paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Worr Game Products Black Magic SF / Worr Game Products Black Magic SF / Worr Game Products Black Magic SF / Worr Game Products Black Magic SF

Worr Game Products Black Magic SF Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Worr Game Products

Buy Worr Game Products Black Magic SF

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Worr Game Products Black Magic SF
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 30
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New Features include:
Electronic features:
• Auto on/off
• Auto eye on/off
• Auto trigger antibounce
• Dual color L.E.D.
• On/off membrane switch
• EZ system directions

Standard features:
• Delrin bolt with vertical pull pin
• Side cocking system
• Shortened high flow bolt
• Removable clamping feed tube
• Custom 3D milling
• Cam lock front block
• Adjustable low pressure regulator
• World class WGP lifetime limited warranty
• Ergonomic trigger frame with integrated bottom line rail
• Adjustable inline main regulator
Product Availability 
The Worr Game Products Black Magic SF is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
tippoff2@yahoo. Friday, October 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
e2 orracle
every autococker model ever made.

Marker Setup: 99 mini cocker
cp 14" 2 piece
68/4500

Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger frame and electronics
ram
lpr
Strengths: Cool look and feel
Thats about it
Weaknesses: Electronics
Select fire flipping sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review: the first time i shot and autococker was in 1999 and i fell in love with them... for years i told my friends that i would shoot nothing but, cocker... i loved worr games but, i must say that this gun is a huge huge disappointment.

i bought this gun bran spank'en new and out of the box the thing looked sweet. the milling on the gun its self looks cool and to me the gun felt great in my hands. I was pumped to try the thing out so i slapped on my halo and gassed it up. Then every thing went to hell.

first of all the select fire frame wouldn't turn on. i tried and tried but, the gun just wouldn't turn on. Just as i was about to give up and call worr games the gun started working so, i thought great and i shot about 300 rounds and then turned the gun off.

the gun shot well the trigger felt a little strange but, i got used to it.

thats the first and last time the gun worked... the next time i tried to use it I could get it to turn on again so, i decided to call worr games and see if they could help. they said it was a bad membrane switch and that they would send me a new one for free... Thats nice of them i thought.

i got the switch and put it in which for me was like trying to put a square peg in a round hole... for some reason the dang thing just didn't want to go together but, after working on it for who knows how long i got the switch in.

i didn't have any paint so i just tried turning the gun on and off a few times and it seemed to work ok...

with in days the thing wouldn't work again... i don't know why... but, i do know that i'm sick of working on the thing so i've decided to turn the thing into a pump and i'll just chuck the select fire...
Conclusion: The select fire is crap... don't buy one. get an e2 or e1 or anything just don't get a select fire. i'm sad that worr games would even put a gun out onto the market that didn't have good electronics...
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

magic-monster Monday, July 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
karnivor(although the karni is bigger)
Marker Setup: WGP black magic
evo 3 hopper
i havent really done that much upgrade\shopping yet
Recommended
Upgrades:
just add a good hopper and maybe a new barrel but other than that it is the best thing u will ever fire right out of the box
Strengths: fast
small(compact)
ACCURATE!!
cocker
Weaknesses: None
Review: When I first got mine balls were dropping from the barrel, but i just tightened a bearing in the firing chamber and I have had no problems ever since. Despite the little set back right out of the box it fired like a dream: smooth trigger,
fast,
and if u can find me a more accurate gun than shoot me.
The stock barrel is not bad but, i would like to get a new one.
So far I have never had a break and its easy and fun to use.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this marker to any avid paintball player its just that good
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jitters93 Tuesday, July 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
any cocker with an e2
mini orracle
orracle
2k2 bm
05prostock
karnivor
timmys
Marker Setup: -Black Magic SF
shocktech feedneck
CP 2 piece
CP detents
Torque loader
minirock LPR
68/45
---------------------------
-STO Karnivor #80
ccm feedneck
Kila detents
14" kaner
---------------------------
-Etek
zick kit
Stiffi patriot #30
68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck- the ccm and shocktech ones are good
detents- i suggest kila products
eblade- if you don't like the feel or non adjustable SF frame
ram- if you feel as if you aren't cycling fast enough
Strengths: Speed
quality
lightness
milling
great marker if left stock
Weaknesses: Membrane pad can be tricky to turn on or off
grip feedneck
Review: Hands down this is the best cocker i have ever owned, it has never let me down and still performed great when i left it stock.
Iv never had a problem with this gun and the reliability is amazing.

