paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator

Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Famous 2K2 milling, players favorite is available again with all the newest features. The redesigned grip frame features the new Frenzy board. The boards speed and innovative features are sure to revolutionize the current industry standards.

Specs:

Weight: 1.80 lbs.
Length: 19.1 in.
Height: 8.35 in.
Board: Newest Frenzy LED
Air Type: Compressed/Nitrogen
Pressure: Low Pressure
Firing Modes: Semi-Auto only
Bolt Style: Open Bolt

Features:

Capable of firing 25 BPS
Shot Counter
Game Timer
Custom Front Regulator
Anti-chop eye
Custom "Famous 2K2" Milling
300 PSI Gauge
Product Availability 
The Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
propaintballa12 Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
a5,cocker,98
Marker Setup: timmy 2k5, empire mico drop,vlocity,48/3000 psi pmi.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new board
new trigger
Strengths: Fast
Light
Cool lookin
Acurate
Weaknesses: Manual sucks!!!!
Review: i bought this gun so i could join a team. and when it came i loved it. i recomend that you get small screws for the asa or you will screw them right into the battery. but i aired it up shot and i got like 15/16 all the time. NO BREAKS. super easy to clean and maintain. if i were you i would buy this gun.
Conclusion: Buy the dang gun. you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

donaldo13 Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
autocockers, ions, nerve, impulse, shockers, pm6s
Marker Setup: 2k5 timmy, cp on/off, redz clamping feedneck, new designz ramcap
Recommended
Upgrades:
ram cap, bolt maybe, and an asa of course
Strengths: Light, fast, small profile, lots of ups for it
Weaknesses: Its a lil heavy (compared to matrixes and egos)
Review: Well, this gun is great. loosen the trigger and you can hit 15 bps. it shoots fast and is light. but i mean, its not as light as a matrix or an ego, but its still light. its got a small profile too. but one of the best parts, its upgradable. and it operates on really lp. its also really accurate with a like 6 inch spread at 30 yards

so believe me this gun definately is just as good as other timmies, only difference between this and the alias and empire is weight and milling.

Conclusion: Buy this gun, youl love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rex_recta Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto, ego, imps, DM 4/5/6/C, just everything
Marker Setup: Red to Black fade PM5
Phat mini drop
AIM on/off
Proto 2 piece
Red Halo B
45/45 Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board- Infamous
New barrel- your preference.
New reg- I am not a fan of Torpedoes.
New trigger- Techna Scythe
Strengths: Fast
Light
Nice looking
Weaknesses: Long
CHOPS
Front block wiggles
Torpedo reg
Review: Well, I am basing this review on ONLY personal experience. I am not saying that all 2k5 Timmies are bad, I believe that I just had a bad experience.
PRICE- my friend bought his from something like 700. Although, the current price has gone down.
WEIGHT- A nice and light marker. Easy to snap shoot with the lack of weight.
COMFORT- Well, I don't like spyders. The timmy and spyder have a lot in common FEEL WISE, not shooting wise. I don't like long set ups. I just don't. This timmy is a long setup. The trigger frame however is very thin and that felt pretty comfty in the hands.
ACCURACY- With the stock 12 inch assassins barrel. There is nothing to brag about when it comes to accuracy. It shoots darts but does not shoot through breaks well at all. I like 14 inch barrels. Sorry but this is a bad part of the gun.
REG- Well, I don't now, nor have I ever liked torpedo regs. They don't work that well in my honest opinion. They are consistant when REALLY broken in. Out of the box consistency has +/- 10 fps.
SPEED- well, with the Infamous board, the speed is excellent. It just rocks as to how fast it can go. Easy 15 bps with the techna scythe.
STOCK BOARD- The stock board I believe has only semi modes and I think no eye logic. I cannot comment on the stock board because I have only used the Infamous.
EYES- well, here is where it gets REALLY cruddy in the review. The eyes SUCK. I have an ingame experience where the eyes failed me. I just chopped alot. I used a revvy 12 volt with x board, reloader b, halo b with cheetah set on the slowest and highest feed rates possible. It is not the loader. I tried using a new barrel. Paint may have been breaking at the barrel threads. I used a 12 inch stock proto barrel and a 14 inch dye UL barrel. Both had the same results. I tried a different bolt which was the shocktech bolt. This had the same out come. I tried messing with the regs, the same outcome. I tried different paint, SAME OUTCOME. I cleaned the eyes, same out come. My friend bought new eyes, same outcome. Changed the eye sensitivity, same outcome. I am stumped as to what it could be. The detents were changed as well with the same outcome. Also tried an adjustable ram cap with the same results.
FRONT BLOCK- the front block on the timmy I used was very wobbly and that made me mad. Not having any problems except for the normal one of chopping like holy crap.
Conclusion: Overall, until I get the chopping problem fixed, this gun is ONLY OK. Its not great, its not bad. I just very dislike timmies after I used this one. Sorry all of you timmy lovers, this is not going down as a good score. Any queries or suggestions, PM me please.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

