paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel / J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel / J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel

J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $48

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
J&J's new version of their Ceramic Barrel.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
tbaylor828 Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other J&J performance Ceramic barrels of models 5 years older
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with LPK, 2 finger E-grip, Flatline,
Nitro duck 68/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
Proball (good paint to bore match)
Have not tested any other paint yet
Strengths: Looks
Self Cleaning
Quiet
Weaknesses: None at all!!!
Review: Ok, here is the deal. I have always played with a flatline since I bought my A-5. But, I wanted to go with something a little more accurate. Compressed air, low pressure, and a stable shooting profile has made the marker extremely accurate. But I just wanted to get my groupings a little tighter, and since my game has elevated, a longer shot isn't as necessary. First time I looked at it I was impressed with how sexy it looked on the A-5. (personal preferance!) It came packaged in a little plastic bag, and no damage was done during the shipping process. I screwed it in, and accidentally scratced the finish with my ring, but I wiped it down with a damp rag and it was gone. No harm done.

I applied rain-x to the inside barrel, (was told it could help, doesn't hurt) and ran a microfiber towel through it to clean any excess out of the bore. When I finally got around to firing the gun, I could actually hear the agitator inside the hopper churning the paintballs everytime I fired my a-5. It is a lot quieter than my flatline. I have not measured distances yet, but I know that It shoots straight enough for what you will ever need. I am so used to shooting a flatline, at first it thought the distance and barrel was dissapointing to say the least. But, I had to remind myself that all barrels shoot with an arcing pattern. And distance would be sacraficed. But as soon as I put three right on top of each other, I was impressed by the fact that this barrel after shooting it five times, had managed to do something my flatline never did. I will test more at a later date, and ad more info to this review. I hope you will find this helpful, and keep looking for an update on this product.


*(Edit)* 1/07/06
This was my first day to use this barrel in action. And I have not seen this great of accuracy, in a long time, flat out wonderful play from this barrel. I was making great shots and did not have one break all day long. Also the myth about the finish not being very durable is not true, what looks like a scratch wipes right out. (like scratching dry skin and then puting lotion on it) I did notice a sacrafice in range, but the added accuracy was well worth the loss in distance. At ranges of 100 feet, I was easily placing my paint is on eight" by eight" block, and no wide variations at all. A solid asset to any marker, and any player.

*(Edit)* 1/21/06
I played at the Black Hawk Down scenario event in Harwood Texas, and let me say one thing. Awesome!!!! I haven't had the chance to play in a scenario event, and never have I had the opportunity to play with such a large crowd. During the night game, we used spot lights to find enemies. But since I had made the switch earlier that day from my flatline to my J&J, aiming by way of watching my paintballs fly downfield was not necessary. At night, when I saw a shadow poke out, I simply pointed and shot with confidence of knowing where, and how far my paint was flying. I had several of my eleminations during this time of the game, and everything I shot at was either marked or bunkered down. Once again proving to be a great barrel on the field.
Conclusion: Great Barrel, Awesome price ($30.25 Shipped) Good looking finish, Accurate, Quiet, Self Cleaning, what more do you want? A solid asset to your Game, Get one Now!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 at 1:45 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Drusoff44 Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel off of a custom pro
Dye excel
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
-Car Stock
-JandJ S2 14 inch
-Bt Sealed bolt system
-Bt raised sight rail
-Kingman Remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
Crucifire. its the only thing i shot. and it worked well.
Strengths: Weight
volume
accuracy
strength
Weaknesses: Feels weak
Review: I got this barrel a few months ago and i loveed it. its very light sp it doesnt weigh done the gun. the first time i shot it i was surprised how quiet it was. the length of the barrel really doesnt matter (i have a 14'' because it was the only one available). Either length will be accurate. the barrel also will shoot through breaks pretty easilly.
Conclusion: Get it. its a good barrel for the price. you won't be dissapointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

MetalHead pb Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 16"
Tippmann stock 8 1/2"
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Expansion camber
Double trigger
Revvy
14" J&J S2
20oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Formula 13, Worr Paint
Strengths: Very good looking, Quite, Sturdy
Weaknesses: Nothing i know of.
Review: I got this thing a few weeks ago and i got to say, This is one nice barrel!

I had a tippmann 16" on my tippmann before and it was accurate but also a little too

long for me. so i decided to get the J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel, and this thing

is just as accurate as my 16" if not better and i have the 14" J&J S2.

I broke a ball once out of the 4 games i played in one day, and that was my fault

because i think i was out shooting my hopper (which is a crappy grav feed) and that's

my fault it broke. (Idk how i out shoot the hopper with a tippmann but i did, but know i have a Revvy so i should be good).

But if you already didn't know this about the barrel, it cleans its self when you shoot another ball through it,

and this is true i just shoot again and didn't even make the ball shoot slower and the barrel was

clean enough for the rest of that game!
Conclusion: Get this barrel! it is the best one i have ever shoot, i got for about $35 off ebay.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 19th, 2005 at 4:25 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

amon Wednesday, December 14th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline,stock 98
Marker Setup: Model 98, expansion chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
Dont buy them you wont like this barrel at all.
Strengths: It shoots thats about it.
Weaknesses: Paintballs will dip and curve every where no mater what paint you use.
Review: All right so i finally got this barrel after 1 week i ordered it and i took it in my back yard loaded some paint (draxxus) in the hopper and from the reviews I read it would be accurate. I shot 5 or 6 rounds and i might as well have been blindfolded ,it could not hit a 3 foot target 30 feet away. I looked at my velocity and turned it up and down it still would not hit any thing. After that I looked at the barrel the inside was kind of clean so I got my squeegee out and cleaned it, and what do you know it sill was curving and about 30 out of 300 hit the target. At 33 feet and anything after that then good luck because you wouldn't hit water if you fell out of a boat.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this barrel at all
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 14th, 2005 at 6:16 pm PST
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