only ups i would suggest out of the box are a new feedneck, the wgp grip neck wont fit halos and other large neck loaders, the feedneck might also shave away at your loaders neck and leave scrap in the bolt/breach.
Also whats a cocker with out a barrel kit?
Conclusion: Great gun, best i have ever owned <33
Im a back man and i can lay down tons of paint with this beast
Its also one of the most efficient guns i ever played with, it lasts all day on a 68/45
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 2nd, 2008 at 2:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freakinusername Monday, December 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Pm6, Spyder Pilot acs (no comparison)
Marker Setup: Stock Black magic, Halo b with speedfeed, Pure energy 68/400 hp tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, a barrel maybe, but it's definetly not mandatory,
Strengths: Very fast when setup right, autococker accuracy, super consistent
Weaknesses: None that I can think of.
Review: Well, I waited for the price drop to purchase this marker and all I have to say is WOW, this marker owns others in it's class. It keeps up with protos and shockers, no problems at ALL. It is very trustworthy and I have never had any problems with it at all. I've had people want to trade me with shockers and invert mini's multiple times. Its definetly one of the better markers out there.
Conclusion: Buy It, I gaurantee you will be EXTREMELY happy with your purchase. I know I was!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

diabloboy Sunday, October 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
diablo wrath, ion, superstock, bob long defiant 2
Marker Setup: black magic
14' evil driver
velocity
70/4500 stuby
new trigger soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger( hard to walk), barrel
Strengths: Air efficiancy, accuracy, every thing else
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: when i finaly opened the box it was every thing i expected. The milling on the gun is like no other. That plus the sick red to black fade made the gun look like it could mow faces. The gun also comes with manuals for the gun and the worr frame, barrel sock, and a couple of allen wrenches. It also comes with a informational dvd whick looks like it was made in the 90's. It was kinda pointless since it told me how to set up and change the velocity on a prostock. I took my gun to a local field and filled my 70/4500 up and shot a pod. I was amazed how accurate and fast it was. It was defanitly as fast of maybe even faster than my old bob long defiant2. I was very happy with it and after I shot a whole pod my tank droped 500 psi, which is pretty good. I'll get about 9 pods out of my tank on this gun. I then went to crono it and it was jumping +- 5 around 265. Changing the velocitly is a little hard since you have to take the beaver tail off first befor you adjust it. Watch out how much you tighten the beaver tail when you put it back on. You can bend the one part inside the gun. Easy fix but proboly not to good for it when you bend it back. I played in a torney with this gun and i was very happy with it. It was very fast and i got tons of eliminations with it. The bm does have kick, but not as much as other cockers since it doesnt have a back block. I only notice the kick when i'm taking singe shots not laning.
Conclusion: I am very pleased with this gun. Again it is very fast and accurate and i would recomed this gun to anyone in the tournement level. This gun can compeat against any high end gun. Defanitly better than my bob long, and i think it shoots nicer than my friends fusions and ion. If you have the money, buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

whiterasta80 Sunday, August 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Trilogy Competition Autococker
2K3 VF Autococker
Evil Pimp (tested)
Ion (tested)
Invert Mini (used a few games)
Proto SLG

Marker Setup: Primary
2K5 Black Magic Autococker (Black/Red)
VL Revvy with Empire Sound Board
Pure Energy 68/3000 Tank
Evil Pipe Kit with Stiffi Tip

Backup
Proto SLG (Olive)
CP 2 Piece Barrel (black)
PE 48/3000 Tank
VL Revvy (no sound board)
Empire nano On/Off

I also have a Trilogy competition autococker, a couple of USP's, and a Lasoya Intimidator that's currently a project.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Absolutely:

Barrell Kit (obviously for an autococker), plus the stock barrel is only 8". I use an Evil Pipe Kit, but really any kit should do
Detents-- Mine died on the first day.
Hopper-- Most people recommend a motorized one, but I use a Revvy with a sound activated board and it hasn't chopped.

