male stabilizer, bushmaster vert adapter{so you can mount the Palmer}, Barrel {JT 2pc, Boomstick, ect. the J&J wasnt to bad on it.}, Drop forward {dont go crazy just a lite one.} Take out the venturi.
Strengths: For the price its great, I have put, an angel feed w/ long tube, a Palmer male reg, Bushmaster vert adapter, clear grips, A JT 2pce barrel, and a Lapco drop forward, You need a nitro tank but thats good to have anyway, My gun {and me} get kills on cockers and angels but I also do that with my E99, and I got hit my kids with Sabotages before so It really doesnt matter what your shooting get a gun in your pricerange that you can afford to use, I am not saying anything bad about the cockers and angels I would just rather have 4 EM1's or bushmasters,. My gun all together cost me around $500 and I think it was worth every penny hers a pic... http://pixhost.com/pixc/camz383/em1.jpg Copy and paste that.
Weaknesses: single trigger but still fast enough to need an electro hopper,
Stock reg is junk
Thats it have fun.
Conclusion: Great gun dump acoule hundred into it overtime and it will be real nice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evilhomer_ii Monday, September 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
This was my first marker.
Marker Setup: Java black spyder em1, 14" jt 2-piece, and kingman tuck tight drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop fwd, new barrel, And a swan creek n-bolt if you play in the cold.
Strengths: This marker can go up to 13 bps, and i easily modified mine to have a 1 mm triger pull. Its a great beginner electro. Its a great marker for the price.
Weaknesses: Well, i have to admit. This is an ugly marker. Its too tall in the body. Unfortunately the Em1 is neither beginner marker or high end electro. Its kind of stuck in between.
Conclusion: If you really want to go electro get this, not a hybrid mec/electro. This marker is made to cycle fast. I wouldn't recommend this as a first marker. I bought it when i had the money floating around and i didn't know a lot. But if you want a high quality electro then get this. Its reliable and hey, it works. Which is all that really matters
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SACSlym Saturday, August 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Black Impulse
Marker Setup: Spyder Em1 Java Ed Black, 12v Vibration Sensor Hopper, Tuc-Tite Java Ed Blk Drop Forward, Blk Twisted Empire Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tuc-Tite, Its cheap and it works to balance the gun
A good barrel, with a good barrel you smack people cross field no prob
Strengths: Really cheap for its quality, Super Accurate (with a good barrel not allways the expensive one just a slick one) extremely powerfull (puts terror into the little birthday parties that come and go on my local field) and can be very light and is compact. Im pleased with everything about it.
Weaknesses: for all you perfectionists... its louder than most guns, frankly i love it!! they know your there and they know your coming for them but sometimes they get confused on which direction because the blast echoes!!! the ocaisional ball break but that depends on your balls and barrel.
Conclusion: I love this gun, I switch between my impulse and the EM1 during days of play.
They have different qualities but are still equals!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SethStoddart Monday, August 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
my defiant is wayy faster , wayy better looking... and they arent that great looking themselves lol , and sooo much nicer to the paint its shooting
Marker Setup: My big tall purpe defiant , a 68 mac wih a pure energy adjustable (verry nice reg ... its no maxflo but it does the job) and a Ricochet Ak (don't get the ones with the screen waste of $) oh and the hardware store special 1" pipe fitting high rise for the cheap person in all of us :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
... a new gun
Strengths: the price if u want an electric... but even still the price doesnt add up with the quality. Personally i'd buy a cocker for the money : it would work better, shoot almost as fast (keeping in mind em1's only go at around 7) and be sooo much more upgradeable
Weaknesses: the gun. the gun had good intentions but didnt get the quality. the spring return really blows, it needs a gas both ways setup. the spring keeps the price down but does the gun no favours. that is my biggest concern with the gun , its not too bad after u get past the whole slow spring return thing..... its still just a spyder no matter what they call it
Conclusion: dont get it.


