paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip / Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip / Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip / Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip / Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip

Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Wicked Air Sportz

Buy Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 36
Average Rating: 6.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Equalizer is a tournament legal board for Tippmann's A5 and Pro-E markers. This board has been approved for use by Tippmann, which means that by using this board you will not void the warranty of your marker. This upgrade board increases the rate of fire and offers numerous other features. The Equalizer uses highly sophisticated algorithms for calculating the optimal cycle timing and handling issues of marker recoil due to a "sear tripper" design. There are no dip switches. All settings are stored internally. Dwell, Debounce(tm), rate of fire cap, and firing mode can be programmed using the trigger and LED. Firing modes include semi-auto, PSP ramping, and NXL full auto. Rate of Fire: Approximately 25+ bps
Product Availability 
The Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
odbriangmd Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
previous response trigger
Marker Setup: TIPPMAN A-5 E-grip with WAS, , REMOTE TO 68/4500hp, SWAT FORCE RED DOT SIGHT, J&J ELITE BARREL KIT,/14"ALL AMERICAN, DOUBLE TRIGGER.
Strengths: Very easy to program, blinking l.e.d. , easy to install
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Read the review from deluxestogie. It is everything he says and more. This product now comes standard in the newer egrips. NO longer a rumor. Took about 30 min to set up because i had to remove hoses for response trigger. Extremely fast rate of fire. Response has nothing on this grip. Cool modes of fire. I like the 3 shot burst to full auto...setting number 3. You no longer have to use screw driver to find modes.
Great informational video on was website to show how to program board.

Edit 3/6/06. Best mode is Turbo. Much faster than full auto. My opponents felt outgunned. Now they want to upgrade. Completely Awesome!!!
Conclusion: Make sure you ask your shop if they have the newer grips. My shop had not even heard the rumor that they are now standard. Saves bucks.. previously $99old egrip + $75was boards. Now $99 for both on tippman parts web site.

Awesome!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 6th, 2006 at 6:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nstypick Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just my stock E-grip
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5
dead on paintball frount grip
E-grip
Empire 4 piece barrel
shocktec bolt
RVA
Apex barrel
Palmer stabilizer
WAZ
QEV
Strengths: *fast
*sweet programing
*people are suprised to see an A5 stoot like that
Weaknesses: None with the board just the company
Review: I ordered the board and i got it in 4 days. The first one that i got had some bad wires so I sent it back and i got it back within a week. if this was a review of the company i would give the A "6" (it is only that high because they fixed it for free)but it is a review on the product and i must say that it is amazing.
Conclusion: three years ago when i started playing paintball i never thought that any tippmann A5 could ever shoot like this. if you have and E-grip go right now and buy this product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 5th, 2006 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Werks13 Thursday, December 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Edit: W.A.S. is much better!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5:
- 14" Werks Barrel
- W.A.S. Grip
- JCS Duel Trigger
- Stock Hopper
- Psycho Ballistics Long Bullet Drop with On/Off ASA
- 68/3000 Crossfire tank w/ Dye Rhino tank cover
Strengths: Adjustable rate of fire, NPPL, PSP, and NXL modes, and LED is nice
Weaknesses: Edit: $100 and wires are a little long
Review: Edit: After getting the board returned from W.A.S. because of sautering problem it was installed in about 25 min and I started to test it out. I first set the bps cap to 17 and changed the firing mode to the 3 shot ramping (PSP). I switched it to firing mode and let a rip. This board makes me so happy that I can compete with Ions and have a unique A5. Next I screwed in my cpa tank and started firing a couple shots. Then let a string off and it was no problem hitting the cap while ramping. I would recommend this board because it will turn heads and when people say "Hey look at the noob with the Tippmann" they'll come out looking like morons for thinking tippys suck.
Conclusion: Edit: I LOVE THIS BOARD!!! Makes Ions look nooby and will turn heads. If you have the money buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 29th, 2005 at 1:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UnseenSniper Thursday, December 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: a5
egrip
w.a.s. equalizer board
hammer head shark tooth 5"
hammerhead battle stixx recon 12"
reg
72" 3000psi steel tank
jcs trigger
q.e.v.
Strengths: In reveiw.
Weaknesses: In review.
Review: I just got this board a few weeks ago from wicked air sports, they sent it in a very secure tube. Installing it was not too hard, but some things could have been better. Like the wires from the board to the trigger switch were too long and some parts dont fit exactly into the grip. After i got it in i printed off a manual from the w.a.s. site and started playing with it. I noticed that sometimes it would continue to fire without stopping with my hand off the trigger. So i asked the technical support at w.a.s. and they told me i had to bend the trigger switch a little in the middle of it. So i did that and now it works perfectly. I havent played with it yet but im hoping to very soon.

