paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan XTS / Sheridan XTS / Sheridan XTS / Sheridan XTS

Sheridan XTS Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan XTS

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan XTS
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $179

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The XTS is equipped with external velocity adjustment, sight rail, replaceable trigger shoe, and no-tool disassembly. The XTS is also available in custom splash annodized finish and polished finish.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan XTS is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
cheeser124 Tuesday, July 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Spyder guns.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel if it came with the original one, and a stock if you didn't get one with it.
Strengths: Its a well rounded gun and is good for all kinds of woodsball players.
Weaknesses: I don't think you can toggle the FPS
Review: This gun is a very good marker. Its great for beginners if you have just started taking an interest in woodsball, and is a good back up if you have a better gun and don't mind the extra weight. Its semi-automatic and hardly ever breaks paint. Just don't shoot really fast and rapid because it could bust a ball. Take your time. I do not think these guns are still being made, but you can find them on eBay or other sites. The problem is these guns are old, and info on the web about them is scarce. If you need info on how to take care of them, visit a paintball shop or someone you know who knows alot about paintball guns.
Conclusion: All in all, this gun may not be the best, but it is a very good one. If possible, make this your first gun if you can. But if you can get something better and more "up to date" (I mean today's guns) you probably should. This gun deserves a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psychoscrooge Sunday, January 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
trilogy cocker,chipley series 5, and some other lower end markers
Marker Setup: chipley series 5 autococker,revolution 2 hopper,68/4500psi crossfire,JT PROTEUS 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and a foregrip
Strengths: Powerful good distance
Weaknesses: Short stock barrel and no foregrip
Review: This is by far one of the better lower end paintball markers out there it dominates over most spyders a few rebels and much more........my friends make me use it when i play with them instead of my cockers of course u kno why but still they try to convince me to let them use it so i wont "hurt" them
Conclusion: If your looking for a lower end marker that will dominate this is the one for you

the only thing i would recommend higher than this for a lower end marker is a sheridan dxe basically same marker with longer stock barrel sweet looking and a foregrip
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SteveT44 Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Pro Carbine
Tippman 98
Various Spyder clones
Marker Setup: Sheridan XTS
- Starr Fire bolt
- Apex barrel
- Red dot scope
- Expansion chamber
- In Yo Face combo stock/drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a JTX Starr Fire bolt if you can find one. Haven't had a ball break in the chamber since installing it. A new barrel always helps.
Strengths: Small, light weight, and easy to disassemble. Threaded for Spyder barrels.
Weaknesses: Stock bolt prone to breaking balls. Limited to non existent parts availability.
Review: I first ran into the Sheridan XTS when I was looking for a small cheap marker I could modify for a radio controlled paintball tank model I was building. Having successfully modified the XTS for remote control operation I have become very familiar with this marker. I have been using it for over two years now in my R/C tank without a single issue or ball break.

Within the past year I have started to get back into the game of paintball not having played since the early 90's. Since I had a stock of XTS parts that I keep for spares for my tank hobby I decided to assemble an XTS for woods play. The Sheridan XTS is a compact single tube blowback design similar in design and operation to the Tippman line of markers. The differences from a Tippman is mainly in the body design. Whereas the Tippman has a molded two piece clamshell design, the XTS is a single extruded machined aluminum piece that is easer to disassemble (IMO, a much more refined design in a smaller and lighter package). When introduced the XTS never really took off because it developed a reputation of excessive ball breakage almost from the start. This was due to a very poor bolt. The stock bolt is a simple non-cupped, non-ported design that could easily distort the ball shape during the firing cycle thus leading to breakage in the chamber. This was compounded by higher velocity adjustments (the XTS works best in the 240FPS range). Another issue with the stock bolt was that it was prone to being blown out the barrel. This was due to breakage of the plastic bolt where the connecting rod attaches to it. The connecting rod inserts into a hole that is very close to the back edge of the bolt. The designers didn't leave enough "meat" in this area to ensure reliable and long lasting operation. The obvious fix for this is a redesigned bolt built from a stronger material. Were Sheridan never offered such a bolt luckily you could find one in the aftermarket in the form of the JTX Starr Fire bolt (JTX was the original name of the marker). Both my operational XTS's have the Starr Fire bolt installed and I have never had a ball break in the chamber.

