paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal

Sheridan XGS Jackal Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan XGS Jackal

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan XGS Jackal
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 5.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The XGS is a semi-automatic, 12 gram operated, entry level marker that comes standard with hopper and barrel plug.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan XGS Jackal is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Meteora Thursday, March 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None it's to horrible to be compared to anything else
Marker Setup: Spyder Flash w/ remote line and quick disconnect
Recommended
Upgrades:
new marker
Strengths: good for a few hours then it goes to $h(t
Weaknesses: everything
Review: I did not like this marker at all the only reason i bought it was for the mask and sight included. I had an adapter for constant air and that helped with the velocity problems a bit. The accuracy wasn't to bad but the range was horrible and if paint enlarge a little bit the bolt would not be able to p;ush it through the breech and into the barrel I had to remove the barrel break the paintball and clean it at least five times in one game. it runs ok for about two hours then after that it becomes brass eagle times about 5. I tried taking it apart and it would not go back together i spent two hours on it and the manual didn't even help at all.
Conclusion: I do not recommend this thing I would rather use a BE Stingray than that thing.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andy66 Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pt proffesional
Marker Setup: sherridan pgp with holster-black maxx-tippmann 98,12" night stykk,electro hopper, double trigg, and internal performance parts.
Recommended
Upgrades:
maby a holster if it's a sidearm to you
Strengths: This gun feels like something mixed between an old west pistol and a space gun.
Weaknesses: O god. enough said
Review: It is so unaccuate, it is very inconsistant. Through all of the bad points of this gun you still can't help but love it. My friend has one and i play with that thing all the time. I would never buy it but i love to just use it every so often. It's a piece of art that has been found in a trash can.
Conclusion: I like it but it's not practical to use as anything other then your side arm.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darkstarops Friday, January 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
Marker Setup: Sniper rifle! Fully decked out GT Commando 2!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Thread the end and add a barrel extender!
I have a bulk system on mine!
Strengths: **** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled


The new versions kick butt but the old ones are being recalled
Note: All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled


ligt! One pound!
You can use the internals to create a bolt action paintball sniper rifle!
Its double action like a revolver!
Easy to upgrade with custom modifications such as double trigger, bulk system, longer barrel, ect!
Weaknesses: Does chop balls! Is inaccurate at a distance and is mostly plastic! Also the saftey on mine got stuck. I dont have mine any more because I used the internals to make a bolt action sniper rifle! Dont try to copy because I have it pattend! It makes a great seller my rifle! But this is what you get for 30 bucks! A plastic piece of crap that cant shoot far! What else did you expect? A big gun that can shoot a quarter at 300 fett away? Fuhhuhuhuh Fuhuhuhuh
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled

**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
Conclusion: Buy the new ones! Remember they are pistols and designed at close range only! But if you have the money go with a better sniper rifle!

**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DemonFire777 Monday, November 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Brass Eagles, Spyder Aggressor XT
Marker Setup: Spyder Aggressor XT w/ 16" Terminator Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
You can't even upgrade this piece of garbage...
Strengths: The only good thing about this marker is that it fits in a trashcan!
Weaknesses: This marker has to be the worst exscuse for a paintball gun ever... It has a tendancy to load 2 or 3 balls at a time, it constantly chops up, it's not uprgadeable in the least bit, it throws like a little girl, the whole thing is sloppy and random, and theres barely any metal in it at all....
Conclusion: The Sheridan XGS Jackal was the first paintball gun I got two years back, and it almost put me off to the sport. Luckily I had friends that loaned me their old beat up Brass Eagles untill I got a decent Spyder. I only really used the Jackal for one day, and its been sitting in the closet ever since. Do your self a favor and don't waste your money on this garbage.

I'm only giving this thing a rating of 1 because you can't use 0....
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ironpanther1204 Sunday, October 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shutter, a PMI Black Maxx, and a few other Brass Eagle markers.
Marker Setup: I use the Shutter stock with a VL 200 and a 20oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You cant upgrade this gun. So don't even try.
Strengths: Well I can't really name any. My friend had it and it was alright for a few games then it went to hell.
Weaknesses: Ok, I'll list all of them.