Strengths:
-up to 20bps w/ qev
-different modes
-good technical support from w.a.s.
-low battery indicator
-ajustable settings
-replaces screws with a light and on/off button
-only uses the trigger and on/off button to program
-can be used for a5 or pro E

Weaknesses:
-$100
-W.A.S. still makes you pay shipping after spending 100 on such a little item
-have to bend trigger switch
-extra wire
-some stuff doesnt fit right

Equalizer Features:
-5 modes: semi, 3 shot ramping, 3 shot full auto, response, turbo
-ajustable rof, dwell, debounce, modes
-low battery indicator
-turns off after being inactive for a while
-legal in tournaments(not all modes)
-can be turned on and off unlike the regular board
-lifetime warranty
Conclusion: I would say go ahead and get this, cuz seeing peoples faces when you just let off a 20bps rope is worth the $100.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pobeshure Wednesday, September 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock E-Grip
Marker Setup: A-5, LP Kit, Boomstick & Ultrallite barrels, polished internals, WAS Equalizer, JCS dual trigger, red hot power tube, superfly bolt, CP reg, 68/4500 Crossfire on a Shocktech drop w/ Empire Quick Flip.
Strengths: Easy to program and operate.
Great customer support from WAS
17bps
Weaknesses: Wires glued, not soldered
Runaway firing.
Runaway firing.
Runaway firing.
Review: Once all set up... While in ramping mode I'm getting 17 bps.
The programing is very user friendly, and doesn't take to long to get used to.

17 bps may not sound like a big difference from a stock e-grip, but believe me, you will notice the difference.
*** Just a note. As far as upgrading the cyclone feeder w/ a QEV kit to speed up the feeder. I bought one from Palmers, and it actually lowered its performance. It wouldn't even keep up in semi-auto.

The bad is that I'm on my second WAS board. And had problems with runaway firing in both. I've tried ever kind of set up. IE- Pining the trigger asm., different bend angles of the switch arm, different grip asm., trigger springs, dwell all the way up... you name it.

In Semi-auto I can set my stock board and trigger combo way better than w/the WAS.


Conclusion: In semi-auto, beter off w/ stock board. The run-away firing is very anoying.
Unless you really need the PSP ramping mode, I wouldn't bother.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 15th, 2006 at 4:37 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

deluxestogie Friday, July 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month37 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock E-Grip
Marker Setup: A-5, E-grip, JCS Duel Trigger, JCS front bolt, Phat XChamber, accumulator, anti-siphon on 20 oz. CO2, Flatline or 14" JJ Ceramic barrel, JCS Gold power tube, DOP RVA, stock hammer spring.
Strengths: Can drive the solenoid to any rate of fire.
Easy to use.
Weaknesses: None.
The Cyclone feeder currently can not keep up. See 2ndEdit below.
Review: My stock E-Grip maxed-out at just over 13 bps on full auto, as measured by a hand-held X-Radar chronograph.

The new WAS Equalizer board arrived from WAS safely packed inside a sturdy mailing tube nine days after the order was placed on their Web site. The board comes complete with microswitch, solenoid, capacitor and 9v battery connector. The position of the upper rotary switch (firing mode) on the stock Tippmann board is occupied by a momentary pressure switch, which will be depressed with a small tool, such as an Allen wrench, for turning the electronics ON and OFF for firing, as well as ON and OFF (together with a depressed trigger) for programming. The position of the stock lower rotary switch (rate of fire) is taken up by a multicolor LED that designates power-on and various programming states and settings.

The upgrade is installed by removing the E-grip from the marker, removing the trigger assembly, then unscrewing the two halves of the grip. Dropping in the "drop-in" upgrade was a little tedious for several reasons.
1. The capacitor is slightly larger than the stock, resulting in its popping out of place while fitting the opposite side of the grip.
2. The wires to the trigger microswitch are longer than stock. This is a problem because there is virtually no room for extra wire here. There is a narrow slot for the wires and a tight-fitting square pocket for the switch, with no spare room. Fitting this in place required carefully smushing the excess wire into a bundle and pressing it upward and rearward with an Allen wrench until there was room for the lower trigger guard screw land to close.
3. The battery wires are shorter than stock, requiring some additional fussing to figure out a route that leaves the ledge clear for the trigger assembly.

The stock actuator rod is re-used. After taking care to avoid crimping any of the newly placed wires, I closed the halves of the E-Grip (now WAS-Grip), installed my JCS Duel trigger, and re-attached the grip to the marker. The installation required about 15 minutes.

Marker setup: A-5 with polished internals, WAS-Grip, JCS Gold Power tube and front bolt, JCS Duel trigger, Flatline, Phat X-chamber, DOP Accumulator, DOP RVA, (stock hammer spring), CO2, and the stock Cyclone feeder (the newer version, with the "A" stamped on the bottom). XBall Bronze were used. The XBall Bronze have performed flawlessly with the same setup prior to installing the WAS board.

