paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Tac-5 Recon / JT Tac-5 Recon / JT Tac-5 Recon / JT Tac-5 Recon

JT Tac-5 Recon Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Tac-5 Recon

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Tac-5 Recon
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 155
Average Rating: 6.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
JT USA introduces the all-new Tactical Tac-5 Recon Semi Automatic paintball marker for 2005. The Tac-5 Recon features include a multiple position feed port with two Sniper off set positions either left or right and an Assault vertical position, a Gorilla Grip self sizing loader adaptor designed to automatically size and grip your loader to the marker for a secure and reliable fit, quick and easy field strip design to allow you to quickly maintain your marker on and off the field, a bonus removable tactical handle accessory, adjustable and removable foregrip for custom positioning based on your preference, multiple accessory mounting rails to allow you to quickly and easily attached a wide variety of accessories, precision barrel system for increased accuracy and a blade style double finger trigger for increased rate of fire.
Product Availability 
The JT Tac-5 Recon is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (16):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Shutoutman Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I
Marker Setup: JT Tac-5
9 inch barrel doon to be J & J 16 inch Ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Stock(maybe)
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: I haven't used this gun that much, but I have respect for it. It is a heavy gun to me, but other people can disagree. For me, my paint goes through tree branches(that's what my friends say), but I think I might be getting a lot of lucky shots. Right now I have the 9 inch barrel and it's working fine. I am going to upgrade to a 16 inch too. It's a fine gun, and there are some upgrades.
Conclusion: I like this gun a lot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dawarrior06 Monday, May 7th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: tippmann A_5: pretty much stock right now,only upgrade so far is flatline barrel
Strengths: Only strengths i could notice was it is powerful, and looks very mean...
Weaknesses: Chops paintballs very easily,heavy,not easy to take apart for cleaning
Review: This gun looks very nice from the beginning by adding the machine gun shroud and stock, will give you the look you want out of a tactical gun, but unless you are willing to spend extra money on good upgrades i would not recommend this gun, i bought it and could not wait to try it out so i went to play woods ball the next day, no upgrades straight out of the box just with the looks upgrade not performance, i used a semi new 20 oz co2 tank; at first it seemed to really be worth it, took like 10 shots and it seemed to be a strong gun ,accurate, but then i noticed that i stopped shooting balls so i took it apart witch was not very easy saw that i chopped a ball so i clean it out and went out for another try, not even 3 shots later it jammed again another chopped ball, once again i took it apart and clean it out and went for another run, and for my luck it chopped a ball again right away so i gave up on it and returned it.....
Conclusion: In conclusion i would not recommend this gun to anyone who doesn't want to waist time fixing and cleaning your gun the whole game,because it is really going to be hard to maintain this gun. i believe that for the kind of performance this gun offers it should be less expensive....but i would still not buy it again even if it went down to 50 bucks...
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

savage hound Thursday, May 3rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Trilogy autococker, cradle form a prostock autococker, st bolt, stelth barrel, halo, air, dye stickys.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New gun
Strengths: Camo paint job
thats it
Weaknesses: Bad desighn
fell appart
Review: I just want to bring the marker down as it was my first and was pretty terrible.
it looked cool it shot really inaccurate. paint chipped big trigger pull, choped lots, the pin in the back of the gun wore away and i hade to make a new one out of a nail (the one inside that the blowback uses to recock) nifty handle and feedneck tho.

all in all i would recomend not this gun (a trilogy cocker would do much better)
upgrades are expensive and useless for it. its heavy and slow..
Conclusion: Sorry jt but i expected more. it didnt hold up.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

bully129 Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Icon X
Marker Setup: Tac-5 camo, 8" stock camo barell, 200 round VL hopper, Fixed JT Tactical stock, 9 0z Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barell, expansion chamber, better hopper, stock
Strengths: Accurate, light, good for recon (hence the name)
Weaknesses: Can't fire very fast, insanely loud, guzzles Co2
Review: Well, when I got this gun, it came in a pack with a tank, hopper, marker, and mask.
As soon as I got it out of the box, it felt great in my hands. The grips were really nice, the stock forward handle was at a really good position, and it was fairly light, making it great for lighter attack forces. This might also be a good gun for sniping (if you found a barell that made it quieter). Well, after getting paint and Co2, I tested it out in my backyard. The very first thing I noticed was how loud it was. I mean, neighbors were pokin' their heads out of their windows to see what was goin' on. The next thing I noticed was the accuracy. The accuracy was OK. But most of that was probably due to the crappy paint I had. (look up Stryker in reviews and you'll see what I mean). The accuracy will also improve with a better barell. But then, as I was shooting, the Co2 just all came out in about 6 seconds. I mean, all of it. Period. None left what-so-ever. But that should hopefully be fixed with an expansion chamber and a remote to take the wright off the place where you screw the tank in.

