paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal

Sheridan XGS Jackal Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan XGS Jackal

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan XGS Jackal
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 5.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The XGS is a semi-automatic, 12 gram operated, entry level marker that comes standard with hopper and barrel plug.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan XGS Jackal is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, July 16th, 2001
Strengths: The marker's balance is very comfortable if you're used to shooting pistols... It's balance reminded me of a Glock.

It is affordably priced.

Weaknesses: I was not too happy about the hose-clamp rig for the 45-round box loader.

I was even less happy when, using a 4oz tank that was freshly filled, the gun chronoed at 305 FPS, and I learned there is NO velocity adjustment available.

The final straw came when I realized that one can, at least on the model I bought, simply thumb the hammer to release bursts of C02, and that this action jams the trigger assembly.

That did it - back to Sports Authority it went.
Conclusion: This gun was a good concept, but a poor execution.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 10th, 2001
Strengths: Cheaper than buying a real marker, can be found at KMart.
Weaknesses: Much has already been said. This marker is not a true semi-auto, it uses a double-action system to cock and load the ball, and a hammer to actually fire the CO2 burst. Also, should a ball burst in the barrel, a large amount of the paint, and even fragments of ball can get blasted all the way back into the workings of the gun where no kind of squeegee would reach. The trigger/hammer system is too delicate for what this "toy" was made for. The screw-in adapter to convert the marker from powerlets to full-size bottle leaks unless it is extremely tightly screwed down. The inclusion of said adaptor does not justify the 10 dollar price hike between packages. In opening the gun to give it a thorough cleaning, I found several pieces that, according to the parts explosion, were missing. Can be found at KMart.
Conclusion: This marker is weak because of its very bad design, which no amount of tinkering will subvert. Five minutes out of the box it stopped working right, and eight minutes out of the box it stopped working completely. The inclusion of a ring to cinch the 65 shot hopper on is an extravagance, as are the sights. The inclusion of a full bottle adaptor is wasted on a such a low-quality piece of hardware. It is hard to believe this is the same company that produces the PGP.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, July 4th, 2001
Strengths: -cheap($60)
-good gun for beginners(my first gun)
-easy to use and to clean(the breakdown barrel is a nice feature)
-you can use a big CO2 tank on it
-not bad accuracy
Weaknesses: -all plastic
-friends make fun of it
-no upgrades
-breaks alot of balls(for me about 1:100)
-tough trigger pull
Conclusion: What do you expect for $60? Its a good gun for the money. If you are starting out in paintball I would consider it, but I would save my money for a another gun. For it to be a good gun you have to get the big CO2 tank adapter.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sconic Monday, June 11th, 2001
Strengths: It shoots accurate and fast with a good sight. Its really cheap (price wise) and doesnt jam up. Very effiecient as long as you have a CO2 tank and not powerlets. Will do very well in woods battles.
Weaknesses: Hard trigger pull and no upgrades. if u are using powerlets only the first 10 shots are good, then they get weaker fast, and the powerlets only last about 25 shots. They last about 40 with a Talon Ghost or a Vulcan 5000 series. It has a plastic barrel.
Conclusion: This marker performs very well without a stock or upgrades. It is definately worth the money. (about 60 bux) I have played against people with way more expensive guns and did pretty well against them. Id recommend it to beginners and intermediate players, but not to serious tournament players.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, June 8th, 2001
Strengths: This gun was sweet. I don't know how you got that the trigger was stiff. mine is
pretty good. I got a adapter for it so it can handle those big co2's. the gun shoots pretty acuratley, but maybe that's because I customized a barel.
Weaknesses: The hopper's too small
Conclusion: its worth it, it's decent, and I would buy this instead of a pump. And yes you should put a adapter in it. 10 for newbies
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, June 3rd, 2001
Strengths: this is a descent gun for a begginer and some people say they would rather use a talon i have a talon ghost and a jackal beetween the two i'd go with the jackal ONLY IF YUO ARE USING CO2 OR N2 if yhou are using powerlets it sux.
Weaknesses: lets start with trigger pull its hard when you pull the trigger the the hammer goes back wich makes it even worse but a good then about it is if you pull the trigger and hold it then pull the hammer back let it go and repeat it makes it quicker but inaccurate
Conclusion: get it if your beggining to play paintball and its your first semiauto to learn on.and thats about it
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 6th, 2001
Strengths: Not to much, It's cheap and looks kinda cool. Also fun to mess around with if your main gun is in the shop and you don`t care if you get any kills.