Maybe
Ram-- There's potential for improvement here, but I'm pretty happy with how it performs right now so this will be later.
Eblade-- Again, many cocker owners prefer this grip--but I'm quite happy with the worrframe
Strengths: Speed
Size
Gas Usage
Milling, Looks
Comes with On/Off and Decent Feedneck
Weaknesses: Detents (see body)
Categorically Useless Manuals
Barrel
Increasing scarcity of parts
Review: I have wanted this gun from the moment I saw it, and with the big price drop for the end of the season I was finally able to afford one. I took it out for a spin today and I love it. Its everything that I expected and then some.

This gun is very fast; unless you're a pro its as fast as you'll ever need to pull. Its equivalent to an ion, PMR, or mini in terms of speed and the trigger is quite nice as well. The board is very simple to use, but is not of poor quality (it is just limited in terms of options). If you're the type of person who doesn't touch the settings on his gun ever- the electronics in this gun are fine. If you're the type of person who likes to play around-- well you probably already know about the Eblade anyway.

The on/off is quite good (very similar to a CP), and was a nice feature to have stock. Same with the feedneck, which I can say fits a Revvy easily... can't speak to other hoppers.

On to the problems (hey, every marker has them). First off, mine had a leak out of the box-- the valve had been installed improperly and I had to fix it. It was a quick job for me, but someone without experience may have had to send it back to WGP. All companies will have the odd marker that has out of the box problems, so I don't want to criticize too much, but it is worth noting. The main problem (which I find is a problem on all WGP markers I've owned ) is that the stock ball detend locks up. On my Trilogy it lasted about 3 months, on my VF it lasted a month, and on the Black Magic it died on the first day. Just get a shocktech rebuildable detent and you'll never have problems (I have it on all 3 of my autocockers).

Overall though, my problems were really minor and I really enjoy the gun.

Edit: I've had it for a couple of months now. Maintenance has been a breeze and I have had absolutely no problems with it. I've had my buddy's Velocity, and a Torque on it without any fit problems so the feedneck appears to be fine for most loaders. Beyond that the eyes work just fine and I have probably only chopped 2 or 3 balls out of 5 cases. One thing to keep an eye on is where the membrane switch connects to the board. It has a tendancy to come loose when opening up the frame- the first time it happened I thought the board was busted but its a non-issue once you realize this.

Edit 2: The "integrated rail" on the frame broke last night, when I was taking the tank off. This is the first time I'd ever seen that happen on a gun and it was pretty frustrating. Fortunately I had a CP direct-mount to replace it with- but I wasn't happy about that. I'm going to give it -1 for the rail sucking.
Conclusion: I would definately recommend buying it. It was very easy to setup and can rip with the fastest markers out there. Besides, its a nice visual change from all the ions and minis around.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 13th, 2007 at 7:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stan_the_HitMan Wednesday, June 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other electronic auto cockers but this one has distinguishing traits, feels more like a Timmy or Ego than a cocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit, Eclipse frame, Race Frame, or Predator upgrade
Strengths: Half block, many features stock, little upgrading required
Weaknesses: Select fire frame
Review: I was very hesitant to look at the new 06 Black Magic for several reasons, one being the release of the WGP trilogy series. Now, the Trilogy auto cockers have their time and place( which is to say that they are not poor quality markers that should be disregarded), but unfortunately the high end world is not that place.
My last high end (that actually got use) was the E-class oracle. I loved its performance, but I liked to get closer to my marker, I could not do this with the oracle on account of its back block and cocking rod. The Black magic has licked both of these problems and I will describe in more detail further on in the review.
What I was looking for was a high end that:

A: Preformed
B: Had good Features
C: Looked Good
D: Was Relatively Unique


I will break this review down into 5 categories (Looks and cosmetics, Features/special attributes, Shooting and related, Air and related, and Durability and maintenance), each with a potential of two points to be given or taken away. I will finish up with a “What I liked” and “What I would have changed” section.


-<LOOKS>-

The Black magic has deep and precise milling, some of the very best milling in a high end I have ever seen I have to say (which was one of the factors that attracted me to it). WGP has a history of giving its high ends some of the finest milling available, as seen with the Nightcast, Orracle, and the notorious Karnivor (to name a few).


