paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal

Sheridan XGS Jackal Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan XGS Jackal

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan XGS Jackal
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 5.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The XGS is a semi-automatic, 12 gram operated, entry level marker that comes standard with hopper and barrel plug.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan XGS Jackal is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Unregistered User Wednesday, March 21st, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This is not a primary gun. Its a back up. Why do you think it only holds 12 gram CO2? Because is a small backup.
In my opinion this is a good backup for 50 bucks
Weaknesses: No its not the gretest choice for a backup gun, but its not too bad. I do not think the 45 round hopper is a good Idea though. Its tough to load, and it just makes the gun bigger.
Conclusion: This guns a good BACKUP for its price, but if you want a good gun, go for a PGP as a BACKUP not as your primary gun, and dont get a winchester durango or a stingray. Do yourself a favor and save 100 bucks and get a cheap spyder or save for a while and get a good gun. May I recommend the Bruizer outlaw? I saved for a few months for it and am extremely satisfied with it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P.B. nut Wednesday, March 21st, 2001
Strengths: Not much its pretty accurate when it shoots and the berrel is easy to clean
Weaknesses: Well it doesnt shoot verry well with 12 grams only about 10 shots per cartrige and mine literaly exploded so i think that this isnt a verry good gun at all plus when it did work it jammed like crazy
Conclusion: Dont buy this gun get a stingray instead or somthin similar i think you'll be allot happier with it
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mighty_mace Friday, February 23rd, 2001
Strengths: its a semi..........very lightweight, not expensive. Good marker for the begginer with little or no cash. Could be used as sidearm if you modify a holster a little. (still workin on that) I got the XGSH so it came with an adapter to run constant air too.
Weaknesses: No the bolt won't fly out like that other post (well I guess it could but their is a recall on them) The serial number has to start with 100 or 200 or something like that. It was in APG magazine. Not much bad here except for the fact that u can't really upgrade it or adjust velocity or anything. Also it's a real pain in the butt to get back together if you take it apart. But it can be done......
Conclusion: This is really not that bad of gun for the price....i picked one up for around 35 bucks and it came with a free pc game (the pc game stinks tho). It shoots fairly good off the 12 gramers, and it is really light. If you have the money and are looking for something that is fun to mess around with, get it for some backyard ball. Its a good buy considering the price.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, February 21st, 2001
Strengths: Its looks really cool. Also I think it shoot very straight and dosent curve. It is also very light weight so you can move very easily with it.
Weaknesses: It dosent have that good of range. And it make a little pop noise every time I shot it so its easiaer for opponets to spot u.
Conclusion: Well over all this gun is prety good. It has a nice cost. I got mine for 35.00. I think that it is worth what i paid for it and more. I dont think i would recomend this gun to anyone but beginners though. Beacause if you have a Spyder and you sell it for one of these youll probly be pretty mad after you find out how it comares to your spyder.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 10th, 2001
Strengths: Got to be the coolest looking paintball gun I have ever seen. I just got back from my good old Walmart. Where I picked this gun up for $26. I haven't yet gutted this gun but from what little I have played with it is going to be a blast to mess with. The barrel is super easy to clean the way it unlocks and slids forward and down to clean. Came with a constant air adaptor already attached. Very solid for plastic. Light as a feather.
Weaknesses: Comes with a wee little hopper. Trigger pull is very stiff. I mean stiff. I own a stingray and this gun makes it's trigger pull look insignificant. No velocity adjustment as far as I can tell.
Conclusion: I think it is worth much more then it cost. It was dirt cheap. I haven't had much experience with it at all. But so far I'm impressed. I haven't ever owned and other guns similar to it so nothing to really compare it to save airsoft pistols and it is far superior to them. I definetly would recommend this gun to most anyone who is into paintball. Heck I've had it a few hours and I've already told 2 people they should get it. Other then the stiff trigger it is a superb short gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 5th, 2001
Strengths: well its cheap you can get it for $25 and its better than that brass eagel crap it is easy to clean looks cool too
Weaknesses: well its plastic no fps adjuster you cant get a new barrel the balls sometimes break and when that happens balls roll down your barrel hard to pull the trigger
Conclusion: well it is good for a begginer but if you would want to get serious about this sport get a better gun if you have about $150 a Piranha G2 STS would be a good upgrade or for $100 a Rebel or for $150 a model 98 but just don't get a brass eagle