vatowithagun Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 WGP Vert cocker with all orracle upgrades
Angel IR3
Marker Setup: 2K5 tim with Kaner Barrel system
Recommended
Upgrades:
Always good to have a barrel kit for different bore sizes but stock barrel is cool
A better shaped trigger if your gonna try to shoot the 25 bps
Get a Halo and alot of balls
Strengths: Looks
shoots fast
accurate
Cheap
Weaknesses: Needs a better manual.
Review: Most of my paintball has been with my autococker and i am not very quick on the trigger. The tim shoots very nice and i can accutally shoot fast now. Only time i chopped balls was when i touched the trigger with the barrel blocked. I noticed i did a whole lot better with this gun on the recball field and in the air ball field. I decided to go with the 2k5 since i got it brand new for $550 and i heard that all the other tims were more only for the milling and the LCD. I am not a pro yet but i think this will be my gun for a while to help me get there.
Conclusion: If you have the money and you can acctually play well you should get this. If you are new and thinking of this for your first gun i would say to go with something entry level to start off with like mabey a WGP cocker. Buy it its the coolest!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Free Agent Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Ego, Pink Lady Ego, 05 Speed
just about every high-end out there
Marker Setup: Black ION
60/45 Crossfire LP
12" and 14" black ultralite
black unimount
black hybrid reg
red halo b with rip
ndz feedneck
> Soon to order BLACK ALIAS <
Recommended
Upgrades:
stiffi
hybrid hedlock
on/off (unimount or eclipse OOPS)
2 liter or old torpedo (looks)
orange bolt
new trigger (personal prefference)
adjustable ram cap
new board
Strengths: Speed 25 bps
weight (lighter than most)
price
Weaknesses: LED board
kinda big (size not weight)
Review: This gun is a very good VALUE. It does just what it is supposed to do: provide a TRUE entry into the world of intimidators (the defiant isn't a true timmy). This gun is very fast (I got to 19 bps w/paint) and is very accurate. But because it doesn't have the LCD board or the lighter weight, and smaller profile of the alias, it may be considered by some to be a waste of money (unless they like the milling). For $300 more, they could have an alias, and that is the route that I will be taking. Nonetheless, It proves itself to be an excellent entry level timmy, that can be upgraded to compete with the alias, as well as other newer timmies.
Conclusion: Not the greatest timmy ever, but with the proper upgrades, can be made into a very good tourney gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mashedpotatoe8 Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alias Intimidator - Don't see much of a difference, except for miling
Dye DM5 - Heavier, pretty nice gun, I like my 2k5 better though
EGO - Only gun that I like better, but I still love my 2k5 and am glad I got it
Ion - Had much more problems with and it wasn't as fast
E-Bladed Black Magic - Slower, heavier, harder to maintain
Marker Setup: 2K5 Intimidator
Viewloader eVLution II (Egg)
Air America 4500 PSI Tank
Check-It Unimount 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
REQUIRED:
DOW 55 - This is the factory-recommended 'grease' you use to lube your marker... does a great job, and you'll be happy you got it when your gun lasts longer because you remember to clean it :]
ASA, I recommend either the Check-It Unimount 2, or a CP one.. both work great
Fast Hopper, I recommend a Halo B or Empire Reloader B, but if you want to save some money, go with an Egg
Paint... lots and lots of paint, you're going to need it for when you start mowin faces with this beast

Recommended:
New trigger -- stock one is fine, but if you want a little bit more walk-ability, get a new one
Barrel -- stock one is also great, but you might want to go with a new one.
Feedneck -- I personally don't like the stock one, but CP Clamping Feednecks are great and easy to use.
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Not an Air Hog
Light-weight
sexy milling
easy to use & maintain
Weaknesses: None, except for all the paint you're going to use.. and the manual sucks :(
Review: I got my 2K5 Intimidator for $650 on ActionVillage, and I haven't regretted it at all. I've always wanted an intimidator, and I had finally gotten one. When I got the box, I was super excited. The barrel is 12" and very accurate, and the stock trigger aint half bad either. It came with some nice-feeling grips as well. The milling is the classic, super-sexy 2k2 milling, meaning it's hard to think it looks ugly :). The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the manual was the old 2k2 manual, and had alot of stuff that didn't have anything to do with the gun. But oh well, it came with some corrections on a separate sheet of paper, so its all good.