Availability and upgrades. The XTS is no longer in production, to find one your best bet is eBay. Upgrade support for the XTS was limited from the start in that it shared
little design compatibility with other markers (an exception is the Spyder barrel threading). Items that were available were the already mentioned Starr Fire bolt and there were two different expansion chambers offered. The Starr Fire bolt is impossible to find anymore but the expansion chamber can still be found at some vendors. The frame design is unique to the XTS and an electronic version was never offered. I have read of Autococker e-frames being successfully modified to work with the XTS. The frame has the standard in-line two hole pattern so any aftermarket drop forward can be bolted on.

Keeping an XTS operational. Obviously parts are no longer manufactured for the XTS. eBay has become my source for spare parts. The area where the XTS is most prone to wear appears to be the seer and hammer assembly. These can be re-filed to shape a limited number of times but eventually replacement items will be required. The o-rings are a standard hardware store item and not an issue. The XTS uses the same ball detent as the Tippman Pro Carbine so these are still available.

Modifications. If you like to tinker and have tooling that can cut and drill aluminum the XTS is easily modifiable. If your limited to bolt on mods then I advise you look else ware. One interesting feature of the XTS is the ball feed. Sheridan called it a "power feed" but of course it really isn't a power ball feed. The feed is an aluminum tube welded to the top of the marker at a 45 degree angle. With a little ingenuity you can easily modify the marker to except ball feed from below using a Warpfeed or QPod for example without having any feed tubing sticking up from the top of the marker.

Performance. The XTS is an old school mechanical marker with a 45 type trigger. It's fire rate is as fast as you can pull that little trigger. With the addition of aftermarket barrels and quality paint the XTS is as accurate as any marker out there assuming comparable gas sources. As mentioned, little to no ball breakage with the upgraded bolt, with the stock bolt breakage can be lessoned at lower velocity settings.
Conclusion: As you can probably tell I like this little marker. With the addition of the Starr Fire bolt it has given me no trouble whatsoever. The one I use for woodsball has been pretty tricked out with the Apex barrel, scope, shoulder stock, and drop forward. If you like to be a little different and have something other than the standard Tippman or Spyder then a vintage XTS could be a good choice. I'm giving it a nine because of the bolt issue.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akdew2 Thursday, August 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98, spyder xtra
Marker Setup: stock gun, 9 oz tank, viewloader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, expansion chamber, elbow
Strengths: CHEAP, fairly durable, light, simple
Weaknesses: UNACCURATE, chops paint, the bolt gets jammed easy
Review: I didn't use this gun for long because the bolt always jammed up in the middle of a game and it sucked CO2 like crazy. I got less than 200 shots on one 9 oz tank. When my friends bought tippman 98's, I couldn't keep up, so I decided to get a new gun. But it was a fairly good gun, considering I got it for free.
Conclusion: Don't get this gun if it'll cost you anything, you can get a older spyder xtra for almost nothing that's better than this gun.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brent999 Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor, tippman 98, pirahna gti, icon x.
Marker Setup: sheridan xts w/ X-chamber and double trigger pull
Recommended
Upgrades:
x- chamber, drop forward
Strengths: Accurate, saves gas good, I broke only 1 ball in 6 months
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy for my likeings
Review: Ok well i bought my sheridan from a local rib off pawn shop down the street from me so i knew it wouldnt be top of the line. I spent about 80 bucks on this gun, i needed a new gun cuz my p.o.s spyder victor always broke balls on me, the safety fell out, and was very inaccurate plus it froze paint (dont get one) i just wanted to have some fun paintbain w/ the guys so i bought it and was pleezed to see its good gun even used i have not had really any problems w/ it the only bad part is its kinda hard to clean and oil.but who cares no ones perfect.
Conclusion: Get this gun it will be good to you if ur just lookin for a good time or even upgrade it to turny level if you want too, what ever u decide to get stay away from spyders unless ur getting a really good one like an electra or something..
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 8th, 2006 at 2:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper35rem Tuesday, April 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: sheridan XTS with a custom gas-thru and VL quantum hopper and smart parts 14 in progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer ported barrel and a slow but agitating hopper
Strengths: Cheap, very low chopping with proper paint, power feed
Weaknesses: Open bolt, short stock barrel, no front handle not very accurate as a Tippy.
Review: I love this gun. I really do. This was my first gun and still is my only semi auto. I do own a pump but I can't classify them together. most of the weaknesses I've eliminated with a long barrel and a gas thru handle has pretty much solved those. Accuracy isn't on the same level as a pro/carbine but there aren't many guns that can match tippys for accuracy. It has some seriousely great gas effiecency. I love this little gun.
Conclusion: Great starter gun, not as accurate as a tippy but great for the beginners and the cash strapped.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

