paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Omen 2.0 / Evil Omen 2.0 / Evil Omen 2.0 / Evil Omen 2.0

Evil Omen 2.0 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Omen 2.0

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Omen 2.0
[ View Photos (26) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 74
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Gentlemen, we can rebuild it.
We have the technology.
We have the capability to make the worlds first bionic marker.
The Omen 2.0 will be that marker.
Better then it was before.
Better, Stronger, Faster.
-Expanded LPC
-New larger Trigger Frame
-Dual LED's
-Aluminum/Delrin Bolt
-Expanded Valve
-More Precise and Durable Re-cock Adjustment
-Driver Barrel
-ASA with Gauge
-No Rise Feed Tube
-1.5 Cam Arms - force feed compatible
-1.5 Board - capable of 25 BPS
Available now (for less then 6 million dollars)
Product Availability 
The Evil Omen 2.0 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Preset Reg Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used nothing like it. It was my first Electro ever.
Marker Setup: Omen 2.0-Crossfire 47/3000 tank-Halo B-A really cool clamping feedneck alternative!(Electrical tape around feedneck)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A clamping feedneck. (CCM-Smart Parts-etc.) High air capacity tank. (Crossfire 68/4500 or more)
Strengths: Speed-Consistency-Sound-Not Common-Accuracy (With good paint)
Weaknesses: Setup-Tail-trigger (Depends on style)
Review: One fine day I was sitting down and eating soup when a lady in brown came and dropped off a cardboard box. It was not ticking so I opened it. And so the review begins...

Packaging - The black box that my Omen 2.0 came in was very professional looking and clean. The inside has one manual and one page for setup of the marker. The foam is a nice black with very nice placing to hold all the parts. It is a mystery to me on how Evil got everything in as I cannot fit them back in the exact way that it came. Along with the black,blue,or red Omen 2.0 is a tube of PUS lubricant, allen keys (not all sizes for dis-assembly), a .89 driver barrel, and spare parts.

Initial Reaction - My initial reaction to seeing this fine piece of metal was wow. It was a very nice black finish. Although not all of the allen keys were there for dis-assembly, there were enough for the setup. The barrel was nice and there was clearly a lot of thought was put into this marker.

Field tests - When I took it out to the field I was disappointed because it started leaking when I turned the air on. After some adjustments it stopped leaking. I chronod an it shot pretty consistent. 280,283,279,267,275,284 etc. I headed out to the field to find who other than my former friend that turned mean because of some unknown toxins released in the air...just kidding of course, but he was a noob and was intimidated/impressed by fast markers. I started shooting across the field and he broke my concentration by shouting "Whooooaaaaaa!!!! Is that your new gun!?!?" So there was a missed shot. The marker was very fast and I did not break a ball the entire game. I soon had to reload. I pulled out a pod and my tank caught my eye. 1000 psi down on one hopper!?! Wow! I found that I needed a larger tank ASAP.

Later games - When I played a later game my board changed the rate of fire on my marker and I started shooting one ball a second. I still pulled off the run-through but was wondering why it did that. I also started jamming paint in the cam-arms,( A new piece to the market that is an alternative to eyes) and having to take off the hopper to un-jam it. That is a pain in the feedneck (Haha! I made a funny!) because the Halo holds around nine balls in the drop area and they go all over the place and people are shooting your bunker 13 times a second and you have to hold your marker in one hand and the Halo in your arm and un-jam the marker with your other hand and if you drop anything you're screwed because you are on a hyperball field and it is all sand and if you get sand in the hopper it jams and it is all just a mess. The cam-arms also broke paint and my hopper fell off every game! I am using electrical tape to keep it on right now. I also noticed that the tail scratched my lens and I am always getting slapped in the face with the rear block. (I play front) The trigger also felt a little too wavy for me but that is a personal choice.

More games - Later I used better paint but all day it chopped, made it out of the barrel one inch and split itself, or the bolt killed it even with the re-cock turned down. I tried to hit a spool from 15 feet away but it curved and if the ball turned 5 degrees more, it probably would have hit one of the members on my team! The rear block screw soon popped out in a game and once in a game, the hammer plate screw came out, jamming itself diagonally in the bolt assembly! I had to borrow my buddy's Spyder screw! So I said screw it and ordered an Invert Mini. I also was getting velocities like 228,359,254,154,289,304,202,167...etc.



