paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel / J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel / J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel

J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $48

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
J&J's new version of their Ceramic Barrel.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
KurtIsMyUncle Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom Stock Barrel-Yeah...
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Shocktech Supafly Bolt
J&J S2 14" Barrel
Soon to get a drop forward and Sticky grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium to large bore
Not Dusk
Exotic Sportz Fireballs work awesome
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Price
Looks
Weaknesses: Doesn't shoot as straight as I would like
Review: I got this barrel pretty much right after shooting my 98 for the first time, because, as we all know, the stock barrel sucks. This barrel had good reviews and was awesomely cheap. I got the 14" because I didn't want anything too long.
The first time I used the barrel was with Fireballs and they worked great. I definitely saw a big increase in distance. However, though decent, my grouping wasn't as good as I had hoped. It was still way better than the stock though.
The next time I used it was with Dusk paint, which sucked, a lot. The bore size is just too small, the balls could roll easily through the barrel with room all around.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a cheap fix for your current barrel problem, buy this barrel, it's well worth the money. Make sure you get a good match of paint, .689 or higher. If you can spend more money though look for a better barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006 at 10:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dasrot Friday, November 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder TL+
14" J&J Ceramic S2
JT Flex 7 Mask
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: +Quiet
+Extremely accurate
+Cheap
+Looks great
Weaknesses: -Doesn't fire through breaks
-Finish scratches easily (no big deal)
-No O-ring
Review: All in all this is a great barrel. I am very glad that I purchased it. It is a very accurate barrel, and is also very quiet. I was disappointed when I broke my first ball, tried to fire more balls through it, and they all proceeded to break. Never once did the barrel "self-clean" itself. This is just false advertisement from resellers and customers that ticks me off. Here is a quote from an email sent to me from J&J.

"An oring comes with the barrel if it's ment to have one. We don't advertise the barrel as self cleaning, that came about from customers."

So I guess I have you guys to blame for the reason I bought the barrel. Because I liked the fact that the barrel would "self clean."

Also, the flat black paint on the barrel scratches easily, which is not that big of a deal. Just a cosmetic issue. Another thing to add is that the barrel itself isn't ceramic, just the coating on the inside of the barrel. So you don't have to worry about shattering your barrel if you hit something with it.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a barrel that is accurate, cheap, and looks great, this is the barrel for you. Just don't expect the barrel to do magical things like clean itself out, that is just a load of crap.

7/10
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 3rd, 2006 at 8:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scarface62c Thursday, October 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann werks barrel
a-5 stock
bt ak-47
bt m-16
j&j full tilt ceramic
other tippmann barrels
spyder barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
camo graphics kit
collapsible stock
RT trigger
double-trigger
fixed sight rail
20 oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
draxxus
rampage
heat
Strengths: Accuracy
Distance
Quiet
Best barrel i eva shot
Looks like a two piece barrel
Weaknesses: None!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review: I recomend anybody to get this barrel especially if u play woodsball u wont shoot another barrel like it!!! If ur looking for a good priced barrel and has excellent performance this is the barrel for u.If u want a two piece barrel u can go and buy the full tilt ceramic.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zimman Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrell - louder, heavier, less accurate
empire 16" twister barrell - a little quiter, heavier, just as accurate
Marker Setup: 98c
expansion kit
shocktech super fly bolt
polished internals
16" empire twister barrel
remote line
rocket cock II
Recommended
Paintballs:
uh anything that is good bore size match
Strengths: See body:
Weaknesses: See body:
Review: well i got his barrell in the mail about two weeks ago from an online paintball store and i've shot around with it a bit and this is what ive seen so far

Strengths:
-This barrell is accurate, i was very happy with the quality of the shooting
-the self-cleaning works and it works well a definite plus
-looks, this barrell is dead sexy
-price, cheap
-light barrell

Weaknesses:
-a little louder than my twister but i think this is only because the twister is longer and therefore has more porting to allow theco2 more chance to leave barrell effictively making it quiter
Conclusion: Very good barrell for the price well worth it and i reccomend it to anyone
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EvilDemon98 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Performance ceramic barrel
Marker Setup: A stock A-5, J&J S2 Ceramic Barrel, 68/3000 Crossfire Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
X Ball Bronze
Strengths: Looks, accuracy, quieter, etc see review
Weaknesses: Range is the same as the stock barrel
Review: I got the S2 for my Birthday and I have play with it about 2 time since I got it. Good barrel deafanitly an improvemint from the 81/2 stock barrel-sucks on the A-5. It has the range but better accuracy. It has the apperance of a 2 piece Barrel, but it a one piece. It looks really good. It is a lot quieter than the stock barrel.
Conclusion: I would recommend it to any person with a stock barrel on a A-5. 9 of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nbishop66 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramice (shoots just as good, doesn't look as good)
Smart Parts Teardrop (Can't even compare)
Stock Spyder and ION Barrel
Marker Setup: ION - 360 QEV, J&J S2, Psycho Balistics Drop Forward w/ on/off
Spyder Pilot ACS - J&J Ceramic (Polished), other up's (Backup Gun)
Viewloader Evo II, Y Board
Pure Energy 68/3000 Fiber Wrap
JT Tank Cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any medium Bore.
RPS El Tirge too small. You'll have better luck throwing them.
Strengths: Supper Quiet.
Very nice looking
Great Accuracy
Weaknesses: No o-ring, but you can always add one
Review: I have the J&J Ceramic on my Spyder Pilot ACS and my son had the Smartparts Teardrop on his. I was sooooo impressed with the quality, quietness and accuracy of the J&J Ceramic that it was a no brainer what I was getting for my new ION. I love everything but the looks of the J&J Ceramic, so I thought I give the S2 a try. This barrel not only looks great, but it performs just as well. When you get a good paint to barrel match all I can hear is the solenoid clicking on my ion.