_#2_ Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
model 98s an customs...which are more reliable but much much harder to clean/dissassemble...at least in my opinion....
Marker Setup: Sheridan XTS with an expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel...my XTS' barrel has a lip on the end in which paint builds up when you squeegie and then it runs bakc down the barrel..i recomend sawing that off or buying a new barrel (i suggest the latter of the two)
Strengths: -easy to clean
-easy to upgrade (if you can find them)
-cheap
-good beginners gun
Weaknesses: -chops paint
-loud
-only 4 balls per second
Review: Overall the XTS is a pretty good gun...if your not too trigger happy...keep it around 4 shots a second and you should be fine...the XTS is very simple and easy to dissassemble...although upgrades are hard to find with a little ingenuity i have made several for mine...if your looking to play tourney ball get a better gun...but for the rec player this is a good gun (just buy a barrel)
Conclusion: If your trigger happy get a 98 but if you dont have the cash and can handle 4bps get the XTS
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ajisrising Sunday, March 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Spyder Sonix
Spyder TL
Tippman A-5
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
14" Teardrop
20 oz Co2
Strengths: Lightweight
Small
Weaknesses: Breaks balls
Not accurate
Review: I was not very pleased with this marker. it breaks paint all the time and is not very accurate. I found the best paint is diablo dusk, as not as many balls break. Take a barrrel squeegie with you on the field as you will need it a lot. Overall it is not to horrible as long as you clean the barrel often and aren't really aiming.
Conclusion: I would not really recommend this gun, but for the price its not to bad for a beginner
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sheridan XTS Saturday, March 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Strengths: Key strengths of this gun is the easy cleaning
Weaknesses: If you fire this gun too fast it will shred paint
Review: The sheridan XTS is a very good gun! It is a good gun for beginning players but there is
one problem about this gun. It is very hard to find parts! if anyone knows where to find parts for the sheridan XTS please inform me!!!! if anyone is ever in my area e-mail me too play a game with you all play anytime! thanks!
Conclusion: I think any new player will be happy with this gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stanman Friday, October 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c <--- just as slow with out mods...
Marker Setup: Sheridan XTS with personally modified valve and bolt. Palmer Stabilizer , 14" JT one piece (.690), and an Empire Reload
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, revy, and at least a fore grip; mine was drilled and tapped for a 1/4 20 bolt so i made my own handle and used it that way for while. But if you're getting serious some customization of the bolt and a custom installed E-frame
Strengths: Great on CO2 : 800 shots 9oz (before a reg), takes spyder threads, and cheap $56
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks arse(but then again what marker has a half decent barrel?)
Review: this is an awesome gun for anybody since with some ingenuity it can easily be tweaked to become a great paintball gun... I love it becuase of it's simplicity and the fact that one can easily machine out his own parts with simple tools... the only time i have ever had this gun break paint is the first time i used it and that was in the days of the stock barrel. there are a suprising amount of upgrades out there for thins gun if one knows anything about pipe fittings and threads... Also if you know what you are doing it is not hard to put a spyder or spyder compatable e-frame on this marker... also angel hinge triggers can be mounted on this marker with some drilling and a tap...

Edit: well i have had my fun customizing this beast and moved up to a Hybrid Blowback... still have to say that this is an awesome marker and in the hands of a mechanically inclined person can be a marker to be reckoned with... Must admit i like to look at it now because i set it up to look just like a real gun: Synthetic monte carlo stock, 32mm 2-7x tasco rifle scope, and a 16" CMI (<- don't even touch that barrel unless you wanna spend a few days pollishing the barrel out and coating it with teflon)
Conclusion: for the money this is a great gun. If I were to have to pay $100 i wouldn't have bought it cuase the stock barrel sucked and basically killed this guns out of the box performance. But once you get a new barrel, and continue to install the usual upgrades, this gun rules; i Would recommend it to anybody
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 8:28 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media