+1

The black magic has simple yet effective flame milling that is incoperated into the design ingeniously. You can tell just by looking at it that time and effort was put into the design, and it feels solid and high quality in your hands.


+1




2/2

-<FETURES / SPECIAL ATTRIBUTES>-

The Black Magic is unique to other mainstream released autocockers. The first defining factor is the fact that it is half blocked, what that means is the bolt and pump arm are basically cut in half, this reduces kick and raises speed and efficiency. When I had my Orracle it was always about reducing the cocking mass for speed and efficiency by getting a lighter back block, bolt, and pump arm. With the Half block feature this is no longer necessary and has a lighter cocking mass than any mainstream autococker to date I believe, lighter and faster than even the Karnivor’s.
Along with the half block body the cocking rod is also removed and the bolt is turned into a vertical pull pin style. These factors combined make it easy to get close to the marker, now you don’t have to worry about getting smacked in the face when using the marker. Comparatively it feels more like using an Ego than an autococker.

+1

The Black magic came with all of the features that you would except to see in a high end such as a clamping feed neck, Delrin bolt, Ramping, Decent regulator (Same as Karnivor), ect.
I would also like to note that in pictures I’ve seen the Black magic was portrayed with an STO Ram, however when I received mine it came with a Deul QEV ram. I was very impressed by this extra.
However, it had some features that could be improved upon, first was the select fire trigger frame.
The select fire trigger frame is the same frame that comes standard on all of WGP’s Entry level electro cockers now. The Black magic is seemingly out of the select fires league. This is like Smart parts equipping all of their 07 NXT shockers with ion trigger frames and electronics.
This is not to say the select fire frame did not do its job. The reality is the select fire frame does what it is supposed to do, cycle paintballs and have at least the basic tournament modes. However it lacks adjustability and bling factor compared to an E2 frame.

Furthermore the barrel system is a once piece single bore, for an autococker that is insufficient, WGP knew this when they designed the Karnivor so they equip it with a Kaner barrel kit. When you use a closed bolt marker your ball will roll out the barrel if the paint to barrel match is not tight enough, with closed bolt you have to rely on your paint to barrel match more than your detents.
Now, to me it seems strange that some of their trilogy autocockers come with a barrel kit, but their new High end does not.

The LPR could also have been better (thumb adjustment like the Tickler maybe?) but works.

For these reasons the Karnivor remains a superior Autococker out of the box.


-1


1/2

-<SHOOTING AND RELATED>-

The Black magic still retains the same accurate and consistent operation we have come to expect. After breaking the reg in with only 1000 – 2000 shots my chrono read 286, 289, 289, 286, 289, 283
Not bad at all! The regulator wasn’t even properly broken in either and no attempt of paint to barrel match was made with the stock barrel.

+1

Unfortunately, after using an E1, Zero B, and E2 frame on previous autocockers I have owned the board logic on the Select fire frame is noticeable obsolete in comparison.
I had a problem with the modes getting stuck or switching randomly even with the jumper plug changed or removed all together ( it is supposed to be semi when removed but kept switching to tournament full auto).

This can probably be fixed with a board flash by Predator paintball (you will also get more modes this way) or a switch to an Eclipse frame.

-1

1/2


-<AIR AND RELATED>-

The Black Magic was a very efficient marker, as it should be with half of the cocking mass removed and two QEV’s. My scuba was only around 1100 psi and I was getting close to or over 1000 shots per tank fill. Countless more in training mode (bolt moving but not valve).

+1

This autococker also had notably less kick than my previous ones, even at high rates of fire their was just a ghost of kick, not enough to raise your shot. An MQ valve could probably lower it even more. It was also quiet like my other cockers had been, but it did not have the sound of the block moving, the qev’s did add a bit of noise so I’m sure one with a plain ram could be even quieter, or if I fooled around with the pressure settings logn enough.


+1



2/2

-<DURABILITY AND MAINTENANCE>-

There is just plain less to worry about on this autococker, you don’t need the hassle of timing the back block or cocking rod, and don’t need to worry about back block damage at high rates of fire if your timing is slightly off ( Slik back block owners will know what I’m talking about).

