paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator

Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Famous 2K2 milling, players favorite is available again with all the newest features. The redesigned grip frame features the new Frenzy board. The boards speed and innovative features are sure to revolutionize the current industry standards.

Specs:

Weight: 1.80 lbs.
Length: 19.1 in.
Height: 8.35 in.
Board: Newest Frenzy LED
Air Type: Compressed/Nitrogen
Pressure: Low Pressure
Firing Modes: Semi-Auto only
Bolt Style: Open Bolt

Features:

Capable of firing 25 BPS
Shot Counter
Game Timer
Custom Front Regulator
Anti-chop eye
Custom "Famous 2K2" Milling
300 PSI Gauge
Product Availability 
The Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Nexxus Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
Ego 05/06
Ion
Random E-Cockers
Marker Setup: 2k5 Timmy'
Hybrid Grips
Trinity ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Adjustable Ram Cap
maybe an LPR
Strengths: Fast
Light
Sexy
Quiet
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck
A tiny bit of kick
Review: I bought this beast awhile back after my Ion went poo poo on me. The weekend I got it I took it out to the field. First off it was really easy to set-up. Turn the allen wrench 2 full times on the HPR and turn your LPR to around 50 (this is my settings shooting at 285 fps). Nothing broke/changed pressure wise all day. It will bounce a bit once you start getting into higher BPS, but that just makes it easier to walk. It's also very quiet when you are shooting paint, not so much when you are dry-firing. The only real problem I have is the stock feedneck. Halo's don't fit very well in them, so just go out and buy a New Designz no-rise. Everyone who I talk to that has a Timmy' say they love them, and I love mine to.
Conclusion: These are great markers. Put down that DM, Ego, and Shocker and pick up a Timmy. Worth every penny.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rmak Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag ule upgraded (mechanical)
.
Marker Setup: Silver 2k5, cp on /off, new design sabre trigger, 116 frenzy board (semi-only), aluminum ram, empire reloader w/rip, black delrin bolt, micro line, 14" ultralite dye barrel,
68/4500 crossfire.
Recommended
Upgrades:
board, triggger, barrel, aluminum ram, and adjustable ram cap.
Strengths: Light and accurate.
Air efficient.
Fast with the upgrades.
Sleek looking.
Light recoil.
No chopping.
Weaknesses: Feed neck pressed on,
Defient board is ok.
Front block works itself loose.
Review: I bought my 2k5 (in almost mint condition) for $330 at E-bay (1-07).
This 2k5 is considered to be on the low end of the high priced Bob Long intimidator markers, it does not hold it's value like the other intimidators, but with the suggested upgrades, this marker rips with the best, for anyone who likes the 2k2 but want the 2k5 clamshell upgrade, this marker has it all.
Front block works itself loose because of the way it is design.
My paintball buddy recommended Bob Long markers, because he owned at least 5 timmy's from the past 6 years, and there is a whole lot of after market parts available.
When I took my 2k5 out to the field, after all the upgrades, I was shooting ropes,
and shooting accurately, this marker is shooting 16bps on semi only, never chop any balls so far, this marker rocks!, with the aluminum ram, after shooting all my 5 pods in 2 games, I had 1000 psi left, very air efficient.
I like this marker so much, I bought another silver 2k5 for $275 at E-bay (3-07).
Conclusion: For the price (used) can't get any better, you will be happy with this marker.
It is light, good looking, and very accurate,
I would definitely recommend this marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 30th, 2007 at 1:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Paintr Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
Dm6
Angel
PM7
Marker Setup: Gold Vision Shocker
Halo w/ rip
Alot of Ups
68/45 PMI
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feed Neck
Barrel (Maybe)
Strengths: Accuracy
Looks
Speed
VERY Comfortable
Consistant
Light Weight
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: My buddy just got this gun and we went to the field to use it yesterday. I used it for a couple games and here's the review:

Body: 9/10 I love the look of it. Very sexy. Nice mill but some what of a high profile but not too much. The weight of the marker if awesome. It felt very light in my arms, just a little more than my shocker. The feed neck was the main down fall. It sticks up very high. Only other weakness is the Gauge on the body. To me its too big. When I played I didn't even notice. Its not a major thing but may be annoying to others.