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 9th, 2001
Strengths: It's small, extremely lightweight, looks pretty cool and has a decent aim. Also, the saftey is easily operateable and cleaning is a sinch. I bought one and i regret it. I spent 80 bucks on it plus the mask and 12g air. for just 20 bucks more tou could buy a stingray with a included mask and air. Its probally built for people who dont know what they are doing and just want a paintball gun.
Weaknesses: This gun sucks. i could hardly ever fire without the paintball getting stuck between the hammer and the barrel. to undo this you have to dtick a dowell down the barrel and poke the ball out of the chamber, and then try agian. Don't buy this gun.
Conclusion: Definetly upgrade prouduct. stock sucks. i guess its worth the money, but other guns are more so. i might recemond it to someone who is stupid and needs to learn that some guns SUCK.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 16th, 2000
Strengths: The gun is light. It is easy to clean the barrel with the slide and open switch(easier than barrel threads). It is a good back-up gun.
Weaknesses: The trigger pull is heavy which is expected with the way the gun operates. The balls easily get stuck in the barrel and jams the gun. It is not very good in the cold. It's hopper is not very good.
Conclusion: The gun is what you can expect for it's price. It is nothing exceptional, but not too bad. It is good for a sidearm, thats about it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, November 25th, 2000
Strengths: Reasonably priced for what it is. XGSH comes with a nice, well designed (but heavy) constant air adaptor. With the flip of a switch the barrel slides forward and tips down for easy cleaning. Relatively efficient with a 12 gram (didn't fire it over a chronograph but it got 35-40 shots and still had more to give when I yanked the 12 gram). Has an integrated sight rail and fibre optic sight. Looks like a cross between a Baretta 92F (rear) and maybe a Desert Eagle (if one hacked off the Jackal's barrel where it becomes cylindrical). The exposed metal hammer is way cool looking. Unfortunately have yet to test the gun for it's accuracy but Sam Tussing (an airsmith I respect for his custom work) says its pretty decent.
Weaknesses: I feel that I have to set the record straight and say that this particular gun is a double-action pistol. Pulling the trigger both cocks and fires the gun. It reminded me a lot of a splatmaster Rapide so I had to buy it. It has a sliding trigger than I'm still getting used to. The trigger pull is longer and stiff but thats typical with double action weapons. Your finger will definately get tired if you use it as a spray-n-pray weapon. Finger grooves and lack of any sort of grip options disappointed me. They ought to have ditched the finger grooves in favor of a .45 grip frame style with hogue or APP wrap-around grips. (Atleast those can be removed to suit taste!). Fiber optic sight really isn't worth much in my opinion, having used a large powered red dot scope. It's plastic but appears to be pretty durable. The hopper isn't worth a damn and could probably be tossed out in favor of a standard hopper elbow and hopper. The brass eagle 50-55 round hopper would be a decent choice or a WGP Ammo Box (if you can find one!) would be better. It NEEDS a 10 round spring-fed clip. Right now it's neither a semi-auto primary gun capable of high rates of fire (as would say... a blowback gun) nor a holsterable side-arm. Though-- without a hopper it does fit holsters made for the sidekick semi-auto (open bolt semi) available from the manufacturer website ... It's plastic (though for the price you couldn't really expect more. I paid a little on the high side since I went to my local store and bought it... $70).. It lacks any sort of velocity adjustment (so far as I can tell) and it was shooting pretty low with constant air (somewhere around 220). Not sure how one would go about adjusting velocity. (hence-- it reminds me even more of a Splatmaster Rapide)..
Conclusion: While its not quite the semi-auto it claims to be in all its advertisements the Jackal is a fun gun to play with. It's a large frame double action pistol that is somewhat realistic in its look. (The exposed hammer is still way too cool). It could really use a 10 round spring-fed clip and a holster. Fun to play around with but if you're looking for a good semi-auto side arm I'd recommend either the sidekick semi-auto (www.paintballstuff) or the PT Enforcer (though expect some problems with velocity, etc). If you're looking for a good entry level semi-auto I'd save up a bit of money and get something akin to a Tippmann Model 98 or Spyder or any number of cheap open-bolt clones.. The Jackal unfortunately exists as a sort of bastard creation.. Neither a good primary weapon for the money or a good sidearm since it lacks the 10 round feed and holster. Sigh. And I normally totally dig Sheridan products. But, for the reasons mentioned above I give it a 6.. If it were spring-fed and had a holster it'd be an 8 for sure. I can live with a stiff trigger (breaks in with time.. add oil, too. It helps a bit) and plastic construction.. But the direct feed was really unnecessary..

Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 8:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media