paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Tac-5 Recon / JT Tac-5 Recon / JT Tac-5 Recon / JT Tac-5 Recon

JT Tac-5 Recon Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Tac-5 Recon

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Tac-5 Recon
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 155
Average Rating: 6.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
JT USA introduces the all-new Tactical Tac-5 Recon Semi Automatic paintball marker for 2005. The Tac-5 Recon features include a multiple position feed port with two Sniper off set positions either left or right and an Assault vertical position, a Gorilla Grip self sizing loader adaptor designed to automatically size and grip your loader to the marker for a secure and reliable fit, quick and easy field strip design to allow you to quickly maintain your marker on and off the field, a bonus removable tactical handle accessory, adjustable and removable foregrip for custom positioning based on your preference, multiple accessory mounting rails to allow you to quickly and easily attached a wide variety of accessories, precision barrel system for increased accuracy and a blade style double finger trigger for increased rate of fire.
Product Availability 
The JT Tac-5 Recon is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (16):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
godman43 Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none similar they were all better evan the pump action brass eagle
Marker Setup: sadly the jt tac-5
smart parts barrel 16"
remote.....
it dosen't accept anything else really
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE DON'T BUY IT
Strengths: looks decent but not mil-sim or speed ball WHAT IS IT FOR?
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: First off the front grip is cheap and wobbles a lot. Second when you turn the angle to make it feed from different angles the bolt won't turn with it so it will literally chop almost every ball because the side of the bolt restricts the ball from going all of the way in. Third it is almost impossible to strip let alone field strip without you absolutely hating the gun. Fourth you cannot replace the trigger for a electronic trigger because it is absolutely rancid the trigger assembly does not come off. Fifth if you tighten the screw too much when lowering the feet per second (fps) it will fall in a hole than leak co2 when shooting and it is a pain and a half to fix. Last of all it is seriously the worst marker that I have ever owned/used and I am begging anyone that has read this not to buy this piece of junk marker.
Conclusion: Don't buy this marker!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

98custompb Tuesday, August 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom( way better)
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
pure energy 20 oz co2 tank
homemade DF
4x15 scope
stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
drop forward or remote
electronic hopper
Strengths: Good accuracy
Easy to clean
Easy to field strip
Weaknesses: Chops, dont always recock even on a full tank, power tube breakes too easily
Review: STRENTHS- like i said good accuracy, but i still would recommend a new barrel, easy too clean not many parts to take off to clean. also it is somewhat lighter than others.

WEAKNESSES- out of 4000 paintballs of bigball paintballs it chopped about 30 of them and broke about 100 of them in the barrel, it doesnt like to recock even on a full tank expecially when you really need it to keep fireing for you, within the month that i had it the power tube broke twice which really p!$$ed me off. also the paind scratches too easily. i was out playing woodsball and i scraped up agianst a tree and the paint came off without repeated times of scping on the same tree.
Conclusion: DO NOT buy this gun SAVEup your money and get a tippmann they are more durable and they dont eat as much co2 as the tac 5 does
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 4th, 2006 at 8:35 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

bmxdude0905 Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used any other paintball guns
Marker Setup: stock tac 5 about to recieve a J&J 14" ceramic barrel thru the mail
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and plumbers tape to strenthen the threads of the hopper elbow.
Strengths: Accurate out of box rate of fire is pretty good
Weaknesses: A bit heavy
Review: This gun is good and has a few good upgrades like a stock better barrel drop forward bi pod stand and others overall ive ben satisfied with this gun i won my first ever paintball match wit it so im happy with it. Buy this gun if ure lookin for a good tactical gun with all the upgrades i have heard it can be a good sniper gun.
Conclusion: If u dont have but 130 dollars u should get this guns starter kit comes with everything u need for cheap
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