After running to the local shop and getting some DOW-55, an ASA and Macroline for it, I gassed it up, put on my hopper and went outside to test the bad boy out. I ran 200 rounds though it and was amazed. This thing was shooting at around a 10 +/- FPS (and lately it's been going to around 6-9 +/- FPS), and was very accurate as well. Easily one of the most accurate stock-barrels I've used (aside from cockers, of course). The gun also ripped like crazy, I was easily shooting at around 18-20 BPS which made me feel awesome.

After the first "test drive", I tweaked the settings a bit and then put another 500 rounds through it. The gun didn't chop at all, and I didn't experience any drop-off. The gun was shooting like a dream. I put around 2000 rounds through it until I stopped. Yay! The first cleaning session!! Yippee!!!!

Usually for me, the first time I clean a new marker is the hardest and worst, but it gradually gets easier.. but to my surprise, the 2k5 was actually incredibly easy to clean. All you really need it DOW-55 and an Allan wrench or two. The bolt was very easy to get out, and after lubing it with some DOW-55, I went on to the ram, the poppet, the reg, etc... it didn't take long to clean and it was easy to clean, a big plus in my book.

The only problem I had with my 2k5 was with some major drop-off, but that was because either my tank didn't fit my ASA, or I failed to fully gas it up, when, after talking to my friend who's a gun tech, was just a kind of funny thing to look back at. But aside from that, I haven't had any problems with it.

Just recently we had team-practice, and the timmy worked flawlessly the entire day. It was mowing faces all day long, and was working incredibly well. After wards, we decided to go play some rec-ball for fun, and the marker worked just as well as it did in speedball -- you can easily 1-ball people with it, and it completely owned on any field that we played on.
Conclusion: This marker is an incredibly good one, it's very fast, light-weight, easy to use and maintain, and very accurate. Most people think that its not as good as Alias Intimidators, but they are completely full of it, and it is just as good. The gun is worth EVERY PENNY that you pay for it, and you can find some really good deals on them. In short-- this gun is a beast.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballfanatic16 Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade(lol), Pirahna, spyder imagine, impulse
Marker Setup: 68/4500 Crossfire
Halo B
Smart Parts Freak
CP Flame Drop
Critical Trigger
CCM Clamp Feed Neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (must on almost every gun)
Fast Hopper (egg, halo b, empire reloder)
Maybe LPR (stock is fine)
Feedneck
Strengths: Price!
Does Not Chop Paint (read below)
Very Fast
Very Easy Maintenence
Very Reliable
Weaknesses: Outdated Manual
Review: Breaking Balls (or not breaking balls rather): Lets start with the barrel. The stock barrel is a 12' assassins barrel. Like most stock barrels, i think it is crap. I have the smart parts freak kit. I strongly recomend a barrel kit. With halfway decent paint, such as wal-mart monster balls, ($30 a case) I can go through cases of paint without chopping a single ball! The stock bolt is great, hardly ever sticks, or chops.

Reliability: If you take care of this gun, cleaning it after you play (maybe 2-3 minutes), it will NOT break down on you. I have only had a screw pop out of the grip frame, and i went to menards and bought a replacement for $0.38.

Speed: I recently found out that my gun has an old crappy out of date board, instead of the newest frenzy it was supposed to come with. It's on it's way to be updated right now. Anyway, this gun will rip.

Accuracy: Like I said above, if you get a nice barrel/barrel kit, this gun will shoot darts.

Upgrades: There are many nice upgrades for intimidators to improve it already outstanding performance.

Price: This intimidator has everything plus a better board, except for an LCD, that all other intimidators have! The reason the price is so low is because of the basic milling, and because the smart parts ion required Bob Long to come out with a lower priced gun to compete with it.

Conclusion: Many have asked, what is better an autococker for accuracy or a high end eloctronic gun for speed. The answer is an intimidator ---> both. You will not regret buying this gun. Snap shooting front players and paint lobbing back players, get ready to have a lot of fun with this gun. =)

I hope this review will help you in buying your next marker.
Any questions e-mail me at pballfanatic16@yahoo.com
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow21 Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Angels
'Cockers
Protos
Marker Setup: 2K5 'Timmy
Halo B
PMI 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
LPR Block
LPR Gauge
Trigger
Barrel
Ram Cap
Strengths: Efficient
Accurate
Fast
Looks
Reliable
Consistent
Weight
Weaknesses: Stock parts
...nothing else
Review: I recently got this through a trade with my '05 Speed. One of my best trades yet, and most favorite guns yet. After using Protos, Angels, 'Cockers, and Spyders, I have finally found my 2nd favorite gun, Protos are my first.

Once I got it, I aired it up, and leaked out of my LPR. My LPR was defective. So, I got a new 'noid since that was blown previously, and a new AKA 'Timmy LPR. I finally got to air up the gun. I pressurized the LPR to 70 PSI, and my Hyper 2 at about 150-200 psi at about 280 fps. I shot 5 shots, and they were dead on accurate with a CP 2 Piece. I went to fully fill my Halo, and went back to shoot.