+1


The Black Magic had a top stripping bolt like so many other high ends we have come to know and love, the eye could be cleaned by removing one screw, and the pneumatics were sturdy, I don’t think a direct shot from close range could have altered them.

All and all this is probably the lowest maintenance and most durable cocker I have ever owned.


+1

2/2
Conclusion: What I liked:

- Half block body (No cocking rod or back block)
- Beautiful Milling
-Clamping Feed neck, Delrin Bolt, Duel QEV Ram


What I would have changed:

- Trigger frame, Eclipse does not make the E2 any more but WGP should at least have produced an equivalent or made a custom frame for the black magic.
- Better LPR
-Barrel Kit instead of a single bore one piece barrel.
-Break beam Eyes (Hey, I can Dream…)


The Black magic Autococker is an example of a marker that was not marketed or designed to its true potential. Out of the box it is Faster, lighter, and more efficient than the Karnivor, but the advantages stop there. Ultimately the Karnivor is a much better out of the box marker. Had the Black magic come with a barrel kit and a better trigger frame it would have surpassed the Karnivor as WGP’s Flagship marker.

The Black magic was held back by WGP, It has ALLOT of potential.
My only guess is that WGP sacrificed features to make the Black magic more affordable, If it had come with said features it would probibly be a $1200 marker, I got mine for 460 on ebay so I was happy.


Based on my criteria I rate it a 8/10, had it come with something as simple as a better frame it could have easily taken 9 or even 10.

If you find any problems or think something should be changed in this review Email Travis@Hitmanpaintball.ca and I will get back to you ASAP.

Thanks

Stanley Travis
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 5th, 2009 at 9:16 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

bushmanNo1 Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Karnivor E1
Free Flow Millenium E2 and nexus kit
Powerlyte Hybrid 03? E1
Trilogy
Marker Setup: 06 Black magic E2 WorrFrame
Eclipse QEV's
Orracle tickler
Halo B
68/4500
06 Kaner barrel set
Recommended
Upgrades:
minimum - add QEV's and Orracle ticker

Maximum- MPP, Eclipse or Free Flow,etc..ram with QEV's
Orracle ticker (easy to adjust)
Sidewinder reg
E1 or E2 trigger if desired
Strengths: Best looking marker
Half block design
Quiet
Accurate
Fast
Weaknesses: WGP Skimped on Accessories
everything needs a different size allen key
Review: The first autococker I bought was a Trilogy (a great starter gun). After a few months of playing (woodsball) I got tired of all the Ions lighting me up so I looked in to buying a new gun. After looking at costs and specs I found the 06 Black Magic to have excellent credentials. The half block design mirrored the Eclipse Ego and was what I felt the next frontier for cockers. The milling was the best it was crisp and deep. The Worrblade was an E2 but a little more cumbersome than the Eclipse version. The cost was excellent new in the box for under $500.00.

When I first got my gun It was awesome to look at. However out of the box I had a problem. When firing in any mode it would fire irratically. When I troubleshot it I realised that the trigger was not breaking the beams on the board. After contacting Worr Games and talking to James the simple solution was to bend the trigger till it crossed the beak beam at all times. Now it fired perfectly.
I played with it on the field for about a month then things started going wrong. It began to chop paint and misfire. The field tech thought it was air pressure related and began messing with both reg's. (check to see if your field tech has a cert. for your type of gun before doing what I did). Well he totaly screwed it up. So I was back to using my Trilogy for a while.
It was at this point I decided that I needed to learn all I could about my autococker. So I went ot the web. A good site I found on this was Moodypaintball.com. Now educated I tackled my Black Magic. For days I went through what I had learned and got nowhere. I finaly got to the point where I was going to take my BM apart. Luckily on removing the trigger frame I realized that the eye wire had been crimped and one of the four wires was cut. This was the problem the whole time. What had happened is that with all the opening and closing of the trigger frame to access the setup and battery in the Worrblade the top right screw had cut the wire. A CRITICAL PROBLEM WITH THIS FRAME IS THAT THE SCREW WILL ENTER THE RACEWAY ALONG WHICH THE SOLENOID WIRE AND EYE WIRE PASS CUTTING AND CRIMPING THEM. I contacted James again at Worr Games and he said yes this is a problem and they could send me a new eye this once. Excellent. Thank you Worr Games.
I installed the new eye and wow was my BM messed up. All the air pressure settings were everywhere. So I kept adjusting the lpr and reg till I got what I thought was the sweet spot. So I called James. He said to get the reg about right you should see about 3 threads below the set screw and then adjust the lpr to where the ram just cocks smoothly. I was right on. It just took me 3 days to find it by trial and error.