UPDATE 5/4/07

Well, I managed to get a much more concise and focused testing in today. I found that the Co2 was not leaking. However, the reason the Co2 came out all at once is because I was firing too fast. I mean, at 5-6-7 bps, the gun does fine. No problem. But push it to 10 bps, and you'll encounter problems. But the accuracy is incredible with stock barell. 1'x1' from 30 ft. away. 1 1/2'x1 1/2' hit from 70 ft. away. Bottom line is, extremely accurate. I could probably hit within a foot from 100-110 ft. away with some decent paint, a sight, and a new barell.
Conclusion: Good marker for Woodsball or Scenario, but it's crappy for speedball. If you're big in the speed ball department, don't get this gun. But if you like Woodsball, get it. It's great.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 4th, 2007 at 10:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

usaf688 Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Progressive barrel 12"
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel!!
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: Bolt is crap, double feeds, velocity pin, not possible to field strip
Review: This gun is not worth the money. When I first got it I really liked it because it was so accurate, but after playing with it I realized how poor the construction is. The body itself is rather durable but the internals are terrible, cheap plastic. Needs a new bolt, mine broke while i was cleaning it for no real apparent reason. Not worth the money unless you pay under $20
Conclusion: Not worth it!
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 30th, 2007 at 12:32 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

RyanS Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Etek Ego ( mine own gun)
Marker Setup: ETek Ego with Tadao m7 board
68/4500 hpa
Halo V35 victory with rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
And new bolt
Strengths: Look
Price
Good on air
Weaknesses: Hard trigger pull
for grip screws strip easy
not many upgrades
Review: I tried this gun out when I went paint balling with my buddies today. We just went and played in the bush, nothing big. So I tired his gun out, it was accurate with the spyder barrel he had one. I'm nut sure on the accuracy with the stock barrel. The look of the gun is nice all camo. The gun is good on air. The gun is loud but that makes it all more intimidating. The trigger pull is hard ( not sure if you can change it). So you can get a very fast rate of fire ( in terma of mechanical keep that in mind). This gun is great for the price, great for someone starting in woods ball. There aren't many upgrades for it here is a few http://www.badlandspaintball.com/gunaccess/jt.html . So if your starting the sport this would be a good choice.
Conclusion: This is a good gun for the price. Great gun for beginners.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghost sniper99 Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom 98 (more customizable, lower acuracy, cant mount a scope as easily)
Marker Setup: tac-5 with:
-home made wood stock (looks sick)
-home made wood grip (ak-style)
-adjustable scope rail (home made)
-tasco red dot scope (0 magnification)
-stiffi 16" barrel
-12 onze C02
-small 40 round brass eagle hopper, modified so it is lower then my scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
-BARREL!!
-SCOPE!! (no magnification)
-stock
-maybe a low profile hopper (ex:q-loader)
Strengths: -ACURATE!!!
-cheap
-customizable
-spyder barrel threads
-doesn't chop
Weaknesses: -Loud
-Heavy
-Cheap internals
-No adjustable rates of fire
Review: This gun is amazing... when i first got my paintball gun i made sure i was getting a good gun... I reasearched everything, Finaly i passed up the tippman 98 because this one was presumably better (i was rite) , the mr1 and mr2, because the mr1 looked like a scope would b difficult 2 mount (this may not be that true but it is deffinitly easier on the tac-5), and the mr2 sadly because i could not afford it... In the end im happy i stuck with my gun,

the range is excellent, i am hoping to attach an apex berrel tip 2 my stiffi barrel so that this already dead acurate gun will have that same acuracy at over 100+ feet. rite now the range is about 70 feet dead on with 0% arc needed. However the gun stock is in desperate need of a new barrel and a scope, otherwise you end up with a gun that is as acurate if not less acurate thaen most tourny guns with a snipers rate of fire. This gun also has cheap internals wich may cause problems,