oMJAo Monday, October 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
system x 12 inch
Marker Setup: JT tac 5 camo, 14 inch J&J ceramic S2 barrel, daisy max view red dot, 20 ounce tank w/ butt plate
Recommended
Paintballs:
DRAXXUS DUSK
Strengths: -Very very accurate
-Great ball flight
-Self cleans
Weaknesses: none that I can think of...
Review: I bought this barrel hoping for a cheap barrel that would work good on my tac-5. I am definitely satisfied with my purchase and am very please with the performance. I tested this barrel on a 1by1 board from 100 feet away and it would just not miss. The barrel can shoot through a break quite nicely.
Conclusion: Buy it if your looking for a cheap good barrel...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dkutchukk Wednesday, October 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really, just
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" J&J S2 Ceramic
everything else stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
draxxus worked fine with mine, no breaks, about 500-1000 balls shot
Strengths: Looks awesome
Good color
MUCH Quieter
Very accurate
Weaknesses: Scratches and chips easily
Looks kinda weak
Review: I have shot about 500-1000 Draxxus rounds through this barrel, and i didn't break a single one. I am VERY pleased with it's performance. The only thing i'm not so excited about is that i play woodsball more than anything, and it will get scratched easily. So, if you're a woodsball player, you MUST take care of your equipment to keep this barrel pretty. Overall, it's a very good product.
Conclusion: Very good barrel for the price. Mine was $35, and i am very pleased with my purchase.
I definetly reccomend this barrel, especially to tippmann users.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

InFeStEd Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
dye boomstick
stock barrel
werks tippmann 14"
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
20oz CO2
14" J&J S2 Ceramic
Recommended
Paintballs:
actually anything
Strengths: Below
Weaknesses: Below
Review: So i finally got my 14" J&J S2 Ceramic Barrel for my 98c after 3 weeks of waiting. (Freekin' UPS) And as promised, I will post a quick breakdown of the barrel for other tippy users.

So I opened the case that it came in, a little plastic wrapper and would have expected chips and scratches from the way it was packaged. To my surprise, however, it was perfect. The S2 comes now with an O-ring, SO NO MORE SLIPPAGE. I took this thing out to a construction yard and i shot about 500 shots through it. (Brass Eagle and Ink'z, Yuk, I know) It was about 8:00PM with a light wind from the East. At about 150 feet I was shooting a boulder about 2 feet by 2 feet and hit about 80-90%. We then shot at another rock about 11 inches by 11 inches at 60 feet and hit it about 80-90% again! Lastly at about 20 feet we shot at a pop can and I nailed it 2/3 times. The barrel seems quite durable, The teflon inside did not marr or get gunked up after we were done, and I did not have any large errant shots. The shape of this barrel also looks like a 2 peice but it really is a 1 piece. Kinda cool and will get the sexy looks!

Strengths:
Light
More durable than it looks
ACCURATE!
slightly quieter
comes with O-Ring
looks
Price, 40$ CAN

Weakness:
Feels week
O-Ring was a bit small


This barrel, for the price, is amazing. It outshoots some of the higher priced barrels i have shot, It is extremely light, and is dead sexy. This barrel in my opinion is easily a 9.5. No barrel gets a 10 as none are perfect, but this is top of the line! ups to a 10
Conclusion: Get this barrel

9.5/10

Better than the old ceramics, its an upgrade to the old ones
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

getadodge Thursday, July 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hmmm...nothing really besides the spyder stock barrel.
Marker Setup: spyder xtra, regulator, 14" J&J S2 ceramic barrel, 12 volt revvy.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Not sure yet...I use draxxus and they worked horrid.
UPDATE: I got some brass eagle (yeah I know) monster balls and they actually worked better than the draxxus. I'm sure there is better paint for this barrel though...
Strengths: Good price
Good color
Very quite
Performs okay
Weaknesses: DOES scratch easy so beware if you play woodsball
Review: I bought this barrel for about $40 dollars and I'm glad I did.

First off, I noticed my marker became quieter. Second, it shot much more accurate. Thirdly, I was staying in games much longer if not the entire round.

This barrel is decent and will improve the accuracy of any maker. The only problem I've had with it is the paint scratches pretty easy. I myself don't mind because I think it adds to the realism of woodsball, but that's probably just me....

It does self-clean as well, but you will still need to clean it occasionally.

Anyway, I think hard paint works the best in this barrel and it's better if the bore is too small than too big. I recommend scorch paintballs.

Conclusion: It's just as accurate (maybe more accurate) than my friends tippmann 98's progressive barrel. The only differance is it looks better and it's super quiet. My only complaint is the finish job could be better in terms of durability.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 8th, 2007 at 8:38 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

meyer217 Thursday, July 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts 14", smart parts 12"
Marker Setup: '05 Pilot ACS with 14" JJ Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
worr paint
Strengths: Best size.
Weaknesses: Not a really nice barrel.
Review: I used this barrel to play all kinds of different games and it worked pretty well. it worked ok for speed ball. It worked really well on the "real" field. It works real good in the woods also. This barrel is really accurate for the cheap price. It dose not work as well as the barrels that match the thousands of an inch to your balls but it works very well with fully auto.
Conclusion: If you want a cheap barrel for use in all kinds of paintball this barrel is pretty good.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media