Accuracy: 9/10 This gun was absolutely amazing to snap with. It was so accurate and just awesome to use on the field.

Speed: 10/10 The stock board only has semi on it, but with my fast fingers it ripped. It shot ropes across the field.
Conclusion: All around, this gun is amazing. The feedneck is the only thing one might want to change. Other than that this gun is a beast. Has all the things you need and more. I would DEFINATELY recommend this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

park bench Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
FF Impulse, Promaster. Imp was bigger, promaster not as refined, neither as low a kick.
Marker Setup: silver w/ black parts 2k5 intimidator
hybrid asa
hybrid rail
hybrid bumperless ram cap
jj edge barrel kit
eigenram
lurker valve spring

silver w/ black parts promaster
dyed red bolt
jj 6 piece edge kit
cp freestyle trigger
hybrid blunt rail
hybrid 07 quarter turn asa
delrin spike bolt pin

.68 classic automag
vert. gas thru x-chamber
lapco bigshot barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck.
Good barrel.
Nice ASA
New trigger eventually.
Trim down the bolt.
Strengths: Feels 'right'
Good size, weight
Fast
Excellent board
Bob long quality and simplicity
Stock efficiency
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Trigger
'fake' gen 3
Review: first the strengths

Ergonomics:
Frame placement and milling just make it feel right, it fits like a glove. The edges are very chamfered and round, unlike the stock promaster frame which, although it is a clamshell, is quite square. It was real easy to get speed, even on the semi-only board. The size is perfect for me, and the marker minus hopper and tank weighs around 2 pounds.

Board and Speed:
The stock board is excellent in my opinion. It is programmed very well, and the eye logic will not allow chopping, even when using an eggy with dead batteries (my case). The settings are easy, all through dip switches, so you can look and see exactly where they are, no lights to count or buttons to push. Although its a semi-only board, I dont play anything else, so in my opinion it is perfect.

Quality and Efficiency:
The quality is great. As I said before, the frame is milled very well, along with the rest of the marker, no mill marks or anno blotches. Bob Long does a great job with quality on all his products, at least in my experience. Stock efficiency is great too, and just gets better with the eigenram and lurker valve spring, which will allow around a case off a 68/4500 fill.

Weaknesses

Feedneck:
Yea, it clamps, but doesnt lock down at all. All it really does is put some friction on the neck. A feedneck that actually locks down instead of just twisting is recommended, so that your hopper doesnt need tape to hold it in place.

Trigger:
The stick trigger works, its easy to rip on, not a necessary upgrade, but its got no bearings and is very sloppy.

Fake Gen 3:
Yes, there is a 2k5 frame and frame internals, but the marker is built off a genuin 2k2 body. The front block is still held on by a screw, and not a plug as Ive heard the true gen. 3 timmies are. This may cause compatibility issues if you want to switch blocks, or buy another gen. 3 body, as it will require buying a new front block as well. Even with locktite, my front block screw keeps worming its way loose, guess Ill just have to put some more one there.



Conclusion: Great marker. Low kick, high speed, feels right. The weaknesses should not prevent anyone from getting their hands on one. It still shoots like a gen. 3 and the fact that it uses a 2k2 body is only a minor thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