However if you like to tinker with your gun the cheap internals should be no problem, If you use the gun for its intended purpose (as a sniper) and dont shoot at 8 bps then it will never chop, the only time i have ever chopped a ball, out of about 10,000 paintballs, was when i attached my custom 40 round hopper, some "goop" (a type of glue used to attach a custome 45 degree elbow to the hopper) was blocking the balls from going all the way in. Otherwise it never chops. I know that i used a stiffi barrel but i have herd that j&j barrels work almost as well so even with that the gun would be a perfect sniper, capable of pulling off the "one shot 1 kill."

The only real downside to this marker is that it is loud, since it is best used as a sniper, the loud crack crack is very very bad,,, a ceramic or carbon fiber barrel however will easily solve this problem, with the stiffi the gun only makes a small pop noise, similar to dropping a rock on concrete from about 4 feet.
Conclusion: If you like a gun that doesnt chop, is deadly acurate, looks sweet!!! and are ok with the needs of a little bit of tinkering hear and there, and dont mind the weight then this is the gun for you
I will give it a 9/10 only because of the weight and the noise it makes when shooting
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

HITMAN999 Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c pretty much the same thing
Marker Setup: tac 5 with 16 inch tiller barrel ncstar red dot sight remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
sight and longer barrel make this gun an AWESOME sniper maybe a remote line
Strengths: Very durable accurate feed neck amd sight rail
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Review: I played with this gun i shot at least 4 cases out of it and it didnt chop any balls at all. With my longer barrel and sight i was pcking off my friends with a-5s and 98cs very good gun overall i highly recomend it for woodsball a a a a a a a a a a a a a aaa a a a a a a
Conclusion: Very good wodds ball gun GET IT
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Aramond Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Prolite
Stingray
Autococker
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Stock setup, but this year I will be adding upgrades.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Sight, Stock, Remote line
Strengths: Solid feel, Front Rail setup
Weaknesses: Some Mechanical issues
Review: I purchased this marker at a local field during my second time playing. I had read reviews on them and knew going in that they sometimes have problems.

The first gun I got had the trigger sear break. The field took it back and ordered me a new one.

The second one was fine till it chopped a ball that then jammed the bolt, what happened after was my own fault, I tried to force the bolt to recock, in the process I bent one end of the link arm, and broke the plastic cocking rod pin. (known issue with these now being remedied with brass/steel pins)

While the was fuctioning I felt it worked well, it does suffer from some quirks.

Using the offset hopper position requires some work on the gun.
1. Get an Oring that either fits just inside the screw adapter to allow the elbow to tighten in an upright position.
2. Use some fine sand paper to smooth the inside of the elbow, this will help with misfeeds when using the elbow

New main spring may be needed for velocity issues, thesse guns often suffer from spring weakness causing low velocity.

I have spent time this winter doing an upgrade program with this gun.
Custom built stock.
Addition of pressure Gauge
Walther Toppoint Sight
Remote line (ASA relocated with custom stock)
Conclusion: This is a good budget gun if you like to tinker, or have a field that can do the minor fixes that it may need. Not all guns will have these problems.

Is a Tippmann better... Yes, but for the money this gun is worth trying.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IONized_baller' Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ION better
a-5 a bit better
98 custom also a bit better
Marker Setup: yellow sp ION
egg III
3000 psi pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe scope
a stock
Strengths: Cheap
Can get it in a starter pack
Weaknesses: Chops if you shoot to fast
Slow
Review: I got this paintball gun a little over a year now. it isn't to bad for a starter gun. i got it in the starter pack wich has: mask, hopper, gun, tank, tank cover, and hopper cover. Thsi gun is cheap to buy and is good. It is a great starter marker. I wound't get it for speedball but it is good for woodsball. You can get stocks, sights, and barrels for this gun. Overall this is a great marker for woodsball beggigners.
Conclusion: You should get this gun if you play woodsball, and are a begginer.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (16):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media