dont listen to these ppl , for the most part they are owners trying to make their kit look impressive, take it from me, the gun isn't a nice gun. why do u think i only kept mine for a month?
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyderpbp Tuesday, July 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers, Various Spyders, Various Tippmanns
Marker Setup: Black EM1, Dye vertical feed, WGP Ergo Reg, Dye ASA adapter, Dye Stickies, Lapco Drop, 12 Volt revy, 68-3000 carbon fiber, Barrels (16 " AA, 12" Lapco Big Shot, 10" Dye Al )
Recommended
Upgrades:
New vertical feed, new Barrel, new Reg, and a Drop.
Strengths: Nicely made but cheap price, I picked up mine new for $219. I have mine set at 10 bps in semi mode which is plenty fast for me. I have shot an easy 7000+ rounds and have had about 4 or 5 ball breaks during games. Now yes if you have it set at 16 bps+ and your faning the triger your going to bust more paint no revy is flawless. So simple to disassemble and clean, love it. Adustable trigger pull is nice. How anyone can compare this to other spyders is insane. Much better quality than your average spyder not that all spyders are cheap or anything but it is a couple steps up. For under $500 you can have a very nice reliable marker. I would recommend to any one looking to step up there play.
Weaknesses: The vertical feed and elbow that was just a bad idea from kingman, about a $30 fix though. It is a bit louder than other guns but that doesnt bother me I like it when they know who I am. I guess opening the grip up is a pain to adjust the settings but I never mess with it anyways. I have never had a problem with the bolt. There are plenty drops out there for it, has a standard 2 hole grip. The battery tray is not a problem for me at all. It can get heavy with full hopper and a large tank on the back but so do cockers.
Conclusion: With a few Minor upgrades you'll have a very reliable marker. The EM1 has not let me down yet. You simply can not beat it for the price. I have used plenty other markers to include cockers but I still like my EM1 better. Now I have never used an Angel or Excaliber but how can you compare $1100 plus against $220. Come On!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ke0ki Tuesday, July 9th, 2002
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98c, amg
Marker Setup: old marker:
em1, dye titanium boomstick, swan creek nbolt, 68cu 3000 psi fiber tank, 12v revvy

current marker:
akalmp excalibur, 14" freak, 88cu 4500psi adj maxflow, inline reg, 12v revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
swan creek n-bolt, freak or boomstick
Strengths: first of all you people overrate the hell out of these guns... an impulse having the same rating as an amg?? the impulse is FAR superior to the amg

and for the guy who said he constantly whoops on angels with his em1 crew is lying, or the people who own the angels are handicapped or blind.

the em1 is a decent marker. its pretty fast, esp on full auto.

its fairly gas efficient. i used to get around 1000 shots out of a 68 3000 psi.

with a new bolt it will rarely break balls.

for the price you pay for it (i paid $280) it is a STEAL. an electro marker for that price is amazing.
Weaknesses: its heavy, and VERY loud. if you are playing woods ball EVERYONE will know exactly where you are because this thing sounds like a firecracker going off.

if you use full auto you WILL chop balls, theres no way around that.

on semi the gun cant keep up with your trigger pull so you wont shoot nearly as fast. maybe 6-7 bps.

good luck finding a drop forward for this gun, its near impossible.

the dip switches on the trigger require you to unscrew the grip, which means no in-game mode switching.

yes there are 20 something different shooting modes but most of them are useless.

better use a thick shell paint like blaze cuz of the guns high pressure, otherwise u will break at the bolt like crazy
Conclusion: the em1 has its downsides. i mean come on, its a spyder. but like i said before the performance / price ratio is amazing. u get near high end marker performance for very cheap, which is why it was my first electro.

i bought an akalmp excalibur and sold my em1 cuz whenever id go out to the fields people could always shoot loads faster than i could, cept when i had my gun on full auto, but then i was guaranteed to chop balls.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Comando86 Wednesday, June 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Nova 700
Marker Setup: EM1, Home Made Dropforward (Hard to find a good one for it), Smart parts teardrop barrel, 9V Revolution Hopper, Crossfire 47cu 3000psi Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new Barrel, and a dropforward.
Strengths: First of all the price. Lets face it folks yes a Shocker or Automag are better but are they twice or three times better? They should be because that is how much more they cost.! Its a good all around setup, easy to set the trigger to you personal taste. Sturdy, attractive and smooth. Again, a great quality FOR THE PRICE. If you demand more then pay $500 or more for a gun, if cost is a factor then get this gun and still be a contender.
Weaknesses: The barrel as all Kingman Barrels it not so hot. The power switch is not well protected and tends to get paint in it. Its hard to find a good dropforward for it. and it needs one. Right when you get the gun put blue locktight on the trigger set skrew (after you have set it too what you want), do the same to the skrew in the back of the bolt because the both like to work there way out.
Conclusion: A great product by Kingman and hopefully it sets the trend for other low cost electros.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Tl Plus
Marker Setup: Kingman Em1 with Pmi 68/4500 nitro, 14 inch dye ultralight barrel, 12 volt revy with an x board, java tuc tite drop forward,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward and Barrel
Strengths: Its a great marker for a great price. I can't wait to play next week because my friend and i are going to be able to smoke people when we go to challenge park next week. Buy the gun its a great electro marker for a low price.
Weaknesses: I can't find any 90 degree hose fittings to fit with the gun after i put the drop forward on it.
Conclusion: IT is a great gun if someone knows where to get hose fittings for it email me please. I would definityly buy it for the low price that it is at. I couldn't decide but when i saw the price drop that low i jumped on it and ordered it the next day.
It needs to work but with some upgrades it could beat most 700 dollar guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media