empireballer32 Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire timmy
Marker Setup: 2k5 timmy, halo with rip, 68/45 crossfire tank, empire react pants, dye c5 jersey, dye i3 blue goggles
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much, maybe a trigger for faster shooting
Strengths: Quiet, reliable, FAST, top grade
Weaknesses: You have to take apart your gun to get to your board
Review: I bought the gun used and it acted as if it was brand new. The previous owner had a new trigger and bolt put in but I dont think it made much of a difference. This gun is no doubt a professional grade gun. Boblongs web site is very useful because you can download manuals if you lose yours and thats always helpful.
Conclusion: Overall if you want to have a gun that steps your game up and that you can rely on this is the gun to do it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders - like em but don't compare to high ends.
Ions - nice but with a few lower quality stock parts.
Trixes - love how quiet they are but not as air efficient.
Alien Interceptor - very nice when working but i had some probs with mine.
Marker Setup: 2k5 Timmy
Lucky Un1tech
Tadao 1.1 w/ M3 chip
Kila Reaction detents
AKA Sidewinder
AKA SCM III
Aardvark Tenticle
SP Q-Lock
CP Rail
CP 2k5 on/off
Halo B
Crossfire 68/45k
Recommended
Upgrades:
Reg, not for performance but for better macro fitting placement.
Strengths: Fast, easy to walk. Can tweak nearly everything w/ the board.
Weaknesses: LCD display connected w/ row of tiny, weak prongs.*
Review: Helped my cousin iron out a trade for this 2k5 (so it's his, not mine). Consequentially, i got to check it out.

Screwed a tank in and dry-fired a bit. Operation felt smooth and it was ripping. Took it home and fed some balls in (no hopper). Thing was shooting darts. After that my cousin kept dry-firing for a bit - the tank was low and the board had the low battery indicator on and the 2k5 was still ripping.

EDIT: The timmy is mine now so expect a revised review soon, after i fix a few things:

*LCD screen is dead-ish. Three of the tiny prongs holding it to the board are disconnected and BLAST says it can't be repaired. But i'm hella cheap so i didn't dish out $50 for the refurb'd board they offered me.

Turns out i can hold the broken prongs against the LCD screen and access everything. Sucks that i have to pop open the frame for that but at least i can set it & forget it. Just turning it on & off is a guessing game now.

Reg block screw hole is stripped, so i'm getting that replaced soon. Still works, i think, but the fact that the block currently wobbles a bit is unsettling.
Conclusion: Timmys just have a reputation for being face mowers. Virtually any Timmy you pick up will rock you like a hurricane.**

**Apologies to anyone who has actually been rocked by a hurricane.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 1st, 2007 at 3:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

therealmr Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 timmy
shocker
PM/DMs
spring returned rammers
Marker Setup: Alias.
+Upgrades you don't really care about.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ram
Bolt
Board Update
Trigger
Strengths: Cheap
Reliable
Fast
Efficient
AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE
Weaknesses: A little long
A little heavy
A little slow (w/out upgraded board)
Review: I bought this gun NEW for a price of 450 - not a bad deal. After playing with it for awhile, I was completely impressed. For the price, this gun blows many others and even DM platforms of the same year out. of. the. water. With an updated board and new trigger - you'll find yourself having to conserve paint by not bringing pods for those "just in case" moments.

With a board update you'll find ramping, PSP, NXL, NPPL, and semi/burst/full auto modes on it for every type of game - awesome.

Everything I wish to say has been generally said in other reviews - minus their customer support. Although my timmy hasn't been AK-47 reliable like others - I can always count on BLAST to fix it any time of the week, send me a reassuring phone call telling me what they did, and it shipped back to me UPS - on my doorstep, two days later.

For the price - I'd say pick one up if you've never fired it.
Conclusion: Although I mentioned that the four upgrades were 'recommended' they are 100% not required. It is all personal preference (trigger, ram, board, bolt) - I just like my guns shooting a certain way - so I put money into them

Once again - BOB LONG/BLAST = great customer support and once again, a great gun on an efficient platform
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xandrewxheathx Wednesday, September 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5 - Shot just fine I just like the feel of my timmy better. Not as efficient as my
intimidator
DMC - I absolutely loved this marker. Id like to pick up another one someday. When I
had the lucky top hat mod orings in it, I saw a rise in efficiency but nothing like
what I had with the timmy when I received it.
PM5 - I love these markers almost as much as my timmy. They are almost as easy to
maintain as well. Not as efficient as the Intimidator
PM6 - Another Quality Marker I just like the milling on the PM5 more than the 6. Again
easy to maintain like the timmy. Not as Efficient as the intimidator
Shocker - They all have too little trigger guard space. Never was really impressed with
there performance either. I've heard good things about the new ones though
Impulse - Shoe Box but I still love the Imps.

