paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel / J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel / J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel

J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $48

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
J&J's new version of their Ceramic Barrel.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
danewbie Friday, September 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock spyder pilot barrel.
Marker Setup: 08 spyder pilot with trinity t lock(needs ion threads), invert reloader 2, j&j s2 14inch barrel and a 48ci 4500psi guerrilla air HPA tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use the cheapest stuff i can and it works fine.
Strengths: Accurate,
doesnt chop often
and sorta cleans itself out.
Weaknesses: Cleaning itself isnt as good as advertised.
Review: This barrel is accurate, durable, doesnt chop very often and basiccly cleans itself out. It was $35 dollars where i got it and i have only used it in battle once. Yet when i did the enemys were dropping fast, unlike with my stock spyder barrel. It is 14in which is perfect for bunkering and such.
Conclusion: Buy cheap effective accurate seems durable enough yo me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

engtmarines8 Friday, June 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have not really used anything but a tippman 98 stock and a spyder sonix stock
Marker Setup: 2005 Spyder sonix, J&J S2 14",12oz Co2
2005 pilot acs J&J S2 14",12oz Co2 dye stickys warrior rolling trigger and warrior clamping feedneck
Recommended
Paintballs:
Great barrel i dont reccomend any certain paint but some are better than others
Strengths: Light and Pretty affordable for such great quality
Weaknesses: Made of ceramic so could chip, NOT SELF CLEANING
Review: I haven't use it all that much and i have been having problems with my gun but this barrel does a fine job. i was able to easily hit a 3 foot by 3 foot board at about 75 yards. I really like the barrel but it is not self cleaning lik some say but wht can you expect. Nothing is self cleaning.

EDIT>>>
it has now been just under 3 years since i got this barrel. still in almost perfect condition. but i have continued using it even though i got a new gun. it works even better on this gun because of the speed the gun has. it puts speed and accuracy together making every shot i take a deadly one. being able to put 13 bps down the field with great accuracy has helped me dramaticly. i actually hit a guy from about 60 yards away in the woods in the center of his mask which was a great accomplishment for me seeing as how poor my stock barrel was
Conclusion: Great barrel for the price i love it. I wish it wasnt ceramic it limts your roughness on it
i say buy it if you have the chance because i don't have a great gun and mine is very accurate with the barrel so you should try it on you higher end marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 10th, 2008 at 12:21 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

caligula2nd Thursday, May 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Red's Pepper Sticks - better (.689 back)
Lapco Big Shot - similar
Sites Stiffi - better
Dye Boomstick/Ultralite - much better
Marker Setup: Warped Sportz Dark Cocker with E2

AGD custom black Mini Mag

ICD Laysoya Promaster

ICD Bushmaster with PDS and 1 Bushmaster blind

CCI Phantom

Tippmann A-5

Arikon Overlord

BT-4

Autococker SF Tactical

And a few other older guns from Tippmann & Spyder

Recommended
Paintballs:
Any medium/standard bore which is about 85% of most paintballs
Strengths: Very,very,easily cleaned, it does it itself :)
Weaknesses: Um... nothing I would call a real weakness
Review: I'll make this short since this barrel has been fairly well reviewed
i'll just put my 2 cents in.

This a nice barrel,I was quite impressed with the self cleaning. I
believed it did a better job of that than my Stiffi though a bit louder and
doesn't have quite the same range.

It has good accuracy at 60 feet and i've tried different paints with this but
it really doesn't compare to the above mentioned barrels except
the Big Shot with longer range and accuracy.

It's also much louder than the above mentioned barrels (if you care about that) except once again the the Big Shot.. Not even close to the
Dye Boomstick/Ultralite barrels with their muffled sound. It's not incredibly loud, nothing to complain about.
And it comes in a nice dust black finish,I believe that the only one that it comes in.


Conclusion: It's a very good barrel and can be found on many sites at a inexpensive price,I got mine on E-Bay for $20 I couldn't go wrong with that.
The bore size I believe this is .688 or .689 standard so you shouldn't have too much of a problem with a paint match.

Not much need for squeegee (I have no idea if I spelled that right)
it self cleans better than any barrel i've used even with very thick paint.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chris Russell Sunday, May 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrell
Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
shockteck superfly bolt
4500psi Nitro Tank
Flatline barrell
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizers
Strengths: Accurate
Quite
Range
Looks Cool
Cleans Itself
Weaknesses: Paint chips easily
small bore size
Review: Overall i think that this is a very good upgrade for your gun. ive been using it for a while and only had a few breaks, but my fps was a lil high so maybe that was why. I think that it looks cool and it performs very well, if your not careful you could chip the nice looking finish that it has. It also looks kinda brittle, but unless you use this barrel for a tire on your car you'll be fine.
Conclusion: I think that if you dont want to get a flatline that this is the perfect barrel for youe gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alnmike Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Marker Setup: Imagine, tricked out, reg, valve, bolt, striker, ect.

Vs3, stock. Fasta loader.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Worr Domination, Diablo Inferno, and Xball Silver.
Strengths: Cleans out nicely
Puts the paint where I need it.
Weaknesses: It doesnt shoot laserbeams.
Review: I got this barrel after reading the reviews here. This was back when I hadn't gotten my vs3 yet.

I have only used stock and this thing is a monster compaired to stock barrels. Cleans out after 2-3 shots, oly rarely have I had to use a squeegee. My vs3 shoots so fast that the balls cleaning the breaks get smashed themselves by other paintballs, so thats why im selling it, im gonna buy a kit with a bigger boresize.