Conclusion: I only recommend this marker for people who like to order parts. When it works it is like a dream and is very consistent. But every other time, it is like that kid from the Exorcist.
You may want to try it for yourself.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 10th, 2007 at 8:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spion182 Friday, October 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts ion
sf autococker
system x
electra
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
2 Pure Energy 72 ci 3000 psi tanks
Viewloader Evlution3
Virtue Board
Virtue QEV
Break Beam eyes
Warrior Lowrise Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper
lots of N2
Strengths: Fast
light
cool looking
not too expensive
good barrel
made by evil
Weaknesses: It's only semi
Review: My friend just got the omen 2. He's got an egg3 and 72 ci 3000 psi tanks. This thing can rip! the trigger is sensitive, the gun is light, only about $300 off actionvillage.com, and it looks great. They say it can go 25 bps, which is pretty darn good! The only bad thing that i can think of is that it is only semi. I would've liked to see it have at least 1 more mode, like ramping.

The omen 2 compares to the ion very oddly.
almost the same weight., feels just like one, and is in the same price range.

Evil Omen 2. vs Smat Parts Ion.
omen would win, but when you throw on a virtue board on the ion, the ion will dominate.
the omen doesn't have many available upgrades, but doesn't really need any.

Either get a virtue ion ( will go 25 bps and has thousands of modes) or an evil omen 2 (has 1 mode, also goes 25 bps)
Conclusion: Great gun!!!! shoots ropes!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ninyin Saturday, September 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Promaster - I prefer the promaster by a long shot
Marker Setup: Stock Omen
72/3000 PSI
Eggy II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Blade trigger
New feedneck
Strengths: - Terrific stock parts
- Lifetime warranty
- Accurate
- Cams
- Delrin bolt
- Comes with 5 oz lube
Weaknesses: - Skips
- Annoying to tuning
- Blowback
- Kick
- Gas Hog
- Reg to close trigger frame
Review: After researching for two months to find the best paintball gun for the price, my friend and I settled for the Omen 2.0. Mine came broke, so I returned and got a promaster instead (I didn't get it before because the price hadn't gone down yet). My friend's Omen worked fine and he really likes it. Sure, the the Omen is a good gun, but it has more than its fair share of problems.

THE GOOD

There is no denying it, the Omen has unbelievable stock parts for its price. Its got a driver barrel, detonator regulator, on/off ASA, and rechargeable 9v battery. The delrin bolt is self-lubricated so you don't need to worry about it. The cams supposedly make it impossible to chop. So far, I have not seen a single chop. Evil was very smart to include a 5 oz pus lube. Its enough to last a while. But the best thing about the Omen is its lifetime warranty. If anything is to happen to it, its Evil's duty to fix it.

THE BAD

As I mentioned above, my Omen came broken. I at first thought it was because there was no battery that came with it. I called 10 times for a replacement and not a single battery After a bit of experimenting, I discovered it was because the board was shot. So instead of calling the Evil tech-line (after 10 calls and no help, I wasn't in the mood to call them), I called the place I ordered it from. I got my money back and settled with a promaster. I'm still kinda pissed since I was hoping to play the entire summer. But because I was sent a faulty gun, I wasted my summer trying to get a working one. Thanks Evil.

But now, lets talk about the gun now. Well, its a blowback. Like all blowbacks, they are gas hogs, have an annoying kick, and very annoying to tune. FIrst, you have to set the fps, then fool around with the velocity. Also, a lot of people say the kick of the Omen is hardly a problem. This is not true when you are walking your gun. The continuous kick will affect your accuracy. Another problem is the regulator is to close to the trigger frame. It is very annoying not to be able to wrap your hands around the regulator. The trigger is also very weird. I can't walk with it well. The final problem is that it skips. My friend set it to the max bps, yet it doesn't shoot very fast. If he walks the trigger, the Omen will shoot one ball every three shots. I've seen Omen shoot very fast, but this one doesn't. (its probably because he has never set the the velocity)
Conclusion: For the price, its a swell gun. With all the irritating problems with it, I can't recommend it.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 17th, 2006 at 7:35 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

grngrppler Thursday, September 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
sp ion
sp nerve
Marker Setup: evil omen 2.0
adjustable 32 degrees drop forward
pure energy 68/3000
clamping feedneck
halo b w/ rip
macroline
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feedneck is a must. If you like, the drop forward helps a lot w/ the gun's balance, at least w/ a 68. A barrell kit would be a nice addition, though the stock has performed amazingly.
Strengths: Speed
Reliability
Price
Weaknesses: Bounce
Initial set-up
Review: As stated above, this gun has a few flaws and some definite strong points. Its a great choice for a tournament or rec player looking for a performance piece without shelling out 1500 bucks for the whole set-up. I highly recommend this to any beginning/intermediate player that demands performace.

speed - stock trigger is very very fast when you get used to it
reliability - this gun is a tank, no breaks in the last 8 cases shot through this gun
price - this gun gives a real bang for your buck, top quality performance

BOUNCE - if you're planning on playing tournaments w/ this, the bounce is hard to contain. I've found the best way is to slow the bps ot the point the bouncing exceeds the limitation. It's slightly slower, but the only way ive found to beat this problem on the field.