Straight consistent shots are expected and this barrel delivers them. I did make the mistake of buying the RPS El Tigre paintballs from D*ck's, but they were way too small. They corkscrewed, hooked and sliced. You need to get a good medium bore paint. You won't be disappointed.

To be honest my first choice was a Freak Jr. kit, but I didn't feel like spending $80. I got this barrel for $32 and as long as you get a good paint to barrel match you won't be disappointed with this barrel. It was so cheap I bought 2, one for me and one for my son.

People say this about all J&J Ceramics "this thing is made of ceramic", "it seems delicate". This is an aluminum barrel, just like 95% of the barrels on the market. The inside of the barrel is coated with a ceramic material. It will take all the abuse that any other barrel will.
Conclusion: This barrel will not shoot all paint well. It is a fixed bore, no inserts so that's kind of an obvious statement. For a fixed bore barrel it is great. It's no Freak Kit, but for the recreational and occasional tournament player you will be impressed as long as you use medium bore paint.

J&J Does it again with another great barrel. This thing is damn quiet and accurate. For all Fixed bore barrels I'm giving it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 9th, 2006 at 6:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

w333lt Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 1 peices and lapco Bigshots
Marker Setup: AGD MiniMag
-ULE mainbody
-level 10
-ULE Trigger pull kit
-intelliframe
-J&J s2 ceramic barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, it depends on the bore size you get, I like the hellfire and Draxxus midnight.
Strengths: Light
Sexy
Shoots straight
Weaknesses: Scratches easily.
Feels brittle, but its not.
Review: I really like this barrel, it was the first one i purchased after buying the ULE mainbody for my Airgun designs Minimag. This is a great barrel, they maybe on the expensive side for some people, but these barrels are totally worth it. The have a great selection of bore sizes and lenghts. I love it
Conclusion: If you have a friend that has one of these, I highly reccomend that you use it for a game or two.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kinglaf Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Twister Barrel, Thunder Pig, Smart Parts Progressive, Dye Night Styk, Evil XXX, & Others...
Marker Setup: WGP '05 Prostock
Recommended
Paintballs:
The Barrel is .688. I normally used Empire Engage balls, and I tested this barrel with the same. They are a tight fit, but fire nicely.
Strengths: Self Cleaning
Light Weight
Nice Looks
Weaknesses: None that I have noticed.
Review: I've only used this barrel for about 200 rounds. I had one ball break simply because I got a ball stuck in the barrel before I had it on the gun. So the first ball I fired was a break. I shot at most 5 times before the barrel came clean. The rest of the time they were very accurate. I was also testing my eVLution 2 Loader at the same time, so I did a lot of rapid fire. All balls were nicely shot. I didn't seem to have any extra distance. Perhaps the accuracy was a bit better than the stock barrel. I definetly like the looks though.
Conclusion: I like the barrel as a whole. I'll definetly have to use it a little more to see if there is a noticable difference between this and the stock '05 ProStock barrel. I am in no way shap or form disappointed with this barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Caddy24Roy Saturday, June 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
pmi razzor barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
LAPCO feedneck
14" J&J S2 Ceramic Barrel
Extreme Rage Overdrive Modified Electric Hopper
Heavy Duty Remote Coil
20 oz tank
Stranj 6 + 1 harness
6 Stranj Locking Lid Pods
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ive used all of the different paints at walmart and they all work great. I prefer the scorch paint. Thats what I buy most of the time, unless Im at a field where u gota buy their paint.
Strengths: Ceramic
Weaknesses: None that ive seen so far.
Review: Ive only gotten to shoot this barrel in my back yard. I setup 2 targets one about 30 yds and one bout 50yds. The target at 30 yds i was able to keep a nice grouping and was puttn most of them on top of each other. The target at 50 yds i was also able to keep a nice grouping but they werent on top of each other. The grouping was about 6 - 10 inch circle. I got the barrel because of the ability to clean its self out. So I took the hopper off and was manually feedn balls. I purposely poked a small hole to get the ball to break in the barrel and shot 2 balls after that and the barrel was cleaned out and the next ball i shot was right back on target. This was just amazing.
Conclusion: This barrel is a great upgrade for 45 - 60 bucks. I got mine for 45 bucks off of ebay.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pblover101 Thursday, June 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
J & J Ceramic (Regular Version)
Pmi Razzor
Smart Parts Teardrop
Marker Setup: 2004 BkO
Palmer's Stabilizer
Crossfire 68/4500
Lp Valve
Clamping Feed
Recommended
Paintballs:
Smaller Bore (anything .688 and under)
Strengths: -Looks (style)
-Accuracy (with Correct Paint)
-Ceramic Strength
Weaknesses: -Smaller Bore Than the Average Paintballs
-Off Black Ceramic Color (preference)
Review: THis barrel is overall very nice. It has the strength of Ceramic and quality expected from J & J Preformance. It Looks like a 2-piece with that aggressive touch. It also has accuracy matched to other higher end barrels for a lower cost. The only real downside is that is is .688 bore, .689 which is more common bore for paintballs. .689 balls fit, but barrel breaks and less accuracy will happen.
Conclusion: Get this barrel if you want a cheap and accurate barrel. It will shoot with the best of them, just make sure to shoot smaller paint. If you play at a lot of fields that you can't bring your own paint then you might want a bigger bore barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media