pbsnip3r06 Wednesday, July 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom which is basically the same gun but just a little bit better made and better shooting.
Marker Setup: JT Protium with an eVLution II electric hopper, 12 in barrel, 20 oz CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel because although the marker came ina sniper kit with an 8 inch and 12 inch barrel the balls with constantly drop after a short distance. I also recommend a stock for woods ball which this gun is really made for and definitely a scope or laser sight.
Strengths: Cheap, very upgradable, durable, barely chops paint.
Weaknesses: Distance, loud, average speed(8-10 bps),semi-auto, not electric, heavy trigger, paintballs turn.
Review: I'll start off by saying that I have used this gun several times whenever I am at my friends house. I have had experience using many guns including a Bob Long 06 Infamous, Smart Parts Shocker, Tippmann 98 Custom, and a JT Protium. This gun might not come close to the other guns but definitely has its advantages. The gun is very accurate with the 12 inch barrel that was included in the JT Tac-5 Recon Sniper Kit but you will notice that as the paint travels a short distance the ball with turn or drop pretty fast and you will miss your target. For those of you who think that you can just buy a scope and hit your target every time, you're completely wrong! Their is no paintball gun that can hit a target every time exactly on cue and this is no exception. Well sure the scope and laser helps but you have to understand the possible outcome of a miss. The gun can also be pretty loud at times but you grow accustom to it easily and won't mind it much (although your neighbors might). The gun has only copped 1 paintball so far and it was user related because we tried to walked to gun which was not meant to be walked and will screw it up. The gun will not need an electric hopper, but if you already have purchased one it will ensure you that there is always a paintball there (which comes in handy on the field). I myself have an electric gun with an electric hopper and would recommend and electric gun to anyone who hopes to play speed ball or shoot above 15 bps (balls per second) easily. But in the end the gun comes down to the new player who won't really mind the weaknesses until he is above those standards and wants to reach new limits. But for the price you can't go wrong!
Conclusion: I would recommend this paintball gun to anyone who is just entering the paintball field as a player. This gun is meant for durability and upgrades and will not need an electric hopper. The gun itself is not electric and will barely chop paint because you cannot walk it. At only about $80 online this gun is good but the eager players will find themselves moving towards a better gun that fits their playing style better. So in the end I give this gun an 8 out of 10 for it's cheap price, upgrades, no chopped paint, and good quality, but won't reach a 10 because no gun is perfect and certainly not this gun but it meets the standards of new player who won't care about its noise, ok accuracy, and short distance (and by short I mean about50-100 ft accurate after that don't expect much without a new barrel and some other upgrades).
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 20th, 2006 at 6:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadows_attack Wednesday, July 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 (site marker so not in good condition)..........
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Electra, expansion chamber, remote coil, new bolt, j&j 12" barrel, Halo hopper too...

JT TAC 5 for rec and scenario gaming, expansion chamber, remote coil, bolt, 16" j&j barrel, Stock, Bi-pod, red dot sight, and use my halo... so really a sniper setup.

Recommended
Upgrades:
I would say if you are looking for a sniper set up follow the setup above, if it is assault then, 12" barrel, expansion chamber, stock, bolt, e-hopper, remote coil etc.
And also you can make it fully automatic with a bit of tinkering.........
Strengths: Accurate, sturdy, reliable and more!! Not really more to say!
*updated* see main review body
Weaknesses: Well the factory bought version could be more accurate.hard as hell to clean.
Review: When i first got it i went and tested it at my local field, It was really good, it was accurate, and very reliable. But it wasted alot of co2, about 400 shots for a 20oz bottle.

So the first thing i did was get a new metal bolt, about £50 or $87 and then it went up to about 900+ shots for a 20oz bottle.

After upgrading it more (see `my setup`) i found no new problems.......

*update* 10/20/06
After using it alot it my local field, i have found that this gun is not what i first thought. it jammed, chopped paint and well, scratches really easy. after using an A-5 and an 98 the tac 5 is far inferior. Also the marker has lots of "little hiding places" for splatted paint. it takes soooooo long to clean the damn thing.