Initial set-up - fine tuning the cycle rate with the way you shoot can be tricky. The only breaks ive had in this gun resulted from the cam arms outperforming my hopper. But once its lined up, its slicker 'n a quarter back in a room full of cheerleaders.

One final note, people tell me this gun is heavy. I think its a fairly balanceed (again, drop forward) painting machine. So this may not be an advisable gun for smaller, weaker, or foward player looking for lightning quick speed. Honestly, i dont feel like it affects my play at all, but it is something you might consider.
Conclusion: Great intermediate/beginner gun. Fast, efficient, effective, and cheap. My entire set-up is 540 after all accessories. You wont find this performance at this price anywhere else.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spazt1k Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
Veiwloader Vlocity
Pure Energy 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: Has Detonator reg ( one of the best )
Evil tech support is great
Lifetime warrenty
Weaknesses: Only Semi Auto ( dosent bother me tho )
Review: Yeah, the Omen is a great gun nothin wrong unless u dont like semi-auto, It has the braded air line which i like better than macroline, its pretty light, has a great reg +/- 2fps, but i need a new barrel, the driver barrel on it is ok but it isnt 2 accurate.... all in all i think the omen is the best gun for your money under 300, get it

EDIT: my detonator broke. And the evil tech support was so helpful. I sent it in and they got me a new one, thanks evil.
Conclusion: Its A great gun, Evil made a high quality product in a cheap price range.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 16th, 2006 at 5:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alexei Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much any and everything out there.
Marker Setup: Blue Omen 2.0, multiple barrels, CP on/off and bleed, Blue Shockteck Mid Rise Feed Tube, Stock Rail, 1/8 NPT male to 1/8 NPT female on/off 1/4 turn valve, TASO autococker cocking rod, LED angel snatch grip, 68/30 PMI tank, VL 12volt Revi-X, and i've removed the stock on/off, feed, cocking rod and beaver tail.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't need anything, just get a back up hammer plate and hammer plate screw. Adjustible feed tubes are nice, and one might want a new trigger on drop if one like em'-i don't.
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Reliable
Weaknesses: A little bit of a Gas Hog, and very Badly design hammer plate and screw
Review: So, I was looking for a new paintball gun, and I bought an Omen 2.0. I have owned or played with practically every paintball gun at one point or another in the last 10 years-everything from RATís on Speed to old LEDís to TonTon Shockers to ATS guns to gray ghosts. My last gun was a Tippmann A5 with quite a few mods and upgrades. I sold it for $500.00 with a tank, and then bought a new Omen 2.0.

I bought the Omen because I wanted a well-designed blow back, because of the technologyís simplicity, user-friendliness, and price to performance ratio. The Omen is the only Closed Bolt blow back on the market. I became aware of the Omen two months ago, and the more I examined it, the more I found it is an ideal gun for me.

When compared to similarly set up Spyders and Piranhas, the fact that the Omen is closed bolt, instead of open bolt, makes it more accurate, consistent, and stable than all the open bolt blow backs Iíve ever shot or seen shot. This is true especially for the first shot of either a long or short string of paint (by string of paint I mean 20 or so paintballs shot 13bps or faster, one right after the other with no breaks in shooting).

I believe this is because, unlike normal blow backs, the loaded paintball is fully sealed in the barrel when the gun is fired-as opposed to all open bolt guns where the ball is seated in the breach and then chambered (pushed into the barrel by the bolt) when the gun is fired (providing a system in which the bolt does not seal the paintball in the chamber 100%-given a closed bolt system canít do this either, especially at high rofís, but it is more capable than itís open bolt relative at sealing the paintball in the barrel than they are).

Okay, I got my Omen 2.0, blue, with a delrin evil trigger, a pmi 3000psi 68ci tank, shocktech mid rise, clamping/blue, and a 12volt revolution two weeks ago. I decided not to use the new delrin trigger after all, as I kinda like the ugly wavy stock trigger. I am using the stock reg, and put a CP on/off with bleed valve attached to the reg via macro line on the gun. I am using a multitude of barrels (I love the all SS ones Iíve got though, as opposed to todayís lighter, and less accurate and durable, in my opinion, aluminum barrels) that Iíve collected over the years on it. For now I will just talk about the Omen, as far as accuracy goes, in terms of the stock barrel, so there wonít be any confusion.

Since then, I have removed the beaver tail and cocking rod, added a new, yet really really old, TASO cocking rod from an autococker, and a modified snatch grip from my LED angel.

My only complaint about my Omen in any field, is that it tends to be a gas hog, and my hammer plate/hammer plate screw broke before I had even played with the gun. This did not prove to be a big problem, because the store I bought the gun from told me theyíd send me new ones, although I have yet to get them, and I have found a solution that I will probably opt to stick with instead of installing the new plate and screw.