Contrary to their reccomendation of using the reg to adjust velocity I would use the IVG and be careful not to bugger up the IVG prongs when screwing in the beavertail. The regulator has a compression spring in it that if tightened too much will deform and need to be replaced.

Now my gun works great. I like the quietness of it and the accuracy. I can sneak up the flanks and surprise my victims my kill ratio is about 3 to 1.

A lot has been said about the trigger frame I now have E1s and E2's in my collection but I have never needed to change their settings in a game. I usualy set all of them to classic or semi. I look at it this way at 20 bps I am spending a whole lot of money during a 15 minute game, and if I'm lucky and can get in 8-10 games.... You do the math.
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun. But there are some problems with it. The one that is the most egrigious is the fact that the grip screw can easily cut the solenoid or eye wire if tightened too much. The trigger alignment may have been a simple production error on my gun only.The other problems I experienced were simply my being a novice with autocockers. The other thing that bugged me to death was the need for evaery size allen keys to do all the adjustments. Definately get an Orracle tickler and some QEV's. Like almost all cockers tinkering is required. It is still a great marker. I will have to give it a 9.0.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 9th, 2007 at 3:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eagle212 Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
M3 Black Dragun – Spyder clone, low end electric marker, no real comparison.
Marker Setup: 06’ Black Magic
MP4 Ram
68/4500 Crossfire tank LP regulator
J&J Edge Barrel kit with 5 backs and 5 fronts (8, 10, 12, 14, 16 inch)
Halo w/ Rip drive and stock board (for now)
Kila magnetic, derilin ball detent
Drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit (why have a closed bolt gun if your not going to have a good barrel to paint match?)
Drop forward (Personally I think it balances out the weight of the gun much better than without)
MP4 Ram or one with QEV’s
A rebuildable ball detent
Good Allen wrench set (I know they are tools but this gun is worthless without them)
Strengths: ACCURATE
Fast
Easy to clean
Light
No kick
Weaknesses: Maintenance
Trigger
Ball detent
Review: Do not let the first part of this review get you wrong, this is an outstanding marker but nothing is perfect. So I will start with the bad and move to the good

Maintenance

Before you buy this gun buy a good set of Allen wrenches you need them anyways for almost any paintball gun but this gun only comes with two wrenches; a 1/4” to adjust the inline regulator and a 3/16” to adjust the LP regulator and velocity. The problem is you need a 3/16, AND a 1/8 to adjust the velocity, you also need a 5/64 to install the battery, and if you want to adjust the trigger you need a 1.5mm. So basically if you are like me and your wrenches were missing when the marker came in the mail, you are dead in the water.

Also the stock ball detent on this gun seized up a week after I bought it, which was the second ball detent in one week I saw go bad on a brand new cocker. Maybe it was a bad batch but I recommend having a back up ready. I also had both of the battery connecters break off the board in the tigger. I was not abusive to them at all, so it I recommend babying them if you want them to last, otherwise get good at soldering.

Trigger

It has been said before and will be said again, but this trigger is not the greatest. It bounces pretty badly if you do not have it set really stiff. Also the set screws you use to adjust the trigger have a tendency to move during play, so you have to constantly readjust your trigger to where you want it. More than once I had the screws move so much that they locked up the trigger and the marker would no longer fire. Also “Select fire, is a pretty misleading term, because you are not going to be selecting anything if you are in play (you have to move a jumper around inside the trigger housing to “Select” the mode of fire. The last thing is that if your battery is low at all you will chop balls, and I have personally never seen the low battery lights come one while the battery was low, instead it just chops.

The good

Accuracy

This gun has little to no kick; it is very consistent and has the infamous closed bolt firing system. With an eight inch J&J edge barrel that barely sticks out past the pneumatics this gun will shoot tighter groups than an Ion ever will, with any barrel (from what I have seen anyways, and I have seen a lot of Ions).