Weaknesses: Let's see:
1.) First and for most tigger pull sucks! I planned to use one in each hand, you can forget that!
2.)Do not take with gun apart unless you have at least a half-hour to try to put it back together again!
3.)Make sure to use small paintballs. I used Big-balls and they got STUCK IN THE BARREL. When I say stuck I mean I needed a straight shot squeege to push them out.
4.)This is not a semi-automatic gun. I had to jiggle the hammer every time I wanted to shoot. If I pulled the tigger twice without doing this I would double load a ball!
5.)No upgrades at all!
6.)Will not fit inside most holsters! I can not find one that will fit this gun.
Conclusion: This gun is just for something to mess around with. It is more of a toy then a paintball gun. This is a great gun if you want to just have something you can try to upgrade with homemade stuff. I plan to hack-off the barrel and try to make a homemade double trigger. This gun is not a bad back up gun but there are tons of better ones out there! In hind sight I wish I would have gotten a PGP. I wanted a semi-automatic pistol and I did not get that with a jackal.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 6th, 2001
Strengths: Good price. Break away barrel makes cleaning a snap. Cool look and feel. I have never had one ball break. Honest. The loud boom the marker makes scares everyone and makes heads drop. Small and compact.
Weaknesses: This is a very tempermental marker. It works half the time and dribbles balls out the next. I go through allot of CO2. (Might be better with BL) Do not get it wet or dirty as this will cause the marker to jam up so bad you will have to take it apart to fix it. I mean the trigger and everything gets stuck. This marker is not easy to take apart and put back together. Tends to freeze up in a heavy fire fight. No power except for the first shot. That's pretty good.
Conclusion: I upgraded from a Talon to this. I switch back and forth between the two depending on wether this marker wants to work or not. It's never just OK. One day you love it and It performs flawlessly. The next day you will be tempted to throw it down the mountain. I'm not sure why, but the gun is very tempermental and it does not like to get dirty. There are no upgrades or support for this gun. If you buy one, don't bother getting one without the BL adaptor. You still get the CO2 screw plug with it but at least you have a choice. You will not find the BL adaptor by itself anywhere. Sucks for me.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Compton Saturday, April 7th, 2001
Strengths: This is a really great gun for the price. The compact design is small enough for use as a back up weapon, but it still packs good accuracy and range for a primary gun. Shoots at 290-320 fps with using the tank adapter. The gun shoots at about 280 with 12 grams for 30 shots or so. The hinged barrel is the quickest and easiest barrel to clean during a battle. The accuracy is better than most stock spyders and tippmans type semis. This has got to be the cheapest priced closed bolt semi-automatic paintball gun sold. It the quietest semi I've ever used a silencer with. The silencer improved the range at least 20 feet and gave the gun a rifle type of feel. There is no pneumatic cycling so its quite reliable and trouble free. It has never leaked either. The best plastic constructed semi made.
Weaknesses: No external velocity adjuster.
But you can run a adjustable regulator on the asa the run a remote to your tank. This will make the accuracy much more consistent and allow you to the FPS.
Conclusion: Very well the best gun to get playing paintball with. Great price for closed bolt semi , a lot cheaper than an autococker but not as good either. Still worth every penny. Better accuracy and range than a Stingray. It is best to get the Constant Air version so you have more options of use. If you are looking for a semi backup this would be a wiser investment than a PT enforcer because you can run 12grams or a tank, also you will only use a PT enforcer half as much as you could with this gun. It would serve as a backup pistol or a main weapon able to hold up to spyders and other semis. Not a bad investment at 55 bucks with constant air. Worth a 10/10 rating because of the utility, price, reliability, and design.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theragu40 Wednesday, April 4th, 2001
Strengths: This gun can shoot pretty darn fasst for using a 12 gram CO2 (about 280 fps). The gun is accurate, and I had no paintballs break in the barrel even though I was using cheap Brass Eagle ones. A good gun for $60, especially when it comes with an adapter for a large CO2.
Weaknesses: It has a platic barrel, which I am a little leery about. Also, after about 25 or 30 shots with a small CO2, you might as well take it out because it shoots so slowly that the paintballs don't break. The large CO2 adapter is very heavy, and the trigger pull is pretty stiff, but loosens as you go on.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who is on a tight budget but still wants a fairly decent semi-automatic marker. It has a very solid feel to it for a plastic gun, and is quite accurate for having such a short barrel. Unfortunately, there is no velocity adjustment and the gun cannot be taken apart easily. But for someone on a tight budget, these are minor problems and shouldn't really matter. I would say it is a pretty safe buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media