paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / RAS Intruder / RAS Intruder / RAS Intruder / RAS Intruder

RAS Intruder Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount RAS

Buy RAS Intruder

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


RAS Intruder
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 58
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $299

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Intruder offers such standard features as gas thru grip, sight rail, beaver tail, verticle feed, custom barrel, and annodized finish. (NOTE: The MSRP reflects the Canadian price)
Product Availability 
The RAS Intruder is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
tha_paintballs Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL surge- about the same
BE- Maurader- not nearly as good
Marker Setup: stock
with 12oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
x-chamber
newer/better barrel
trigger job (see below)
Strengths: super realible/ crisp trigger for the price
Weaknesses: heavy-
recoil-see below
Review: My local field rents them. They seem to work ok. Cause newbs beat the $hit out of them.
I do shoot real guns so I know about kick. I'am not one of those city boys that complains if the gun jumps a little and i know what real kick is. And this gun does kick way too much for a paintgun.
It's also wayyyyy to heavy
Conclusion: i wouldn't get it. Too heavy- it was good in it's day but it's day is past
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RAS-Man2 Saturday, June 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder-All spyder upgrades fit this gun
Marker Setup: JT Excelorator 6.0 with 12oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Quality and Dependability
Weaknesses: Will chop a ball everyonce and awhile
Review: I love this gun! It is a Spyder clone just it took out all the cons and made them pros. Because it is so much like a spyder it will fit all Spyder upgrades which is a good thing. It is a perfect starter gun and it is so easy to repair.
Conclusion: I hope RAS comes out with a new gun because it is very high quality gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 26th, 2003 at 4:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sean//S8N Sunday, May 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider's, Brass Eagle Garbage
Marker Setup: RAS Intruder ATX, 14" full silenced barrel, dye sticky grips, 16oz Stubby, drop forward, laser tac. scope :P
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel - personal preference, drop forward if you wanna snug cuddle the gun in speed ball, get a new grip - again personal preference
Strengths: Reliable, easy to strip and clean. best bang for your buck for an entry marker
Weaknesses: velocity adjuster pin is horrid, they chop sometimes so dont go trigger happy
Review: the body is fine, typical open bolt design, tried tested and true, very reliable, doesn't leak like spiders, overall the vertical feed is an advantage if you wanna pull "Sniper" in the woods, because you can actually put a scope on the sight rail and see out of it. The venturi bolt is incredible, great entry level marker for the price, 240-340 for a package, go for it, put a Race Grip on it, with a drop forward, and a halo, and you got yourself a decent tourney gun.
Conclusion: great gun, i pretty much started on this gun, and from playing with it in tourneys, and all around rec-ball, this gun has come thru for me where spiders and tippers have failed, ive played with guys that have angel LCD's, and WGP cocker's, and they all have a RAS intruder as a "Fall-Back" Gun, so what does that tell ya?, if you've got the coin and your starting out, this gun should be your first choice. If you want to speed it up take out the velocity adjuster pin, and throw in a nut and bolt, thats what i have done, the slowest it goes now is 273 on a chrono, and i know its illegal but cranked she shoots and 361 lol, just messin, and it could handle it!, dont make it insanly fast, just hot enuf that it wont get you caught =P, happy splatting
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 11th, 2003 at 10:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Norge Sunday, October 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI 3 with Black Rain Setup
Marker Setup: RAS Intruder DTX, Drop Forward, Grips, 14" J&J Ceramic, RAS Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator (but that can come later).
Strengths: Great marker for the price!! Everything is Spyder compatible. All the O-rings in the marker are the same size as the O-rings on a CO2 tank. No problem to find an extra O-ring if you need one. Soooooooooo simple to field strip and clean. External velocity adjuster is a real plus (No need to chop springs or carry a selection of different ones). Good looks, nice feel. Colour selection is great. Damn fine price at $260.00 Cdn, out the door, on the field, and working great!!!
It has an offset vertical feed which allows you to utilize the sight rail and sight down the barrel without the problems encountered with a power feed setup or a vertical feed style found on the Spyder markers.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is better than most but an upgraded barrel makes a huge difference (like most other markers).
No nickel plating on my marker. The finish is all anodized so maybe RAS has addressed the problems others have remarked about (regarding flaking).
The rear screw for the sight rail protruded into the barrel past the bore surface in turn scoring my venturi bolt. Never noticed this until I cleaned it after my first game.I ground the end of the bolt down with a Dremel tool cutoff disc and has been fine ever since. Boy was I mad when I first discovered this!!!
Conclusion: I'm really happy with this Marker! It's accurate, feels good, quick shooting, and very easy to maintain. The price is outstanding. I highly recommend it to new players and intermediate players. Very few upgrades are needed (as the marker already has them) but it doesn't kill your wallet. If you can only afford one marker, then take a serious look at an RAS Intuder DTX.
It gets a 9, nothing gets a 10 unless I'm blown away instantly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow Moses Saturday, October 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, only marker.
Marker Setup: RAS Intruder, stock except for my nice drop forward and 12v hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward and a longer barrel.
Strengths: -Accuracy- This marker is extrememly accurate for the price and stock parts it has. The Slapstick barrel isn't as bad as most people think. My friend can pick this thing up and shoot fine.

-Durability- I have heard that there *-BAD-* RAS Intruders, but I have on my friend has 1 as well as his bro and they have all worked extremely well, my has taken a beating and I haven't needed to replace on thing on it.

-Weight- If you play with it with stock barrel and 12 oz C02 you will notic is very lightweight compared to what I have seen. my other 2 friend have intruder, fully loaded with Drop forward, nitro all the bells and whistles and it can get pretty heavy.