Made of cheap plastic
The barrel is short and no upgradeable.
The bolt is a strange hammer setup.
You can take it apart to clean it.
Too many small internal parts.
It's actually more expensive than a Brass Eagle.
It shot like 12 feet then dropped.
Conclusion: This is a bad marker and don't buy it. It is a lazy product with no results. Please go out and buy a Black Maxx or something of equal quality. This gunis the Antichrist of paintball. I am dissappointed at Sheridan for making this gun.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChaosAuto Sunday, September 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used no gun that is as horrible as this one.
Marker Setup: Right now i have a chaos with a freak barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't think that you can upgrade anything on this god awful peice of crap.
Strengths: The only good thing about this gun is that you dont really need to clean it becasue if it breaks then WHO THE HELL CARES!
Weaknesses: BIG LIST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-it is to big to use as a sidearm, but that is what it is supposed to be.
-it breaks lots of balls, even though it fires slow as hell.
-it is to expensive for what your getting, even though it is cheap, i think it should be 10 dollars. i cant believe i wasted my money on it.
Conclusion: do not, i repeat, do NOT buy this gun. it is horrible and usless. I would rather throw paintballs at someone then use the jackal.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't used any sidearms like this before, only used my Spyder Sonix and a Tippman Custom 98 once.
Marker Setup: 2002 Blue Spyder Sonix (aka Spyder Snap)
Black 14 inch J&J Ceramic
ACI 4-Stage Sub-Zero Expansion Chamber
Backwards ASA cradle (bottle under gun)\
Trigger Job (4.5 mm pull)
Polished Internals
Stock Bolt Mods--no venturi, rear cocking mod
Drilled Vertical Adapter
Stock Valve Pin Mod (high flow ground)
14 ounce CO2 with 12 ounce backup

~~In the mail~~
Black Sprint E-Frame
CMI R-2000 Inline Regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, keep it bare stock and get a holster for it. Also, buy some 10 round tubes to quickly attach to the feed tube for 10 quick shots in a pinch.
Strengths: Small, cheap, reliable, accurate for its size and price, readily available at many stores, looks fairly good, doesn't break balls cuz you can't fire fast enough to do that. Barrel pivots down for fast squeegeeing in case you fux something up anyway.
Weaknesses: No upgrades available, but hey, pretend it's a PGP. Just semi auto, with capability to hold more paintballs. And with an easy to squeegee barrel. So actually there is no bad side to this marker, just don't use it was your primary marker. Use it as a backup.
Conclusion: Don't bother with the constant air adapter. Or the 45 round hopper. Get a belt that holds 10 round tubes and fill like 10 of them. Get a 12 gram in the gun and 2 more on the belt. Hang gun in holster. When you run outta paint or you get a break and you're in a firefight, whip out gun, attach 10 round hopper, and proceed to open can of whoop ass.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbnazi Sunday, May 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap model 80
stingray
samurai
Marker Setup: I'm looking at Piranhas. A friend set me up with his and it kicked a$$. Put a new barrel and firing mechanism on it and you have a super descent gun.
Recommended
Upgrades:
what can you get? If you know of any upgrades call me. It's all plastic!
Strengths: It's light, has good sights,easy to clean, and not to bad on Co2. Good for close range shooting (about 10 feet) with accuracy. Not bad for $60. The style is cool and easier to use for me seeing as to how my dad is a cop and is always bringing home new hand guns. I find it hard to use things like spyders because it is not a hand gun or a rifle design. If your use to it it's probably really descent. I just find them hard to aim.
Weaknesses: plastic, Saddening when you watch your balls fall after 20 feet, I thought that the safety was on half the time because the trigger was so tense, Hurting accuracy.
Conclusion: Don't know?
not a bad side arm. I guess? If your playing speed ball don't use it. If your in the bush or other close combate situations then it would be not bad. Alright for $60.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: tippmann procarbine adco sure shot 32* gelgrips and cp flame dropforward
Recommended
Upgrades:
its not worth upgrading
Strengths: Its a side arm, small, light,ummmmmmmmm barrel configuration is kinda neat
Weaknesses: the trigger pull sucks. You pull it back and u have to use 2 fingers to get the final action to go. its a gas hog, made of cheap plastic, the hammer cocking is pointless, its just flat ouot not worth the money
Conclusion: If ur gonna get a side arm get a pt extreme or somethin good. Or spend some more money and just get a whole new (cheap) gun. I will give credit to it that it does serve the job of a sidearm but not very well at it.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tadale Thursday, April 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray II
Talon
Tiger Shark
Blade
Marker Setup: Avenger:
20 oz tank
Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd like to upgrade this marker, but you can't.
Strengths: It's a very light marker, and I really like its looks. It shoots really fast when you pull the trigger, and faster if you use the hammer manually. Nice and compact, so it makes a good side-arm. It's very good on little Co2 cartriges.
Weaknesses: Trigger's a little tough, and it's all plastic, but if you take care of your marker you shouldn't have to worry about it. Not much bad about this gun, considering the price.
Conclusion: Great beginners gun. I like it better than the Talon. Nice little semi, and I really like the hammer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media