The solution I found was that with lighter valve and main springs, and when itís positioned at the right angle, the hammer itself will actually ketch on the sear, so no hammer plate or screw is needed. I do not know why Evil didnít just do this to begin with, because it would have been cheaper for them, and it seems to work a lot better than the stock setup (given every, normally, couple hoppers the hammer will slip out of positioned, and I will need to twist the cocking rod about 45 degrees in any direction, then pull it back to recock it). I haven actually played with this setup all day, shot about 2 cases, and didnít ever have to readjust anything on the gun (including the hammer/cocking rod).

This gun requires little maintenance. Other than the hammer plate/screw breaking, I have had absolutely NO problems with this gun. It is easy to field strip and clean, and itís actually pretty hard to loose any of the gunís main internal parts (it is however easy, I imagine, to loose the cam armís spring and screws though).

Again, the stock barrel and electronic package work very very well too-just as well as any high end new gun Iíve used (not custom made ones though, but itís very comparable to any new G7 or Shocker). On a side note, I have used my VL 200 non-electronic hopper many a time with my Omen 2.0, and have never chopped at ball-even with the gun capped at 20bps and the trigger sensitivity set at 10 (the closer to zero the more trigger bounce).
Conclusion:
Over all, I am really really happy with my new Omen. In fact I havenít been this happy with any paintball gun in a long time. I would recommend this gun to anyone looking to buy a gun in its price range. Even anyone looking a little bit higher, say a stock STF shocker, should really look into this gun.

Let me just put it this way, I was very skeptical of pbr when I say it was listed among the ďhigh end electronicĒ paintball guns. After shooting and working on my Omen, I have more faith in pbr then ever before =D
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 9th, 2006 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

philTHEman Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 2004 Pro with egrip-----NO MATCH
Dynasty Ion------------------------NO MATCH
Marker Setup: Eggy 2 loader
68/3000 pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
good loader =)
Strengths: LIGHT trigger pull
Weaknesses: Dont like offset, but it still is good, (you get used to it)
Review: AMAZING!!!!! Paid 300 for it new, worked great out of the box, and i love the Detonator (regulator) Ppl with shockers and ego's wanted to try my omen 2.0, they loved it. rivals speed of other high end markers, like impys and ions. Teriffic accuracy, takes a while to get used to the trigger, though, The cam works great!
Conclusion: Buy it if you want to be fast shooting!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pb_player75 Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion (but doesnt really compare with this), diablo wrath
Marker Setup: 03 wgp autococker, freak kit, CP flame drop, dye stickys, shocktech bevertail, wgp upgrade bolt, battle axe trigger AND evil omen 2.0, freak kit, crossfire 68/4500, CP flame drop, egg 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel but the stock is great too. not much else
Strengths: -Speed
-Looks
-Reliability
Weaknesses: Not much, has a little kick.
Review: This gun is it. its absolutely amazing easy to use , reliable, fast, and easy to move with of all my guns ive had this would be my favorite. One thing that im not a big fan about is that u have to adjust the recock almost every time you play, but its easy to do once u learn how to do it.
Conclusion: Great gun for anyone, its also cheap, you can find it on ebay for $285. get this gun!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

666Worshiper Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo mongoose 2, Ion, Wrath
Marker Setup: Blue Evil Omen 2.0 w/ Blue Halo B (w/ rip drive) and 47ci 3000psi Pure energy hpa tank
Strengths: High rate of fire, lowered feed neck gives gun less of a profile.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got my omen in mid april. Before i got my Halo B i was using a Halo frontman which couldn't feed fast enough so i would be breaking balls as they entered the chamber. since i got my halo b i have chopped on ball. All in all this is a great gun and would recommend it to anyone.
Conclusion: Buy it, its reliable and it is easy to acheive a high rate of fire due to the trigger shape.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

zaklehner Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The only other gun I havever had was a Spyder E-99, but the Omen blows spyder out of the water.
Marker Setup: I had a Spyder E-99, and i really didn't do much to it except for the 68/3000 PE nitro tank,the Smart Parts Tear Drop Barrel,the Empire Reloader hopper,and i used the gun for 6 years and i have never had a problem with it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just a little adjusting on the re-cocking, a nitro tank, a fast hopper, and thats about it. I love the regulator.
Strengths: Fast, light, and agile
Weaknesses: Recoil, Gas waster
Review: I recommend this gun to anyone. I love this machine, and you probably will to.Although the Spyder Electra 06' has 30+ bps and is really cool lookin too, but it may be able to get to 30bps but u gotta buy the parts for it. But thats beside the point. It's a great gun for a fairly inexpensive price.
Conclusion: Buy it. It's worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media