Maintenance

The black magic is very easy to clean, on more than one occasion I have been able to disassemble the marker while in play, clean out a ball chop and then get back into the game (in woods ball that is, it did not work out so well for me on the speed ball course, but hey I tried). And yes even though it has eyes it will chop every now and then, especially with brittle paint. It only takes me about ten minutes at home to completely clean this gun to like new standards after a rough day of play. (I also repair firearms for a living so I would like to think I know what I am doing here.)

Upgrades

A good set of QEV’s or an MP4 Ram will really bring your BPS up. I personally think that a good drop forward also balances out the weight of the gun. A good barrel kit almost goes without saying J&J seems to work just fine for me. And as stated before, you might as well spend the money on a rebuildable ball detent to prevent the headache of losing a day of play for such a small piece going down on you. And if you have the money (I don’t) get an E2 trigger for this thing.

Ascetics

This gun will defiantly get you looks, anyone who has not seen a Black Magic before will have a hard time believing that is an Autococker because of the no back block feature. The milling on the frame is also pretty cool; you will defiantly stand out from all the thousands of Ions out there, and the best part is it has the performance and accuracy to back up the looks.
Conclusion: This gun has Autococker accuracy with the weight and speed of any high end marker out there. I have played with Angles before and this gun is just as good at a faction of the cost. I give it a 9 because it really could use some improvements especially in the trigger department.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

gustafsons@cox. Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Black Magic Autococker
Dye Boomstick 16"
Pulse Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
a freekin good loader
E2 frame
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Consistency
Small profile



Weaknesses: Maintanance
Some breaking
Review: I have been paintballing for 8 years now.....and i no that there is no such thing as a perfect gun. after pulling this gun out of the box i was a little dissapointed...ever since i was around 10 i have been playing around a lot of pros and semi pros. i wanted the best gun i could. so i had saved up for a Dm series but my parents thought it was just to much. i had the money but they said i should just go with something a little cheaper. when i got this gun i expected more from WGP. this is surely a GREAT gun but i feel that it is holding me back. there were constant problems in the beginning of its life. first, the on/off switch was broken....i was like- ok...... it doesnt really matter, but then it gets really annoying. second- the feed neck did not fit my pulse hopper's neck. i had to buy a new one> which i was pissed off about. third- after less than a month of play my iiiiiiii 's just stopped working. i really started to get angry, but then i got a pulse (when they first came out)----just in time. now i really dont care about the iiiiii 's situation because i dont need one! whenever i have the spare time i might just send it back to WGP so that they can go and fix it. the accuracy is remarkable!!! what i have noticed with this gun is that it is pinpoint accurate only around the fps of 210. sure it can go a lot higher, but might sway... A LOT!!! sure this wont be as fast as you want, but it isnt slow either. around 210 can soar across the field just as if it is at the regulation fps. i like this because whenever you are about to break (start the game) you can just shoot downany lane you want and mark who-ever runs into the ropes of paint. the only thing you waould have to worry about are the people wipen all the paint u just hit them with. use great paintballs. i use costom made paintballs that cost A LOT OF MONEY...sooooo dont buy the walmart crap! another thing to watch out for- whenever you go to adjust the velocity it is the section right beneath the bolt and in the back of the marker. when you get the gun you will need to un-screw that little peice of metal right behind to the top right of the marker (looking at a barrel to the left point of view) to let the velocity thing unscrew. another thing i did not like about this gun was that it did not have an LCD which would alow you to change settings without unscrewing the grip to change what settings you would like- i dont like that either. the things i did like about the trigger frame was that the trigger is magnetic and i prefer the burst setting.
Conclusion: there really isnt much to say about this gun. if you really are into paintball going like once/ twice a week then do not get one. but if you are not completely devoted then i would recommend this gun to you. sure it isnt the best...the best only belongs to those who deserve it. if money is a problem and you LOVE paintball then save up for a better gun.... once i get the money for a new gun this one is out the door- ill probably buy an EGO! i give this product a 10 for it deserves it. all of the other better guns get higher numbers... but u cant necessarily go higher than..u no that...i fyou dont you need to get a brain more than this paintball gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media