After shooting the 5 balls, I was anxious to shoot a full hopper. I let it rip, and at 15 bps, this is amazing. This gun is amazingly fast, accurate, efficient, and consistent. After getting my Hyper 2 broken in, I was getting about 1300-1400 shots off a 68/3000 running at 70 PSI. There was no drop off. This gun will never let you down if you relube it and do proper maintenance after everyday of play.

One thing I must complain about is the stock parts. I would definately upgrade your barrels,LPR Block, LPR Gauge, and everything I listed in the Upgrade part.



Sorry, it is hard to say what stock parts are like, because I had some extra cash, so I immediately upgraded. I got an adjustrable ram cap, Hyper 2, CP 2 Piece, Lucky 15, Gen 4 'Timmy Clamper, Virtue Board, and Hybrid Lady grips.
Conclusion: This is a gret gun. Definately made for most players out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 8th, 2006 at 10:06 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maxpm6 Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Another timmy pm6 aka friends x5e hard to explain why i compair
Marker Setup: Proto matrix 06 UL frame egg ans carbon tank 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper(obvious) stock barrel is alright but i do like me a boomstick
Strengths: Its a very fast tight little gun feels nice looks aight
Weaknesses: Run of the mill timmy buy used or dont buy
Review: At my local req field and my friend bobby was playing with his 2k5 and he let me give it a shot. I went through a full halo b in under 10 sec (i didnt cheat with rapming i got sum magic fingers baby) was hella fast not to loud(nice) got me some attention and made me wana bonus ball the hell out of my friend parsa and his dam sexy viking. no problems shot awsome no breaks accurate to a t and bea-utiful. good gun would recomend any1 to buy this gun but in my opinion dont buy new buy it used just to save yourself some money forall the paint youll be going through.
Conclusion: Like i stated buy it new or used... it will never be better than my pm6
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GoggUmore Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
my guns...
spyder compact 2000
tribal BBT blue/black fade
Autococker 2003
angel ir3
ANS genX cocker
Angel Speed
Adrenaline impulse
ion
ego

most times i had 2-3 guns at once
Marker Setup: EGO- red/black LE with micro max flow tank, red halo... SPONSER stickers all over halo B rip drive, freak kit black back, red front
2k5 timmy-- black max flo system, chrome pin stripin, sponsers stickers, smoke egg and Empire B, black cp reg, black CP ultra low clamp feedneck, THIS IS THE COOLEST FEATURE, milled to look like naughty dogs without the paw of course... all new internals, and BLAST put in the new 127.8 board for free.. paintball kingdoms extra hard detents, CP slant trigger? and a critical magnetic trigger conversion kit, freak kit - stainless back, black front

pics up soon... i thought i had them on comp i don't, so i have to go home and get scanner
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel- boomstick freaks
ball detents (if halo might be used or is being used)
torpedo will work just give it cases if you still don't like buy a CP stubby
feedneck ( i hate twist its a preference though)
DOW 33or DOW 55... get it and use it on REG and gun ASAP
trigger - although some like stock, i like mine loose (CP def.)
Critical magnetic kit.. from paintballkingdom.com - easier to walk, theres also a CP magnet kit
Strengths: Accurate-not like ego
Speed- expected
price- nice 600 on ebay
easy to mill
Weaknesses: WEIGHT- omg , so MILL IT like me :)
solenoids+teflon=not good
MANUAL-serious BOB
Review: Its good when weight is cut off, it shoots good. I used teflon and messed up the soleniod = 80 dollars, so kids use locktite if i teach you anything. shoots really really nice, nice lines some balls wonder away from my line but expected. I don't like timmy's all that much, i call then bouncing guns, as much as you say they don't people let me tell you something - if you shoot above 12 bps, it bounces ive tested it with my trigger everywhere - to test yours put your marker with eye on and bolt forward, and then walk the trigger with eyes on it shoots every once in awhile, tell me it won't do that with the eyes off, lol
still no one will catch it, cause everyone loves the timmy, unlike my ego where everyone just wants to play with my trigger so they also check my gun for bouncing ... but oOo well ive been good never got points off, so its obviously fine.. lol

i love how you can mill the weight off, and in any design you want. I like all the upgrades and how many places have them. I love my guns


It is my back up gun, but still i love it, it shoots nice and for half the price of my ego with it shooting almost alike, its a winner
Conclusion: If you want a timmy speed and accuracy, with a cheap price this is for you, it might need upgrades but well worth it

Ive been playin for over 8 years... so trust me it is heavy, lol don't say its light please - pick up my ego with micro that is what everygun should be like, the lightest gun ever
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 19th, 2006 at 4:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media