The WAS board must be OFF to begin programming. [ALSO THE MARKER SHOULD BE DEGASSED! It's not supposed to actuate the solenoid with trigger pulls during programming, but since you basically have to point the marker at your head in order to see the little blinkie light, degassing and unloading are a good idea.] With the board power OFF, I pressed and held the trigger while depressing the board's power switch for about 1/2 second. The LED turns red, then displays the color of the first programming setting (discussed below). The manual (available only on-line, and not shipped with the product) says that it will light up green when turning on programming mode, but mine only blinked red, then went to solid red:

Programming modes. Click the trigger once to change to the next programming mode. The LED displays the mode color:

Solid Red: Dwell programming mode. This is how long the solenoid presses against the actuator pin for each shot. I did not check the default value or alter it. It is supposed to be 6 ms according to the manual, but on this forum, the WAS rep has said that it was 10 ms, and should be set to 5 in order to conserve battery power.

Solid Green: Debounce programming mode. This should only be changed if your marker is double-firing.

Flickering Green: Rate of Fire Cap. This is the first one that you really need to do anything with. When the LED is flickering green, hold the trigger until it goes out. NOW WAIT. The LED will now blink, slowly enough for you to count, once for each ball per second at the current setting. Once this has stopped, click the trigger the number of times that corresponds to your desired rate. Then wait a few seconds for a multi-color, 4th of July fireworks blink, indicating that the setting has been recorded.

Alternating Green/Orange: Firing mode. This is the other setting you may want to change. It behaves like the ROF display. The values are 1 = Semi-auto (NPPL); 2 = 3 shot ramping (PSP); 3 = 3 shot full auto (NXL).

When I was done setting the ROF and Firing Mode, I pressed in the hex wrench again and held it until the LED showed solid red, indicating the board power was OFF.

Now, power OFF means that, unlike the stock E-Grip, which turns itself on when you pull the trigger, the WAS board is completely dead once the power has been manually turned off. It will not trip the sear until you turn it ON. To fire the marker, I used my Allen wrench to press the momentary switch while NOT pressing the trigger. The LED displayed Red, then went to solid green, to indicate that it was in A-5 mode. (If you are using this with other than an A-5, then read the manual on this point.) Throughout the time that the WAS-grip is active, the LED blinks red about once a second. In terms of battery use, I guess this is better than steady red. Since my finger covers it while holding the marker, its visibility should only be an issue in a night game. When done playing, the little tool needs to be inserted again to turn off the power. The board turned itself off automatically after 30 minutes of inactivity.

First run: Set to "3 shot full auto", 17 bps. Firing at 280 fps. As measured by the X-Radar, the rate was indeed 17 bps. Firing a half hopper, no balls were broken. It sounded as though no balls were skipped, though I did not count the balls and time the firing. The Cyclone seemed to perform flawlessly at 17 bps. (Yeah, you guys already knew it would.) This "3 shot full auto" seems to mean that just pulling and holding the trigger will not initially go to full auto. I had to fire off several single shots (maybe 3?), then it went to full auto.

Second run: Same firing mode, 18 bps. Firing at 280 fps. X-Radar said 18 bps briefly. AT this rate of fire, there were frequent ball skips, which, I suppose, means that the Cyclone upper sprocket is deflecting some of the balls upward. I did have 1 chopped ball and several barrel breaks. When the hopper was empty, the barrel was clean, with the front bolt-area of the receiver and the exit of the Cyclone showing a tiny amount of paint.
Conclusion: 1. WAS is shipping the boards, and the delivery time is reasonable.

2. The board fits the stock E-Grip slots and grooves, but requires a little patience to get it in, due to slight differences is sizes and wire lengths.

3. Programming the WAS required initial consultation with a printed copy of the on-line manual. The correspondence between the manual and the real thing are close enough to figure it out. Since there are only two settings that require any attention, I found it fairly easy to learn the sequence. Remembering to turn the darn thing off when I'm done firing will probably require some extensive battery-purchase therapy.

4. Within the range of settings tested (which included dry firing at 30 bps), the board seems to perform AS ADVERTIZED.

5. Unless you know some special incantations, the stock Cyclone is not likely to do much better than 18 bps.

EDIT:
6. Keep in mind that going from the 13 bps firing rate cap of the stock E-Grip to 17 bps is more than a 30% increase in useable, no-nonsense genuine firepower.

2nd EDIT: Using a QEV (quick evacuation valve) on the Cyclone piston allowed the A-5 to achieve a consistent 20 bps. My video of this is now available on the WAS Web site.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 30th, 2005 at 7:54 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media