This thing shoots good paint amazingly well. It has an absolutely awesome fit with Worr Domination paint.
Conclusion: Self cleaning, just dont shoot too fast while cleaning, I keep forgetting.
With a good barrel match, shoots darts.
Cheap.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brainiac27 Saturday, March 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Pure Energy 20oz. CO2
Pro Caps Coiled remote with slide check
Tapco MP folding Stock
Vforce Profiler goggle
J&J S2 Ceramic 14"
Polished internals
JCS 3/8 offset 3" long
Recommended
Paintballs:
Haven't really tested though it is medium bore.
Only used Recon camo paintballs(cheapo)
Strengths: Very quiet compared to stock
pretty accurate for me
Weaknesses: Outside finish can looked scratched
Review: I got this from an eBay seller and have not been let down. Drastically decreased my sound level over the stock barrel. I can hit a 2' by 4' target at 30 yards with lower to average paint and CO2. I can actually hear my bolt and other internals moving and the paintball makes more noise hitting than my gun(really). Any one that wants a great barrel for $36 bucks on eBay should get this. I got the 14" on personal preference because I heard from many places that 14" is the best length for accuracy and air usage.
Conclusion: Get this barrel as soon as possible once you get an A-5. You won't be disappointed. I never give a 10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 10th, 2007 at 7:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iwa2008 Saturday, February 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, flatline
Marker Setup: bone stock 98 custom with a J&J S2 ceramic barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any high quality paintballs would be fine. The days when testing I mixed brands and qualities to test out the performance. Though the next time out I used some RPS premium and the gun functioned perfectly.
Strengths: The Strengths of this barrel are its accuracy and ease of cleaning.
Weaknesses: The barrel would loosen. See review
Review: So I ordered this barrel after my brother bought a flatline and his friend bought an allstar. So I hit up this website to read some reviews on the next barrel I wanted, and this one semmed to be an upgrade from the ceramic. Since I did not have much money I ordered this barrel based on its strengths, and did'nt worry abouts weakness. The day after I received this barrel I could'nt figure out how to get tho O-Ring on, since it was late soI didn't worry about it. So when I started playing I noticed when something would brush against my barrel I would unscrew. When this would happen the accuracy would decrease some. So at the end of the day, I decided to put the o ring on. After that I test fired the gun with the left over mixed up paintballs, And the patter became smaller.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this product for its cheapness, accuracy, and it is easy to clean.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

da-bollar Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
redz pepper stickz... a little quieter
Marker Setup: tippmann 98, 12" j&j s2, 200 round hopper, 9 oz. tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi premium or diablo heat
Strengths: quiet, ACCURATE!!!, light, adds a little distance, looks sweet!
Weaknesses: The finish stratches on Lemongrass! Not too quiet
Review: i ordered the j&j s2 off actionvillage but I had to wait 4 months to use it!!! i went to play one and i could hit a lamp post from 55-65 ft. its really quiet but my brothers peppers stickz is a lot quieter! its really light, but the finish got scratched while walking through lemon grass!
Conclusion: Overall this is a great product from J&J, but nothing is perfect. I recommend this to anybody who isn't a hardcore paintballer, and its definetly a step up from the crappy tippy stock barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jps_cobra1 Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none.
Marker Setup: 1995 Spyder custom (back when I was airsmithing).
Spyder pilot ACS, smart parts all american 16" and Taso 14"(both barrels or more than 6 years old at this time), shockteck superfly bolt and New dezins HP valve.
WGP trilogy tactical, J&J s2 12" barrel, CP Flame drop foward, Shocktech superfly bolt, WGP wraped grips and Triumph 200 hopper.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Jt tactical, Nelson, and RPS
Strengths: Light, Looks, and Accuracy
Weaknesses: None found
Review: I have used this barrel only a few times around my property, its very accurate and pretty quiet. The first time I used it, it was throwing balls left and hard but I just went from a 14" to a 12" so what did I expect, after turning my cocker down the barrel was dead-on the money every time. I did chop one ball I then cleaned the barrel and continued (I've played paintball for 12 years now, No barrel is self cleaning and J&J does not say it is self cleaning, it may happen to get better but that's just the ceramic lining). But great barrel for the money I love the looks and the accuracy is great, the range hasn't gotten any better or worse but then again I'm shooting a closed bolt gun so range and accuracy is what that's all about.
Conclusion: Great barrel worth every penny you spend.
Is not self cleaning I don't no how that got started.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Corrupted355 Wednesday, December 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
DYE Xcel
J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
12" J&J S2 Ceramic & DYE Xcel
WAS E-grip
JCS Dual Trigger
Vortex mod
Palmer's QEV
CMI micro-coil remote w/ 32 Degrees slide check
Recommended
Paintballs:
medium to small paint.
Strengths: Looks great
Shoots clean
Accurate
Quiets down the loud A-5 a little
Cheap
Weaknesses: The finish might scratch, but it doesn't affect performance
Review: For the price, you can't get much better than this. This thing is as accurate as you can ask for, and it looks awesome doing it. Takes the loud A-5 from an all out bellowing report to a completely tolerable bark. The only time I wasn't able to shoot it clean in 2-3 shots was when my Cyclone made soup out of some cheap field paint. Not that I've had more than two or three breaks in the barrel in a couple thousand rounds anyway. When I first got it, I actually cut a ball, and poured the paint down the barrel to see how long it took to clear it out.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a great barrel for as little cash as you can spare, this is the one for you. Performs with the best for half the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 20th, 2006 at 10:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media