Conclusion: On the upside its cheap, but that what u pay for is what u get. unreliable, jams chops paint ect. on the up side it has good co2 consumption.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 20th, 2006 at 2:50 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

34pballer34 Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98
a-5
patriot
spyders
Marker Setup: M3 Patriot stars and stripes model, halo frontman, aci graffiti series barrel, C02 or n02 depends.
Recommended
Upgrades:
dont bother
Strengths: Assembly is pretty cool can move the hopper and can get lots of upgrades
Weaknesses: Doesent shoot straight, chops more balls than a butcher chops meat,
Review: umm i got it christmas after selling my 98 to hopfully upgrade with this product and it was the worst decision ive ever made. I bought the gun and went to a war with it and couldnt play in the war because the gun couldnt get a paintball out of the barrel. and yea ive tried different paint. When it shoots the ball curves and everyones seems to be braking. It has lots of cool looking upgrades to buy for it but what is the use if the guy cant keep up. Everyones is braking JT company gave up and is now fixing them free of charge for everyone.
Conclusion: Id rather buy a balde and use wild streak paintballs. If your gonna spend only that much on a gun buy a spyder or a tippman. Why cant the ratings go lower than 1.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 8:33 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lousyhunter Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, 98 Custom...
Marker Setup: BT APEX Barrel, JT stock, 32 degrees remote, Viewloader gravity-fed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel!
-Bolt (if you can that is)
-Stock
-Regulator (if JT releases an adaptor)
-Remote
-E-Hopper
Strengths: -Great mounting rails
-Quality construction
-Great look
-Spyder threaded
Weaknesses: -Stock barrel
-Lack of upgrades
-Incompatable with bolt kits
-velocity
-Gas Hog
Review: I purchased this marker knowing jack-squat about paintball at the time. I thought it looked cool, I was told it was well made and I wanted to get into scenario play. However, scenario play doesn't seem to exist in southern california and this marker's future dependability is semi-questionable.

Buildwise, it's heavy but very sturdy. You can drop it and nothing will break. The compatability sucks as far as upgrading it goes. JT has told me that bolt kits do not exist with it and that there is no regulator either... great. However, the stock setup is pretty solid overall. Sometimes I have a little trouble with getting the velocity where I want it, but it evens out eventually. BUY A REMOTE IF YOU BUY THIS MARKER. A lot of people want to call this the 98 CUSTOM KILLER and IT IS NOT!!!! I really should have bought the Tippy, but I like the look of this marker and wanted Spyder compatability.
Conclusion: Bottomline-- It's a good marker, but not a great marker. I like my setup, but I don't love it and I wish I had done more research before I started sinking money into a mediocre marker. However, if you put the BT APEX on it, the marker really gets a hell of a lot better. It's acurate, but there's a lot to be desired.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

morganagrom Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom pro
Marker Setup: JT tac-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
stock
red dot
Strengths: Cheap
Good stock gun
Adjustable handle and foregrip
Weaknesses: Heavy
Stock barrel not accurate
Very loud
Hard to field strip
Review: For the price this gun is great. It is made specifically gfor woodsball, because of the weight and offset hopper. my personal favourite part is how there are so many things you can adjust such as which side the hopper goes on, you can choose to play with or without the tactical handle and you can move the foregrip to fit your arm length. The sight rail can hold all different sights which is good for in woodsball. the only really bad thing about this gun is how it takes forever to field strip, and doesn't have a very fast rate of fire
Conclusion: Overall I would recomend this gun to any beginner player who doesn't have a lot of money to spend on paintball, and with this and all other guns you really get what you pay for
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tac_attack16 Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Piranha r6 w/all stock parts
Marker Setup: Jt Tac5
Smart parts Linear 16'' barrel
20 ounce Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barell
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Cheap
Tough
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Have to Re-cock somtimes
Review: I got the tac5 for Christmas an emediatly tested it.I was shredding cheap paint. It was not very accurate with the stock barrel so I bought a new one.The accuracy increased alot with the barrel.I played 7 games with it and it preformed. I sugjest getting some upgrades but this is a good gun.
Conclusion: Over all this is a good starter gun but with some upgrades it is AWSOME!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

auto a5's Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom Pro-WAY BETTER
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't know
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: Very Heavy
Review: The Tac-5 is not a gun I would ever plan on buying, it's very heavy just by itself. Once when you get co2 and paintballs in it, it gets tiring caring it around and its performance isn't that great so it's not worth it anyway. I also dont like the screw in hopper it's easier to just push one in and tighten it in.
Conclusion: I do not recomend this gun to anyone it's not worth the money you are payin you can get better guns for the same price.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (16):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media