-Fireing test- After a year of playing with it, I have only broken on ball, and thats when I tried to test it at ofer 400 fps and it broke on bolt impact. Cleaning it can be quiet hard when u have a break. I have never broken a ball playing at regulation speed usually 280-310.

-Maintenance- Extremely easy to clean and take apart, except for the thumbnails, it can be a challengig task to get the thumb scres back in after u have cleaned it's insides. I think it could have been just the way mine was made.It rarely breaks down, and I clean it usually everythime after every day out. Only cleaning problem I had was cleaning the exterrior, because of the little spot, the beaver tail is a *female dog* to clean.
Weaknesses: -Weird handle- The expansion chamber and where the co2 or nitro sits, I find it a little awkward, and because of this it usually takes me another second to get my aim properly adjusted.

-Weight Displacement- I find it gets pretty back heavy and ur usually trying to fight it forward.
Conclusion: This is one kick @$$ marker, it s awesome out of the box and can take almost all acessories. I find this works better then most Spyders for half the price.Don't let the price fool u, undoubtedly one of the best semi-auto markers out there, ask anyone who has used on, and us on yourself. Any Beginners I suggest this as your first purcahase as it pretty fool proof. Instructions for taking it apart are included as well. Happy playing, I know I'm happy playing with this marker. GET IT.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow_Intruder Saturday, August 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom with and without Flatline
Piranha
Marker Setup: Intruder (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward
Strengths: 1) Very simple gun, very reliable
2) After playing with it for a year, the only ball breaks occured with crappy balls on a -2Celsius day outdoors.
3) Accurate as hell.
4) Great range (can outshoot Tippmann Flatline)
Those are the top 4, but basically everything about the gun is awesome!
Weaknesses: 1) When a ball does break, every ball after will break in the barrel and splurt paint out until you squeegee, though I'm sure thats the same with all of them.
2) To get the speed down to below 300FPS requires almost taking out the regulator.
3) With the CO2 tank sticking out the back like that, it makes for a slightly larger target area for others the hit, because you have to stick it out too far to aim properly.
Conclusion: I certainly recommend this gun to anyone... its a perfect starter gun, and good for people who don't want to worry about highly expensive and slightly unreliable guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NuCLeaR5 Sunday, August 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: Stock, but have tried it with my friends barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a new barrel
Strengths: This is my first marker and I must say I'm very pleased.

- Smooth Trigger
- Rarely breaks balls
- Nice Looking
- Easy to find parts as all Spyder parts are compatible
- Simple gun for starters
- The stock barrel is alright

I haven't had any problems yet. Awsome gun. I have yet to break a ball yet, not in the barrel or the gun. Even if a ball did break in the barrel, it would be fairly easy to clean as there isn't much porting on the barrel.
Weaknesses: The cocking was a little weird but a peice of string fixed that. Other then maybe buying a new barrel there isn't anything else I can complain about. Awsome barrel.
Conclusion: Great gun for beginners or starters. I would recommend this gun to anyone. I haven't had one problem yet with this gun. Still have yet to break a ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Magnum Monday, June 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, hell get a new gun.
Strengths: This marker is cheap, it fires nice and is nice looking from far.
Weaknesses: Well take a look at the thing from close up, The annodizing is bad, and unconsistent, the marker was poorly preped befor the acid wash. Look at all the chrome pieces, All of them on the most recent one i purchased (i have had 3 go thru my shop) had large peeling flakes. The barrel in nickle is SH!T. after 2 months the interior plating chips off and destroys the balls. The power feed is nice, just too high, with a full hopper the kick back of the marker flexes the feed, eventually resulting in broken welds. On the recent one, the power feed is tilted back, this will cause feed problems. When I contacted the Toronto warehouse i was attacked and insulted, VERY POOR CUSTOMER SUPPORT when asked about a replacement barrel for the chipping one I was told "Thats too bad, go buy a new barrel". The companie doesn't care for the small end user, they are mainly focused on rentals.
Conclusion: If you get a good one, they are nice, if you don't your pretty much stuck with it.

DO NOT BUY THIS GUN, the factory is incredibly understaffed, and cannot meet quality standards. I have removed them from my list of suppliers, I used to stock and promote the marker , not any more.

DO NOT BUY! save a bit more and get a Spyder
I give this a 2 for quality and customer service.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman 98
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't know yet, maybe a drop forward and a longer barrel
Strengths: It looks slick and has most of the cool features. Its pretty darn accurate while running it stocked. The price seems to be good (i got mine 259) for what you get. Mine came with a kit and everything for 400$
Weaknesses: The only thing i dont like is that the vertical feed is abit higher than what ive seen. So if you put on a hopper it would be extended higher and might give of ur position.
Conclusion: Well since im a newbie and have had much experience with my own gun. This is a great gun, It has the features i wanted (foregrip, ver feed, horizontal air connector and a place to put my sight. The price made my father cough a few times but well, he ended up buying me it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

[]utLaw Sunday, May 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagler Avenger
Sheridan XTS
StingRay Ice
Marker Setup: Sheridan XTX/JTS
RAS SlapStick 14"
Co2 12oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: -Copy the KingMan Spyders but in better since they use only one type of O-Rings and they have a full expansion chamber.
-Smooth Trigger System
-RAS Slapstick Barrel Stock
-Good Looking
-Nice Weight
-Powerful Shooter
-No Ball Break
Weaknesses: -A Little Noisy
Conclusion: Well, after testing out around 50 balls, most of my shots were accurate. The gun have a nice feeling and is well balanced. It's a great starter and advanced gun. One great advantage is that it's better than a Spyder Tl or XTra and is fully compatible with Kingman parts.

Try it and you'll never want any other gun than that. Nice choice of colors.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media