System X NME - Very nice all around marker. Its a timmy clone but its MUCH heavier than the my 2k5 intimidator

Electronic Spyder - Not much to say but lack of vision system of some sort hinders performance greatly.
Marker Setup: 2k5 Blue Intimidator
- Fire Ball Mountain Scythe Trigger. Absolutely amazing trigger. The best without bearings
Diamond Clear Empire Reloader B
68 4500 Nitrogen/Compressed air.
LPR at ~75psi, HPR at whatever I need to achieve a steady ~290fps
Dip Settings - Down, Up, Down, Down, Down, Up.
I never chop.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Number 1 upgrade for any intimidator.... Paintballs. Shoot someone.

For the nit-picky -
Lucky barrel kit absolutely amazing( shoots ball on ball with ANY paint)
Adjustable Ram Cap - CP adjustable ram cap is suggested.
Trigger - recommend either the CP Sling or the Fireball mountain for those on a budget.
Flash to latest Frenzy if you want the new modes (PSP, NXL Capped and Uncapped)
Rubber Band ( will explain later)
Strengths: 1. Efficient
2. Simple to maintain.
3. It never chops.
4. Quick.
Weaknesses: 1. Rubber Band (explained later)
2. LCD would have been appreciated. oh well.
Review: First off, I would like to state that I do play every weekend or someone plays with this every weekend if Im reffing, it has never let me down even with a leaking cupseal. While annoying, it didn't let me down. I shoot a case a day at least when I play open play, three during practices. 4 or more per tournament day. It gets a good cleaning after every day of play, including regs and inspection of Poppit orings and cup seal.

The intimidator has only one shortcoming. The Ram Cap. Get an Adjustable ram cap and you'll be set for a marker that will never let you down. Take care of it and it will take care of you. Its a fantastic marker that I look forward to shooting this weekend if im not reffing.
Conclusion: Adjustable ram cap isn't really a must at first but eventually it will be required or just replace the bumpers every 10-15 cases. I give it a 9 because of the non LCD board, and the need of the adjustable ram cap. Other than that it performs flawlessly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boblongplayer Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Timmy 2k5
CP clamping feedneck
Stiffi 12in
Virtue Bord
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
New feedneck
Maybe new bord if you got the money
Strengths: Light, Quiet, Speed, Looks
Weaknesses: None
Review: My timmy can definitely eat through some paint and I have never had a problem with it chopping a ball. Defiantly one of the best air reserves working on 50psi you won't have to run back to the filling station ever game. The shear speed of it will compet with any of the higher priced guns no problem. Overall this gun is a MUST BUY!!!!
Conclusion: If you have got the money and the time to play a lot this is the gun for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 20th, 2006 at 8:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fire_Wall Saturday, August 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego.
Marker Setup: SILVER 2K5
STIFFI SWITCH KIT
HALO B W/ RIP DRIVE
70/4500 CROSSFIRE STUBBY
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE ITS GREAT ALL STOCK.
Strengths: Fast, looks great, built tough, shoots great, very fast.
Weaknesses: Manual is a bit week.
Review: This marker is awesome. You have to see it to believe it.

Shoots great
Very fast
Looks great
It is very air efficient
This marker can take a beating through all weather conditions


Intimidator has made a great gun. This gun is very reliable you should try one to see if you like it. It made me happy, so it should make you happy.
Conclusion: This marker is awesome thats all i have to say about it.Ii recomend this to person who likes intimidators or egos etc

This marker is great because it has been through everything rain, snow, and sun shine. Played in all weather conditions. YOU NEED TO GET THIS MARKER.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media